Still waiting for your Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT?

Mitsubishi Lancer GT

The Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT is flying off the shelves and there is currently a 12 month waiting for the car, so if you book the car now you will most probably receive it in end-January 2009. When contacted, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia said the long waiting period is due to overwhelming demand coupled with global production constraints.

Also, there will be a price hike, which Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia says is due to unfavorable exchange rates. According to Mitsubishi, majority of customers who placed bookings in the first two months of launch (August and September 2007) may enjoy the current price, but some may have to pay the hiked price, which is RM119,624.10 OTR without insurance. This new higher price will be effective September 2008 onwards, so if you manage to get your Lancer 2.0 GT before September, you will pay the original price.

As for the few units of the Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GLS variants which are already on Malaysian roads, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has no plans to officially launch the GLS at the moment, but have brought in limited units to offer to those who have made bookings for the Lancer GT as an alternative car for those who do not want to wait for their 2.0 GT. The Lancer GLS is priced at RM114,500 OTR with insurance.

Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT launched in Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 7:52 am

Paul, the GLS is 114.5K with insurance. 111.3K without insurance.

GT price is not official, but last heard is 119K without insurance as you posted.

Anyone know how many GT has been sold so far ? And how many bookings ?

Thanks for the update.

Paul Tan says: Eh, I purposedly contact Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia to get official updates on what the new price is and when it will take effect, why lah must you say not official and cause everyone to doubt again?

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 9:31 am

Why dont Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia offer local factory-fitted wheel upgrade & bodykits trims to the GLS? Its essentially nearly the same as the GT, with paddle shifters, leather steering, etc. Only that it looks bland. MMM should consider this, since its painstakingly painful to wait for a year for the GT.

About the price hike, I don’t our Ringgit has depreciated that much againts the Yen. I believed its more like a supply choke situation. Whenever there is demand that outstrips supply, of course there will be a higher premium.

• sewell (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 9:42 am

any lancer driver here? from the magazine says the CVT gearbox will overheat when you cruise in high speed (more than 140km/h). does is true? still thinking wather to buy this car or not. any comments?

• Smallfish (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 9:53 am

I guess better cancel order. Many more new cars with better spec and performance will come out in the next 12 months, so why have to wait “OLD” car for 12 months?

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 10:40 am

Paul, don’t you mean January 2009? hehe

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 11:18 am

in 12 months time, anything can happen. 12 months wait is a tad too long. Put money in fix deposit oso getting interest oredi what.

Anyway, I wouldn’t consider it a new (model or design) oredi after a year launch, even though it just roll out from the factory.

Then this is just me.

• jeanloo (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 11:36 am

This is Lancer 2008 ma… Last year launching is just a marketing gimmick. I was wondering how come we (Malaysian) so lucky as to be the first few to get a new model before the rest of the world, but actually it’s more of a “preview” as the stocks are not ready yet. Lol….

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 12:35 pm

Yeah, I think Paul meant 2009. He must be missing 2007. :)

For a car that is in demand, it is a pity that Mitsu can’t fulfill the bookings on time. After 1 year, there would be more interesting new models flooding the market place. By then, will the new owners get a rebate if the price of the Lancer drops?

Perhaps they should consider CKD units and offer it 20K cheaper.

• abtm (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 1:09 pm

mitsubishi stuffed up the pricing by offering the car too cheap, now increasing the price will piss off new customers

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 1:44 pm

Hi Paul,

because I just signed up the VSO end of last week, and the price indicated for GT is still old price which is RM112.8K (not 119K).

Paul Tan says: I see. Well, it becomes the official published price in September 2008 but the sad thing is if you receive your Lancer after that date you will still have to pay the new price, according to Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia. How long did they say you will have to wait BTW? Does it match the 1 year waiting list or are dealers promising you the car earlier than 12 months (for whatever reasons, maybe to encourage you to sign on?)

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 1:44 pm

wats the point of being first to introduce the car here and only recieve the stock next year….i mean in this day and age this stil exists?? one year delivery….wat a messed up piece of biz

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 2:37 pm

this car nice when in ( pro street ) . need some skirt n 20 inch rims

• Nickz (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 2:40 pm

“any lancer driver here? from the magazine says the CVT gearbox will overheat when you cruise in high speed (more than 140km/h). does is true? still thinking wather to buy this car or not. any comments?”

the first batch had this problem as they did not have the ATF oil cooler attached but MMM is fixing it for free for those in the 1st batch. New batch all have this so it’s no longer a problem. Ppl have tested up to 220kmh.

• szw (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 4:24 pm

even though its 119k , i think its still a worth it car…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 4:27 pm

aiya wait for one year?wow like buying supercar lah…better the one year u save and buy a civic..

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 4:29 pm

aiyah…order car need to wait one year? that’s way too long… i guess the buyer sure potong stim already by the time they get the car…also hats off to those who’s willing to wait 12 months… those ppl must be real damn desperate for this lancer…

• sewell (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 4:34 pm

“because I just signed up the VSO end of last week, and the price indicated for GT is still old price which is RM112.8K (not 119K).”

i thought MMM have stop all salesman receiving any new booking. where you book your car?

