2008 Hyundai Elantra on sale in Malaysia

Hyundai Elantra

Kah Bintang is now selling the latest Hyundai Elantra here in Malaysia. Under the hood is an inline-4 2.0 litre DOHC CVVT engine producing 143 PS at 6,000rpm and 186Nm of torque at 4,600rpm. It is mated to a 4-speed automatic. This is not the nice GEMA-based 2.0 unit in the Kia Optima, but a different family. It uses an electric power steering system.

The car rides on 16 inch alloy wheels with 205/55R16 tyres, and uses McPherson struts at the front, and a multi link suspension at the rear. Brakes are discs all round, with the front being ventilated. Turning radius is 5.17 meters, while the car’s wheelbase is 2,650mm. The 6 speaker audio system plays CD/MP3/WMA, and has aux input for you to hook up your external music device like iPods and etc. The interior is done up in leather, which includes the steering wheel, driver armrest and shift knob. Climate control is automatic. The steering wheel is both tilt and telescopic adjustable.

Safety features include dual SRS airbags, anti-lock brakes, front seatbelt pretensioners with force limiter, and electronic brakeforce distribution. The door locks unlock automatically upon impact. The car scored a 5-star crash test rating for the US NHTSA front impact test.

Kah Bintang says the new Hyundai Elantra managed to go from JB to Butterworth with a 53 litre tank of fuel – that’s a distance of about 746km.

The new Hyundai Elantra is priced at RM91,208.10 OTR without insurance.

View a few more photos after the jump.

Hyundai Elantra

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ago87 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 1:40 am

1st to comment,

Rear view look like BMW 3-series…

Does it?

• shamel (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 1:55 am

Nice car if it’s not a Korean. RM93,888 OTR is a steal BUT not many willing to apart their money for a Korean beauty. I’ll buy this car if it’s a turbodiesel even 1.5CDri. More torque definitely translate into less fuel, PAUL?

• m08 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 1:58 am

53litre to go 746km.. in 2.0 engine somemore. really? impressive. hurm.. it must be a very very slow drive. My car only go 460km with about 46litre @ average 130kmh.

• Fireball (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 2:14 am

value for money…

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 2:19 am

Ugh. I don’t like it. Something about the shape I guess. It’s like a fat Korean woman trying to look like a German babe.

• Shaun on Jul 08, 2011 at 6:38 pm

fat korean ? and German babe ? bro., how many fat koreans have you seen? there are barely any fat people in Korea? plus, how many gorgeous, hot girls have you seen from Germany?? Europeans are tend to be big size and most of the women have thicker skin than asians..

Are you even for real?

• 707 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 2:21 am

i must say the Avante is the best hyundai to be produced on par with japanese make, quite popular in singapore.

• richx (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 2:38 am

m08, what car is that you’re driving? I don’t find 14 km/litre on a highway cruise on the new Elantra very much to shout about. Sure, it’s not horrible, but it’s not great either. My mom’s Altis 1.6 does 14 km/litre in city driving. My girlfriend’s 1991 Saga 1.5 3-speed A/T does 14 km/litre on the highway @ 100 km/h.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 2:55 am

Nice aero line…nice front interior,dun like the aircond vent and the seat trimming…but i think this car will not sell well because it is a korean car…i think its much better then manufacture T car…but is on par with manufacturer H…just wonder why its always T is selling well at malaysia…

• marvel (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 5:16 am

nice

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 6:55 am

Looks quite nice, sadly badge is a problem when it comes to sell the car again…

• azolkipl (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 7:06 am

Serious value for money here. A 2liter car that gets 14km/l is quite impressive, especially since it’s a hyundai. Not to mention, on a conventional 4-speed automatic. This automaker was known to build inefficient engines last time. Not to mention low quality plastics (worse than proton). But, I just had a look at one yesterday at Tesco Mutiara Damansara, and the interior does rival other 2liter class cars in the market.
    So, to recap. 2liter car, 14km/l mileage, Leather interior, ABS, EBD and dual SRS airbag, All around disk brakes. Cheaper than other comparable rivals by at least 20k eg (civic, focus, mazda3, altis). Someone want to do a test drive?

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 7:49 am

Korean car is good when it is new. Their wear and tear parts go out very fast. Same like Korean electronic products, my Samsung DVD player total spoilt after 1 year plus and my Samsung refrigerator spoilt a few times starting the 3rd year use. I heard Samsung LCD TV is good, but I dare not try anymore.

