Proton Saga: 23,000 bookings, 5 month wait!

Proton Saga Photo

Bookings for the new Proton Saga “mark II” has reached a total of over 23,000 and the waiting period for delivery is now between 5 to 6 months. This is another sales success for Proton, right after the Proton Persona, which just goes to show that if the right car is produced for the right market and at the right price (something which Proton enjoys in our market), cars will fly off the shelves.

Of this 23,000, over 9,000 units were from EON outlets, and EON’s recent EON Karnival 2008 in Shah Alam saw over 300 potential customers getting to test drive the new Proton Saga to get a first hand touch and feel of the new Proton sedan.

Right car, right market, right price – the only thing that remains to be seen now is whether it has the right build quality.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• White Jack (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 6:32 am

Wow ! good job Proton !

Keep up the quality !

• narrowband (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 6:53 am

Great. Hopefully, with this success, Proton will edge closer to becoming an independent carmaker without the need for NAP and other crutches.

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 7:48 am

If Proton can continously and consistently produce these type of models with all the criteria’s intact, mainly the price and quality + design, also not forgetting after sales services and etc (as a whole)..They could be right back on track sooner that expected!…I guess, this time around they’ve learned from their previous mistakes and really started listening to their customers (damn!..its about time)….. Kudos Proton!…well what can I say, looks like “The grass seems to become greener on the other side”…hehe

• Bella147 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 7:48 am

Cayalah PROTON !!!! Aku bangga samamu..

• scorpicore (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 7:57 am

Yes, quality is something that will not be revealed right now as the product is still new, at age of an infant. However after sometime, almost all previous model like saga, wira or even waja will produce some unwanted noise during the drive. Some external parts became very fragile after exposed to sunlight for few years……If there will be improvement in the quality, we will be able to see the appearance and the feel of driving P1 car will remain same, at least for the first 3 years or within the warranty periods.

• theking (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 7:57 am

Good job Proton.
    I’m now looking forward for the spyshot of the new Proton Malaysian People Vehicle(MPV) to be launched in 2nd quarter 2009.

• nightReader (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:07 am

Salam peace! (~_^)v

I book this baby before 1st January. Then, when I can touch my car actually? Should be before CNY la.. I want ‘balik kampung’ with my mountain blue saga. (^_^)

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:08 am

This gonna be hot topic. Here we go again… anyway hope they maintain the quality.

• abtm (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:31 am

GOOD JOB PROTON????

the only reason why it sells like pasar malam is because it has no competition, we’re forced to by it- good or crap

• jhuan (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:32 am

Wow, i already anticipated this new saga can sell well, but never expect to ‘that good’ :). P2, you are in deep trouble….

The right design, right targeted audience, right price etc…now only left the most desired part..The Right Quality.

Last night saw one black new saga in a shopping mall…It looks so cool..I stood that for a while, imaging all those body kits slam-in, bling bling 17″ rims, nice spoiler-lid..That black saga could be very very ‘Cool’.

• want_diy (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:03 am

Bravo!!!…P1 really good in their marketing strategy this time…Luckyly,P2 didn’t come out with their sedan type of car…i wonder wut will happened if P2 do so…

• shirroazirro (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:17 am

Wanna change my 2nd car ( Saga kereta kebal) but cannot make up my mind . Which one is a better choice; 2nd hand Vios/City (overpriced ????) or a brand new Proton BLM ? Facts to considered; resale value, fuel consumption,price and reliability ??? Got some advice from friends; don’t buy new proton model unless it had been in the market for few years so that they can do the troubleshooting on all the unexpected faulty. Any advice/suggestion ?

• kody (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:21 am

wahlaueh…

Hope that P1 will keeping up momentum & dun stop… keep on introduce new models… dun let new SAGA to last another 20yrs… :) hohooo…
    Paul, may b you can set up a discussion topic few months later to let new SAGA owners to share their experiences & problems….

• BrakeFader (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:23 am

It is a no brainer formula. Come out with a lower priced and bigger sized (Sedan > Hatch) than your best selling rival. The last part left is the quality of the car to hold people’s trust. If not, how low you go aka Merdeka Saga offer, people would not take a 2nd look at it.