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 6:01 pm

Any penalty for booking cancelation?

• jcws_87 (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 6:07 pm

Those who want the car and dont mind having a second hand car, come to ipoh as i saw 1 is on sale at an used car dealer (price dont noe lar)

• ckcheong (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 6:14 pm

I just visited the Mitsubishi showroom. The GT 2.0 price quote I got from the sales personnel is RM 122980.00 OTR for private registration while the GLS 2.0 model is priced at RM 114500.00 OTR for private registration.
    The waiting list at JB for the GT 2.0 around 8 to 9 months, while the GLS shorter according to the information by the sales personnel.
    Actually getting the GLS better deal. The price difference is RM 8,480.00 and the difference between GT and GLS trim is that the GLS do not have leather seat, no rear spoiler and 16″ wheels.
    The original spoiler only costs less than RM 500 if want to add(according the the price given by Mitsubishi sales personel), and if personally customised with full leather seat also only RM 2000++, that leaves the buyer many thousands of ringgit to customised the wheels and other goodies if he chooses to do so.
    Better bargain to choose the GLS and customised personal compared to the GT.

• ckcheong (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 6:21 pm

And one more things, those of you who have booked your car before the price hike, when receive your car later will be charged at the new price when receive your car 9 to 12 months later. Information also got from mitsubishi sales personnel.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 8:34 pm

Dont buy tat pathetic spoiler larr…..better wait for ori evo10 spoiler. OPs off topic

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 8:55 pm

ckcheong said,

January 27, 2008 @ 6:14 pm

Lancer GT’s factory fitted leather uses the top top top leather, Nappa

• White Jack (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 8:56 pm

Hi Paul,
    answering your question, the SA told me the wait will not be more than 6 months. If not, I won’t be booking the car if it is one year wait. Furthermore, the SA told me if I don’t choose color, earliest I can get is by end of APR. The SA told me go ahead and apply loan base on the GT price (112.8K) stated on the VSO.

Thanks

Paul Tan says: thank you, your info is beneficial for all readers here. there seems to be two sets of info, one from the SA and the other from Mitsubishi themselves. not sure which is reality! i hope SAs can be trusted… ?

• cetait (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 9:42 pm

That’s pretty lame, to expect someone to wait 9-12 months for a car they’ve already ordered AND pay a higher price. Proper way would have been to guarantee the price for anyone currently on the list and raise the price for everyone else immediately. Would hope they have the decency to offer anyone on the wait list a full refund if they cancel their booking.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 11:34 pm

maybe different dealers, different waiting period?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 11:49 pm

please, give me this car……

• drgn86 (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 12:10 am

this lancer is butt-ugly, furthermore the 12-month waiting period is ridiculous!

• tpl (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 3:04 am

aik, yesterday said car deliver end january 2008 but today changed to 2009 d..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 8:31 am

if i booked my car at the old price, and told i have to pay the hiked up price once i get my car in 10-12 months time, i’ll cancel my order immediately.

the other thing I dont like about this strategy is, by buying the GT at the new higher price, my car could probably suffer higher depreciation, no thanks to the low price of the 1st batch of cars.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 12:40 pm

Proton must have had their defective genes then…

• ckcheong (Member) on Jan 28, 2008 at 6:29 pm

Yes I know it is Nappa leather.

IsaacVky said,
    January 27, 2008 @ 8:55 pm

ckcheong said,

January 27, 2008 @ 6:14 pm

Lancer GT’s factory fitted leather uses the top top top leather, Nappa

• ah liew (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 9:21 pm

1 year is too long, just go to the local ah beng acessories shop & they’ll fit u a Lancer head… hee! hee! i saw a Waja with the head of a Lancer 2.0 GT last Sunday at “indahpura” Johor. unbeliveble….!

• ys (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 3:27 pm

haha.. all these nuts cannot affort the GT so they just modify their Waja.
    but if they calculate properly. they will find that the money the spent to modify their car can in fact buy them another car..
    thats malaysian… like to pretend they own something else…

• bloodrayne (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 9:10 am

Hi, all.. read your comments on the new Lancer Ex. i juz got mine a month ago. i waited for 3 months. booked in middle october 07. the color is metallic grey and the model is Ex Mivec GT hi-spec with rockford fosgate installed inside. i was given 2 choices, either the auto version or the manual version. since i’m wanting more power i go for manual version. so far the feel is good with excellent sound system.. i dont dare to buy the cvt version, fear problems will occur in the future. here, the Lancer Ex GT hi-spec is price at $33,+++.00 including insurance. for low spec its a bit lower than that. without downpayment it’ll be around 4++ per mth, since mine is with dp of 7++ so monthly is about 3++ per month. about maintenance, i have to wait since the mileage is still around 745km. 1st service is at 1000km.

• nooradzman baharudin on May 23, 2009 at 10:49 am

One of thus days. My dream car. Dont let me forget it