Hafei Minz 1.1 liter 7-seater van

Hafei Minz

Singapore is a place where both the original Hafei Lobo and the Naza Forza are sold in the same market, but Hafei in Singapore exists with a 2 model line-up. Other than the Lobo, there is also a little 7-seater van called the Hafei Minz.

Powering the Hafei Minz is a 1.1 litre engine that is different from the one found in the Forza/Lobo (1,051cc versus the Lobo/Forza’s 1,075cc), putting out 52 horsepower at 5,200rpm and 83Nm of torque at 3,000rpm (versus the Lobo/Forza’s 65 horses and 88Nm). It has a power steering and weighs about 1,050kg. It measures 3,745mm in length, 1,505mm in width and it is 1,925mm tall.

Think of it as a smaller and cheaper Suzuki APV with one less seat. If sold here the Hafei Minz could cost under RM50,000, possibly making it the cheapest 7-seater MPV around if Naza Corporation ever decides to expand its Hafei-rebadging line-up with the Minz.

More photos of the Hafei Minz after the jump.

Hafei Minz

Hafei Minz

Hafei Minz

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BW (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:04 am

eeeee

• adunadun (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:07 am

uuuuuu

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:08 am

never heard of this brand…. sorry…

• sunsilk (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:19 am

hafei??? is china brand izit? nvr heard b4…1.1 liter van? just wonder this van climb genting if taking with 7 ppl….

• mockviper (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:22 am

7 seater people carrier with 1.1L
    i wonder how it will perform uphill.

• king (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:43 am

funny …wonder how this MPV’s gonna move around… top speed 90km/h and 0-100 in 35 seconds?

• king (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:43 am

oh…couldn’t reach 100km/h

• afroiq (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 3:09 am

wow..a 1.1 van..7 seaters??

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 5:33 am

this is a mokery of the motor world…..i jus think china is great wen thy r buying rather than making their own tings….i mean how many china products do we dream of having??

pathetic

• antaras (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 7:35 am

true… we don’t really have much China products we dream of having but we eventually will be using them. sigh… and i really hope thsi is not one of them. Just how the hell you move 7 ppl with a 1.1 litre engine? 1 adult and 6 kindergarden kids?

• normaluser (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 7:41 am

If priced above RM40K, I don’t think it will sell here. However, it may be a good alternative to the old Nissan Vanette (which is cheap & has better cargo capacity with full seats occupied). Some more, the driver’s seat position is behind the front wheel which makes it look like an MPV, instead of the Vanette.

But from the pics, the second row only has two seat?

• weewitt (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 7:55 am

maybe for city use only lah..
    to carry vegetables..hehe :)
    & kindergarden kids as well..huhu

• kakilubuk (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 7:56 am

Yarkkhhh!!!!

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 8:15 am

singapore also sold this model ?? the mpv like this will sell here ?? y not P1 Juara can’t take the bolehland market ?? or export … it is copy from suzuki ??
    1.1 erm … k car category min 1.0 … with 600kg above ??

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 8:45 am

“never heard of this brand…. sorry…”.

The Naza Forza aka Naza Sutera is a rebadged Haifei.

antaras,
    “we don’t really have much China products we dream of having but we eventually will be using them. sigh”

Thats a strange comment antaras coz you DON’T have to use china products. no one is forcing you buy. there are choices in the market and its entirely up to your own preference.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 8:53 am

With an island wide speed limit of 90kph, who cares..

• zidane (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 8:59 am

I wanna c the thing go up hill!!!!

• lowprofile (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 9:39 am

it doesn’t have power steering. saw it in singapore.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 9:57 am

heavy 1 ton.. powered by 1100cc..
    underpower, and that’s also mean… gas guzzler.

• McPadey (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 10:11 am

look like peti sejuk with wheel

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 10:24 am

This aluminium can will wear those skinny really really fast, as well as the suspension bushings, engine will last 18 months and you wife will leave you if you buy this.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 10:25 am

This aluminium can will wear those skinny tires really really fast, as well as the suspension bushings, engine will last 18 months and your wife will leave you if you buy this.

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 11:37 am

JUARA Come again….most of tasteless!!! who like? tasteless!!!

