New 7-seater Toyota Rush SUV launched!

Toyota Rush

The new Toyota Rush has been launched in Malaysia and UMW Toyota showrooms will start taking bookings from today onwards. Read more about the new 7-seater fully imported 4X2 Toyota Rush 1.5 litre SUV after the jump.

Toyota Rush

The new Rush is a 7-seater monocoque SUV based on an adapted Toyota Avanza platform, and is powered by a 1.5 litre VVT-i engine called the 3SZ-VE, installed longtitudinally in the Rush’s engine bay. It drives the two rear wheels. The 3SZ-VE produces 109 PS at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque at 4,400rpm.

Three variants of the new Toyota Rush are available – the manual 1.5G, the automatic 1.5G and the automatic top of the line 1.5S, which is only available in automatic. The manual variant has the 3SZ-VE paired with a 5-speed manual, while the automatic version has a 4-speed auto with a gated shift. The drivetrain is 2WD, which is lighter and offers better fuel economy.

The Toyota Rush is 4,410mm long, 1,695mm wide and 1,745mm tall including the roof rails. Its wheelbase is 2,685mm long. Track is 1,445mm at the front and 1,460mm at the rear. The manual variant weighs 1,210kg while the automatic is 10kg heavier. The suspension is a MacPherson strut setup with stabilizer bar at the front, and a 4-link live axle at the rear, fitted iwth a lateral rod to maintain axle stability during fast cornering. Front brakes are solid discs while the rear brakes use drums. Turning radius is 5.2 meters, which is better than average for a SUV of this wheelbase. The Toyota Rush has an approach angle of 38.5 degrees and a departure angle of 24.5 degrees.

The Toyota Rush has an interior done up in beige with fabric seats. Cabin length is 2,440mm and cabin width is 1,385mm. There are 3 rows of seats in a 2-3-2 arrangment, and the second row has a 60mm fore-aft slid adjustment with a backrest reclining function. The Rush has second row air conditioning vents mounted on the ceiling, which also serves to cool the third row. The third row takes up most of the car’s boot space, but if you require this boot space you can fold it forwards against the back of the second row. Access to the third row is easy via the double-action folding second row seats, but the low-ish ceiling because of the high-ish floor will make it hard for people with back problems to get into the third row, so be sure to let granny sit in either the front or second row! Access to the boot space is via a side-hinged door which also has the spare tyre mounted on it.

On to equipment levels – the in-car entertainment is a single disc MP3-capable head unit that sends tunes to 6 speakers (4 speakers plus 2 tweeters). The emergency kit includes a jumper cable, first aid kit and a safety triangle. The boot comes with a luggage net. The wing mirrors have turn indicators integrated into them. The Toyota Rush rides on 16 inch alloy wheels wrapped with 215/65R16 tyres. The driver’s seat has height adjustment.

Storage areas are also aplenty – a glovebox, a little coin box, front center storage below the air conditioning controls for your mobile phone and etc, the center console box inside the arm rest, a sunglasses holder, door trim pockets on all doors, seat back pockets, and also third row storage on each side of the car.

The 1.5S has a few extra equipment options over the 1.5G – these include a 2-DIN head unit that also supports cassette other than a CD instead of a 1-DIN unit, projector headlamps instead of reflector lense headlamps, foglamps, an LED-powered high mount stop lamp instead of a bulb-powered one, a rear spoiler, power retractable door mirrors, leather wrapping on the gear shift and steering wheel, dual SRS front airbags (1.5G only has a driver airbag) and strangely – anti-lock brakes and electronic brakeforce distribution. Yup, ABS and EBD are not standard on the Toyota Rush as the 1.5G manual and auto models do not have these safety options.

Warranty for the new Toyota Rush is for 3 years or 100,000km, and the Rush is a CBU import from Indonesia. The following is the price list for Peninsular Malaysia, OTR with insurance:

Toyota Rush 1.5G M/T – RM85,888
Toyota Rush 1.5G A/T – RM88,888
Toyota Rush 1.5S A/T – RM94,888

It comes in four colours – Blue Metallic (the signature colour), Silver Mica Metallic, Champagne Mica Metallic and Black Mica. Kinda looks like the love child of a Toyota RAV4 and a Toyota Fortuner… looks really attractive but the smallish engine and the lack of ABS across the range is kinda disappointing.

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush
Third row seating

Toyota Rush
Projector headlamps for the 1.5S – Click to enlarge

Toyota Rush
Reflector headlamps for the 1.5G – Click to enlarge

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

Toyota Rush

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• happymeal (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:29 am

ffuuuhh…
    paultan lagi cepat!!!
    i did hear of an event at the subang branch from a mate who used that main road….so this is the event!

looks like paul is taking more images from the Toyota marketing presentations!!
    good job paul!!! more insider secrets perhaps.

how come no models like the russian Lexus?? :P

• cutester (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:36 am

Aik?? I thought 1st February is the launching date? Wow, so fast!
    Paul, you’re super duper fast!!!

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:43 am

my question is the ride quality, ??

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:43 am

rush rush….
    2wd only yaa…
    paul,what the engine source is same with vios/yaris?…
    my opinion..
    the interior,especially console look abit like nissan cube…
    the tacometer like they take from hilux,fortuner…
    toyota manage well in sharing platform yaa…
    add some thousand RM more from vios…
    get the rush….

mmm,if toyota malaysia release this rush….
    what rebadge model for new perodua kembara eh?…

Paul Tan says: the engine is from the avanza 1.5 (3SZ-VE), not the vios/yaris (1NZ-FE)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:47 am

As i suspected, is damn expensive for this car!!! Even expensive then a Avanza 1.5L a lot! I think this car is almost the same Wif Avanza since it has only 4X2 RWD drive train!!!

I dont think this car can sell well in Boleh Land, if u guys go and check the Indonesian website this car cost less then RM80k for 1.5G for M/T when convert … If i want to buy this car, i rather take the 1.5G avanza…

http://www.toyota.co.id/cars/price/?Model=Rush

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:48 am

ohoo,thanks paul!…

• SuperBaby (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:57 am

I remember seeing Rush being launched at Jakarta a year ago. And the price was something like RM50K+.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:03 am

toyota is really good at making money. shockingly good at it.

nice looking body + whatever parts bin they can find in their enormous product range = SUCCESS.

Poor poor livina…. there goes a well designed, well executed, less cunning car down the drain.

1.5 Ltr + 7 Seater + RWD + Off Road looks = WHEREONEARTHCANYOUFINDSOMETHINGLIKETHAT?

• MrDDR (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:13 am

Luckily price in langkawi 57k. i want to book this one instead of Livina more than 60k

• demio121 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:29 am

This is where Toyota excel the most… selling what the people want. You want a 7 seater and short on cash, go get the Avanza. Want something more adventurous, get the Rush.

Seats 7 in 3 rows. Back air-con vent to cool the rear passenger (some more expensive SUV dun even have this). Who cares about the el cheapo head units or fabric… look at the price…!!! though i think its a little on the high side, in this country the Rush price is competitive.

i like the Daihatsu Be-Go interior and the short wheelbase more.

• kenfresh (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:31 am

I must say I was drawn to the look of this car, very RAV4-ish.

Until THAT interior shot.

Is it me or is that dashboard the ugliest (and cheapest) I’ve seen?

Like a van. In a bad bad way.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:32 am

Cheapo Indonesia Car

• blerkz (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:46 am

I think I prefer the Suzuki Vitara 2.0

Fully Japan Import with 2.0 engine.

More value for money than this.. I guess.

Don’t be blinded by the badge people!

Always see Toyota on the road, very boring.

• sunsilk (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:06 am

frankly speaking, i rather choose livina…

• king (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:17 am

blerkz said,
    January 29, 2008 @ 1:46 am

I think I prefer the Suzuki Vitara 2.0

Fully Japan Import with 2.0 engine.

More value for money than this.. I guess.

Don’t be blinded by the badge people!

_______

haha…i agreed. when i saw the car it looks good outside. but when i scroll down i thot how come got some china car cheapo looking interior photos? i thought i was in another article of this blog. Coz it looked like naza sutera quality.

surely japan CBU suzuki vitara is better than this china interior indonesia CBU “japanese” car.

ppl will buy just for the brand alone. no wonder toyota make such easy money.

still it will sell as though it was given for free. and probably eat up avanza and vios market a share due to the price range.

