New Perodua Kembara Replacement due mid-2008

UPDATE: New Kembara replacement Perodua SUV spotted on Malaysian roads!

Perodua managing director Datuk Syed Hafiz Syed Abu Bakar indicated in a report by The Edge that we will see the launch of the new Perodua Kembara replacement model this year. The new Kembara will logically be based on the new Daihatsu Bego/Toyota Rush, and Perodua targets modest sales of about 300 units per month as they are going to focus on the Viva instead. The Kembara will not be a high volume seller for them.

Just a recap – the Daihatsu Bego or Toyota Rush that the new Perodua Kembara replacement is expected to be based on is powered by a 1.5 litre DVVT engine, similiar to the unit in the Toyota Avanza 1.5. It has a full time all wheel drive system. It first appeared as a concept car called the Daihatsu D-Compact 4X4 Concept.

Shown above is an artist’s impression of the new Kembara previously posted here, or browse the links listed below for more information on the small SUV.

2008 Perodua Kembara Artist’s Impression
Toyota Rush long wheelbase suitable for Malaysia?
New Daihatsu Terios announced in Indonesia
Daihatsu Terios wins 4X4 of the Year 2007 Award
2006 Daihatsu Be-Go

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 4:02 am

hurm….looks like the rumour that the new kembara will be a toyota here is not true….

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:36 am

the small myvi sells at 50k. this large suv will cost u bout 80k

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:52 am

need to see the real car before giving any comment about this kembara replacement…

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:19 am

Won’t excite the market since it is target for small market only.

• azrai (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:28 am

The most disadvantage of the last Kembara is the all time 4 wheel drive which contribute to high fc. Hope this new Kembara has optional 4 wheel drive + a front wheel drive only. moreover, just how many people who use SUV in the jungle. just take a look of X-Trail. It is a result of comprehensive feasibilty studies on what majority SUV owner expect.

• BigFish (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 8:01 am

SUV shall cater to leisure and family outing!

• noCar (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 9:17 am

ya, lepas ni malaysian ada lagi satu barang untuk di transformasikan.

new kembara toyota rush/daihatsu beego.

terima kasih kepada perodua kerana masih meneruskan tradisi rakyat malaysia ini.

• J.LAI on Jan 26, 2011 at 10:23 pm

I WAS ASKED WHY DO YOU NEED A 4 WHEEL DRIVE VEHICLE….I SAID NO, I DONT REALLY NEED A 4 WHEEL DRIVE TO LUG AROUND THE URBAN ‘JUNGLE’ BUT THEN ON HINDSIGHT I SAID THAT IT IS THERE, IF YOU NEED IT!QED.

• moto_moto (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:35 am

alamak! only four wheel drive version? i suggest perodua to come up with 4X2 variant as well just like the daihatsu terios. Available in 1.3cc 4X4, 1.5cc 4X4 and 1.5cc 4X2. im sure the 1.5cc 4X2 variant will sell like hot goreng pisang. petrol price hike soon mar.

• weewitt (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 11:43 am

maybe..i should wait for this new kembara after all..look yummy to me.. :)

• engtaokia (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 12:18 pm

target sales of 300 unit per month meaning they planned to sell this car at very high pricetag…

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 1:25 pm

engtaokia said,

January 12, 2008 @ 12:18 pm

target sales of 300 unit per month meaning they planned to sell this car at very high pricetag…

—————————–

yes, and i believe it will be CKD , rebadge and few local parts will be assembled too. 300 is not practical to be manufactured here. low production. even manufacturing nissan gtr only is 1000 units monthly, soon.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 2:51 pm

high price? 60K-80K?

but if this new Kembara is well-built and improved, higher price is still acceptable……

• shamel (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 4:25 pm

I guess they’ll AVANZANized this Bego-RUSH version. The car produced by Indoensian’s CKD, assemble by P2 and selling at UMWT as T Rush or (and) P2 as Kembara or coin new moniker for this full time AWD unit. Not proactive toward future price hike.

In Indonesia they got Toyota Rush 5 seater, Daihatsu Terios 7 seater (D Taruna replacement).

At least P2 can pull crowd to their stores/showrooms when many going to P1 to view new Saga (can be new saga begin, or ending) subject to people/buyers’ reaction.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:15 pm

hey ~ 2008 mid year eh ~.~ ….. maybe buy another car already ….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 6:38 pm

Now Proton have to buck up to introduce an SUV!!!

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 7:48 pm

hope p2 design more beter than theo impression (look so weird).

