2008 Hyundai Accent 1.4 manual and 1.6 auto

Hyundai Accent

The new 2008 Hyundai Accent is now available in Malaysia, essentially the Hyundai version of the Kia Rio. There are two models to pick from – a 1.4 litre unit with a 5-speed manual or a 1.6 litre with a 4-speed auto. The 1.4 litre unit is a normal DOHC engine – i think it is the same one in the Kia Rio and Hyundai Getz 1.4. It produces 95 PS at 6,000rpm and 125Nm of torque at 4,700rpm.

The 1.6 litre is a DOHC engine with CVVT variable valve timing and produces 112 PS at 6,000rpm, and 145Nm of torque at 4,500rpm.

Like most small cars in this segment, the rear suspension uses the space-saving torsion beam axle with coil spring setup while the front uses McPherson struts. The head unit supports MP3, aux input and also USB input, which means you can just plug in your thumb drive full of songs and it will play. The interior generally looks like the Kia Rio’s, though the two car’s exteriors look totally different.

The Hyundai Accent manages a 5 star US NHTSA crash test result for frontal crashes for both the driver and passenger. Safety features include a driver airbag, antilock brakes and pretensioner seatbelts for the front passengers.

The 2008 Hyundai Accent 1.4 manual goes for RM68,888, while the 2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6 CVVT auto goes for RM73,888.

More photos after the jump.

Locally assembled new generation Hyundai Accent MC coming soon!

Hyundai Accent

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• umarss (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 4:01 am

looks quite nice..the front looks more or less like the current FIAT PUNTO.

lawan sama NEW SAGA..no chance la..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 6:51 am

heheh quite late review paul…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 6:53 am

I think its not that fast at low revs. Max torque 4.7k rpm…

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 7:44 am

Front facia looks similar to new Carens, family resemblance I would say…but proportion…mmm….anyway..in terms of styling…its rather obvious dat its better looking than the new Saga…but it wont beat Saga in sale…dats for sure!..hehe

• abtm (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 8:20 am

is there something as a naza rio yet? price might be competitive.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 8:26 am

Better late than never. It looks like Paul post this up without any media support from Kah Bintang. Kah Bintang should give the media a test drive experience like how Proton did recently. Their product launches is a disaster as it only spread quietly thru word of mouth.

• nbs55 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 8:28 am

look very nice from rear but very ugly from front..still like old accent..

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 8:49 am

I have rent the Kia Rio 1.6 for a week, I think it is the same engine can be found on this Hyundai Accent 1.6. The Rio interior is similiar with this Accent, the seat is comfortable, the only complaint is the auto transmission. The auto transmission is not smooth enough between the gear change and the car is still very new, I found my mitsubishi and my wife honda transmission are smoother…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 8:58 am

Hei, is not fair to compare it wif SAGA. It is over 1.4L category and it got 5 star US NHTSA crash test result for only RM68,888 above. Which car can the local produce that get 5 star in crash test result? If they dont have tax, i think the korean accent will be cheaper then our Waja and Persona also.

• kk (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:20 am

paul, what bout de new hyundai coupe? any review on that?

• richx (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:28 am

I’ve seen this car in person, and I think the best part about this car is the interior. It wasn’t as disappointing as the Kia Rio in many ways, and I found most of the switches to be pleasantly tactile. Space was also quite generous. The cute front will put up a fight against the Shamu Vios, but the rear – looks too much like the old Accent 1.5 in a bad way (for me at least).

And oh, the integrated exhaust outlets in the skirt – I think that’s fake right? If it really is fake, geez … what posers. Hehe … I also kinda dislike the car’s waistline. It’s too straight and the moulding there really kills the looks. Hyundai also claims outstanding fuel economy, but I’d still be concerned about spare parts prices.

All in all, a good candidate to consider against the usual Vios and City. Personally, I’d be tempted to take one of these in 1.6 form over, say, a Latio. But when the new City comes out, I have a feeling it’s going to be a class act like the Civic was (and still is).

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 10:00 am

Rear combination lamp and side door panel character almost look like kia spectra5, interior totaly different. Paul is it the same platform??

• armandd (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 10:15 am

Kah Bintang made a roadshow at Jusco Ipoh about 2 weeks ago. There was an elantra and an accent on display. I don’t really like the accent mainly because of its ‘cacat’ profile, i mean the sloping of the rear window. sure, the design increases rear headroom, but it’s just plain ugly. interior is of very high quality though. Asking price of RM68,888 for 5 star NHTSA crash test rating is also quite good.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 10:32 am

This KB like to copy. Last time copy my 25 years old Yamaha RX-S logo now copy Toyota MarkX exhaust. Apani !!