For me, no Korean products.

• idiomanic (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:04 am

elantra is in the same segment as Civic/Altis, right? dunno. its a Korean…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:05 am

U must know what Korean stuff is good wif in. Samsung only good in LCD product, even DELL computers LCD are from Samsung last time when i work in DELL as a technical support.

For a car under RM100k and have a 5-star crash test rating for the US NHTSA front impact test. I dont think the japanese car can win over this, the only car which have such safety i think is either from Nissan or Subaru but more expensive.

Hyundai is going better & better, if i not mistaken they have 5 years warranty + 2 years free service charge. If they have no quality will they have 5 years?

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:42 am

dont want korean car but i want korea amoi …….

• richx (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:54 am

It’s a strange arguement, I know, but if it’s reliable, why would they need to assure their customers with 5 years warranty? It’s as if after 5 years some major problems will come? On the flipside, I think Toyota offers 1 year warranty? If so, does that mean their cars aren’t good because they don’t back it up with 3 or 5 years warranty?

For sub-RM100k car, I might consider the Latio 1.8 as a viable alternative even though the engine capacity isn’t the same, and the Korean car looks better any day. But if you consider all the other factors … Hmm …. I think I’ll stick with the Japanese. Car ownership in Malaysia now have to consider at least 10 years, since for up to 9 of those years you’ll be paying the bank – not like Singapore – any car that can do its work for 3 to 5 years is okay.

Strangely, the cheaper Accent has a USB port on the player, while there’s no mention of it on this Elantra. Too bad it’s not the 4B11 engine that’s used in the other 2.0 cars. It’ll at least be more reassuring in terms of parts availability and other things. Within its category though, I’ll consider stretching it abit and get the Civic 1.8, which outputs the same amount of power as this Korean 2.0 engine, I think.

• demio121 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 10:14 am

this is a real value. If Lancer GT at RM116k is a steal this muz b a sin. 2.0 @ rm94k. this is definitely an intro price. dun expect this to stay low for long.

i think Hyundai have come a long way now. Their newer car are better but still have to play catch up with the leading Japanese.

the ony turn off i think is the Kah name. any car from them will be slapped with nonsense accessories making the car look down right cheap.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 10:28 am

This must be one of the most value for money 2.0 car out there. I’m not too sure on Perdana pricing but this looks cheaper than Perdana.

On reliability, Hyundai scores high in the US with up to 10 years warranty but I think Kah Bintang is only offering 2 years. I won’t take those US figures and results seriously in the local brochures as it is not entirely the same as the US version. If it is on par with the US version, why not offer 10 years too?

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 10:38 am

alamak jb-butterworth in a tankful but what’s the speed? Kalo bawak 60 km/j atas highway Haadyai pun blh sampai la….

• jehutyz (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:54 am

Hmmm even cheaper than my Latio.
    Nice car. But is a korean car.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 12:54 pm

Weird.. why so many ppl judge the car by its badge but not compare the value?

Haha.. that the mostly Malaysian culture: only judge the book by its cover..

This car is nice and shown great improvement from previous version.
    If the new Saga call slight improvement after 20++ years, the this new elantra will call superb improvement after est. 4 years.

• ctawyong (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 1:33 pm

the overall design of the car its nice, the interior and exterior both score in high. korean quality is good compare to few years ago!! every step they made its a big one. they maybe cant edge with the japanese in the engine refinement, but they find other way like improve fuel consumption and better value for the car in order to compare with the japanese!! the overall spec is good!!! 90k++ for 2.0, 5star safety, and the looks give our choice a headache!!

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 1:44 pm

I would say paying 88k for Vios S is crazy.
    Never mind the badge my fellows, high fuel consumption + expensive spare parts + low reliability = past of Korean cars.
    You never know before you try.

• happymeal (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 1:55 pm

so this is only distributed by kah bintang eh..
    whats with their strategy…. kah gets a few models, sime darby gets other models….

looks alright… worthy competitor to the upcoming altis..if they still continue the 1.6 version…salesman cakap ada…

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 2:00 pm

happymeal said,

January 23, 2008 @ 1:55 pm

Sime Darby would distribute the Inokom badged & CBU cars.
    Kah Bintang offer CKD version of four-door sedans.