• blunt (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:00 pm

it is not difficult…rather easy to visualized P2 car…just browse Daihatsu web. Since when P2 make car…tukar badge YES, even fitting Kembara aero pun sebijik dari Daihatsu

• transformer (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:03 pm

A VERY SISSY LOOKS!

its just a tiny car for those who want to feel big….. just a tiny mini!

• KuchingMali (Member) on Jan 12, 2008 at 10:26 pm

The front part spoils overall nice body…
    Shud have come out with a new design.

• asmies (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 1:09 am

Hope the price will be reasonable..Design look good.FC? hope it ok lah since DVVT 1.3 can get 14km/L.

• jeanloo (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 1:58 am

PTAllTheBest, I think you might be right. I just move to Singapore and the BeGo/Rush is very popular here. It’s selling around S$ 60k here, same price with honda airwave 1.5 (very cool car, like toyota wish, which makes me wonder why the BeGo still so popular here. I would get the Airwave if I got the Moo-Lah…)so I think for the Kembara 1.5 model should be at least RM 60k and above. Which I think for that money ppl would rather go for a Proton Waja or Persona.

• Boink (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 3:16 am

For those who think who would want a 4wd in a city, look here….
    www.kembara.net

For those who doubt the kembara is one that cannot survive the jungle, look here; www.kembara.net

Now I have a question. It will be the short wheel base version and not the avanza 7 seater like indonesia right?

admitedly, for those in the mid twenty age group, city lifestyle and city traffic goers, this car is pretty well suited. Pr

• king (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 3:35 am

MyviKiller,

i like your icon ….eheheh

this car will definately be expensive

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 3:03 pm

My Pandora box says,

1) This car will be CBU-ed. Shipped in directly from Japan where it is being produced at one of Daihatsu’s sophisticated and newest plants located in the Oita prefecture of Kyushu instead from Indonesia. The Indonesia long version Rush will only cater for UMW Toyota.

2) The price will not be as ‘so attractive’ as many would believe. If you thought of RM 60k~80k scale, nope, that’s still rather lame prophecy. It might hike up over RM 100k. Sources say that P2 personnel are still negotiating with the big G for reduction on this circumstance.

3) Targeting about 300 units of sales per month, hmm, if you looking at the percentage of SUV market share in Malaysian total industry volume pie, that would be reasonable. It doesn’t make a big cut actually. Even MPV is deteriorating. The lucrative one is literally the sedan’s. The SUV market is conquered by foreigners; Honda, Nissan and Toyota.

4) P2 objective is to produce compact cars. Thus, this model would be a compact SUV sort of. I’ve been driven in my friend’s Bego couple of times and i’d say it’s more comfortable, larger and much much better than the old timer Terios/Kembara.

5) The model is not going to contribute a significant figure and big jump in P2 overall sales. So i predict this year of 2008 will be the year for Proton…Happy New Year all !! Ops too late though…

p/s: you can count on my Pandora Box’s says. But in Malaysia, at the end of the day, all that matter is the price tag. So let’s see how much is it?

• jeanloo (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 3:20 pm

torishimeyakuin, if what you said is true, then I think I would rather get a City/Vios or even a sentra with that kind of money. I like the BeGo/Rush very much, but if it’s price more than 65 K, I think it’s just too damn expensive.

• tsknight (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 6:00 pm

looks awesome.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 13, 2008 at 6:08 pm

Yeah jeanloo, that’s what i’ve been informed by the most reliable sources. Well, seems that they are still negotiating and calculating about the price to make it as lowest as possible rather than over RM 100k. I don’t know, let P2 management sort that out.

The decisive factor here i must say is the price tag. If P2 could offer it with such an attractive price like you said at below RM 65k then this car will be a total lethal destroyer to other manufacturers for sure as the car it self is very commendable, good looking and hard to ignore. (Kindly note that the actual design is not as what has been illustrated by Theophilus above image.)

If the price is as what all of you are dreaming, than i believe P2 won’t put the sales target at 300 per month but most likely at least 3000 per month.

• arcana (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 8:20 am

hoping for 65k price tag is just gonna be just a dream.
    the current kembara at 1.3 already close to 60k.
    this is a 1.5 version…..definitely 80k price tag or beyond depending on what they fit in. definitely it wont be 100k for sure…..otherwise they can just forget about introducing that model here, unless it is CBU japan made.
    but then why if the CBU news is true…why so high in price? 100k can buy u a vitara made in japan too…..

• tsknight (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 12:05 pm

But the Toyota Rush is more of a MPV as its a 7-seater than a SUV right? Plus if what torishimeyakuin said its true than we will be buying a Daihatsu for that price. Not too bad a deal actually.

