VIDEO: Proton Saga Dr. Kenny Advertisement

Proton LogoThis is the third video in a series of Proton Saga TV Commercials being aired on national TV now. It features a selfless doctor who chose to serve the rural community and natives in East Malaysia named Dr. Kenny Lee. The other two videos in the series featuring our Angkasawan and David Arumugam of the Alleycats are linked below in the related posts section.

VIDEO: Proton Saga Dr. Kenny Advertisement

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• carsut (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:32 pm

1st..huhu.. nice vid

• kenfoo (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:43 pm

These new proton ads remind me of the Volvo ads…

• legacy88 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 3:56 pm

Can these people stop saying I’m first, second third to comment. Geesh its so annoying.

BTW, it looks eerily similar to Discovery Channel short advertisement, which is kinda good. IMO this one is better executed and straight to the point, compared with the other two ads.

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 4:12 pm

Paul,

There is another 1

David Arumugam went to a roadside durian stall n stuff lots of durian into the car trunk..emphasising the huge 413L trunk. saw it last nite on tv3

• harry potter (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 4:14 pm

to Paul, I Got pictures of a Daihatsu Tatuna/Perodua Kembara crash test.

How do i send it to you?

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 4:28 pm

a very nice way to introduce the car though… not only the car itself, but the character in the commercial is reflected to give the ad more meaningful… a very nice and smart way from proton… y suddenly proton become so smart ah? its juz like 360 degree change from proton!

• Apathy (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Got mixed feelings with this one. I’m not sure whether the rural/jungle refers to Malaysia, Dr. Lee refers to ProtonG or this ads message (READ: work hard (not smart :p) in order to be successful) is same like the others (Alleycats & Dr-Space-Tourist-guy)……anyway, I liek the Alleycats ads better.

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 4:35 pm

is it true doc tor drive him self to org asli village i think they use pajero taht have kementerian kesihatan logo if this true salute to this young doctor…..anyway nice ads proton dun make chinese new year ads meh maybe they can put the lion dancer inside saga and says this is our ride gong xi fa chai wkakakakaka …….just kidding. owh forget iam 7th

• wanwnp (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 4:43 pm

how you get these vids? do you have a tv card or what?

i am 8th..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 4:43 pm

apathy..whats wrong with working hard? i think even if work smart, you still have to work hard at it. nothing is easy.

as for the rural and jungle areas.. its still a fact that many malaysians live in those areas, and being a peoples car, it hits the right note.

i like this ad. that dr. really sounds sincere.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 5:14 pm

this is the best of three i considered. it is meaningful than others, we have to be satisfied sometimes, look at the poor and kampung areas. don’t even hv a proper road to reach them……at least this one hv a purpose showing to serve the people especially the needed. rather than motivate us to go to space……hahaha.

• wong (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 5:37 pm

Better than the other two ads, this guy is ‘unknown’ and that’s good….

• wanwnp (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 5:55 pm

talking about angkasawan negara..
    untill now, i dont see any report of what they had done over there..

those who involved better make an open report, on media perhaps..
    because they use a lot of peoples money..

hmm..i wonder the 10 days mission is worth every penny or not..

• ront (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:32 pm

at last a more meaningful ad among the 3 so far……hope Dr Lee use the sponsorship he got from Proton to aid him in his mission.

• scottloeb (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:43 pm

Good one!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 6:49 pm

Ha ha ha never ever FOrget we have 3 BANGSA, MALAY (Angkasawan), CHINESE (Dr. KEnny) & INDIAN (AlleyCat).

GOOD to KNow MALAYSIAN, OUr Bangsa banyak berbeza tapi Kita Hidup Bersatu mesra and bersama. Unique Country in the world!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 7:07 pm

huhu… Really? Think again man…

Anyway this guy and the Alleycats seems to have more sacrifice in their life compare to other 1 which is more lucky..

• kakilubuk (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 7:11 pm

Oh yea! I will get it one for myself. The first thing to do is a long and a very rough terrain road way for a fishing trip at Sg. Lembing. Iyyeeaaaaa!!! Let see how tough this car is.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 7:58 pm

Haha they should rather make a documentary about Dr Kenny out of this CM and i think that’s more wonderful and impressed me a lot… even though i’ve tried hard to relate the image of Proton Saga into what the CM is all about.

By the way, this Dr. Kenny is not somebody unknown (to some extent)…i could recall that he was accoladed with an award for his perseverance, humanitarian and good deeds…something like ‘the most excellent’ or ‘most outstanding youth of the year’. This is the kind of person that most Malaysian should know and proud of…

• luqmanrohaizat (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 8:11 pm

Yeah, go Proton! Nice move to hire creative people to liven up the company…

• chanel (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:25 pm

hi all….

out of topic story here……….

today i saw 1 Waja CPS & 1 Persona tested on the Elite highway….there were heading to the Subang Jaya exit……..

Proton must be pushing for the launching of Waja CPS soon……….no picture though, but it is the same unit Paul reported last week & it’s bearing the same trade plate….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:42 pm

auctioncenter2u said,
    January 25, 2008 @ 6:49 pm

Ha ha ha never ever FOrget we have 3 BANGSA, MALAY (Angkasawan), CHINESE (Dr. KEnny) & INDIAN (AlleyCat).

GOOD to KNow MALAYSIAN, OUr Bangsa banyak berbeza tapi Kita Hidup Bersatu mesra and bersama. Unique Country in the world!
    —————————————————————-

Yes, you are right.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 9:43 pm

Correct, correct, correct…

• naikmotoje (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 1:14 am

off topic – Paul, any updates about Proton Ultimate??

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/06/01/proton-sports-car-road-test/
    http://paultan.org/archives/2005/06/12/proton-ultimate-updates/

and is it true lotus APX will be the proton MPV??