MSN Experts & Users reviews shows Elantra is on par with the Corolla.
    Experts rated 7.0/10 for both and users 8.8/10 for Elantra while Corolla got a 8.5/10.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 2:32 pm

The new Hyundai Elantra is priced at RM91,208.10 OTR without insurance.
    haha really too expensive … this car give me think about Toyota altis … nth special for this car … maybe it can sell if with lowdownpayment … or adjust the price to rm 60k …

• kjryth (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 2:33 pm

i hv a Samsung LCD TV, 2 Samsung slider phones, 1 LG refridgerator, 1 daewoo washing machine, 2 Samsung DVD players, 2 Samsung PC monitor, 1 Hyundai accent… and all works fine for me.. if i were to buy a C segment car, this Elantra will definitely be my buy…

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 2:35 pm

sxe10r said,

January 23, 2008 @ 2:32 pm

Civic 2.0 128,800.000, how about that? Expensive, no?
    60k yes, in your dream.
    “Makan Nasi Tak Tau Nasi Punya Harga”

• ctawyong (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 3:07 pm

sxe10r said,
    he new Hyundai Elantra is priced at RM91,208.10 OTR without insurance.
    haha really too expensive … this car give me think about Toyota altis … nth special for this car … maybe it can sell if with lowdownpayment … or adjust the price to rm 60k

price 60k lol dude, u cant even get a 1.4 accent!!

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 3:23 pm

sxe10r said,

==can u look for me where to get this car at rm60K? but actually u can, if there were old stock clearance after next two or three years later buying this year manufactured. hahaha.

• richx (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 3:32 pm

I just realized the tail of this car looks a heck lot like that of the Nissan Sylphy!

• shamel (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 3:54 pm

RM60k is definitely out of question, BUT at RM88k, perhaps Kah can steal some entry level japanese brand B-segment, like Vios w/o passenger SRS.

At RM85k, people will consider it over any Waja or Sentra. Koreans still can’t match with Japanese. My Korean Samsung mobile can only work well for the first year, after that…

LG pretty tough, even after my son put inside into a glass of water.

So, Korean’s not bad BUT never close to Japanese yet, so expecting a RM10-20k difference in similar range is normal.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 4:01 pm

another car joining the Funny Car Category after Altis and City……

with that amount of money, better get an older yet reliable (and nice looking) Sentra……

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 4:07 pm

go fo SAGA la just RM31500 u still can stay comfort inside there.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 4:14 pm

no thanks. its ugly and i better get a new lancer. 91k vs 112k

• cecibo (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 4:51 pm

i like the interior it’s like a gadget showcase but horrible exterior. like stepping inside a bungalow with the shape of the prison outside, UUGGHHHH !!!

• scudz (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 5:05 pm

The exterior is extremely derivative… Looks like it’s been inspired by a whole bunch of different styling cues from different cars…

The sagging side window line gives the side a flabby appearance…

Anyway a marked improvement over the fugly fugly previous-gen Elantra thats for sure… lolz

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 5:31 pm

most Malaysian car owner richer…..they can bought EXPENSIVE MACHINE with the FULL MODIFIED, but the always protest abt PETROL

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 5:39 pm

most Malaysian car owner richer…..they can bought EXPENSIVE MACHINE with the FULL MODIFIED, but the always protest abt PETROL, TOL+OL n parking…..so if want cheap cars just buy cheap one dont dream to own rich price car if we cant afford!

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 6:09 pm

very nice car… lots of this car in singapore…

• ront (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 6:35 pm

nice touch with the leather interior for a sub-100k car. unfortunately….only 2 airbags????

still not leaning towards korean engineering quality..no matter what is the product……..i had to return my samsung lcd TV…..basically forced them to take it back and give my money back….that was a 6th (or was it 7th) generation R series. problem with backlight.

• solidsnake (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 7:30 pm

This one no sunroof meh? i browse this got sunroof..http://worldwide.hyundai-motor.com/common/html/showroom/passenger/elantra/focus.html

Maybe Kah Bintang cut this to reduce the cost lol..

• solidsnake (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 7:32 pm

This one no sunroof meh? I browse this got sunroof..http://worldwide.hyundai-motor.com/common/html/showroom/passenger/elantra/focus.html

Maybe Kah Bintang cut this to reduce cost lol..