• Boink (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 6:24 pm

Interesting points. I must agree that it would be more above RM 65k though. The Rush/Terios here in Singapore is doing 65k brand new or about there.

Jeanloo – It would not be wise to compare the price of a terios to a price of a lets say vios. 4wd drive system, differentials, prop shafts etc etc. its bound to cost more. Not even accounting for economies of scale.

Dont ask me what for, 4wd, but just maths wise, it should cost more.

Test drove the new Terios here in Singapore as well. Peppy, much more room, compared only to the older kembara.terios.

Usual great truning angles and quite compact. Unfortunate for the price I guess.

• jeanloo (Member) on Jan 14, 2008 at 8:54 pm

Hi Boink, I just move to Singapore for about 1 month. To you in Singapore off course can’t compare like dat lar. It’s Toyota 1.5 Terios vs Toyota Vios 1.5 ma. In malaysian it’s Toyota vs Perodua, you do the math, sure all will choose Toyota ma……..

• Boink (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 1:01 pm

eh…. jean, me also just in Singapore, 7 months. Dying, Wish I had my car.

No no… I was saying, it would be pretty expected if the price of the terios is more expensive than a , let say vios. It has more bits and pieces which do cost quite a bit.

That said, I think it would be more of a personal choice le. at the end of the day, where you drive and where will the car spend most of its time.

Unfortuntately, I need really liked toyotas. Dunno why. Maybe it is because there is nothing wrong with toyotas.

Agreed, lots of terios/rush in Singapore. But then again Singapore is a place where anything new is the thing to have. So taking into account the rush/terios is a newer model on the market, its probable that would be more demand for it as well.

• Boink (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 1:09 pm

Correction:
    Unfortuntately, I never really liked toyotas. Dunno why. Maybe it is because there is nothing wrong with toyotas.

• PERODUA KEMBARA (Member) on Jan 15, 2008 at 11:53 pm

THIS KEMBARA OUTLOOK VERY NICE.IF THIS NEW KEMBARA PRICE NOT OVER 68K CAN SELLING BETTER IN THIS MARKET.BECAUSE PERODUA IS LOCAL MADE NOT IMPORT.

I ALSO SELLING PERODUA VECHILE, THIS MONTH VIVA MARKET VERY LOW BECAUSE NEW SAGA LAUCHING.

PROTON NEW SAGA 1.3(A) M/LINE SELLING RM39,998.00
    PERODUA VIVA 1.0EZI(A) SELLING RM44,200.00
    DIFFERENT RM4,202.00

IF THIS NEW KEMBARA LAUCHING WILL BETTER BACAUSE ALL PERODUA SHOWROOM ONLY DISPLAY KANCIL, VIVA AND MYVI.THAN SOME CUSTOMER SAY PERODUA JUST SELLING THIS 3 MODELS.

THIS KEMBARA 1.5(M) USE FUEL VERY SAVE 7.9LTR/100KM IN TOWN AREA.
    7.9LITRES V-POWER X RM2.15/PER LITRE = RM16.99 / 100KM = RM0.1699
    MAXIMUM OUTPUT : 77kW/6000rpm
    MAXIMUM TORQUE : 140Nm/4400rpm

THIS RESULT IS COPY FROM DAIHATSU WEBSITE

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 4:42 pm

PERODUA KEMBARA said,
    January 15, 2008 @ 11:53 pm

THIS KEMBARA OUTLOOK VERY NICE.IF THIS NEW KEMBARA PRICE NOT OVER 68K CAN SELLING BETTER IN THIS MARKET.BECAUSE PERODUA IS LOCAL MADE NOT IMPORT.

I ALSO SELLING PERODUA VECHILE, THIS MONTH VIVA MARKET VERY LOW BECAUSE NEW SAGA LAUCHING.

Hey friend r u really P2 sellman ?? can i know more infomation about new kembara ?? it is the new kemabara same like the upper pic ?? or follow T/Rush model ?? coz i really intrested to buy a mini SUV like RAV4 … but rav4 loan going down still selling so expensive … maybe will buy avanza buy no 4wd system … if this new kembara coming with 50k – 60k i still affort to buy … coz my friend wan to buy my wira … i said wait i found a car only i sell to him … so r u sure this mid 2008 coming out ?? plz ?? more infomation

• PERODUA KEMBARA (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 4:15 am

sxe10r said,
    January 16, 2008 @ 4:42 pm

1)HEY FRIEND ARE YOU PERODUA SALESMAN?
    YES, I AM A PERODUA SALESMAN BASE IN TAMAN CENTURY JB.