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 10:57 am

1.4 = 95PS ?
    well.. if i not mistake.. the new saga iafm 1.3 = 94 (but can up to 98) ps!

beside of that 5 star crash test.. this car is nothing..
    and the design is… boring! interior bright color ? that’s gen2 failure! easy to get dirt look.

BTW.. None of kia car attract me.

• BW (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:12 am

Hmmm not bad le the design hehe…

• Smallfish (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:12 am

I don’t like either, because :
    1. it is Korean made. Malaysian made is better.
    2. Expensive. Better buy local made
    3. Quality ??? My brother in law used to drive one of Korean made car; bad experience. Maintenance cost so expensive. Better buy Malaysia made one. Cheaper maintenance.
    4. Resale value is low.

• hi.

My waja 1.6(m) 2005 also not value now…so sad.. only 25k when i trade in at proton…I think hyundai better than proton..

• AlexKhoo (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:55 am

Malaysian cars sucks…
    Their build quality and everything else feels cheap.
    I saw the other day, an accident between a tiara and a volvo 240GL.
    the volvo had only a few scratches on the bumper while the front of the tiara was totaled.
    That goes to show, that malaysian made cars are worse then european/japanese/korean cars.
    But i must say, Malaysian cars are only better than Chinese-made cars.

P.S. I don’t completely hate malaysian cars. The only ones i like are the Perodua Myvi and Proton Persona

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 12:42 pm

Nowadays still have some1 keep the mind that Korean car is poor?
    Come on, pls up to date..

Malaysian car cheaper because the G support them and load high tax for all the foreign car..

New Accent interior is nice, but the car profile especially the rear portion not that smooth..

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 1:09 pm

NiceCar said,

January 23, 2008 @ 12:42 pm

Nowadays still have some1 keep the mind that Korean car is poor?
    Come on, pls up to date..
    Malaysian car cheaper because the G support them and load high tax for all the foreign car..

New Accent interior is nice, but the car profile especially the rear portion not that smooth..
    —–

Cheaper oso cannot meh?
    if exspensive = bising.
    murah = bising..
    better you find yourself another goverment lah .

Interior is nice? Doesnt it look cheap as gen2?
    anyway.. dont be fooled by the Photos trick..
    it wasn’t be as large and spacios as that pics.

Anyway.. at 1.4 = M68,888
    see that.. you even can get 2 unit of New Saga!!!!!!!

Paul.. is this Kia still imported by Naza group?

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 1:31 pm

bmpower said,

January 23, 2008 @ 1:09 pm

KIA ?? This is a HYUNDAI !!

For anyone out there full of bad experiences with Spectra Sephia Matrix Atoz and etc etc .. Older generation of Korean cars, you really should open your mind and look at their new offers for Malaysians. Sonata NF, Optima 2007, Elantra 2008, Accent 2008, Santa FE, Azera, and their new model line-up. You’ll be impress how fast the Koreans improved over the years.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 1:37 pm

bmpower said,

==dude, have u driven this car or ride on it? u don’t like the bright colors doesn’t mean it is not nice. bright colors boring? black colors very down? create ur own colors then….please don’t compare with the new proton saga because is not a 1.4 or 1.6 car. e.g. u just can’t compare 523i with camry 2.4, dude.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 2:26 pm

bmpower said,

==
    ‘bising’ because the tax.. dude!!!

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 2:29 pm

The 2008 Hyundai Accent 1.4 manual goes for RM68,888, while the 2008 Hyundai Accent 1.6 CVVT auto goes for RM73,888.

68k-70k .. ppl still can choose the latest P1 Persona or Waja CPS … not a good price for 1.4 manual … & 73k how about ppl think about the Nissan Latio 1.6 M … also 5 star saftly ranking … say truely … i’m not that like korean cars … how about support P1 ??

• richx (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 3:49 pm

Hmmm confirm the “twin integrated exhausts” are posers. Anyway, I do think it’s fair to compare the 1.4 M/T version with a New Saga. Both engines output similar amount of power (but the 1.4 engine has more torque), and the CamPro 1.3 is actually a bit more than 1.3 litres. And both are also only available with single airbag. Both even have an oddment shelf below the steering. In fact, both offer similar amounts of interior space, but it seems to me that the Accident has a larger trunk.

But of course there are other differences too. There’s leather on the Accident, and a USB player. In after-market terms those add up to about RM3000 or so. There’s also the ABS, dual visor mirrors, auto headlamp power down, coat hook, and map lamps. Then there’s that all-important five star crash rating. Supposedly the New Saga scored about three stars? That’s about as good as an Impian/Waja.