Focus on sedans and leave the hatchbacks to perodua. They should just introduced Persona/New Saga before Gen2/Savvy/Satria Neo. Anyway it is never too late. Hopefully Proton will improve and won’t get complacent with this.

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:23 am

IT SELLS BECAUSE ITS CHEAP!

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:23 am

Normally when proton introduces a new model, how long does it take for third party manufacturers to introduce performance parts and bodykits? I can see bodykits on Gen.2 a few months after introduction, but no real performance parts. Do you think third party manufacturers will produce quality, tasteful kits and performance parts dedicated for Saga.. Coz it’s the perfect car for mods, track day (well maybe the roofline is wee high), bling competition, customisers and what not. Will there be a Saga Mk2 class on track day?

• Niceguy (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:43 am

Build quaility is so important to keep the brand name of a carmakers. Hope Proton don’t feel too comfortable with the sales figure, and keep their hard work on parts’ quality issue.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:49 am

dr_carz..

With well over 90% local content in the saga, i would Yes, proton should sell the car cheap, and they have and they deserve to sell it cheap as they support local industries/economy more than anyone else.

but its also selling, because people can see a good deal facing them, as well as the improvements proton has made in recent times.

Its a proven fact when proton were at their worst in terms of quality etc.. even when they had cheap cars, people were not buying.

So to say that the saga is selling only because of the cheap price is hugely innacurate and short sighted.

• sxe10r (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:52 am

wah 23000 book but wait for 5 month … P1 keep the record ~ !!

• mohdjiman (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:52 am

People nowadays like to put all kind of body kits, stickers,HIDs n big fancy rims.Not many people spend their money for engine modifications. Just Show rather than go.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:53 am

C’mon folks, it’s TUV certified and 4 star in Euro NCAP. What more are you asking for?

• ec (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:54 am

I just wondering how Malaysian are loaded with so much of money to buy cars??

20K++ booking for saga, 20K++ booking for persona, and the rest maybe another 20-30K ++ booking for others

Congrat Proton anyway.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:03 am

I can see a selection platform for the motorsports industry. The super cheap Saga class is capable of finding potential drivers from all over the country competing on a level playing field.

True blue winners will be selected for faster classes and so on until we have a real F1 driver that can qualify during qualifications.

All thanks to cheap Saga series… hehe

• satria4579 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:09 am

owner ‘kereta Kebal’ ( saga LMST ) crying la…..

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:21 am

its already 26000 booking todays record…

• id76 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:22 am

Great move proton. Awaiting for the new MPV from proton

• jazzer (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:28 am

is it true p1 new mpv will be based on lotus apx…
    anyone can give answer

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:43 am

Isn’t Lotus APX a crossover concept like Toyota Rush? Half SUV half MPV. Unlike Rush, APX is dang pretty!

• sharkfish (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:53 am

owners “kereta kebal”..dont cry la..you still have a car..

• tec96248 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 10:54 am

“So to say that the saga is selling only because of the cheap price is hugely innacurate and short sighted.”

==this comment is far more inaccurate and short sighted. the reason is that, a lot of this can be calculated or considering of the accessories, the shape of body. just that people don’t understand much or in detail will give such an assumption. to me the car is not cheap but within a lots of people’s budget and cheapest new sedan on the market….

• mohdjiman (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 11:07 am

satria4579 said,

February 1, 2008 @ 10:09 am

owner ‘kereta Kebal’ ( saga LMST ) crying la…..
    ——————————————————————-

sharkfish said,

February 1, 2008 @ 10:53 am

owners “kereta kebal”..dont cry la..you still have a car..

—————————————————————–

im one of the owner of ‘kereta kebal’ who will crying…

• razzack04 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 11:07 am

To all crying owners of LMST. Next time before you buy a new car, log on to paultan.org first. Look at the spyshots first. You know this new saga or BLM is coming. Wait la for a few months & buy this one.

• sharkfish (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 12:02 pm

How about proton mpv. Is there any news about upcoming mpv..??