• BW (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:32 am

eeewww the front so fugly!!! But i like the arse hehe

• xenith (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 3:20 am

Isn’t this the Daihatsu Terios in Indonesia? If Toyota Rush in Indonesia is only 5-seater like the S’pore version. The 7-seater in Indonesia is Daihatsu Terios. Both selling very well in Indonesia. Terios and Rush was launched in Indonesia last year. Grey importers sold the Rush in Indonesia 2 years ago for about Rp. 250 million, about RM100k at that time.
    Rest In Peace Pak Harto….

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 3:22 am

More expansive than Avanza, I am guessing less power from a 1.5l engine to bring 7 people will surely struggle. Looks like a small compact car but built with 7-seater arrangement. Toyota is hoping that it will appeal to people with big families who would not mind having an underpowered, cheap interior to carry them a long. Looks a lot more like the Unser but the Unser has a bigger engine, and I think is slightly lighter to this car

• petulance (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 6:44 am

Is this a joke??? A 7 seater people mover with a 1.5 litre engine? Surely you would need a 3.0 litre engine at the minimum for a 7 people seater. Even the Subaru Tribeca, which is a 7 people mover with a 3.0 litre engine, has been criticised for being underpowered. Are buyers of the Rush just going to do inner city rides with it?

I think we can use the erosion of a stone by the wind to measure how long it takes to get from 0 to 60!

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 7:08 am

petulance said,
    January 29, 2008 @ 6:44 am

Is this a joke??? A 7 seater people mover with a 1.5 litre engine? Surely you would need a 3.0 litre engine at the minimum for a 7 people seater

Where have u been la?…avanza 1.3 had been selling for ages in Msia..and its a 7 seater la dey….even Kancil 850 some people crammed 6-7 people…hehe..no prob dude….I think you wouldnt get any cheaper 7 seater SUV from other brands (unless P2 is bringing out the new Kembara), besides its a Toyota….i think its gonna sell well !..by d way..Paul, hear anything on Toyota launching the shortbase pulak ke?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 7:23 am

Interesting to note this this is as big as the first generation 4 door RAV4. Cars are indeed getting bigger.

Would be nice if one can swap in a larger 3SFE from the Rav4.

As I always maintained, at this price, perhaps a slighlty used CRV might make better sence.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 7:23 am

Utterly pointless… 4×2 simply defeats the purpose of a Sports Utility Vehicle…

• kakilubuk (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 7:58 am

Eh! RM85K above only for 1.5cc. No way man. Made in Indon pulak tu. I say no. Thumb down. Thumb down.

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:07 am

GOOD: Exterior looks nice & Toyota badge (perception of good reliability & after-sales service)

BAD: Overpriced for an Asean-made car, underpowered (resulting high FC), cheap & ugly interior, no off-road capabilities despite being SUV, no standard safety equipment (EBS, Airbags & Active Vehicle Control).

Add another RM15K+, and you’re off with a Japanese CBU Grand Vitara, with bigger 2.0L engine, full 4WD, safety equipments, and of course with better overall quality.
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/09/29/suzuki-grand-vitara-for-rm109900/

Yeaaa agree with ingolstadt. UMW Toyota really makes good money out of people’s pockets. They should do more effort in cutting the costs down.

Consumers, do your research well before buying.

• Bella147 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:10 am

exterior is nice, but interior looks cheap.. p1 new model interior looks much modern and expensive…. :)

• timber8115 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:21 am

i can tell you all a lot of reused products from toyota. a lot of parts are from avanza. Just like savvy and the new saga.

• terracottaz (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:32 am

wutttttttt???? a cassette player????

• proton.com (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:36 am

the car interior look very cheap, for that price range.

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:43 am

Boring car and overpriced. Fuel consumption sure like thirsty pig.

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:43 am

I told you all oredi…this Rush sure come out b4 CNY.. Then again..Toyota is genius in making one car in same platform sell on different model in different countries, cost cutting here and there.. They dont care about customers who want to buy…they just sell because the brand so strong worldwide. Put anything under ‘T’ batch sure can sell..especially here in M’sia..anything with ‘T’ batch is reliable, good quality, satisfaction no.1. Only true car lovers knows which is intan which is kaca…For toyota its simple, makes a lots of car, sell them and makes money…

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:43 am

Man … really VIgo price …. Manaul 88k , auto 93k for Vigo ?? … no hope but compare to nissan Livana which one worth ?? but only change the one wanna buy avanza maybe look into this rush … expensive … let c what price will be sell in P2 kemabara replacement model … hope not too expensive ..

• shaif (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:51 am

CRV still maintain its status but grand vitara is much more wiser than this T brand.

• lolipop88 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:53 am

errr… another low cost car but sold at the price like a high end car… and the engine bay just messy.. wiring fly over everywhere… I can buy an Skoda Octavia 1.8T AT with this price at China.. upset…. :-(

• want_diy (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:54 am

Any news of the new kembara replacment???

• tec96248 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:06 am

nice look but the price not good. i won’t buy this model definitely unless it is cheap. preferred livina since i saw the real unit last friday. afterall this is not 4×4 model, at least livina have 1.8.

• hidz7 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:08 am

the exterior…acceptable..but the interior(sigh)…
    look so cheap for rm90k++….how come??really not value for money!!

• razzack04 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:17 am

A cheap car for an off-road looking, 7 seater… nobody gonna go off road in this one. Well done Toyota.

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:22 am

want_diy said,
    January 29, 2008 @ 8:54 am

Any news of the new kembara replacment???

Kembara will come out on the same platform, shorter wheelbase & 5 seater. Change the ‘T’ batch, change the headlamp & tail light, enterior lil’ bit here and there. Price it right below 60k..there you go for All New Kembara. For Toyota its okay..tak mau beli Rush tak apa..go buy the ‘nationaled’ status Kembara..our money still goes to the same taukeh’s pocket; Toyota Motor Corp..

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:23 am

ermm…. if i want a 7-seater, i’d got for a Livina for around the same price. Get a 1.8l car, and it looks better built too.

I don’t think you’ll really want go go offroading in this one afterall, esp since it comes in 2WD and a puny 1.5l engine. If you’re staying in estate area then i guess ok la.

• zk9 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:29 am

Despite the large tires and ground clearance, it is still a 2 wheel drive, which Rush, as an SUV, will perform miserably compared to 4WD/all-wheel-drive wagons in rough and muddy terrains.

Despite the monocoque structure advantage compared to Avanza, Rush’s floor is way above the ground and (together with unfavorable height:width ratio) that offsets the ride and stability advantage of monocoque structure when taken along the countryside’s winding roads.

So Rush is intended for:
    poseur soccer moms (or dads) in the suburbs
    to carry their kids and cargos while maintain that youthful character (and ruggedness for males)
    to impress other moms and dads that despite already losing their bachelor status, they still maintain their youthful cute-ness, vigor and excursion
    while still having the advantage of a fuel-sipper multipurpose utility carrier and ability to park in tight spots.

Unfortunately i am not impressed with such ppl. To look cute and youthful, I would take the Swift. If I want to carry a bunch of kids, I would take the Livina (with better riding refinement). For more excursion and vigorous look, it only takes a little bit of money to buy a more powerful, spacious Grand Vitara. Or a stylish 4WD Kia Sportage for a real rural expedition.

• ahsk1 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:47 am

Nice exterior but lousy and cheap interior. Some more no abs and way too expensive. Better go for Avanza. Although Avanza also has cheap and lousy interior, the 1.5g has dual airbags, ABS and much cheaper. Both are 2WD anyway. For this price better go for Livina.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:47 am

Any idea on the Avanza price drop after Rush launched? Planning to get Avanza, hope it may bring down the price for Avanza. Targeting for Avanza 1.5L.

• WreaKing (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:50 am

Just heard of it and Paul have it all in here… Superb!!!!
    Looking forward to SUV…..

• blunt (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:52 am

King Samurai..