Then there’s also the differences that you can’t put down on paper, such as the feel and finish of the interior panels, and the tactility of the switches. So yes, I realized I’m writing a pointless comment. Hahahaha …

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 3:54 pm

lawan sama new Saga? don’t lah…..

better lawan sama new Vios, hehez~

SAGA best :-)

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 4:02 pm

new saga still the best look smarter solid sedan n roomier inside!!

• Charger (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 4:06 pm

Everyone just know how to compare the prices. No one even bother to test drive and come up with a rationale criticism?

Hyundai puts a lot of effort, I mean, a lot, in NVH. Try comparing that with the likes of SAGA, Persona or even Waja. You’ll see!

There’s even a fool whom compares the PS? OMG? Not like you are gonna redline all the way on our roads! It doesn’t really matter. I’d like more torque! That’s it.

Why has this place turned into Lowyet.net huh? So many idiots with mindless comments.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 4:11 pm

The interior is from new rio…its korean btw, i must avoid bcoz no 2nd hand dealer want my spectra…i want to sell for a new proton

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 4:32 pm

IsaacVky said,
    January 23, 2008 @ 1:31 pm

What? you said really fast? haha..
    Hyundai (hyandei) founded 1947 !.. that’s near 20 years earlier than proton!.
    And Kia 1944! (they do start car biz in 1952) .. Is this the best and fastest they can do in this 40 years??? Wtf!!!!

Proton in 20 years can make own engine what..
    korean still using too many japanese part.
    +++++++++

NiceCar said,
    January 23, 2008 @ 2:26 pm
    —–
    If you found any country of this world no tax at all.. tell me.. i want to be there too… for now im satisfied in malaysia.. i can make money.. i can eat everything i want.. i can going anywhere as i want to. doing sex with my gf oso.. but dont forget.. if you find taxfreeland and good more.. i want to be there too…

+++++++++
    tec96248 said,
    January 23, 2008 @ 1:37 pm
    ———
    What!!! you comparing this car with Camry?!!! Do you really mean that? ROTF..
    Camry is luxury class. It’s a good and grand car.. The size itself near benz!..

This accident.. aiyah.. accent.. i a small car.. comparing to vios is fair.. but.. vios is fugly.. but this car just so so.. nothing impressive external.. internal.. hermmm.. oklah..

Engine? most of korean car gas guzzzleerr…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 5:35 pm

bmpower said,
    January 23, 2008 @ 4:32 pm

==mate, i mentioned that a 523i can’t compare to a camry 2.4. u have missed out the numbers. anyway, i hv driven this car and ride it on my friends car since last two years travelling from singapore to KL and compared with vios too. in singapore it called it hyundai verna. that time i felt that vios is more like gas guzzler compared to his 1.6 model, when we fuel up at the same time same kiosk. anyway, both are 2 years old car already. damn, if it launched earlier in malaysia, i would hv taken this instead of vios.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 5:46 pm

bmpower said,

January 23, 2008 @ 4:32 pm

If you compare the history of Toyota & Hyundai, Hyundai is improving so fast that they took so much lesser time to reach the stage they’re in now.
    I am Proton supporter and I drive a Waja but to be frank, Proton can’t compete with Hyundai, yet.
    I assume you don’t know Koreans already have their own engines long time ago and not using any Mitsubishi engine anymore. Mitsubishi GM & Hyundai partner and form the GEMA Global Engine Manufacturers Alliance.
    Basically the Sonata TRANSFORM which is selling in Korea now is the same engine as the Lancer GT but with different tweak and valve mechanism and produce 163ps which is higher than Lancer’s 155ps. The 2.4L of Sonata TRANSFORM uses VVT on both Intake & Exhaust and a VIM thus producing 179ps which is more than 10ps higher than our Camry in Malaysia.
    Hyundai have their own sweet 2.7 V6 & 3.3 V6 too.

Proton in 20 years can make own engine what.. ??
    Campro is nothing compare to Korean’s engine.

Engine? most of korean car gas guzzzleerr…
    6.8L on highway for a 2.4L Sonata NF.
    10L on city drive for a 2.4L Sonata NF.
    How about that?

• car_key99 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 6:30 pm

Haiyaa…everybody talking always want to compare wit p1. Hyundai is 3step
    ahead la, their market world wide…p1 just to start running from sleeping what…dont compare la.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 7:03 pm

i feel very weird with some of the viewers. paul is talking about the new hyundai, and yet someone turned it to comment about proton. and yet there were also people supporting this kind of person.very pathetic la.. do you really hate proton that much you need to bring it on every posting you’ve made?

very pathetic…..

