The Tata Nano: how did they do it?

Tata Nano

The Tata 1 Lakh Car was unveiled recently and it was given the name Tata Nano. We know its small, egg-like and comes with a small two-cylinder engine, but what exactly did Tata do to achieve the now famous “1 Lakh” price?

• Base 1-lakh model has no radio, power steering, power windows or air conditioning.
  • Instrument panel only has the basics – speedometer, odometer and fuel gauge.
  • Its 12 inch wheels only need 3 lug nuts.
  • Small 12 inch tyres are cheaper because they use less material.
  • The 624cc two-cylinder gasoline engine only has a single balance shaft.
  • Does not pass US emission or safety standards.
  • Bosch’s 35 amp generator is lighter than the usual 40 amp model.
  • Bosch used a motorcycle starter motor.
  • Bosch Value Motronic ECU removes 700 of the Motronic’s 1,000 functions, and the chip and housing itself has been shrinked.
  • ECU sensors are smaller and lighter and fewer – 4 instead of the usual 7 or 8.
  • Throttle position sensor is half its usual size because the pressure plate uses more sensitive material.
  • It looks like a hatch but isn’t a hatch – the rear is welded shut and cannot be opened, this means the engine bay which lies under the rear seats also can only be accessed from inside the car.
  • Drum brakes all-round instead of front discs.
  • The basic 1-lakh model does not even come with a brake booster or servo.
  • Reduced NVH materials, instead sheet metal frequencies were designed to control boom and vibration.
  • Seats have a built in headrest and do not recline.
  • No glovebox.

That’s basically the laydown of what cost-cutting measures Tata have taken to bring the Tata Nano’s price down to slightly more than 1-Lakh. Would you buy the Tata Nano if it was available in Malaysia?

More photos of the Tata Nano
Tata Nano – the name of the Tata 1-Lakh car

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ENZO (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:11 am

save your money for a better car,
    nano is for a very desperate person that want to have a car,
    but he/she will regret it later for buying this ‘cute’ car.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:14 am

“Does not pass US emission or safety standards.”
    yeah so makin ramai use this car the more polution will be…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:15 am

Bear in mind the Nano price is without taxation and dealer profit margin. Furthermore if Tata exports the Nano it will have higher specs for sure.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:59 am

4 Drum Brakes? You gotta be kidding me. It looks like a desperate move to keep the price low. Any test drive reviews so far? Components may be lacking but would be interesting to read the driving experience of it.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 7:58 am

I will never buy TATA nano…..
    I will buy kancil secondhand..

• shaif (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:02 am

I’m looking for a new car and any car which is too simple like this won’t pass my buying list. Its a car for little town usage such as going to wet market, go to football field or fetch up people and thats it. Is not a car for a cross country, from JB to Alor Setar with comfort. It just 1 lakh and people buying it don’t expect comfort, it just pain in the @@s.

• abtm (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:05 am

it wants to be what the mini or the fiat 500 was during their day, but then it has to handle well too

• napps (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:32 am

“It looks like a hatch but isn’t a hatch – the rear is welded shut and cannot be opened, this means the engine bay which lies under the rear seats also can only be accessed from inside the car.”

So, every time u need to look at the engine, u need to take out the rear seats?

• the stik (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:50 am

i think if the car collide with a ‘basikal’ rider, that basikal can go through the car.. not safe not safe not safe.. nk pasang roll cage pun roll cage lagi mahal dari kereta.. hehehe

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:51 am

I will never buy the Tata Nano

• Realeyes (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:58 am

This car is retarded! It’ll be a flop in Malaysia, but could do well in Indonesia, or India or other less developed countries.

• KY (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:04 am

Tiara owners now can buy nano’s wheels! :D

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:07 am

i’ll buy this cute car if the price below rm 5k. better then buy modenas then basah kena hujan wakakakkakaka

• majavaz (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:10 am

more sound “suicide car” for me

• xstan (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:13 am

No way I’m going to get the Car unless its priced at RM1K here , will get it for my nephew as mode of transportation to school or Uni daily.