• zk9 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 11:49 am

Har ha ha

you guys make me laugh for a while

now i do understand why Jeremy Clarkson (like rest of Britons) used to make fun of all Malaysian cars e.g. Kelisa sounds like a disease etc when the fact is most Malaysians are okay with Kelisa and the likes of it. The perceived weak brand image and the no-frills-for-the-masses product positioning which sit lower compared to other prevailing cars make Kelisa an easy bashing target for UK car reviewers.

People here rather buy a second hand Serena than a spanking new Hafei Mini, just like Britons rather buy a second hand Golf than a spaking new Kelisa. But what happened if, say, we are to open a small/mid-sized business in China and need a cheap, reliable van to transport our workers.

If reckless-driving Malaysians are to be marketed with this model, the manufacturer definitely needs to equip the standard models with roll-over protection side airbags.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 1:03 pm

OMG…i really think its a juara, look at the badge almost like proton…gosh.
    Promise not to wear any malaysian badge….and then welcome to malaysia

• avanza (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 2:55 pm

Paul, may I refer your comparison to the Suzuki ERV (2001 model) instead of the APV. They seem to share the same dimensions. Incidentally, the ERV was rather popular in China, still is I believe.

• bavarian (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 3:00 pm

similar to proton juara

what will happen if a front crash happens at 90km per hour?

ugly

• bavarian (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 3:04 pm

i will still say the juara is much better than this

• hidz7 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 3:23 pm

relax..china had tried so hard to produce a car….
    maybe they want to make it cheap…but for me the van is damn ugly….

• harry potter (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 4:23 pm

Is the van safe? If this thing crash how? How many NCAP stars did this “chinese vehicle” get?

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 4:44 pm

yuckssssss hehehehhehe but oklah for bring kids around

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 4:48 pm

Hahaha who da heck wanna buy…..who da hack wanna do comparo with juara hahaha

• Dogster (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 5:14 pm

gila lah. i just dont wana guess the FC of this bloody thing… hopeless lah.. dont waste money on cheap goods from china…

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 6:41 pm

“Think of it as a smaller and cheaper Suzuki APV with one less seat. If sold here the Hafei Minz could cost under RM50,000, possibly making it the cheapest 7-seater MPV around if Naza Corporation ever decides to expand its Hafei-rebadging line-up with the Minz.”

Paul, your statement is like encouraging Naza to rebadge this van in Malaysia. If Naza rebadge this van, I have to blame you. Its all your fault. Its your idea.

• xppc (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 7:13 pm

Haha… come on NAZA prove ’em wrong!!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 7:48 pm

Hope to see the Naza-fied Minx, but then I’d get a Proton Juara.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 7:50 pm

Can’t make any comments on this car since it is on sale in Malaysia yet.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 7:51 pm

I mean not on sale in Malaysia yet.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 8:15 pm

Hafei is the original maker of the Sutera/Forza, this van has nuthing to do with the Juara.

Juara is from Mitsubishi, the quality is tip top (besides, it’s wider and has sharper edges), trust me, cos our family owns one ;)

• szw (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 9:10 pm

crap car…

• gey2718 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 10:08 pm

hei this car / van sold out quite a number in singapore
    some use as private family car, red-plate weekend car and some registered under company as panel goods van
    the private cost S$37000 while weekend red-plate / goods van same price, tagged at S$17000, it’s really the cheapest choice u have both for a 7 seater mpv or commercial van in singapore.
    the selling pt for this car is rear aircon! and super low price.

• gey2718 (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 10:21 pm

all those ppl don’t talk about juara lar, it’s no longer in production
    anyway it’s also a 1 to 1 copy from mitsubishi kei series van
    wira is also good even till today, as it’s a copy product from old mitsubishi lancer!

• nmh (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 10:25 pm

Maybe naza more interestd with Tata Nano…..Naza Nano everyone

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 11:35 pm

yeah naza nano nano sgt sedap saya gemari…
    manis masam masin nana nano nano nanoooooooo

• antaras (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 12:04 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    January 30, 2008 @ 8:45 am

antaras,
    “we don’t really have much China products we dream of having but we eventually will be using them. sigh”

Thats a strange comment antaras coz you DON’T have to use china products. no one is forcing you buy. there are choices in the market and its entirely up to your own preference.
    ————————————————————-

You have your point there. I agree but I think you just misquoted me. It’s REAL(impossible) hard to find a house without any “made-in-China” products dude. Having said that, I don’t mean everything that’s made in China are rubbish. Anyway, like I said, I hope this car is not something that we have to use(given the choice) but as always, pricing can and will be the main factor.