• hyundai (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 10:37 pm

This is really a nice car! Go and beat City and Vios!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:25 pm

unfortunately for hyundai, there is absolutely no chance of beating, or even coming close to toyota or honda in the Malaysian market.

the biggest problem facing them also is the very poor 2nd hand value.

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:57 pm

campro 1.6 cps 130hp with 150nm
    hyungai 1.6 cvvt 110hp with 145nm

campro 1.3 iafm 98hp 113nm
    hyundai 1.4 95hp 125nm

generally campro engine is healthier,

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:59 pm

I doubt that the single airbag car here will get the same 5 star NHTSA rating.
    Lets face it, most cars here are de-contented to lower price due to taxes.

To the Proton ppl, if you don’t make a big hoo hah about people bringing Proton into this, eventually they will die down…why feed the fire? Bite your lip, and keep quiet….unless you are working for Proton, whats it in for you then to stir the pot?

As for bmpower, get your facts straight.

FYI

Hyundai has been producing its own engines since the mid – late 90s. Thier last japanese engines were the 4G15 (yes similar to our wira’s) in the Excel and the 4G67 in the Elantra, and the G4CS (Hyundai licensed 4G64) in the Sonata. All bullet proof Mitsubishi designs.

Thier current engines are quite well done up, but unfortunately we only see a few of the smaller versions. Their newer larger v6s will give the japanese a run for thier money. I drove a then new Sonata with the 3.3 Lamba engine. On paper its off the japanese, but on smoothness and tractability, its one of the best in the market. The new Theta II in the NF is point for point just as good as the K24 in the Accord.

Besides, in business, since when its bad to buy someone elses technology when it is not feasible to make it yourself? Going at it yourself isn’t necessary a good thing. The elantras 2.0, is essentially the same as the 4B11 in the Lancer (and in Chrysler group’s small cars) – minus thier own tweaks. This allows for economies of scale. If 3 of the worlds largest automotive companies, think its a good idea to work together, Proton’s insistance of doing it alone, on face value may be commendable, but shortlived.

I don’t perticularly find Hyundai quite appetizing, but credit given where credit is due. The last 10 years saw them move up fast. JD powers rates them among the top (if not already #1) Customer satisfaction polls. Now doing this is a fair and competitive markets with very deep rooted players (and IMAGE issues), is definately credible.

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:59 pm

campro 1.6 cps 130hp with 150nm
    hyungai 1.6 cvvt 110hp with 145nm

campro 1.3 iafm 98hp 113nm
    hyundai 1.4,,,,,,,,95hp 125nm

generally campro engine is healthier,

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:06 am

And for those comparing… This model is already 2 years old. The next one is already due shortly.

• armandd (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:08 am

this car rides on 13-inch wheels? come on, they must put at least 14-inch. even savvy rides on 15.

• Paul Tan on Jan 24, 2008 at 2:02 am

4G63T DSM: the elantra 2.0 engine is not the same engine as the 2.0 liter engine in the sonata 2.0 and the optima 2.0, the sonata/optima has the GEMA engine, while the elantra is of an older family

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:00 am

hmm..paul, tahnks for pointing it out.

I do remember a when I was reading the launch literature for the Elantra in north America. Perhaps I might have mixed them up.

BTW, Looks like the North American market will get a derivative of the European i30 badged as an Elantra wagon.

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:25 am

nice

• waimak (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:31 am

I have gotten into this car when they had their roadshow near my office. I’m impressed with the build quality unlike the previous generation accent. On the road it looks solid. Hyundai has travelled far and keeps going.

• razzack04 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:32 am

I love this man… there’re always some good argument or discussion going on. Personally based on experience with car assembly, i don’t like korean cars. Based on looks alone it had to be the last choice after honda, toyota or proton, nissan, mitsu. Kia & Hyundai.. doesn’t matter.. adik beradik company, still the same. 5 star crash rating ? Diana died in a S class merc. I’ve seen a lot of bad accidents…. the trick is not the car you’re driving. It’s the driver. Best advice.. drive smart, don’t get into an accident. At 140 km/h it doesn’t matter what rating you have. Especially if you hit a truck. Korean cars improve a lot… I agree but in the beginning they all struggle just like our local car manufacturers. The one advantage that korean have is that they support their local product, same with japanese mentality. We malaysian hentam our own even when it’s good. They still buy their car even if it’s crap, this volume help them survive and eventually improve. Then slowly they expand overseas. May we all support local product.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:51 am

razzack04 said,
    January 24, 2008 @ 9:32 am

==mate, korean cars or japanese cars, they supported their own products because they also hv their NAP, just like us. u should find out more. by the way, we also support our local cars, proton or perodua is still the best selling cars.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:26 am

agree with tec96248. japan and especially korea has one of the most protected car markets in the world. Malaysia doesnt even come close at all

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 11:35 am

May I tell you all something?