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:18 pm

IsaacVky said,
    January 23, 2008 @ 2:35 pm

ctawyong said,
    January 23, 2008 @ 3:07 pm

tec96248 said,
    January 23, 2008 @ 3:23 pm

korean car is suxxx .. u all wil buy ??

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:26 pm

IsaacVky said,
    January 23, 2008 @ 2:35 pm

sxe10r said,

Civic 2.0 128,800.000, how about that? Expensive, no?
    60k yes, in your dream.
    “Makan Nasi Tak Tau Nasi Punya Harga”

this car can be compare with civic ?? i don;t think which part can win civic lo

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:28 pm

scudz said,

January 23, 2008 @ 5:05 pm

The exterior is extremely derivative… Looks like it’s been inspired by a whole bunch of different styling cues from different cars…
    ____________________________________________________________________________
    My thought exactly…

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:28 pm

sxe10r said,
    he new Hyundai Elantra is priced at RM91,208.10 OTR without insurance.
    haha really too expensive … this car give me think about Toyota altis … nth special for this car … maybe it can sell if with lowdownpayment … or adjust the price to rm 60k

price 60k lol dude, u cant even get a 1.4 accent!!

dude i wirite wrong is 80k la ~ 1.4 accent worth 60 k meh u think ?? also a junk car … no 2nd hand value

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:30 pm

sxe10r said,

==can u look for me where to get this car at rm60K? but actually u can, if there were old stock clearance after next two or three years later buying this year manufactured. hahaha.

yes u r right .. after 2 year u can get it with 60k but i think maybe lower 60k u can get liao ~ no 2nd value at all ~

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 9:58 pm

sxe10r said,

Korean cars aren’t suck but you suck big time.
    Do try to update yourself.
    Don’t give laughable comments base on your very limited knowledge .

• lol xD (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 10:01 pm

The exterior is nice.

• hyundai (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 10:41 pm

sxe10r…
    Please update yourself… Now Hyundai and Kia are almost at the same line with the Japanese… Don’t always think that Toyota is the best… It is nothing actually!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:19 pm

the only problem with korean cars today, especially in our malaysian market is the 2nd hand value. most people who try to sell of their year 2000+ korean cars to buy something else have trouble selling their cars just to cover the loan.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:21 pm

Not my cup of tea. Something about the design doesn;t sit well with me.

I did like the past gen Elantra 5 door “wagon” that wasn’t available here.

I sat in a demo car jsut the other car. The interior fit and finish is definately much improved, if I can say so, better than some japanese marques.

14L/100kms highway isn’t something to shout about.

Warranty is free, so who on earth complaints about too much waranty. Kia, Hyundai and Mitsubishi offers 10 year warranty on their cars sold in North America. It imparts confidence, even though actual reliability might be iffy.

I do quite like the new Accent.

• lol xD (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:54 pm

The interior looks nice.

• mzfnd (Member) on Jan 23, 2008 at 11:55 pm

Having the quality is one thing, convincing people you have the quality is another. And you can’t blame the people for that.
    Something for Kah Bintang to ponder I guess.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:10 am

Ah…now I realise why I dont like how it looked.

It looked a bit too much as the ZX2 Ford Escort coupe, which was already a very ugly car to start with.

• gey2718 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:52 am

this is called hyundai avante in singapore, comes with 1.6 and 2.0
    not a bad car, selling quite well in singapore

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 8:35 am

sxe10r said,
    January 23, 2008 @ 9:26 pm

==hahaha, if u hv one of this latest model or driven for sometime then we can discuss about it. if not, then is just wasting time for no reason. talking about secondhand value, it just launched weeks ago for these new generation models, we couldn’t tell how it will be……..u should try it out first. afterall i have tested it since last two years.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:00 am

“talking about secondhand value, it just launched weeks ago for these new generation models, we couldn’t tell how it will be……..u should try it out first.”

i’m pretty certain their 2nd hand value isn’t going to improve just because they launched a new model. Having a good car in Malaysia doesn’t automatically mean you can sell it, or have strong 2nd hand pricing.

a good example is ford, whose brand has taken a beating over the years. they used to be some of the most popular cars in malaysia, but today, they struggle even just to sell a hundred cars a year. the ford focus is a good car. proven in all other markets but can hardly sell here.