• njsiew (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:20 am

I think this so-called “car” is even more dangerous than a motorcycle.

With motorcycle, at least you can take the motorcycle lane on highways thus shielding yourself from other trucks/buses/SUVs.

Imagine a Tata doing 50 km/h on the highway and as a result get hit from the back by another vehicle doing 110 km/h……

• hidz7 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:22 am

i think better not to buy this car lah…..imagine if you have to make an emergency brake..i dont think this car is going to stop…ke depan ada la…

• amad_a (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:32 am

safety first! life is priceless~

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:33 am

Cost cutting gone too far.

Although this car is interesting… with rising fuel prices and the looming threat of global warming, a light, small, fuel efficient car can be the solution for the future. Make it an plugin EV with a 100km range and ppl will be able to commute to work with it.

However, this car will never sell in malaysia due to the simple fact it DOES NOT HAVE AIR CONDITIONING. India is different from malaysia and many parts actually have cold climates. My friend in Dehli is experiencing near-zero degree nights. The air is dryer and less humid than malaysia as well.

I think the Kancil 660 is a better option for people looking for a car like this.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:35 am

But I guess the whole idea is better and safer than riding a motorbike. “Rider” would be at least safe from rain and the beating sun. BTW, the Nano is designed to go at a maximum 70kph only. Even kapchai could be faster and more dangerous than Tata Nano.

• Penangboy on Mar 14, 2011 at 4:23 pm

If the Nano is designed to go maximum 70kph, This vehicle will became a road hog – even at the inner lane. This scenario will surely slow down the traffic and jams up most highways.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:37 am

100,000.00 INR = RM8,336.1437

used / old proton saga/mitsu/nissan/toyota/honda etc is far away better car than this nano. And i think..

basicly.. nano is a motorcycle with car body.

• jamsbong (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:41 am

OK, I know I won’t buy this car because of the lack of safety and features. However, being a motorcycle with a car body, it can (barely) carry 4 adults! which is twice as many as a motorbike.

So in India, where situation can get desperate, the nano many end up carrying a large family!

• altimi (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:03 am

My mint ’95 Iswara sedan costs only RM4500 and it got power steering, alloy wheel, air con, power window, cd player and a very reliable 4G15P powerplant. I think it’s way better than even a brand new Nano. Parts prices are very reasonable too.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:04 am

it’ll probably do well in mainland china…not here…

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:07 am

proton.GL.. said,
    January 8, 2008 @ 11:12 pm

decently engine could work with crank position sensor with throttle position sensor at least if MAF and MAP is predetermined,
    if emission regulation not strict o2 sensor also can be elimated,

engine rpm will count for MAF ,
    or MAP will be replace by barometer it self in the ecu, to adjust the amount of injected fuel, for high altitude application if one

just a guess,
    —————————————————–

mmm ,my prediction does hits target a few,

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:16 am

If I’m a bike owner paying 30% down payment for a bike, then paying 10% even for a 25,000 ringgit car looks good. Furthermore, don’t expect the export Nano to be exactly the same as the one seen here. They’re not stupid.

• altimi (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:28 am

There are lots of used Japanese and Malaysian made car out there that costs less than RM8K. We don’t need Nano. If you don’t like Proton you can always get the good old Sunny for about RM4K and save the remaining 4K for maintenance.

• kody (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:28 am

wahlaueh…

suggestion to TATA to further save cost to achieve below 1 Lakh, no need both front doors… in case of emergency… you can
    1) jump off from the car quick…
    2) easier put out your leg to touch ground to add extra breaking power…
    3) more air flow to reduce heat in the car…
    4) can ‘sembang’ easily with car beside when stop at traffic light….
    make plastic soft cover with zip to zip up the opening when rainning…save $$$…. hahaa…

• ganz (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:57 am

maybe because it got TATA named..
    and if it is change into other brand name.. the story might go otherwat around..

for me.. if less 8k.. might possible to think about it..kekekek

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:00 am

the car was built for a specific need, and that was to give the lower income group in india the chance to afford ‘better’ transport than what they already have. In that respect, I believe they have succeeded.

if one has the ability to afford something else, you have the freedom to do so.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:28 am

100,000.00 INR = RM8,336.1437

Can buy better bikes.