I dont think P2 will do cosmetic change on New Kembara..Except swap the T badge with P2 badge. JUst look at current Kembara..exactly same as Daihatsu Terios. And somemore they targetted at a very small market (300 unit/month)

• megadisc (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:52 am

sweet !

i’m getting one today !

bye bye to avanza !

• drebar (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:03 am

agree with some of the comments above. the exterior look totally deceived us. the interior looks more like a TATA car than a Toyota. and using the same platform as Avanza, which is van/truck based… i doubt the ride is gonna be smooth..

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:11 am

Expensive!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:13 am

I think we can start speculating on how much the SWB Kembara replacement will cost. Hope it comes with the 1.5l engine too, along with standard ABS.

If a similar 1.5S spec is produced by P2 in SWB form, a price of around rm60k-rm70k can be expected eh? any thoughts?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:22 am

Consider Toyota’s ‘Just In Time’ approach in product release. Consider the Badge. this vehicle is specially designed for South Asian market only. If they place this car in the below RM75K category (although they should, for a cheapo midsize pseudo SUV), then at what price will they sell the actual small 4by4 SUV new Kembara?

20 million potential buyers, how many do you think realize that this is actually not worth RM85K in Indon? People will buy coz it’s a Toyota. Maybe not you and me.

• RM (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:22 am

It looks great but to pay some RM90k for the automatic is asking too much.

• avanza (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:23 am

Paul,

I hope you can shed some light into this. A currency conversion of the 1.5S A/T from RP183,800,000 to RM is about RM68k. Why is UMW selling it at RM95k?

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:32 am

back seat cup holder remind me to PROTON PERSONA type..

BTW.. the interior is the ugliest design tht i ever seen made by toyota…

its look like a van dash design.. AND LOOK CHEAP ALSO…SUCKS

wat a $#@^(*&^……..

IF U WANT RUSH TO GET A CAR… GET THIS CRAP RUSH

• johanbey (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:33 am

The funny thing about people who comment here is to speak before thinking.

1. Buying a Suzuki is fine but how many vitara you see on the road? Have you owned a suzuki, do you know how freaking expansive to buy spare parts from Japan. I did!

2. Have you owned a Avanza, do you know how easy and cheap to maintain and get spare parts? I did.

3. Toyota are known as master of manufacturer, a proven fomula that people wants their everyday car, realibility, low-cost maintainence, low mileage, fuss free and easy to drive. Some nuts talk about 3.0 Subaru tribeca? Do you know how much is the road-tax for 3.0l vehicle!!!?

4. At 88k, what can you get? For a new car. Lavina is a car designed specifically to sit between Avanza and Innova. Its here after 3 years Toyota have introduced such car segment. Nissan are not risk takers, they let others to create the market and come in to rip the rewards.

5. Can someone tell these 40 over nutters/commentor that CR-V and Vitara is on a Mid-sized SUV market segment, similar to RAV-4. So in that sense, Rush dont have a direct competitor, so why bother to compare until some other car maker says: Hey! Thats a cool idea, entry level/7-seater/2WD/family oriented/SUV. Lets do that TOO!

6. If you really call youself a car enthusiat, can you try to understand then appriciate every car (including the tata nano) for its purposed to be created before making senseless and shallow comments?

7. Cause Toyota have millions of designers, engineers, market reseachers with their million dollar paycheque to do their homework before a car call RUSH to roll out at the podium yesterday.

8. For those who still talk about national car and pride, bare in mind how many malaysian jobs are being created. Its the age of globalization in case you havent heard of it. Wake-up! The strenght of a country economy is judged by how well you have adapted in this new globalized economy, not how many protons you have produce you numbnuts!

No wonder some says we have 1st world infra-structure but 3rd world mentality. 51 years and we are still struggling because people who think we live in a paradise, and whatever it is, govt will fix it or pay for it. Do you understand that even PM cant stop the world from changing? So stop expecting to pay 88k for a car that dont share parts in the current market! Go buy a book a find out how Toyota become the world car maker in a record time and perhaps you can become the world number 1 pisang goreng seller.

• ndmervin (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:35 am

Not a fan of such creature. Toyota is starting to make cheapo cars at crazy high prices… Looking at the quality of the rear-most seats… sigh.. the steering wheel and the gearknob… very disappointing.

And the engine, lagi dasyat, 1.5L for such a big car… 7-seater and NO ABS? This is unimaginable for today’s market demand!

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:38 am

THE CREAM COLORS LOOK IDIOT..

THIS IS THE SECOND CRAP FROM TOYOTA AFTER VIOSDUGONG

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:47 am

Avanza, because UMW reckon people will accept the price range, here. Dude, it’s a matter of supply and demand. If M’sians agree to buy an SUV Toyota at this price, then WHY THE HELL NOT?

• xstan (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:49 am

Havent seen the actual car just yet. But like the extearior but the interior sooooo…..dull & cheap. Eeeeyeeeeew. Turn off.

Though of diff category car, GL is still a better car both interior & exterior.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:03 am

Maybe, just maybe, it costs RM20k a pop to deliver the cars here… muahaha.

Johanbey, maybe all that crap you wrote there is right. Maybe you studied International Business and E-Commerce and Global Finance. Maybe you didn’t study Mass Relations coz u called all of us nutters. But hey, we’re just exercising our right to an opinion. OUR 2 cents, bro. You can contradict too, just dont generalize us as nutters.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:10 am

If P2 sells a shortened version of this, its gonna be a real favourite with the Expat ‘s Wives club. For some reason unknown to us locals.

At least this one has a decent nose job compared with Yaris/Vios/Camry design. It looks decent; design wise. Not something you expect from Toyota the leading auto maker. But something you’d expect from Toyota the most profitable auto maker.

If it is an SUV, then stop asking about ride comfort. Its good for scaring the bejezus out of people when you’re squeezing through morning traffic coz its huge. Its a traffic-buster or car-dozer or bike-swiper.

The interior does really shout PLASTIC in a way nobody else has ever tried (well except for KIA), declaring to everyone that it does not need to disguise what it is made off. Its bloody honest.

Very clearly its also made for a market that people still listen to AM radios and Cassettes.

• abtm (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:28 am

looks like a budget RAV4

• king (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:35 am

johanbey said,

2. Have you owned a Avanza, do you know how easy and cheap to maintain and get spare parts? I did.

3. Toyota are known as master of manufacturer, a proven fomula that people wants their everyday car, realibility, low-cost maintainence, low mileage, fuss free and easy to drive. Some nuts talk about 3.0 Subaru tribeca? Do you know how much is the road-tax for 3.0l vehicle!!!?

______

i agree with some of your points…..BUT let me point out what is my/our ( 40 odd commentors)concern:

The main problem is the quality of toyota interior recently really sucks. It is like putting a toyota badge on a Chery QQ and selling for RM70k.( a bit exaggerating but Toyota and especially UMW Toyota is heading towards that direction) Yeah sure the maintenance is cheap…coz most of the parts are of cheapo 3rd world quality. And u already paid the 5 yrs maintenance cost UPFRONT.

UMW really suck big time for using low grade parts…..have u ever been on the road recently n seen so many toyota with poor quality one year old “yellow” number plate and “aquarium” vios brake lights? Even the paint is of low grade and fade/ loses shine after only a yr.

Anyway a superb strategy by toyota for selling a nissan vannette that looks like an SUV without 4wd function at 30k more expensive for 3rd world soccer moms.

No one is asking for a 3- litre engine. Ppl were just saying even 3-litre engine still considered underpowered for SUV. Of course 3-litre doesn’t make sense in M’sia. A good choice would have been a 1.6 litre and 1.8 Litre or 2.0 litre option for this Rush.

This famous quote is dedicated to UMW toyota: ” You can fool some people all the time, and you can fool all the people some of the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.

• drebar (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:35 am

i’m only an about 3 months old suzuki owner.. so i’ll talk about my frens experience. he owned a swift…first batch when swift first released in malaysia. until now..all he needs to do is only service the car. no problems at all. he drives quite rough and hardly take care of the car… but still no need to change spare parts and the car still feel like new even after more than 2 years… even if need to change spare parts, we have oem from taiwan… it’s swift la.. dunno about grand vitara…

oh…btw, my fren driving a satria gti tot that local car cheaper to maintain… he is crying liao… cos it’s expensive also… the local car cheaper to maintain is just a gimmick…

• king (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:43 am

Johanbey,

One more thing…..just because generally ppl do not agree with you does not give u the right to call them all nutters.