• BW (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 12:05 pm

THIS is wat i wanna hear from proton, good sales good review and good quality, but the car tahan to use or not that one have to wait and see la…

• want_diy (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 12:09 pm

I’ve fren who obses to his own Kereta Kebal…even now he still proud of his Saga…he said that his Saga is the best!!!hehe…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 12:10 pm

mukhri88 said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 9:53 am

C’mon folks, it’s TUV certified and 4 star in Euro NCAP. What more are you asking for?
    ==============
    TUV Certified? NCAP? Where did you get this info for the new Proton Saga?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 12:19 pm

Hehe, I based it on the renault…

• Bebelon (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 1:28 pm

none of proton car can score more than 3 stars in the Ncap test. impian only able to achieve 3 stars in that test. never anticipate this saga can score 3 stars. morever, the impian that tested in Ncap was dual SRS airbags and export version. go to NCAP website check for it

• scorpicore (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 1:45 pm

Very good selling.. but we still do not know which line is selling better…Is it true most are buying the cheapest New Saga available? I am very doubtful about that. As we can see the most basic model come without alarm system although all models do have power-steering..But how many of us will spend 31.5K for a wheel that do not offer security system? So i think most will go for 34k and above. That mean only B-line and M-line should be the only choices to be introduced. However basic and cheap option like reverse sensor not available for B-line……why?? I would say it is hard for potential buyers who have tight budget to make a choice. I do hope one day P1 will able to offer those so called accessories as additional or add-on for the most basic model, just like what DELL offers to their potential customers.

• nightReader (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 3:59 pm

scorpicore,

Remember, the new Saga is people car. Some peoples at villages thinking no need much security features like us. Even, they can sleep safely at noon under the rambutan tree at front their house with their house’s windows and door open. (-_-)zZZzZzz.. So, the N-Line is for them. No need much security features, no need the power engine (maybe they just drive below than 80kmh), no need the best audio system etc..

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 5:08 pm

abtm said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 8:31 am

GOOD JOB PROTON????

the only reason why it sells like pasar malam is because it has no competition, we’re forced to by it- good or crap

————————————————————-

eh got somebody forced u to buy??if not they will shoot?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 5:11 pm

scorpicore, what you are comparing with in terms of customisation, ie. DELL does not translate as easily into building a highvolume car.

in fact, most of the top manufacturers do not give you much choice either.. only the top luxury brands allow you a level of customisation with only the richest of the rich (ie. middle east oil barons) who can get cars customised exactly as they want it.

in other car markets, its common to also see “low-line” models which we do not see in malaysia.. for example, you can easily see brand new bmws in europe running around with steel rims with plastic covers, cloth trim, and even manual window winders for the rear doors. if you choose the lowline cheaper version, thats what you get.. you cant say, i want the steel rims, but i want leather, ..etc.

• peYno (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 6:40 pm

want_diy said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 9:03 am

Bravo!!!…P1 really good in their marketing strategy this time…Luckyly,P2 didn’t come out with their sedan type of car…i wonder wut will happened if P2 do so…

===============
    prrrfthh P2 wudnt do so.. coz P2 is assembler not a car maker..
    somemore Daihatsu got no sedan car mahh..

• avanza (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 6:59 pm

This just goes to prove that Mahaleel’s policies were all wrong. That idiot made three hatchbacks since Waja. Hatchbacks are only for a minority group, the fast and furious. It should have been the other way round, three sedans and one hatchback. Good job Tahir for making cars that the rakyat wants i.e. sedans.

• White Jack (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:03 pm

If Proton can come up with new high quality models to compete with VIOS/City price range and Civic/Altis range, that will be pretty much taking the foreign car market in Msia already.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:26 pm

i don’t think this proton car is “cheap”. It’s indeed cheaper compared to other car models in its class due to the tax manipulation by the GOVT.

If the playfield is level among other car manufacturers, then proton will not be competitive selling their cars like hot cake.