• m08 (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 3:50 am

APX will be Proton’s MPV?? are u sure?.. I’m drolling already… don’t tease us please, the car is sooo good looking and have supercar performance. I’ll book 1 even before launching if this rumor is true!

• arch747 (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 9:12 am

1) What’s wrong by saying being first? Paul has made his blogging site so popular, that being a first to any of his article is a privilege (and believe me, some of this people even stay the whole nite to make sure they’re posting the first comment after Paul publish it..)

2) Didn’t this Dr Lee need at least a basic 4WD to drive around, something like Kembara for that matter?

3) Does Proton give a new Saga to these 3 people for free?

4) Proton Sports Car? Naaaahhhh!!! That was Mahaleel’s projects. I doubt it that SZST will continue such ambitious yet nothing-to-contribute-financially project. (read: MV Augusta, and to lesser extent Gen-2, Savvy and Neo)

5) The same goes to MPV APX. It’ll be a disaster like a Gen-2 amplified even bigger. Imagine only 5 years olds are the only person who could sit at the last row. (Even I was impresed when the images surfaces few years back, but lets get practical here ok guys)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 9:17 am

naikmotoje, the Proton ultimate is actually LOTUS EUROPA! Is already out very long time de. Check this out and see is almost the same. It is launch in Europe, if in Malaysia i think very expensive.

http://www.autozine.org/html/Lotus/Europa.html

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 9:38 am

What? proton ultimate? isnt that Lotus Europa?

• ppp (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 10:25 am

gosh, can anyone pls help?? i keep clicking on “play” and nothing comes on, it always end up in a blank white screen! same goes for the other two ad vids! so i still cant view all these 3 ads :(

hey paul, wikipedia quoted ur blog as their reference on the 2008 proton saga! ;)

• scorpicore (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 10:42 am

This advertisement is a good one. It portrays the real picture of the needs of the minority in this country. Although not all places can be reached with a saga…..it does help to provide transportation aid to those who needs one. This doctor who served 5 years ago as a government’s doctor in reality do need an affordable car to travel around as life as a doctor in government service never been as luxurious as many may think.

• zidane (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 11:17 am

i dun quite like all the ads….

coz not memorable and less impact to me

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 12:15 pm

if not mistaken, the proton mpv will be based on toyota wish platform. a reliable source told me once…

• ppp (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 12:29 pm

@ arch747 said,
    January 26, 2008 @ 9:12 am

_________________________________________________________–

how to give free new Saga to tat alleycats guy ler…

• zidane (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 5:22 pm

i’m not really into advertisements….

What i’m really into is what the people say about the car….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 5:43 pm

arch747 said,

5) The same goes to MPV APX. It’ll be a disaster like a Gen-2 amplified even bigger. Imagine only 5 years olds are the only person who could sit at the last row. (Even I was impresed when the images surfaces few years back, but lets get practical here ok guys)

—————————————————————-

Have you driven or even owned the car before? Otherwise please shut up.

• arch747 (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 7:13 pm

Last time I checked, this country still practising freedom of speech and I say what I deem fit to say. I never asked anyone to shut up even though what he/she said was against what my thinking. ANd I’m not even a basher..

• wong (Member) on Jan 26, 2008 at 7:34 pm

arch747 said,

January 26, 2008 @ 9:12 am
    ============================================
    David is paid to do the ad, very sure, so no free car…the other two, I don’t know

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 10:20 am

This ad will nicely suits on Discovery & National Geographic channel. It got that human touch, and I give my thumbs up. Not so many car manufacturers came up with ads like these.

• m08 (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 11:32 am

arch747 said,

—–
    nahh, i don’t care bout the last row. 5 people on board is practical enough for me and the last row might only be my cargo compartment. i like the appearance and performance… superb! hurmm.. have to wait until 2009 to see whether it’s true or not.

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 1:40 pm

hi 2 all forummers…
    new saga ads have message itself..
    4 me,saga is best car proton ever produce…
    the peoples car!

• Zamhar (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 9:38 pm

saya rasa iklan2 Proton Saga yang terbaru berjaya dalam mengetengahkan mesej yang positif untuk rakyat Malaysia fikirkan. mereka memilih tiga rakyat Malaysia daripada berlainan latar belakang yang telah mencapai sesuatu dalam hidup mereka. saya rasa kita boleh renungkan dan dengan fikiran positif cuba untuk melakukan sesuatu dalam kehidupan kita untuk memperbaiki diri kita.

• prometheus (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 12:31 am

I agree with ZAMHAR.. Last time they had the GEN 2 ad on papers.. it advertised Car Made by Malaysians.. whole page advert on papers.. all only from 1 race.Picture and Names all there… Made it look as if nobody else participated..

• Realeyes (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 8:42 am

LittleFire85 said,
    January 25, 2008 @ 7:07 pm

huhu… Really? Think again man…

Anyway this guy and the Alleycats seems to have more sacrifice in their life compare to other 1 which is more lucky..

=I can see you have deep resenment towards the angkasawan. You wont be there if you have no courage and good brain. After the mission, he has to sacrifice his personal life to become motivator and speaker to inspire kids to learn science and engineering. I cant see how Alleycats had sacrified their life for the people other than memorizing Malay lyrics.

• wong (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 3:22 pm

Realeyes said,

January 28, 2008 @ 8:42 am
    I cant see how Alleycats had sacrified their life for the people other than memorizing Malay lyrics.
    =========================================
    Correction, he never memorize his lyrics, reads an sings them, can see it clearly at club gigs, he’s not sure of the meaning either…he’s one lucky guy…

• rt (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:50 pm

Does anybody has the other two saga commercials

1. Alleycats with durians
    2. Angkasawan climbing hill