• feis (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:47 am

Nice exterior, cheap interior, crappy 1.5l engine for the price. Definitely go for Grand Vitara just because of the price and engine size and go up several level. Being the overpriced Grand Livina is nothing as Rush is now the champion for overpriced ‘affordable’ car. But if selling at RM68k-78k still acceptable. Thet being said, a lot of Malaysian will still put their money into this overpriced creature because it’s a Toyota. Even though it’s a third world Toyota.

• ys (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:06 pm

Johanbey,
    i can’t fully support your comment but i think part of it is truth.
    Malaysian reallly need to wake up. Indonesian, Thailand even Vietnam are doing very well in car manufacturing industries. if we still think that we are in haeven then we are 1 step closer to hell.

anyway, for this rush, my opinion will be OVERPRICE!!!

• King Samurai (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:11 pm

Johanbey,

Nutters here give comment or opinion bcoz we’re no longer fools..Those days yes.. Even proton now learn their lesson..to sustain the in the market listen to what people say coz we are the one holding the purchasing power. Toyota have been in the comfort zone for so long in this regional market. In their homeland, they will never ever introduce such scrappy cars..but outside Japan especially in this region, just look around what kind of car they’re offering?

I’ve lived in Japan for several years and there’s no doubt about Toyota’s superior in the automotive industy overthere. Even my family is a Toyota lover and my dad never change to other model since he bought his Corona in 1982. However, back here in msia.. i’m very dissapointed in their model line-up nowadays…cheap and low quality..meant for volume & maximum profitability. If this is their direction they’re moving forward.. we have to teach them something. We are they buyer & we are their future.

• petulance (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:11 pm

Poxxue2 said,

January 29, 2008 @ 7:08 am

Where have u been la?…avanza 1.3 had been selling for ages in Msia..and its a 7 seater la dey….
    even Kancil 850 some people crammed 6-7 people…hehe..no prob dude….

Been living overseas for quite a while now.

6 – 7 people in a Kancil? All size 6 sub-50kg go-go dancers?

Eeeekkk …

on a more serious note, I suppose if potential Rush buyers use it for commuting to work, going to the shopping mall on weekends, occasional trips to the airport and to get to eating places, it should be fine. Even a Yaris has got a 1.5 litre engine.

I just don’t see your average Malaysian family filling it up with camping gear (tents, table, chairs, bicycles, cooking equipment, water and maybe a kayak on top) and then driving 400km in it for a weekend camping trip. Or doing anything sporty with it.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:22 pm

is this toyota…what a crap…exterior is condo interior is setinggan :) common you guys for a car that price almost 100k u get the cheapest interior ever…your money only goes to the brand man…even if no tax if applied the car is still expensive for that kind of interior quality…wut so special about this car…nothin to shout about .even the exterior front look if you see it closely it almost same like savvy and latio (toyota cut cost huh) …its just only toyota..people will buy the brand..not the car…wutever from toyota is consider good…the ugliest will be the fabric and the din unit man…wut a crap…people open your eyes…its so easy to buy malaysian heart with branding not the product… rush is a crap crap crap

• dr_carz (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:27 pm

This toyota lacks QC in the interior! What happen to the Japanese of perfection? Died because of to much MTV…..

• mcwk (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:29 pm

Toyota launches another MPV into the market, competing with it’s own Avanza. It’s not acceptable that while we are making it mandatory to wear seatbelts in the rear, we are not requiring car manufacturers to included safety features like ABS and EBD on their cars.

The HU is from 10 years ago? Who uses cassettes anymore? Anyway, it’s good that they included a 2-DIN player – I guess most ICE enthusiasts will quickly swap for an aftermarket DVD player or so…. :)

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:37 pm

johanbey said,
    January 29, 2008 @ 10:33 am

6. If you really call youself a car enthusiat, can you try to understand then appriciate every car (including the tata nano) for its purposed to be created before making senseless and shallow comments?

–we appreciate every car but consider all aspect of the car not only the brand…if a car is overprice but crap interior like this rush, we have the rite to comment dont we…nutters like us dont buy a car because its toyota…we buy car base on what we get for what we pay…if u start talking about third world mentality you should judge yourself first for being low class mentality in accepting others comment…because for me if the car is sucks even if it was a ferrari or bugati or wutever its still sucks…

• drebar (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:44 pm

i look at the interior pics over and over again..still don’t understand how they come up with the design. the interior is like a basic van’s interior.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:47 pm

Shall we break it to the media about the RM20K price difference between Indon and M’sia? Or they’ve figured it out oredi.. Hey, we can tell Yamin Vong!

• shamel (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:14 pm

Though T Rush BUT actually this is a daihatsu unit, terios NOT Be-Go or T Rush as their interior, dashboard, gear lever are all different. Just Malaysia (and Indonesians alike) prefer BADGE over everything they just “comply” with our (mindset) standard. Cheapo car with spartan interior and appealing cost of ownership at luxury price.

Why not try to teach so-called Toyota?

• shamel (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:15 pm

Though T Rush BUT actually this is a daihatsu unit, terios NOT Be-Go or T Rush as their interior, dashboard, gear lever are all different. Just Malaysia (and Indonesians alike) prefer BADGE over everything they just “comply” with our (mindset) standard. Cheapo car with spartan interior and appealing cost of ownership at luxury price.

Why not try to teach so-called Toyota? Power in ya hand, dude.

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:16 pm

Man, that Avanza platform is showing. The car’s not high enough to be a rugged SUV, and the wheelbase is so long, it reminds me of the Avanza.

It’s like one of those Tamiya remote control cars where the body is like an interchangeable (plastic) cover.

Just restyle the car (body) differently and selling it with an SUV-classification. Very smart of Toyota. And I must say the car – at a glance – looks appealing.

A little pimping up will make this ride look teh biznes.

But the 1.5liters sounds underpowered.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:17 pm

he even called us goreng pisang seller numbnuts! now is that a nice way to communicate with friends?

• sutheshkumar87 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:27 pm

so paul, the toyota rush iwe are getting is not based on the extended platform of the short wheel base rush from japan? and how ours differ from the japanese one?

• KY (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:45 pm

looks like a scaled up version of kembara..

• albagmane (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:49 pm

hmm… how bout the upcoming kembara??? is this oso the end of avanza?

• mockviper (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:32 pm

the interior is a total turn off. not sure how it will looks like in real life. and i do also think that 1.5L is a bit underpowered for it. 1.8L should be better, and with ABS + EBD as standards.

——————
    4. At 88k, what can you get? For a new car. Lavina is a car designed specifically to sit between Avanza and Innova. Its here after 3 years Toyota have introduced such car segment. Nissan are not risk takers, they let others to create the market and come in to rip the rewards.

its Livina, not lavina. competition is good for us. dont u think so? more option for us to choose from. and Livina was introduced elsewhere in ASIA almost a year ago. its a bit late but still it gives competition to Toyota… it sounds like everything comes out from ‘T’ is a good stuff to you…. do you work for toyota?

• kentloong (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:33 pm

singapore’s toyota rush japan spec dashboard photo… http://paultan.org/forum/index.php/topic,721.msg15838/topicseen.html#msg15838

• shamel (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:42 pm

In Japan, Rush interior look better:
    http://toyota.jp/rush/interior/index.html

Or even D Be-Go share common dashboard unlike inferior ASEANized Terios/Rush assembled by Astra group.

http://www.daihatsu.co.jp/showroom/lineup/be-go/index.htm

UMW Toyota sucking our hard earned money with this offering’s prices.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:55 pm

Its cheap…consider it looks like an SUV, 7 seater, good pricing. WELL DONE. Ill take one Hilux please….What!?….its price about the same, its tough, more power, bigger space and size and it says “get out of my way i’m big”. Why Rush, its poitnless

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:55 pm

haha, already told cha!! not Perodua, its Toyota……

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:56 pm

8. For those who still talk about national car and pride, bare in mind how many malaysian jobs are being created. Its the age of globalization in case you havent heard of it. Wake-up! The strenght of a country economy is judged by how well you have adapted in this new globalized economy, not how many protons you have produce you numbnuts!

well.. lots of numbnuts in this forum are still not wake up you say? they already wake up long time ago and thats why they dont just accept all the T badge produts blindfolded!

and about “how many proton you produce” what kind of statement is it? with many employment created, does proton still not adapted yet to this globalized economy?stop dragging others to make your so-wake-up statement looks stronger!