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:39 am

I have no idea how this car gonna sell in here but dont think much people will buy this car… cause i rather buy a kancil 660cc secondhand…

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:39 am

i think old proton saga also better

• ady (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:44 am

For me,if buy this car like buy a KERANDA,no safety.

• Fox (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:46 am

Waa….but when it comes to Malaysia, I’m pretty sure some Ah Bengs will put on 17″ wheels + aerokit + twin turbo engine and racing stickers on the door (nismo, Apexi, Mugen, Brembo…blaa..bla…blaaa) and then flash the car infront of Zoux or Orange club in KL.

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:05 pm

If the car is only meant for pergi pasar and hantar anak sekolah…can buy laa..if use motorbike, hujan sure basah one. Nowadays kapcai also about RM4-5k, if this 2cylinder car around the same price, just buy and regard it as kapcai with roof loh..never think of this Tata Nano is a car, then you’ll regret buying it.

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:31 pm

If price at RM8k, ..will be better for those folks who currently can only afford motorbike. Much better than riding the bike wt wife & 2 kids….If can keep price at RM8K will be a gud alternative for low income folks who can afford bikes only….at least wife & kids can be more comfortable & dry during rain. Anyway, a car will always be much safer than a bike (visibility/won’t fell off..etc). The Tata boss create this car bcoz he feel very upset & sedih when seeing those family wt kids having to ride a bike….ths car is not meant for “middle class” & above folks….if u can currently afford a car this is not meant for u

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:31 pm

Fox said,
    January 25, 2008 @ 11:46 am

Waa….but when it comes to Malaysia, I’m pretty sure some Ah Bengs will put on 17″ wheels + aerokit + twin turbo engine and racing stickers on the door (nismo, Apexi, Mugen, Brembo…blaa..bla…blaaa) and then flash the car infront of Zoux or Orange club in KL.

—————————————————————

Are u sure about this? I think the will rather park the car very far away….

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:36 pm

#Fox said,January 25, 2008 @ 11:46 am
    —-

Sorry.. the tyre Slope just can fit 14″.
    17″ inc rinm gonna stuck and then you can turn left or right :p
    Dont forgot to put DVVT + VTEC + turbo sticker.. you can add another 100bhp.
    :D

++++

King Samurai said, January 25, 2008 @ 12:05 pm
    never think of this Tata Nano is a car, then…

They claim it as a car, so you wanna think it as what?

Eh!.. old Datsun 120Y (RM1.5-3K) better than this one what.. :p
    So.. nothing to proud of this cheap car.. because it is really “cheap” car.

What about.. Proton Vs Perodua fighthing to make RM10K car?!! the real city car perhaps.. (not can balik kampung one, just town driving.. small.. practical.. fuel efficent, saving kl road space and parking :D )

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 12:58 pm

The best golf cart from India? No thanks.

I’d drive it if our local super/hypermarket used it as trolleys, then it will be fun.

• Nirmal on Apr 06, 2011 at 10:40 pm

If you could pour more into a better car, you could just buy that and go quiet without making noise lah.

• spidermutu (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 1:28 pm

This ‘car’ is only suitable in India not Malaysia,after reading through the specs I would say 10k is still expensive, and worst we need special lanes on the highway for this midget because it’s too slow and dangerous, so this is No..No lah , Tata….byebye…

• wong (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 1:38 pm

waste of money even below 10k…There’s lots of people here ride bikes because they like it…

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 2:17 pm

want to buy it if below 5k. so i can go to kedai runcit buy belacan with car lol.
    just kidding actually this car is made for golf player but the golfer rather used golf cart with electric engine wkakakakaka

• Fienamie (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 2:32 pm

guys, check this out..what a lucky man..
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/National/2132607/Article/index_html

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 2:58 pm

not for me. still proud of my ke70…

• nmh (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:17 pm

very futuristic…….not car, but coffin, Futurisfic coffin for 4

• ront (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:20 pm

think nano is meant for ppl who wants to upgrade their motobike to car…..with minimal cost.