Proton had good handling.. so.. good handling = hard to accident.
    Not good handling = easy to accident..

well.. i do knew human factor is the main accident reason.. but i do believe.. good handling car can avoid something..

that’s the same as.. airbag in Viva vs Rigid body high tensile in savvy.
    I bet.. if both car crashing each other at high speed.. Viva airbag is USELESS!..

That’s the same as this 5 star ncap rating Accent.
    Do any one of Hyundai car had a good handling?
    As far as i knew.. my cousin Getz is driveable car,.. but not good at high speed at all. and the cornering worse!.. Drive my friend elantra.. it’s so so only.. maybe coz the car width so bit stable.. but.. none of korean car had good handling and power engine too!.

Anyway.. a friend of mine studying in korea in the past few year..
    He said.. many of korean admiring AUDI!!!!!

• KF (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 11:48 am

Love the interior….simply yet classy…not loving the price though….too expensive for a 1.4L car…

• KF (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 11:49 am

oops…typo error…I meant to say “….simple yet classy”

• harry potter (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:06 pm

ive test driven the car. The car is jerky. Look the IIHS website

http://www.iihs.org/ratings/ratingsbyseries.aspx?id=586

• harry potter (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:12 pm

the car is jerky. Look At IIHS crash test Website

http://www.iihs.org/ratings/ratingsbyseries.aspx?id=586

• harry potter (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:14 pm

bad crashtest. look at www.iihs.org and search for hyundai accent

• harry potter (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:15 pm

www.iihs.org/ratings/ratingsbyseries.aspx?id=586

• harry potter (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:20 pm

the car is very jerky. Vios crash test results are better

www.iihs.org/ratings/ratingsbyseries.aspx?id=589

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 4:44 pm

bmpower said,

January 24, 2008 @ 11:35 am

Oh I see.

harry potter said,

January 24, 2008 @ 12:20 pm

What can I say, do you believe our Thai Vios got the same quality like Americans market?

• szw (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:20 pm

boring car…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:51 pm

bmpower said,

==hmm…….so far i hv seen gen2 head on crash with kancil. and merc e-class and smart fortwo crash. i also wanted to know savvy and viva head on crash. maybe u should try it, rite? to my perception i guess both drivers die anyway, as u said “at high speed.. Viva airbag is USELESS!” then i guess without airbag even WORST! am i right? anyway during at highspeed crash, whatever car can’t save us unless u r driving a tank. hahahaha.
    i really don’t know what perception is that having said that none of the korean car is good handling. chevy optra basically is an korean car but it is also tuned by Lotus. unless u r saying that lotus is not good enough, then so what is persona handling? if u wanted to comment have to be more constructive…..pity. anyway, i prefered RWD or AWD cars.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:21 am

bmpower said,

May I tell you all something?

Proton had good handling.. so.. good handling = hard to accident.
    Not good handling = easy to accident..

Hahaha!!!!!!!!!! This is ur theory or ur opinion???
    U really have the potential to be a minister lah…

• majavaz (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:17 am

lol reminds me of James May jokes.. Hyundai ACCidENT..
    btw.. nice car :)

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:49 am

tec96248 said,
    January 24, 2008 @ 7:51 pm

the high speed doenst mean 250KMH.
    let say.. 170kmh.. ah! i doubt viva can reach that speed.. so let say.. 120kmh is enough… Viva driver will die easily : http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/881/vivacompressorwt2.jpg (viva superbar!)

Well.. if all car hard all kind safety stuff.. that would be better way..
    but the cost is the main fact.

++++
    NiceCar said,
    January 25, 2008 @ 8:21 am

sometimes we still need an option.. even you had an airbag.. it doesnt mean you no need seatbelt. Right? You had 4 disk brake .. you still need ABS EBD right? Now what about.. a good equipped safety features car with 12 airbags, pretension seatbelt , but handling is worst!!! cornering at 100kmh had no grip.. bla bla bla.. Imagine.. you driving kenari at 100kmh.. wet road (after rain)..

Okay, Chevvy optra is a good handling car.. after tuned by lotus (a subsidiary company of proton?).. It’s one car that i almost play in NFS .. hehe

This accent.. doent had any WOW!!! factor at all..