• nmh (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:58 pm

I have to test drive to see how worst it handles…maybe worst than vios

• scottloeb (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 3:22 pm

The exterior : Very good. The interior : Total turn off. If you compare with JDM Rush, this is langit and bumi. The aircond – cable type sama dengan saga la brudder! I hope we condemn here kawkaw until they warrant improvement spec. Frankly, the LWB is not that awkward, in fact I like it better. I don’t want fancy toys, just black colour interior like JDM would be enough.

http://toyota.jp/rush/exterior/garally/index.html

It is understood to reduce the cost, few toys will be remove but at least understand Malaysia’s market esp on the colour. You can put lower grade material (not the water resistant) on the seat but that colour? Even if the colour gives you the pseudo-space feeling, but it will scream “cheap” quite loud. Mktg, if you’re reading this you already lost 1 customer. Please TMAP/TTCAP do something.

And for those who thing everything comes out from Toyota is god’s gift to human, think again. This is nowhere near LS, GS and please, we just need the right colour (Hey, I don’t even comment on the price. I think it’s justified due to CBU status).

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 3:28 pm

I wonder…..what’s Rush all abt?

It seems to b more xpnsv than Avanza n Vios, n not that well equipped save for the 1.5S model. The interior is especially disappointing, considering this comes from world’s no1 (or no2. Kejap naik atas GM, kejap turun balik…) car manufacturer.

To look rugged wit 4WD look? Geez……I wonder what’s wit the craze for soft off-road which probably can’t do much off-tarmac…..it’s like buying a pewter knife but using it to show off rather than cutting anything. Except that…..this pewter knife is very, very expensive…..n it’s not like there’s no cheap n more durable stainless steel knife to do some serious cutting tasks.

People, spend ur money wisely: if u need a budget MPV, u can get Avanza/Innova/Grand Livina/wait for Proton’s 2009 MPV, use the money saved to buy this junk for petrol or something else that is more necessary to live. U have to be extremely rich….n a bit dimwit to buy this ‘pewter knife’. Even if u want to buy the brand, it’s not like Toyota doesn’t hv any cheap model which is practical n made more money sense.

• jschin (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 3:47 pm

Exterior looks good but don’t really like the beige concept and design of the interior.

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 5:34 pm

i think this a car is for a show, but non of the character fullfil the need either way,
    rugged look but incapable, 7 seater but less comfy for its body roll i guess,
    well,,some people might want put the money on it, not me,

who are really into 7 seater, should get a genuine 7 seater,
    or probally take your time, proton MPV should be in the list, wait and be patient ..

• bavarian (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 5:37 pm

with such price and specs toyota rush may compete with livina
    some may disagree but think again, its a 2WD

fuel consumption maybe high for this car
    totyota should launch a 2.0 version 4WD

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 5:40 pm

Hehe.. This phenomenon happen when people “memuja” a brand to much

• avanza (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 6:18 pm

Cost RM23k more than the Avanza 1.5. What do you get? Basically the same things. Hell, even the seats are from the Avanza! You don’t get 4WD. No thanks! BTW, I drive an Avanza and I really don’t see any reason to get this.

• rakyat (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 6:25 pm

overpriced la boss….

quite disapointed as i’ve been waiting to get sothing like that…..i think now i’ll just wait a little longer la… will stick to my old car for now.

from a consumer point of veiw, in malaysia, i’m willing to pay no more than RM100k for a T-Rush IF it has 1.8L engine, ABS, EBD and a better interior.

i think RM 65-75k would be reasonable for this T-Rush.

hope that P2 will give us a surprise offer la…

• shamel (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 6:41 pm

This is really Toyota acid test whether we can accept their T brand if the spec much lower than competitions. If YES that mean they need not to lower Kembara Replacemnet Model’s price.

If NOT they’ll lower down the Kembara price.

• scudz (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 7:03 pm

that interior looks absolutely appalling… its a total turnoff.

that kinda design and quality just isn’t acceptable when u’re paying close to RM100k for a stretched cute-ute.

• Tracks (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 7:22 pm

To sum up what most people have comment above, Rush in an over-priced piece of crap.

1) Body = Basically a rebodied Avanza to look more sporty. Looks is acceptable though but not worth the price.
    2) Safety = Active Safety items like the ABS & EBD is not available for the G spec. Obviously G spec mean nothing anymore to Toyota. Safety is compromise for people paying over RM80K for a vehicle. What a joke. Toyota, you are making me loose respect towards you.
    3) SUV = Huh. But it’s on 2WD. Ofcourse I won’t expect much from a 1.5L engine but not having 4WD as an option is unacceptable.
    4) Price = This the most ridiculous part, you pay extra RM18k for a rebodied Avanza minus safety items like Airbags, ABS & EBD.

People, please look past the appearance alone. Save the money and buy an Avanza 1.5G instead. The RM18k could be put to better use. ABS & EBD is very important as it would allow the driver an opportunity to steer the vehicle to safety instead of just going straight during emergency braking.

Some might arque that the 1.5S model have the ABS & EBD plus airbag. True but then you are paying over RM25k for a rebodied Avanza with projector headlamp. Not worth while.

The concept of the product may be nice but the overly greedy people managing the sales are under cutting the package that could be offered to make a fast buck knowing a lot of pitiful malaysian know nothing about vehicle safety and maths.

• armandd (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:10 pm

the interior looks very cheap. even the new saga’s interior looks more upmarket.

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:20 pm

i wont rush for this one…

• Bebelon (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:36 pm

wait for new X trail although it is not in the same class. why not just pay bit higher and get better ones?

• 8918 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 9:59 pm

Like it or not:
    -rush will still sell better than the nutters who compare it with vitara and lavina.
    -ppl criticise new vios(like dugong)but it outsold even the latio.
    -1.5l underpower?so many avanza owner won’t be wrong…
    -Innova,hilux,and fortuner share same platform so what?All selling very well in their class at least.
    -So many wish and so little stream around…
    -Waiting list so long for camry…

Bravo to TOYOTA!!!

*only yaris not doing so well due to price positioning.

• szw (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:18 pm

SUV punya avanza

• vandenlye (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:30 pm

Thanks Paul for fast information, but Malaysian really do not deserve a quality yet price competitive car as long as the ‘so called’ national car still exist. In Indonesia, this car is RM28k cheaper (for 1.5 M/T model) by removing two seats!!!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:42 pm

Foremost, kudos to Paul Tan for his extensive kind coverage and congratulation to UMWT for its new launched elongated Rush.

It have shown up at last. Haha seems like most of you flabbergasted particularly for its interior. Yeah frankly speaking, it’s bloody disappointing. I can hear a lot of grouses here and that’s a good sign actually. You guys should react accordingly and give’em a good nice lesson so that they realize, Malaysians are changing and not that easy to be fooled anymore. As a consumer and buyer, you have the bloody right to be rather critical.

Given the fact that this car is being produced at Astra Daihatsu Motor (ADM), Indonesia, revealed to us about the state of the car’s quality. Not that commendable. My contacts in Toyota and Daihatsu Japan also stressed out that this ADM is suck. The standard is damn low and not like the higher class of those Toyota manufacturing plants in Thailand. They said even Perodua is much better. If you wanna whack this car then IMHO it deserves to. The price is not reasonable ! The actual price should be at slightly same range with Avanza.

Can this kind of car be sold in Japan ? I mean with that kind of price and quality ? Not a chance…consumer is the king and Toyota will be kicked hard on its arse…yeah really really hard.

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:54 pm

UMWT does really well in reaching their hands deeply into the pockets of “brand conscious” Malaysian car buyers. Put the Toyota badge into anything, and people will buy. Sooner or later, they will become complacent enough and don’t bother about quality & affordability anymore.