CEO of tata said they will develop the thing to meet the european std for it to be available in europe for the near future…..

one of the commenter said not to forget to put DVVT-VTEC-what-not stickers to add 100bhp…i think to some, that also add a few inches…which inevitably boost a little ego…hehehe

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:22 pm

“waste of money even below 10k…There’s lots of people here ride bikes because they like it…”

there are even more people who wished they could afford a car, rather than a bike.

• lol xD (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:43 pm

This car is not safe to drive. Better buy MyVi or new Saga.

• McPadey (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:43 pm

no air-cond, and our country quite hot and the passenger have to seat right over the top of the engine bay! yaaaaa…..right….
    waste of money i say

• altimi (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:57 pm

“there are even more people who wished they could afford a car, rather than a bike.”

They can afford a used car (RM2k to RM8k) but the can’t afford fuel and toll costs. I myself ride my Suzuki FX110 to work rather than driving my Altima/Iswara. No need to worry about traffic jam and rising fuel/toll cost.

• eezarm (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 5:29 pm

save the money for sumthing better and worthy…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 5:51 pm

altimi,

this car is built for india. you should go read up mr. tata’s main reason for coming with this car, and you will understand. This car is not relevant for you or me or most malaysians. I think you need to analyse this based on the proper context.

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:58 pm

malaysian peoples car- SAGA,

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 7:19 pm

God, after looking at the list provided by Paul, i’m really perplexed. This is too outrageous to be categorized as a passenger ‘car’ even though Mr. Tata might got the idea from or try to emulate Tony Fernandez of Air Asia’s business strategy….

Wondering..what is the top speed of this car, Paul ?

But anyway, i concord with what had been stated by BanyakMasukWorkshop up there..Malaysians will think it as such a ridiculous India people’s car as likely what those Germans and Americans will think of Malaysia people’s basic car…yet of course, Malaysian car is 100 or perhaps 1000 times better than this Nano. The car might be economically save but the car itself is not safe !

• blunt (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 7:54 pm

in India..this size of vehicle is common…remember-the three wheels auto (like tut-tut in siamland).plus you cant speeding in Mumbai (jammed like hell)..
    so, in India context..this vehicle is suitable and appropriate..
    About the price..1 lakh is factory price and not a dealer price…so, if this mini monster really come to our shore(which i think impossible)..the price wont less than 13 K,, so..who want to buy???

• ob8 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:58 pm

better to ride a annoying talking donkey than this car. stupid idea tata titi tutu

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:25 pm

The safest tut-tut in the world? I betcha!!!

Maybe the Thai or the Indonesian government would want to change their tut-tut into this Nano? Time will tell.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:05 pm

the seats do not recline???

that is ridiculous…..

but this is much better than riding a bike……

• Dogster (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:08 pm

My god. As india has quite similar tropical weather as in malaysia, NO aircond? WTH? Its basically a microwave oven!! Crazy man!! Who ever buys this car is looking forward to torture himself .:S

• forestcat (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:23 pm

I dun believe a word of that Tata guy..hogwash. For all I know, he watched that poor Indian family and figured the Nano as a mean to exploit them. This is India, where rich families occuopy entire skyscrapers while next to them, whole families live in single rooms.

The Tata may use less oil, but it willonly hike up oil consumption nontheless, and we’ll worry more about oil supplies.

Looking at the condition of Indian roads via Google, I dun think the Nano could survive long on their roads. The Nano was built to be cheap but not to adapt to the conditions of the roads in India..LOL.

I’ll Pass the Nano for RapidKL buses thanx.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:35 pm

Any news from Naza? Maybe they want to rebadge it?