2)CAN I KNOW MORE INFORMATION ABOUT NEW PERODUA KEMBARA?
    YES, IF I GOT ANY INFOMATION I KNOW I WELL GIVE YOUR.

3)IT THE NEW PERODUA KEMBARA SAME LIKE THE UPPER PICTURE OR
    FOLLOW THE TOYOTA RUSH MODEL?
    YES, SAME LIKE THE UPPER PICTURE.THEY CANNOT DO SAME MODEL LIKE
    DAIHATSU TERIOS OR TOYOTA RUSH BECAUSE PERODUA ONLY BUY THE
    COPYRIGHT FOR ENGINE AND THE BODY.LIKE PERODUA VIVA AND
    DAIHATSU MIRA ENGINE AND THE BODY IS SAME BUT HEAD LAMP, BUMPER,
    AND GRILL NOT SAME.

4)ARE YOU SURE THIS MID 2008 COMING OUT?
    YES, IF THIS KEMBARA NOT COMING OUT ALL PERODUA SALESMAN DEAD
    BECAUSE NEW PROTON SAGA LAUCHING, THAN PERODUA VIVA WHO WANT
    TO BUY.THAN IN PERODUA SHOWROOM 3 MODEL DISPLAY INCLUDE
    KANCIL 660(YEAR 07).

IF YOUR GOT ANYTHING YOUR CAN ASK.

HOPE YOUR ENJOY COMING CHINESE NEW YEAR.
    >

• Paul Tan on Jan 17, 2008 at 5:00 am

Mr Sia aka Perodua dealer – please STOP using capital letters and type normally like everyone else or i will take action. using capital letters is considered rude on the interet and is an eyesore. thank you.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 17, 2008 at 9:29 am

PERODUA KEMBARA said,
    January 17, 2008 @ 4:15 am

IF YOUR GOT ANYTHING YOUR CAN ASK.

sure i will ask … so what is the real price & spec as u know ?? coz i really intrested for this car …

THIS KEMBARA 1.5(M) USE FUEL VERY SAVE 7.9LTR/100KM IN TOWN AREA.

how about Auto gear box ?? like vios system ?? CVT gearbox … ?

• PERODUA KEMBARA (Member) on Jan 19, 2008 at 1:39 am

KEMBARA 1.3(M) 4 WHEEL – 7.9LTR/100KM IN TOWN AREA.
    MAXIMUM OUTPUT : 63kW/6000rpm
    MAXIMUM TORQUE : 120Nm/3200rpm

KEMBARA 1.5(M) 2 WHEEL – 7.5LTR/100KM IN TOWN AREA.
    7.9LITRES V-POWER X RM2.15/PER LITRE = RM16.13 / 100KM = RM0.1613

KEMBARA 1.5(A) 2 WHEEL – 8.0LTR/100KM IN TOWN AREA.
    7.9LITRES V-POWER X RM2.15/PER LITRE = RM17.20 / 100KM = RM0.172

KEMBARA 1.5(M) 4 WHEEL – 7.9LTR/100KM IN TOWN AREA.

KEMBARA 1.5(A) 4 WHEEL – 8.4LTR/100KM IN TOWN AREA.
    7.9LITRES V-POWER X RM2.15/PER LITRE = RM18.06 / 100KM = RM0.1806

Fuel tank capacity : 50litres

KEMBARA 1.3
    K3-VE ENGINE, Petrol, inline 4-cylinder, DOHC, 16-valve, DVVT
    KEMBARA 1.5
    3SZ ENGINE, Petrol, inline 4-cylinder, DOHC, 16-valve, DVVT

THIS RESULT IS COPY FROM DAIHATSU WEBSITE

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Jan 22, 2008 at 3:21 pm

complete info u got there perodua salesman.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 22, 2008 at 4:47 pm

thx for the FC & details … sorry ~ can i know more about the car price ?? 1.5(M) 4×4 & 1.5(A) 4×4 , 4×2 ?? plz … Perodua boss … sure i will looks for u … have a contact number ??

• razzack04 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:09 am

Sorry friends…I’m not excited at all about this new kembara. Just another Toyota with different bumper,head lamp,emblem & other small stuff. It’s a 4×4 for driving aound town ??? Personally I prefer Honda, Toyota cars are a bit boring. Well, that just me.

• Ghostfreak Syaqi (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 2:57 pm

Perodua Nautica and this Perodua Kembara model like Toyota Rush Nautica

But the new Perodua Kembara the front lamp is like MyVi

• Myvi 4×4 =D

• quality good or not ? i think will be batter than proton car heh heh,,, proton new car pakai not enough 3 month e a ea sound don”t know from where………………