Fellow Malaysians, do your research well before buying from UMWT. There are better alternatives out there with better pricing, quality, reliability and after sales service.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:54 pm

Was told by *ahem* somebody in P2 that they won’t get the new Kembara out coz there’s some volume problems with Viva. So T thinks its better that the new Kembara is sold as the original Rush. They think having the T instead of the P would sell more.

Makes marketing logic. But they misunderestimated that both brands carry different customer expectations. Each marque caters for a different target market. The P clients wouldn’t shout if it was the new Kembara as they don’t expect much, like anybody who buys a Viva.

So much for EBIT growth. I wonder who’s EBIT is concerned, Toyota or UMW?

• hyundai (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:17 pm

1220KG wif only 1.5 litre? Fuel consumption must be quite bad and will be underpowered…

• shamel (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:26 pm

T-fan don’t mind, a lot of them OK though their Hilux only slightly powerful than Tata 4×4, enough is enough.

• wilbrightj (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 12:11 am

nice exterior but dissapointing engine n interior..its just like a beautiful girl or a handsome man but with a bad heart n bad habits…or maybe the Avanza went for a nose job or boob job (plastic surgery) to become RUSH..we malaysian’s are not blinded by looks toyota!!..buck up..why dont u just CKD the Japanese Domestic Model (JDM) Rush or CKD the RAV4..at least more malaysian’s will have jobs..just like honda with their CRV..For 95k!! i think a 2nd hand or a recondition harrier seems like a better option..(or even a vitara,x-trail,sorento)

p/s: Paul i guess u should compare RUSH with other competitor…

• monomania (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 12:15 am

the daihatsu bego and JDM interior is so much better, if they apply it to the local RUSH i will rush to the showroom and get myself one!

CRAP INTERIOR FOR TASTELESS PEOPLE

no driving pleasure for sure…

• Bebelon (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 12:56 am

based on Japan official website, fuel consumption for auto spec is 14km/L and 15.2km/L. i think quite ok already. however, the japanense model only 5 seats.

• Bebelon (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 12:56 am

based on Japan official website, fuel consumption for auto spec is 14km/L and 15.2km/L for manual. i think quite ok already. however, the japanense model only 5 seats.

• king (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:30 am

UMW Toyota is just too F***ing greedy!

• king (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:33 am

8918 said,
    January 29, 2008 @ 9:59 pm

Like it or not:
    -rush will still sell better than the nutters who compare it with vitara and lavina.
    -Innova,hilux,and fortuner share same platform so what?All selling very well in their class at least.
    -So many wish and so little stream around…
    -Waiting list so long for camry…

Bravo to TOYOTA!!!

*only yaris not doing so well due to price positioning.

_____

another blinded toyota hardcore fanboy that will praise any product from toyota no matter how lousy it is.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:34 am

8918 said,

Like it or not:

—only nutters will buy this crap instead of vitara and livina ( so sad people buying the brand not the car)

— latio is more worse then latio…that is the reason.. but if you can see clearly the new vios isn’t too popular compare to the old vios…somehow persona is easy to be seen at the road nowdays compare to the new vios even my auntie (own a old version vios) said the new vios is suck…better go for civic man

—avanza is family car market..so people who buy it not push the car to the limit so they dont complain…but this rush is SUV (sports utility vehicle)segment so where is the sport feel if its cannot be what its suppose to be…with those weight surely its will be underpower

—yup agree with you on this…but still not because it was a car…its about brand…think toyota car is design by god and quality proven by god (what a crap)

Bravo to TOYOTA!!!
    hope malaysian not be easily fool by brand like this fool…peace

• leedehao (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 3:54 am

I know this is an unfair comparison but for the price of the Toyota Rush 1.5S, one could buy a Toyota RAV4 Limited (top spec model) with leather seats, self dimming mirror, intergrated bluetooth, 6 in dash speaker etc etc. in the US. I really wonder how much does the Malaysian government reaps in with all the CBU and CKD taxes. Furthermore, the interior of the Rush is really awful. It reminds me of the ealier Gen 2 interiors, which was horrendous.

• rakyat (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 7:37 am

can’t really blame Toyota/UMW la, i think we ourselves that make them think that they can put their products and any price they like and yet can reach their sales target. well well well, malaysian we have to wake up sometimes and show them that we won’t just simply buy thier ideas now… don’t bleme me if i say that i seriously hope for a bad sales record this time for T-Rush to wake them up a bit…. so people if you can hang on just hang on, save some money for a better models later….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 8:53 am

like most of the toyotas sold in malaysia.. the plastics look really cheap. but the hordes of toyota fans will still be buying it for sure. but everyone has the right to spend their hard-earned money any way they want too.

for me, I would get the livina. its a proper focused MPV, and if you want a real MPV why buy something thats trying to be an SUV, but isnt, and also trying to be an MPV at the same time?

• yippi33 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 9:02 am

toyota always produce crappy interiors..just look at all their models..they lose flat out to honda in every aspects..low costs interior+price slightly lower than its competitor = toyota’s winning formulae..

-prefer H than T-

• kody (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 9:05 am

wahlaueh…

still typically large steering wheel…. i like WAJA steering wheel just in nice size not too big or too small… TOYOTA when you can change the steering wheel size??…

• king (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 9:23 am

8918 said,

you never heard of the phrase” the blind leading the blind? “

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 9:24 am

no matter how bad the bashes are, toyotas are known to last. Even terrorists loves em :) Just like some of you :) :)

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 9:55 am

I don’t think this is Toyota Japan, this is the work of UMWT. Shaming yourself like this will prompt harakiri in Japan. UMWT is shameless. They’re banking on brand name alone and it appears to be working. And folks, dont worry about those three guys, they just pushing your buttons just to make this string longer. Hehe.

• ganz (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 10:39 am

ok lah SUV…if u have money n u like it.. go n buy…

BTW wondering why people comparing grand livina with RUSH??

• F1fan (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 11:17 am

Although I’m driving a T car, but this new T Rush is rather disappointing in terms of engine capacity, interior, price and safety issues. A very sad/sick product from T badge.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 1:22 pm

why some people is blaming UMWT la Astra daihatsu la for produce out this crap…if toyota not proving it do you think UMW have power to release this model…do you think toyota will allowed their subordinate to scratch their reputation without their approval…this is all toyota decision..not UMW..not astra..its all about their cut cost max profit method…thats all…they use us because they know we will buy because of the badge not the car…why people blaming our own countrymen or indonesian for a greedy jap faults…huh so lame…

• L.T.K. (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:12 pm

ganz said,
    January 30, 2008 @ 10:39 am

BTW wondering why people comparing grand livina with RUSH??

—————-

Because T try to TRANSFORM this thing to eat Bolehland MPV cake. lolz!!!

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 4:24 pm

OK… so this how the Avanza looks like with an SUV shell over it. So… what’s the point, Toyota? Nice shell but the interior is so low rent it’s a real turn-off.

I’m really interested to see how many Malaysians will actually buy into this SUV “lifestyle” story.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 6:51 pm

wah 129 comments for a toyota topic?not bad….all the bashes is pointing to toyota now?wow a year ago this is impossible…man this blog is damn fun…is there any word such as toyota blind basher?i wanna be one…coz the japanese are here to do business not charity..You support them blindly now they give u a model and hope u r still blind!!!…..

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 8:46 pm

“they use us because they know we will buy because of the badge not the car…why people blaming our own countrymen or indonesian for a greedy jap faults…huh so lame…”

– So what’s your point. This is the problem. Never admit self-weaknesses but put the shite on others. Now try to blame the Japs for giving you this inferior model? instead of reckoning why they dump this kind of car at only two countries in the first place,… which seemingly deserve it due to those countrymen mentality.

You said it’s the fault of greedy Japs, no they are not greedy, but they are opportunist and analyst. Hey look at the bigger picture dude. They’re talking about business here man. Do you think this kind of car can make way through Europe or America. Not a chance man. Why those nations get the best creams and top of the range models. Hey i don’t have to go far..do you think Toyota will put this ‘crap’ on sale in Singapore ?? Think again man !! Demographic characteristic of one nation reflects all.