LELONG LELONG KERETA MURAH…LELONG NAZA NANO…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:41 pm

Ooay a Honda Wave costs about RM 5000 here, so RM 7000 – 10000 should be a worthy investment for a brand new car.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:42 pm

This car is going to be a future classic, just like the Mini did 50 years ago.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:33 pm

forestcat

Well in India there is no such thing called RapidKL ok?

Hahahahahahah…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:42 pm

hidz7 said,
    January 25, 2008 @ 9:22 am

i think better not to buy this car lah…..imagine if you have to make an emergency brake..i dont think this car is going to stop…ke depan ada la…
    —————————————————————-

All new buses and lorries are still using drum brakes for all sides lah bro…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:44 pm

kody said,
    January 25, 2008 @ 10:28 am

wahlaueh…

suggestion to TATA to further save cost to achieve below 1 Lakh, no need both front doors… in case of emergency… you can
    1) jump off from the car quick…
    2) easier put out your leg to touch ground to add extra breaking power…
    3) more air flow to reduce heat in the car…
    4) can ’sembang’ easily with car beside when stop at traffic light….
    make plastic soft cover with zip to zip up the opening when rainning…save $$$…. hahaa…
    —————————————————————-

Check out on the Angkor 2000, its a Cambodian car.

• delleb (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:45 pm

Looks better than new Proton Saga…more areodynamic

• delleb (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 11:51 pm

What a boring and plain car..? wonder is there a spare tyre in the car or not!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 12:00 am

I’ve got the Cambodian car report, check it out :

http://www.asiafinest.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=4480

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 12:50 am

#Fox said,January 25, 2008 @ 11:46 am

———————
    Sorry.. the tyre Slope just can fit 14″.
    17″ inc rinm gonna stuck and then you can turn left or right :p
    Dont forgot to put DVVT + VTEC + turbo sticker.. you can add another 100bhp.
    :D
    ———————

dun forget 2 put HUGE GT wing on it , big muffler tat can stuff in a bowling ball and flashy neon lamp

and tis ricer can versus R34 d

if tis car

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:07 am

I thought kancil base is worse, this thing will never sell in malaysia.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:17 am

please TATA, dont sell this car here la…

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:18 am

cost

• wong (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:42 am

Dogster said,

January 25, 2008 @ 10:08 pm

My god. As india has quite similar tropical weather as in malaysia, NO aircond? WTH? Its basically a microwave oven!! Crazy man!! Who ever buys this car is looking forward to torture himself .:
    =============================================
    I think a lot of people in India don’t have a choice,as long as it’s a car…..

• armandd (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 2:26 am

feel very lucky living in m’sia..

• altimi (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 2:58 am

With only 2 cylinder + single balancer shaft this car will vibrate and tremble badly at idle…..

• altimi (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 3:06 am

I wonder if people in India got good and reliable used car like us in Malaysia. Something like Sunny/323/Corolla Le or even Saga……….. (all below RM4K). Best bang for your buck is still Saga/Iswara + NGV kit.

• tommyboy (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 9:04 am

Dear brothers and sisters, don’t condemm others when you are luckier here. Anyway, I bet all of you don’t realize that you have been ripped off by our dear g… everytime you buy a car!!!???Forgot NAP???!!! India is a far poorer country. The Tata Nano is created for their population of more than 1 bil.

• forestcat (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 9:25 am

Right Myvikiller, if that Tata idiot cares so much about the poor, he should have made Rapid India(Tata do made buses).hahahahah…not sell them a metal coffin on wheels.

Bear in mind, that Tata guy reputedly use dirty tactisc and corruption to acquire land for the Nano factory cheaply, under the protest of many…also under the notion of developing the state where the Nano factory is…my ass…cheap land, exploitation of uneducated cheap labor(the state in rural areas and a place to dump shit from Nano manufacturing is more like it.