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:25 pm

i dont think it is fare to compare this car with proton saga… higher paid people will consider this car as an option…

• afkar (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 3:57 pm

beautiful interior..i like..

same price as the naza citra rs..any report on the new naza citra rs on this blog?

• skywalkers (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 10:49 pm

i LIKE THIS CAR.
    How much is the kerb weight & turning radius?
    I have seen one at Kulim at night.
    I thought it was a new model from toyota, quite cool.
    But when i hightlighted on the rear, so surprised that it is the new accent.

The rear twin exhaust i heard are fake…..
    1.6 for only RM73000 is consider cheap for me.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 5:57 pm

My only complaint is the bumper quality. Something didn’t look right to me about the fit and finish.

• i think this is a better compare to new city and also vios…planning to buy this one…

• nazzry on Mar 17, 2009 at 4:56 pm

I purchase this car 1.6 cvvt. My milage now exceed 12,000km. No comment at all due to its performance. THE BEST PRICE WINS.Ive experience a flat tyre but i im save although i drove 130-140km/h for 20km. Then someone shouted at me "YOUR REAR TYRE3x!!"…SAFETY COMES 1st".

• nazzry on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:00 pm

in other words i didnt realise that im driving with flat tyre. I tought my wheel missalingment. Thank you Hyundai.

• shacroft on Apr 18, 2009 at 10:44 pm

nazzry,u've purchased d new accent? accent 2008? im planning 2 buy it,but stil in considering..how's d fuel consumption?

• smartcharming on May 04, 2009 at 10:56 pm

forget about condeming other automotive company… each and every car has got its own pros n cons… depends so much on one' own perceptions, or what one's heard of..

I'm planning to get one new accent despite hearing all the negative comment.. have u ever tried one or it's just simply of what u heard? or it's just a conclusion u depicted specifically from any special cases?

taking into consideration of ur own ability to afford one, or to fulfill ur own desire to at least have a try before u die….. taking a vios or city is indeed a good choice, but wat about $$$…. It's nearly rm10-15k more, which will take u quite a time to raise up such an amount…

so if u think of an economy-wise car, take a cheaper car…. iff u can afford a better car, then go for it.. one life, live it, u can't keep ur money with u somehow when u died… even if u tried to save ur money on cheaper car, once u met an accident, u might as well dead… wateve car u r driving, once u died (in an accident perhaps), make ur desire being satisfied ur own way…

to die in kancil, to die in bmw, make ur choice…

• smartcharming on May 04, 2009 at 11:04 pm

btw, as the matter of handling, please make me clear…. did u mean that the handling is not good that the steering will get off by itself when u r driving?

if u have got one car, be one with ur car, u should know better the handling of ur own car… just like the clutch or accelaration….

blame not the car, blame the driver instead if they cannot handle their own car… blame not the food, blame the cook…

• nidzam on May 24, 2009 at 9:40 am

i driving a hyundai matrix,it so relax and comfortable..to me hyundai complete my life

• yusry on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:30 am

Whoahoo… I am driving one this Thursday. Bought it with RM71k. Black 1.6A CVVT. Very lucky I did not bought the overpriced-Vios-lowest-specs-RM73k-for-nothing.

And the best part… since Sime Darby took over Hyundai from Kah Bintang, the price for this Accent went up RM75k.

Does this mean Hyundai cars getting expensive due to its newly recognised quality? Anyone agree?

• Wax turtle on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:59 am

Really sorry to say, I don't like the Hyundai Accent interior, design is so simple, even Vios also better than it. I am heading on to the Hyundai Elantra X20 which is more impress for me.

• ok i've bought this car 3 month ago..

i rated this car overall 4.5/5.

interior design classy.

exterior design?urmmm not bad at all..

price?affortdable..

original sound system?5 star for a rm71k car.

handling?so relax and comfortable..

safty?sure it is..as long as stay safe on the road..

maintenance?ok..

lucky i bought this car rm71k..i think its now went up to rm75k..

new generation of hyundai car are impressive..

from my experience,this car is better than vios 1.5..huhu

• btw…im gonna modified my car into smething rally style…its fix with diz car or hyundai accent rxs model.

• kvicYoman on Jul 27, 2009 at 9:04 pm

im really hate for the person that compare this car with proton..

are u noob???

dun compare with saga.. u compare with persona.. sure more better n better accenct 2008.. dun say high maintenance or fuel or too high price..

mostly person by this car…

maintenance n fuel not as a problem.. small issue.. they look for safety ,comfortable, quality component n engines, rank star for crashed..

for the person not enough money.. sure take protorn la.. more saver… maintenance low.. can drive for 10 year… it ok.. all ok.. but when sudden happen to u.. got another car speed to fast, or trailer, bus mabuk person..

u drive carefully.. but they hit u… how come?? are u alive???

think n think bro…

compare with vios,nissan sentra or others import car… it more better..

all good quality… high rates star… comfortable,engine ,design will win to attract people..

this attibute[ save money, cheaper , or low maintenance…] go to protorn or perodua..