i have no doubt in my mind that this hyundai is a decent car with a lot going for it, but in our market, the going will be very tough

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 9:56 am

IsaacVky said,
    January 23, 2008 @ 9:58 pm

sxe10r said,

Korean cars aren’t suck but you suck big time.
    Do try to update yourself.
    Don’t give laughable comments base on your very limited knowledge .

i don’t think the korean cars can sell well if they need 10% downpayment … all i know they only need a minimun downpayment the u can own it .. it is ?
    IsaacVky ?? i know korean car is improve but since last time i working at KIA motor … i give customer complaine the car problem more then u dunno how to soft …9/10 coming back next day or second day , to compaline the car electronic problem , engine like 2nd car … man !! the parts also expensive then toyota also u need so much time to find …

• KF (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 11:52 am

RM91000+ for a 2.0 CVVT engine is quite a bargain in my opinion. Hyundais are getting better at designing cars I must say…just take a looks at the Azera….The shape of the new Elantra looks elegant and proportionate…

• harry potter (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 12:10 pm

after 4 year no resale value maa

• tommy73 (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 2:33 pm

Resale value is irrelevant. What is releavnt is the total costs of ownership which is depreciation plus running cost. Depreciation is normally calculated by yearly % of initial capital costs. The higher the capital cost i.e. selling price, the higher the deprecition. For example 12% depreciation of 110k initial costs is 13.2k, while 15% of 90k is 13.5k. Running cost is basically fuel+road tax+insurance+maintenance. My estimate is Elantra 2.0 and Altis 1.8 has roughly the same total cost of owner over say 6-7 years. But Altis is 20k more expensive to begin with. Now, if costs is the same, then the deciding factors will be value, which are what matter to you most – Look, comfort, practicality, performance, safety and after sales service including maintenance. I already have my verdict.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 4:52 pm

sxe10r said,

January 24, 2008 @ 9:56 am

That’s why I told the fellows in Paultan.org here that if you had bad experiences with Kia Spectra Sephia etc etc, try to look at their latest models. I think they give you the best run for your money.
    I don’t know what’s the minimum down payment required to own a Korea car but I paid 40k down payment for Sonata NF 2.4L with 6 airbags.

• szw (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 7:22 pm

now its 2.0 ?

• nmh (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 8:30 pm

Just put a Saturn badge (or whatever american crap brand) and sell it in the states

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 24, 2008 at 10:46 pm

IsaacVky said,
    January 24, 2008 @ 4:52 pm

sxe10r said,

January 24, 2008 @ 9:56 am

That’s why I told the fellows in Paultan.org here that if you had bad experiences with Kia Spectra Sephia etc etc, try to look at their latest models. I think they give you the best run for your money.
    I don’t know what’s the minimum down payment required to own a Korea car but I paid 40k down payment for Sonata NF 2.4L with 6 airbags

u really paid 40k downpayment to buy sonata ?? y don’t u try the mitsubishi lancer , civic or Lexus IS250 ??

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:22 am

sxe10r said,

January 24, 2008 @ 10:46 pm

That’s a CBU unit Sonata NF.
    Not the current CKD version.
    Which means, I bought years ago.

• azolkipl (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:52 am

obviously Malaysian care little about the global market of automobiles. In USA and Europe, both KIA and Hyundai have remarkably improved their quality and styling of cars in a very short time span. There was a time about 40-50 years ago where people scoffed at Japanese cars for being inferior to European cars as well. Guess what, with a very steep learning curve, and very strong discipline, Toyota is the 2nd largest automaker in the world. Guess what else? Hyundai is one of the fastest growing automaker in the world. Given time, they will also improve their line of products, and will rival other big car manufacturers, like GM, Toyota and VAG. Malaysia, in the end is a smaller market to cater to compared to the likes of bigger markets like China and India. We speak like we know the world. But, what we know is only our small little country. Please remember, Hyundai and Proton came into the scene hardly much2 later than the rest, but Hyundai now is already a global brand name. Proton, people still think it’s a subparticle in an atom.