Mr.Tata must have cried thinking of all unimaginable profit he’ll get when millions of Indians are fooled into buying the Nano so that he could be build a skyscraper each for his children…hahaah

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:21 pm

tommyboy said, January 26, 2008 @ 9:04 am
    Dear brothers and sisters, don’t condemm others when you are luckier here. Anyway, I bet all of you don’t realize that you have been ripped off by our dear g… everytime you buy a car!!!???Forgot NAP???!!! …
    ___
    so you think.. without NAP, this tax that tax…. do this country and govt be rich?
    Rich gov = can do many thing to make country rich. because gov had moneys.
    Poor gov = corruption everywhere.. well.. corruption is hard to eliminate.. no money to do something… ect but i saw, many rich country had better option.. at least like us malaysia vs india.

++++

Ok..now i found a solution.. how to make this nano sell well in malaysia too!!!!
    Brand it as. “Toyota Nano”.. surely it will sell well.. ;)

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:22 pm

Why such disparaging remarks? At least someone has put some effort into lowering the cost of 4-wheeler transport.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:22 pm

and dont forget to put DVVT on the toyota nano too!.. ;)

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 5:31 pm

Remember the Nano sweet? This car can be used as part of their advertising campaign with the colour shown above!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 12:09 am

Don’t make sense to me either…but whats even more odd is why everyone is so negative towards the Nano.

Even though I wont buy one, I can still see the rational behind it, and its a good one. More choices for the consumer is never a bad thing….

Someone mentioned this being worst than the old base Kancils. Of course it is. This thing is 3 times less (!) $ wise but its quite far from being 3 times less of a car than the same base kancil

• wanwnp (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 2:39 am

resale value after few years= Few Bucks Only…

• wanwnp (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 2:46 am

put a Givi Box, then can be motocyle!

this type of car no need to pay toll lah..
    sifatnya lebih kepada motosikal berbanding kereta itu sendiri..

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 1:30 pm

hi,im new here!…
    my first cmmnt 4 this topic..
    overall look ok,moderate…
    but after see what info about this nano…
    this is not my choice…
    very2 cut costla…
    tiara or kancil better more than this…

• manosham (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 5:42 pm

well i have read all the comments and even noted the smiley beside the report

anyway.. time will tell whether Nano is going to be a success or not

Just some updates

Most people (in malaysia) may not agree to buying , seeing and using this car,
    but the world is applauding this as the next thing after Henry Ford’s Model T
    and this was stated by CEO’s of established automobile manufacturers. Refer CNN and BBC.

Tata also most likely will be buying Land Rover and Jaguar, which I assume also you guys sneer at. Wonder if Proton , or Perodua are also bidding.

Global outlook is very varied from the Malaysian perspective, I suppose

• Anonymous on Feb 28, 2009 at 9:06 pm

I will definitely buy as i am desperate. Hehe. Plus, I don't think it is as bad as it sounds. As long as it can get me from A to Z, and I can buy it with cash, then it's fine with me. In addition, no more parking problems for me as I definitely have a difficulty to measure space in parking.

• kamina on Mar 22, 2009 at 3:43 am

kamine next time se aisa web site open kia tho gaand maar leta

• Dr. Rounders on Mar 24, 2009 at 7:15 pm

Different people, different thinking. Beware, if this car selling at Malaysia with a nice performance from the luxury Mr.Tata version, may be proton & perodua will facing a hard time selling it's product. Many ppl dun wan hutang lama-lama coz ekonomi tengah gawat. Better have this car than kena tarik tak bayar hutang. auw.

• hweeret on Mar 24, 2009 at 11:33 pm

Nano is a wonderfull peice of machinery, better realise before your friend gets his brain cells running . Ever wondered why Nano is so popular in the world except in Malaysia ( world's most developed nation) ,thats becoz malaysians are dumb ass holes who drive asses up there sleeves scorching the roads with polluting ,non-performing fuel sapping morons

• Nano is better than the cheaper local motobike. Yet Malaysia motobike kill thousand in Malaysia. So better by the Nano than motobike in Malaysia.

• androndraco on Mar 26, 2009 at 3:53 am

I'll never buy it. I will never put my life safety in jeopardy.