• Dulang on Nov 15, 2009 at 10:17 am

To all of you, i'll buy da Accent MC 1.6(a) 2moro. But, im challenging you all 2 race with my Iswara 1.5(a). Yep, no problem, just bring on ur 'biol' Vios or 'siti' City. IMoney can buy machine, but cannot buy skill. Hahahha, dare 2 race?Do contact me.Tqvm dudes.

• stephen on Jul 12, 2010 at 11:15 am

kvicYoman says:
    27/7/2009 at 1:04 pm

im really hate for the person that compare this car with proton..
    are u noob???

I agree with you dude….i reli dont understand those ppl y used SAGA to compare with Hyundai Accent 1.6 the latest version…i felt DAMN funny on to that!!28 k car compare with 70k car? there must be a difference between them rite? As i know many ppl tell me that Malaysia reli like Milo tin…..do u all agree? more over the new latest version 1.6 is 5 star crash rating….be realistic…if reli wan to compare if both saga and Hyundai crash ….which person in the car most risky? So far i ride the Hyundai 1.6 for 2 yrs i think the condition of the car is still good. In term of oil consumption is saved!!

• i looovvveee this car… really.. jatuh cinta.. my husband prefer proton persona.. i’m trying to accept but i can’t.. still want this car..

tak banyak yang komen tentang performance kete ni.. terlalu banyak buat perbandingan yang tak setara.. kelakar pun ada.. bila nak hentam kete ni bandingkan dengan model hyundai yg lain…

last week the dealers offer rm66k++ for this car.. cant wait to get it.

• so you dah beli kereta ni? nak tahu comment u, because im cosidering it, but do not know hows the overall quality and reliability of the car, especially the fuel consumption, service and spare parts.

im torn between choosing this Accent or suzuki swift, although both is different, but it a matter of choice :p

• Just wanted to share search on Fuel consumption on Hyundai Accent. After some search, the end result I have for myself is : All combustion engine performance looks the same in term of fuel consumption. There are a few factors known to me that lead to different fuel consumption, i.e.
    1) Gear Ratio.
    2) Driving Speed.
    3) Car Body weight.

My family poses three cars:

Kancil Auto 660, 14 years old car, which gives Fuel consumption of 15 to 16.5 KM /liter.
    Driving the car to work 100km distance daily, heavy traffic at Penang Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone.

Toyota Unser, 8 years old, which gives a wide range of Fuel Consumption, the best so far has been achieved by this car is :
    12.5KM/liter, driving at 90 KM/hour (85 to 95 KM/h), speed never exceed 100Km/hour for 560 km journey from Penang to Pagoh,100 % highway.
    But the car sucks lots of Petrol and it gives only 6 to 7km/liter when it was drive in Taman, or place where there are lots of jucntion and stopping where the car is using first and second gear only.

A newly bought Hyundai Accent 1.6.
    For the first 1000 KM, not much can be commented here, but it gives me a shock when it deliver 5 km/liter only (Use in Taman Zone), but it gives me around 12.5km/liter. Kampong road where the speed is around 40 to 70 km/hour range and numerous number of stop and drive, base on some publish data found in US WEB Side on fuel consumption, this car is possible to delivered 15 to 17 km/liter range if it was drive on 100% highway where I had not try out yet. ( A driver must keep his speed at 90km/hour +/- 5)

I am using the Chart find in those WEB and it gives speed versus fuel consumption chart which tell us the optimum fuel FC of combustion engine. Most of the chart tells, the current design of combustion engine is tune to achieve best FC at 90km/hour. Any number below this and above this will affect the fuel consumption,

I am using Unser to test it out (Chart FC versus Speed) from Penang to Johor, and it looks true, it gives me 12.5km/liter, and I do not need to refill my fuel tank from Penang To Pagoh Johor where Previous, when I drove at the speed of 100 km to 125km/hour range, Unser only give me fc of about 9.5 to 10.5km/liter.

In another US transport department publish article, extra weight of 100Kg will contribute 3 % more fuel for a car.

If I take this number and made some comparison on FC between Toyota Unser and Hyundai Accent 1.6CVVT. It will give me this number:
    Unser is heavier than Accent by about 400Kg, so accent shall be 12% fuel efficient compare to Unser. Logically, Accent shall gives = 12.5km/l *1.12 = 14 km/liter.