That’s why in my previous post, i noted there’s an inclination of people here to change for the better and it’s a good sign. It’s the people here that got to change first before you can throw stones to others and calling them greedy or faulty.

UMWT and Astra, hah practically same… But can you think clearly who suits the character of greedy most, is it UMWT/Astra or Toyota. Toyota is a true car manufacturer and producer, while UMWT/Astra ?
    They’re making monies just like this… tapping you fingers.

• ec (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 11:08 pm

1)change the interior to black or dark grey. No way for cream for sporty vehicle-la!!
    2) take out the manual shifter of air-intake at centre console (the horinzontal stuff that put it right in the centre below the aircond vent)
    3) make integrated fm/cd player
    4) take off the last role (like CRV), and replace the rest with leather seat. 5 seater would be VERY VERY good enough.

I would buy if those 4 criteria met!!!

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 12:38 am

>>>Of course they’re not wrong, cuz it comes from THEIR OWN mouth!! However, it’s not rly a big problem to them, cuz they’re not gonna thrash it aroun Sepang or sumthin.

90% Avanza owners must’ve been family men/women who needs to transport their valuable families safely, not fastly. Too bad that shud they were tempted to overtake a kancilution, they dun hv the power to do it, that’s all.

On that note, being underpowered isn’t rly a minus point at all for MPVs. Besides, Avanza’s body just doesn’t look like it was designed to go anywhere above 130kmph. It’s just too tall n fugly.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 12:54 am

@torishimeyakuin

I hv to say, I agree wit u abt it’s our ppl’s fautl that we n Indonesia “sold” ourselves too much to T. It’s like seeing a hot waitress who’s being too nice, the customer begins to assault her sexually, bt she can’t resist. Surely, we being the harrassed “waitress” would dislike the way the “customer” is treating us, bt what can we do?

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 1:12 am

Just like you, it’s great to know that we are beginning to experience “the awakening”, where we are now able to express our dissatisfaction on being treated cheaply n lightly, rather than being is self denial n say “it can’t be, it’s T mah…..of cuz gud car”. Even when it costs a mansion to buy, as ugly as a bulldog, n as cheaply made as cap ayam mp3 player. Although, I hv to say, newer cap ayam mp3 players more pandai tiru ipod…
    ———————-
    @johanbey

>>>Yes, I know. I suppose the manager once wake up n thought “hey, we have vely faithfur yes-men Maraysian market, I wonder if next time we wanna tour there, we can show our investols that we are so powerfur the ppl there would buy our cars rike buying pewter knife handicraft. That’ll be better for our plofit n ross a/c statement.”

And so it happen. This rush serves no purpose of being an SUV, neither it can be a better ppl carrier than Avanza. It’s in between, it’s half-hearted, n yet it’s so much more friggin expensive. If one can still not see the motive, then one must be dimwit enuf to buy it.

• king (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 3:42 am

tokmoh,

i agree with you 100%

• Shad_77 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 12:17 am

Oh God….This car is really ugly…really cheap interior and not really reliable from a safety perspective as compared to the Livina. I would go for the Livina and I believe much more quality & safety has been incorporated in the MPV as compared to rush. Price wise a 1.6 Livina will only cost you somewhere around 91+K which I believe is a value buy.

Just a gentle word, We consumers aren’;t stupid TOYOTA !

• duwitakada (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 12:23 am

Though I can only afford a national car, it makes me sad to read all these bashing on Toyota. While condemning the RUSH, all I hear here is …I guess…I think….I assume…etc. Let me just ask, how many of u guys have actually seen it, or even testdrived it? None! U all just read or hear about it, look at pictures, then all the bashing! What is wrong with marrying a SUV and MPV? Livina is a result of a SEDAN and MPV though to me it is actually a highroofed stationwagon. They are creative lot of people, to come out with something from the best of both world. And what is wrong with 1.5 engine? Their engineers must have been doing some calculation to know and approved that. Technology improves, smaller cc does not always mean underpower. Look at the new Stream. They use 1.8 engine and yet it is still powerful than their 2.0 predecessor. Heard of VVTI, VTEC etc? Toyota may try to cut cost on the interior but this is to give consumer better technology. It is not easy to build a brand that ppl can trust and rely on. Toyota have to sweat it out a hundred years to come at this stage. Compare with our national maker, only after more than 20 yrs, now only they are talking about quality. So it is really not about badge. It is about what they have done to build ppl trust.

• wilbrightj (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 12:13 am

A blind toyota fan?? Seen Rush anyway..well i guess u dont know about toyota history n heritage..they have been producing cars with good n reliable quality but nowdays its like their playing we malaysians out..of course we malaysians must fight n bash if we are not happy n been offer with inferior products!!..almost everyone here comment badly about RUSH..but i guess we cannot really blame toyota..the goverment tax structure play a role in determine car prices..to make car affordable to malaysians toyota have to cut cost here n there..so i guess is the consumer choice..but seriously RUSH is not their best product..95K..tambah sikit better get INNOVA..2.0L somemore n bigger..:)

p/s:get urself a toyota next time duwitakada n u will know the REAL TOYOTA(malaysia)..(im sure ur national car is a better in someway)
    :everybody have rights to comment though…
    :go n see n test drive the rush n report ur “SATISFACTION” to us..

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 11:44 pm

@duwitakada
    Proton’s quality problem weren’t serious until TM’s time. That’s also wen Proton went mad n made models which majority Msians won’t fancy ie hatchbacks.

Besides, their current MD, Syed Zainal was from P2. He’s doin to Proton wit wat he learnt in P2. Considerin he’s been in Proton since late 2005, Proton today is much better, to an extend for him to say that ppl can expect very high quality Proton 2-3yrs from now.

• ys (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 3:15 pm

This forum should be concentrate on T.rush not proton or anything else.
    Pls wake up dude.

• rshafiee (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:16 pm

really good car dude

• dunnounme (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 12:59 pm

I drive a Singapore Toyota Rush that’s imported from Japan. I must say the interior of the JDM Rush looks better, especially the plastic door panel and steering wheel. However, I like the gated gear shift of the Malaysia Rush, which is not available for JDM Rush.

http://img142.imageshack.us/my.php?image=rushleathersteeringcn5.jpg

• sunberries (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 11:09 am

This thread may have long been over, but well, In case some eager buyers are still eyeing the Rush; Im in Japan and I’ve been driving a G version Rush(spoiler, alum wheel, high end steering and tilt-on-reverse side mirror) for 2 years now. For clarification; Toyota Rush and Daihatsu Bego are from the same house – Daihatsu. Just like the Materia or Coo, everything is engineered and built by Daihatsu. But instead of losing value the Daihatsu fingerprint is an added plus because it made possible to squeeze in space on a compact SUV – which Daihatsu is famous for – compact cars. Toyota rebadged the Matria and Rush but the point really is to show sister companies are one and the same quality.

The exterior is exactly the same, except longer of course and the colors I wish would include the platinum grey, which I think most would prefer than silver or bright catterpillar green (hopefully u wont have this there). The interiors are not the same though, I’ve never seen it in beige or pale grey.
    The rugged effect of black and silver (standard on all Japan version) was missing, and that’s sad coz it was a good selling point. Did someone alter it along the way?

So on with the car. With a 7 seater powered by the same horses that work very hard under the 4, well, we may be talking major underpower here. I’m single, no family, and I drive my car alone to work eeveryday. It jumps like a rabbit on first and second gear but when the third gear kicks in, we start to crawl on an incline. add 4 passengers and it totally feels different, needing to step more on the gas. Now I really cant imagine how that would be when you have twice the number of weight.

My kilometer reading says 8.4km per liter , thats city driving of maybe 1 hr a day. Again, if this Rush will ride 7 passengers, that km/l reading will definitely go down. And you have a 1.5cc underpowered guzzler.

I love the Rush. It looks great, I can park beside more expensive cars and not feel inferior or something, interior is good, lotsa compartments to put your junk in, collapsible seats provide even bigger space for something as big as a mountain bike (on a 4 seater) it is tall, muscular, a bit underpowered but they dont really know that, its turning radius makes it easy to park and it rides well (just make sure you hinge something on the spare tire cover, stupid thing rattles). But again, the 7 seater will be a different story once you start filling those seats. I will suggest that you test drive it with your entire family on board if that is your intention for buying the car.