• azolkipl (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 1:09 am

In other words, you should considering putting down a car for their past efforts. The older generation KIA and Hyundai were obvious mediocre budget cars because Hyundai purposely wanted to make them budget cars. That’s why dulu2 masa you kerja dekat KIA punya workshop, all the cars were crap. If you actually were to stay and continue working with KIA or Hyundai, and probably work in their assembly lines, you would notice that they are significantly more improved as they renew their models. As far as I know, they didn’t spend 20 years building the same dodgy car. They took the chance to learn from their mistakes. And now, in this generation of Elantra, they’ve made a cheaper C-segment car that shares many qualities as their much more expensive rivals. This includes, VW Jetta, Skoda Octavia, Renault Megane, Citroen C4, Peugeot 307, Honda Civic, Toyota Altis, Nissan Altima, Mitsubishi Lancer, Proton Waja, Ford Focus, & Mazda 3. These are all examples of c-segment cars around the same class as a Hyundai Elantra (there are probably some more). Have you driven all of them and can safely say that the Elantra sucks? Even car magazines all over the world haven’t driven them all in one go. But they all agree that Korean cars are improving. I take their word, because they get to drive them both for test drives and long-term test. We don’t have that luxury. We just get to prattle that Korean cars suck because my made in Korea TV/Radio/microwave/fridge broke when I abused it, and they look uglier than Japanese.

• GrandMarquis (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:49 am

I have personally owned the previous Elantra. What I have to say is that it is one of the most superb car that really give you the value of money. The only thing is that never buy a new elantra. Why do I say that? The reason is because of the resale value. Believe me or not, a 1 year old elantra is worth 60K, which is 30k lesser than the new one. So if you can be patient, wait for a year and half you can well save big buck on this great car. I bought my elantra of 1.5 year old at 57k. The car is as good as new.

About the new elantra, I am not so sure yet. But it looks smaller than the previous one. It is very popular in Jeddah (Saudi Arabia) as cab.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:11 am

azolkipl, totally agree with u..

another thing, why currently ppl too care about the second hand price since most of them plan to sell their car after few years? and then buy a new car??
    the car seem no more as transportation but as a shirt for them.. isit healthy??

• king (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 2:08 pm

ppl that say cars that have no second hand value are junk( worst statement i’ve heard in my life); these ppl have no knowledge on cars at all. no money then don’t buy car. go buy a 10 year old second hand honda or toyota if you want second hand value.

• king (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 2:22 pm

actually ppl that think of depreaciation only is very shallow minded. there are so many other costs involved in a car such as maintenance, Interest rates, fuel consumption.

the new korean models FC is indeed amazing. ppl still like to talk crap about the past. I won’ t go into details. No need to waste much time educating such ppl.

• ctawyong (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:49 pm

in near future, kia and hyundai will make a big impact into the market!!!! i saw few concept done by them and they start to coorperate with the european on engineer and design of the car!!!! korean brand will make it to the top with honda and toyota very soon!!! the japanese starting to get lazy because they think they already achieve the best!!! the korean working hour now is the longest compare to japanese now!!!
    and about the 2nd hand value, its not because the car its sucks!!its because someone control the price and sales of the korean car so that some local car maker can survive!! imagine if the korean 2nd value very high then how???……!!!and the audi, alfa romeo, citroen car sucks because the 2nd value so low!!!! reasonable?

• xenith (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 2:34 am

Reminds me of Altis

• GrandMarquis (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 9:24 pm

For many people, the second hand value is never an issue. But wait until one unlucky day you may get ripped off by the second hand value. I buy and sell car quite often, so its a serious matter to me.

I bought a City in 2004 and sold it in 2005 due to oversea attachment. I lost about 10k. If I bought an Elantra (which I almost bought it) I could have lost 30K. Upon my return from oversea, I bought my Elantra (of 1.5 year old) for 57K. The ex-owner of the Elantra lost 30K (consider him lucky. If he sold to second hand dealer, he might lose more). After receiving the amount from me, he ended up having to pay the bank additional of 14K.

Ask those who have bought korean or continental cars. They are stuck with the car for 5-6 years because if the sell the car before that, they will end up having to top up 10-20k to the bank due to their low second-hand-valued car.

• tanos (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 11:57 pm

I don’t really care about 2nd hand value, BUT how about spare parts? Is it easy to find in any local spare parts shops? Maybe in KL is easy, how about in other states such as Johor etc? Please don’t tell me cheap spare parts only available in JB……

• tanos (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 11:59 pm

Oh yeah, Paul, how about doing us a review on this new car…..