Gear Ratio Gain (Both are Auto):
    Unser : Fourth Gear ratio 1:1.01
    Accent: Fourth Gear Ratio 1: 0.69

There is a gain in distance for Accent with overdrive ratio higher than Unser which gives a factor of 1.46. I am not using this number but the publish final gear ratio
    which is:
    Unser : 3.73
    Accent CVVT 1.6 : 4.619
    Ratio : 1.23 gain.

Take the previous Gain obtain from body weight which gives 14km/liter, multiply this number again by 1,23 will give 17.22 km/liter (shall be at 90km/hour speed)

This is purely calculation factor used, The publish official distance at China WEB side for Hyundai verna (NAme as Accent in Malaysia) is about 16.6km/liter. Which is very closed.

The search is purely wanted to understand the words usually used by some expert, ”
    The driving style and the condition. The analysis here shall explain, if we drive too slowly ( the car did not go to overdrive gear )or too fast, the FC will definitely affected and it will varies from time to time. If we purchase a car, we shall look at the body weight too if you are fuel consumption consciuos type of personal.

Toyota Prius combustion engine performance is the same like the combustion engine we ordinary people driving, the so call fuel safe is the car is battery powered at low speed, 0 to 60 km and this speed range is killig the combustion engine performance.

Buying a combustion engine :
    1) fc is a factor but the product quality is equally important.

So if Toyota or Honda is charging us with a higher car value because people say it has delivered higher fc, we shall considered twice!!! I think persona will delivered close fc performance, but Persona overall car quality ( other than engine) may not satisfactory.

CVVT, is it really good for FC? It depends on how you judge as? Or is it a saling strategy used by car manufacturer? I believed it helps on slow speed driver only and may not be useful for expert car driver (technical).

• flakesns on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:31 am

I bought this car on Oct 2010. Already 4 month use… REALLY GOOD CAR.. Comfort.. suitable for mid range income like me.. fc also quiet good.. when i get this car.. drive from driving from JB to Kota Bharu..= RM 120..
    driving from JB to KL (highway 320KM) (120-160km/h) = RM 50.00
    city driving (JB) (250KM) – RM 50.00

This car is stable.. does not have any problem..

• “driving from JB to KL (highway 320KM) (120-160km/h) = RM 50.00.”

It is only giving you FC of 12.16 km/litre. The reason of poor FC shall be your speed
      that causing it. My first 100% highway experiment using Hyundai Accent is during Chinese New Year eve – From Butterworth to Ayer Keroh (473 km – consumed 29.5 liter using RON95 Petronas Petrol which gives about 16 km/liter ( slightly better than US web side figures of 36mpg (100% highway) = 15.33 km/litre. The average speed range I am using is about 100km/hrs to 120km/hrs. The car is stable at 150km/hr, but just momentarily attempt with this speed, the temptation on higher speed for this car is very high. City driving fluctuating between 11 to 12.5 Km/litre.

• good experiment… thanks for sharing

have been driving Accent 1.6 CVVT for the past 2 years… this is our 7th car…after 6 Japs product – proton knight 1.3, proton saga megavalve 1.3, proton persona (UK spec) 1.6, kancil 850, kenari 1.0, nissan serena 2.0

recorded max speed (mine)..maybe others did go faster… no upgrade on the engines:

proton knight (manual): 140 km/h
        proton megavalve (manual): 145 km/h
        persona 1.6 (UK spec) manual: 185 km/h
        kancil (manual): 140 km/h
        kenari (manual): 160 km/h
        serena 2.0 (auto): 165 km/h
        accent 1.6 cvvt (auto): done 190km/h – driving down to Melaka… think thats the limit as it can’t go faster at full throttle..

our comment on Accent: heard many pros & con about this car, but we found it different when we own one – 100% satisfied!

one thing for sure we hv never calculated the FC … our principle – to enjoy driving… just pump the petrol & drive!

happy driving!

• flakesns on Jun 07, 2011 at 11:40 am

YEAHHH….

Comment on Accent: heard many pros & con about this car, but we found it different when we own one – 100% satisfied!

IT”S RIGHT..

DRIVE IT DAILY ALMOST 1 YEAR—> ZERO PROBLEM –> 100% satisfied!

• hello.. where i can find spare parts for hyundai accent 1.4 l… i have no idea…

• flakesns on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:53 am

hmm..the suspension not good.. drive it feel like ‘sampan’ ride. The absorber is too soft. Hard to get the spare parts.