• brutal_driverz on Feb 18, 2009 at 1:03 am

pasang saja rush kat malaysia,kualiti toyota pasang kat malaysia lebih baik.CKD mesti lebih murah,around 70k-85k,sure bungkus la nautica,kasi hantar balik ke jepun.

• brutal_driverz on Feb 19, 2009 at 1:39 am

pemasangan yang tak kemas,patut pasang kat malaysia

• Steve on Mar 19, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Do not buy a Toyota car…. Lousy service and lousy car.

I bought a Toyota 2nd hand Altis 1.8G year 2007 from a 2nd hand car dealer. By right I still entitle to have 1.5 years of warranty, right? You know something, I have made a few complaints, they are:

(a) Driver side rubber strip at car roof top flew off when driving on highway, nearly hit other people's car. The passenger side roof top rubber strip also deformed. Toyota's mechanic said cannot repair unless I pay, because I am a 2nd car owner. What a nonsense!!! Who is the car owner, is not important to Toyota. So long as the damage is due to reason other than vandalism, it should be repaired!!! Somemore, cannot imgine if the rubber strip hit on someone's car, what will happen. Maybe the windscreen also break. Driving at 120km/hr on the highway, you know!!!

(b) Chrome strip surrounding the back glass screen peeled off also refuse to do, say that I have to pay!!!

Nonsense Toyota!!! What is the difference to you between 1st and 2nd owner??? So long as the warranty is valid, you have to repair. So long as you can prove is vandalism or cause by ownself, you have to repair!!!

Toyota mechanic very hard working nowadays, want to get good bonus.

• Sutra on Jun 18, 2009 at 4:24 am

I think you all people are forgotting something. What ever you all say, people still buy with no worries. All things nowadays are lousy. Forget about those imported cars. They can be as good or as bad. I got 1 malaysian made car for 9 years. It still serve me good. I guess you people aren't lucky as I am.

• another joke my malaysian dealer,

Lower spec…. 3rd class indonesian interior, for the japanese market, the SUV are compared with CRV style interior… Malaysian, open your eyes..

• Jean Simpson on Jul 12, 2009 at 10:28 pm

I live all the way in Jamaica. I just saw a toyota Rush today (5 seater). I love vehicles that are neat and classy that is my style. I just love this new rush. Pity I cant afford one!!!

• saya nak bertanya

sekiranya saya membuat pinjaman kereta dengan kerajaan RM65k dan RM23888 lagi pinjaman yg dibuat dengan Toyota Coperation…adakah menimbulkan masalah dan tidak dibenarkan?

• papa blues on Aug 17, 2009 at 5:16 pm

its their money..its their choice..! well as we know todays cars wont last long..! i sell my first car after 2 years and my second car after 3 years..now after 1 year with my third car.. i think about getting the RUSH..! well its like getting a new wife and your first wife can't do anything about it..! he he he..!

• Architect Saiful on Aug 21, 2009 at 2:51 am

hi i need a rear wheel cover or spare wheel cover for Toyota Rush metalic blue color , how can i get one ..

• ibnahu ismail on Sep 03, 2009 at 6:00 pm

kenapalah kereta kat malaysia ni mahal sangat, kalu cukai dapat dikurangkan alangkah bagusnya…ekonomi merundum susah betul nak pakai keta skarang..

cukai n value keta 50-50..mahal kan cukai..gomen turun kan cukai keta

• Lutfi on Sep 08, 2009 at 9:44 pm

Correct! Tax too high and never revise Income Tax to lower down the tax rate or adjust anything… now car price increase, petrol increase, daily stuff price also increase but never see it decrease after that…

:(

• Johnson Lai (Member) on Jan 19, 2010 at 1:51 am

Help me!!!

I have a this car (Toyota Rush 7 seater) in Hong Kong,

but HK no this car parts ( air filter & air-condition filter),

I want buy and renew car filter,can you send the oversea parts Department

address, Email or telephone order postmail to Hong Kong.

made: 2009

engin model: 3SZ-VE

Toyota Rush 7 seater (1.5S A/T)

So thanks

• ariff on Feb 07, 2010 at 8:49 pm

l like toyota rush

• potential owner on Feb 24, 2010 at 1:37 am

Any idea when UMW Toyota will launch the new rush 2010 model? as what we seen in Indonesia? website ref: WWW.belitoyota.com.
    it seem to be a 5 sitter model with change on the front grille.how is the price sound like? (in Malaysia) Any info? any one?

• Dennis Koh on Mar 07, 2010 at 6:22 am

I love Toyota RUSH!!!

• KonohaPeace on Mar 10, 2010 at 6:39 pm

i love to buy it :-) but can anyone give me a true comment about the car since it been launched in 2008 until now ? i can afford it but don know the performance yet, need to know from any owner's, thx ;-)

• engine from thailand?

• hi, i am considering this car to replace my vois for daily 100KM travel to work. need advice. thanks in advance!

• shaidin on Apr 01, 2010 at 7:01 am

where can get spart part for rush ..like mud flads and wiper and side stape

• adibm on Apr 02, 2010 at 3:54 pm

plan to get a 2nd hand one soon. price for year 2008 about 73k for G and 78k for S spec.

• freco on Apr 08, 2010 at 9:24 pm

i’m so looking 4 leather seat. where can get it?

• 1st things I want to do once received my rush is to look for the seat cover. Hvg 3 daughter I believe the seat colour from beigh will turn to black… hu..hu… where can i get it ?? Any idea ??

• adibm on Apr 15, 2010 at 11:26 pm

Got my car already. Tomorrow want to go to accessories shop to get seat cover and get darker tinted at the back

• adibm on Apr 21, 2010 at 1:41 am

anyone knows any toyota rush club available online? i found one in fb but not active

• hai…. sy dah pakai kete rush ni dlm bulan april 2008…. Performance…. memang tip top… pickup… memang mcam kereta 1.5L ke atas….

Ramai orang kate…. kreta ni minyak makan banyak… underpower la…. tapi sebenarnya… kereta ni memang betol2 jimat minyak punye…. Full tank pun x sampai rm100…

Interior….??? sy rase interior die memang ok….. colour gold… klau colour hitam… rasenye nampak murah kot…. cube tengok kreta m’sia, like proton or produa… Die orang pkai interior warne hitam……. Jatuh ar standart keta rush ni klau warne hitam…

Ha… satu lagi…. nak cari ass die memang senang… sape kate susah nak carik… sy ni lagi la… duduk kat perak…. dapat sume ass…

• david on May 19, 2010 at 9:27 am

hey its a beautiful car

• TokNgulu on Jul 21, 2010 at 4:16 pm

Ok le klu bagus aku mau angkat satu Rush ujung bulan ni..

• i would like to buy this car in 7 seats in hong kong
    how can i do this
    how mush is it in $

• SUHARDY on Oct 01, 2010 at 7:14 pm

i like this car….beautiful

• Hai.. I wanna know if anyone have seen the 2011 model..

• chengez on Feb 22, 2011 at 5:33 pm

very nice but price not that good :

• pipsrider on Aug 27, 2011 at 5:12 pm

try & buy, you will not dissapoint

• alon82 on Dec 04, 2011 at 12:55 pm

mmg minat ngan rush ni…
    tapi seat ke 3 tu mcm sempit jer tuk dewasa…

• imran mostafa on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:45 am

my toyota rush odd/off light jumping while engine switched,i don’t know the problem.
    please advise me

• Bro, How about the fuel consumption for this Rush 1.5 G A/T ? I see this as remake of Avanza.

• Enock Kayani on Nov 12, 2016 at 11:25 pm

Hi Paul, I just wanna know if u can find used engine for rush 3sz 1.5S

• Nancy Kariuki on Mar 05, 2017 at 10:29 pm

In love of rush 7 seaters 4wd option

• Marcus on Aug 15, 2017 at 11:50 pm

It’s very hard to get parts for the Toyota rush. Please tell me ware can I find the parts.

• Zar Gul Khan on Dec 06, 2017 at 10:10 pm

Pliz tell me the price in Pakistan for toyota rush 2018 automatic gear box.