• dzat46 (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 12:05 pm

Guess, history does repeat itself…still remember during early eighties/late 70’s….every body say Japanese car are bad…Honda/toyota/datsun(now nissan ..) are call tin milo car…if accident & paint came off u can see the milo brand…hahahaha…all Jap car will condemn after few years compare to conti..last time most ppl drive conti..ie ford/opel/volvo/alfas (gud time be4 existance of P1 & auto protection)……see now where the japs are???

Now, history seem to repeat itself wt Korean car…now already shows improvement……Wait & see in 10 yrs time..

Now, starting to appear..craps chinese car…wait again in 15 yrs…definately will improve…

BUT what happen to P1….after 20 yrs…………everybdy knows ler

• nikolo98 (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 10:03 am

Proportions on the outside looks pretty alright in my opinion. The interior though, I’d have to give a no-no. I like the simplicity of the dash-board but something about the cluster right beneath the radio just does not sit well with me. That particular part looks cheap. However, at 91k I think its a good deal although I have to agree the mileage shouldn’t be used as a selling point. I’ll bet they did the mileage test at the “optimum fuel consumption speed” which is at around 55mph/90kmh.

4-speed tranny, a little disappointing there. But that’s just me.

• nalsorr (Member) on Apr 23, 2008 at 12:23 pm

I agree with GrandMarquis. Second hand value is a serius matter especially for those who are not so loaded. I have a Hyundai Accent (2005) and am thinking of selling it for a new City. But have to cancel that idea since the trade in value is so low that I have to top up another 15K just to cover the settle the loan. One other matter is that for Hyundai cars, I am quite scepticle about the FC. Though the new Elantra looks nice but the FC is my concern. Anyway I did went to the Hyundai showroom to take a closer look at the Elantra. Start the engine…it was ‘sikit kasar’. Even the anttenna behind is manual.

• Mr Elantra2009 on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:53 pm

all them is out of dated or something…they tot buy korean car is 4 resale again..so damm..buy tis car is 4 ur used is not 4 sale around 1-5yrs..if rich not need 2 discuss it n buy de new 1 lar…HyunDai…..NICE

• Foryoutosee on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:54 am

Very funny for some of the comment, how can the eletronic stuff can be compared with the car? Not even logic at all, and this is not apple to apple comparison my friend. Unless Samsung does produces the car then this must be another story.

It is very doubt on how Malaysian judge on the car and some of them even tell us that the concept of Malaysian buy the car is different with Singaporean. Please, if you not a Malaysian please don't say that because you make people look down on Malaysian. As we know a lot of Malaysian are not profession enough to analysis something and all they are based on the rumors. That's why Malaysia still cannot become modern country.

Well, Hyundai improve better and better nowadays. However , it need time to wash out the image among of Malaysia's consumer and win again the confident over the market. Next time we will see Hyundai Malaysia has similar good sale with Singapore.

• Choosing between Altis and Civic, finally I bought this car. Until now I have no regret owning it. Korean cars nowadays already exceeded the superiority of Japanese cars. We need to get rid of our old mindset in order to progress. Wake-up everybody, go out and try new things.

• For your information, this car is currently the top selling model in Singapore ahead of Toyota and Honda. So we don't need to argue anymore, because all these guys already did their study before they bought it. One day Hyundai will replace Honda as previously Toyota replace GM and Ford. Talking of second-hand value, we buy new car for transportation and comfort. It is non-sense for people to think of selling their car even before the buy it. Then my advice is don't buy it, invest your money in property or stock market instead.

When more and more people realize the value of this car, the second-hand value of it will definitely climb. In US this car was warranted for 10 years, any other car manufacturer can provide this?

• bentong on Dec 17, 2009 at 5:17 am

where did i find a skirting 4 my new elantra(area jb)

• steven on Apr 18, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Last time, korean car is not so popular, so the second value is lower….
    but on this time, they quality is better than japanese car now.
    just malaysia people still think like korean car dont have second value.
    and…pls think the other way……toyota have many problem now. same like hondah….so what is the meaning of second value….?

• Owned this car almost 2 month….good NVH, FC about 13km/l on highway

• Don’t buy 2nd hand car of this model, I bought 2008 elantra tiptronic avante model in yr.2015 but have gear box issue…no wonder 2nd hand car dealer selling very cheap…be cautious