• [quote comment="223912"]Nano is a wonderfull peice of machinery, better realise before your friend gets his brain cells running . Ever wondered why Nano is so popular in the world except in Malaysia ( world's most developed nation) ,thats becoz malaysians are dumb ass holes who drive asses up there sleeves scorching the roads with polluting ,non-performing fuel sapping morons[/quote]

They are just launching in india dude… dont even have the numbers yet. what are you talking about?

• gorillika on Mar 26, 2009 at 6:57 pm

[quote comment="223912"]Nano is a wonderfull peice of machinery, better realise before your friend gets his brain cells running . Ever wondered why Nano is so popular in the world except in Malaysia ( world's most developed nation) ,thats becoz malaysians are dumb ass holes who drive asses up there sleeves scorching the roads with polluting ,non-performing fuel sapping morons[/quote]

Crap car! Anything can do in India…even produced a flying corpse car ! hey foreign mamak dunno talk so much why your ppl sibuk here in this region, why your beloved homeland cannot give you jobs..is it? because of your corrupt politicians who want to make fast bucks by selling this keranda, is it?

• gorillika on Mar 26, 2009 at 7:03 pm

[quote comment="147553"]well i have read all the comments and even noted the smiley beside the report

anyway.. time will tell whether Nano is going to be a success or not

Just some updates

Most people (in malaysia) may not agree to buying , seeing and using this car,

but the world is applauding this as the next thing after Henry Ford's Model T

and this was stated by CEO's of established automobile manufacturers. Refer CNN and BBC.

Tata also most likely will be buying Land Rover and Jaguar, which I assume also you guys sneer at. Wonder if Proton , or Perodua are also bidding.

Global outlook is very varied from the Malaysian perspective, I suppose[/quote]

yeah yeah any indian do something must force accept it as good… even though it is the most crapiest thing ever seen.. please give other nationalities and creed a deserve break and their recognized quality work…

• gorillika on Mar 26, 2009 at 7:06 pm

[quote comment="146978"]Right Myvikiller, if that Tata idiot cares so much about the poor, he should have made Rapid India(Tata do made buses).hahahahah…not sell them a metal coffin on wheels.

Bear in mind, that Tata guy reputedly use dirty tactisc and corruption to acquire land for the Nano factory cheaply, under the protest of many…also under the notion of developing the state where the Nano factory is…my ass…cheap land, exploitation of uneducated cheap labor(the state in rural areas and a place to dump shit from Nano manufacturing is more like it.

Mr.Tata must have cried thinking of all unimaginable profit he'll get when millions of Indians are fooled into buying the Nano so that he could be build a skyscraper each for his children…hahaah[/quote]

this is a nice one bro

• skraao on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:00 pm

Nano is no pushover car. Do not under estimate Tata Motors. In March 2008, Tata Motors had a deal with Ford Motor Company to acquire their British Jaguar Land Rover (JLR) business, which also includes the Rover, Daimler and Lanchester brand names.

It has been in business in since 1945 and The OICA ranked it as the world's 20th largest automaker, based on figures for 2006.

• veenjita on Apr 25, 2009 at 1:16 am

yes, certainly I will go for nano. giving good fuel efficiency; occupying less space; normal speed… ya,its enough for me. It seems TATA is launching 3/4 models. I can select fully loaded one.

TATA entered into the automobile field through Benz.I have drive once TATA car, feel very comfortable. Hope nano will be good and energy saving car.

• antony on Apr 25, 2009 at 1:27 am

http://www.tatamotors.com/50years/pgallery.php#

this sounds good. I really appreciate these automobile engineers. good work.

• natasha on Jul 19, 2009 at 12:25 am

i will buy it

if it rm6 ribu or below

better then use a motocycle

• Penangboy on Mar 14, 2011 at 4:43 pm

If the Nano is designed at maximum speed @ 70kph, then this vehicle will surely become a road hog even travelling at the inner lane. This scenario will eventually slow down the traffic and jams up most highways.