• szw (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:37 pm

GO proton !!!
    beat the crap out of M…

• megatron (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:49 pm

‘to me the car is not cheap but within a lots of people’s budget and cheapest new sedan on the market….’
    ———————————————————–
    You sound like Mr Lingg… “It looks like me and sounds like me but it wasn’t me” Correct correct correct…”

• sunsilk (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:53 pm

swt…5 months…then who booking rite now hv to wait untill july…

• megatron (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:57 pm

‘This just goes to prove that Mahaleel’s policies were all wrong. That idiot made three hatchbacks since Waja. Hatchbacks are only for a minority group, the fast and furious. It should have been the other way round, three sedans and one hatchback. Good job Tahir for making cars that the rakyat wants i.e. sedans.”

—————————————————————
    Gen2’s failure is mainly due to its poor quality. Not really because of whether it’s hatchback or not…. Look at Myvi , it’s a hatchback infact the boot is smaller than Gen2 but people accept it because of its quality….. Neo and Savvy were developed before Myvi came in to the market it cannibalized Gen2 and Savvy’s market

• madimat (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 11:55 pm

abtm said,

GOOD JOB PROTON????

++++++++++++++++++++++

Sir, nobody FORCED you to buy Proton car. People buy it because they LIKE it. For example, some Singaporean bought some Proton cars not because they can’t afford the other brands. And Proton cars (and also Perodua cars) sold in Singapore are not really that cheap either. Although Proton not selling cars in big numbers over there but some still buy it.

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 11:58 pm

abtm said,

>>>Myvi still on top of sales chart even after Persona n Viva introduced. Dare u say Myvi is the cheapest n that it sells cuz ppl r forced to buy it?

Stop underestimating Msians. Today, I see Mini Cooper everyday everywhere I go, I definitely think Msians are having a better life (to be able to buy a cramped, all style wit little substance car, that means we’ve reached a level we can showoff wit excessive money) than what you may think. If u still feel u’re “forced to buy Proton”, then that just means u nd to work harder so that u can buy a better car than ranting here abt cars too xpnsv. If u seriously think life is a bed of roses in US/Japan/UK/Australia, then u rly nd some reality check.

Always demanding for cheap cars, isn’t that exactly what the gahmen is doin to us when it comes to fuel price? Gahmen always say we hv cheapest fuel, we say they’re lame, give reasons like purchasing power parity lah, not plausible to change currency directly lah blablabla, so what makes them think it’s not lame of us to demand cheap cars? I dun care w/e excuse u guys r giving, it’s the same effect to them. They will still think u’re ungrateful, lame n “kalo tak suka, keluar dari Msia”.

There’s two choices here:
    1. Change the gahmen (very unlikely)
    2. Change ourselves to become rich (much more realistic n easier to achieve). Wanna know how, read books written by rich ppl. Robert Kiyosaki is a gud one.

Of course, migrating is easy, but that’s just like a dog chasing its tail. The trouble won’t disappear, n then u’re stuck in a cycle.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 1:02 am

Quality at this stage is so crucial to proton. Think if 23k have some sort of defaults on it. People will not put up with it more in future.
    Wait and see

• adunadun (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 4:08 am

abtm said,

GOOD JOB PROTON????

——————————

our country, why want to open our market to others just like that? give them some hard time lah. u know what happen if car price too cheap? then other item will increase. for example: property. then still u will say force to buy expensive property. ohoho
    ——————————
    anyway sbb dah 5 months waiting list, so i think quality standard could be drop. so proton staff at production line mesti letih lah korang ,hahaha.

so proton owner, give some good return to your production line lah if they archieve quality target. baru semangat skit diorg tu nak kerja.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 7:54 am

wah 5 month waiting period… how about persona waiting period…is it also like the saga…which one is more worth it to wait..anyone??

By the way give the chance la to p1 for improvement..always think negative first when it come to p1. what past is past…let them improve ok… if they do it like last time its the bashing time again…but if its not please be honest with yourself by praise it a little bit…others car manufacture also have quality issue but because of the brand we dont want to admit it

btw…g luck p1…after your revenue is up dont forget to increase the r&d so we malaysian can get better car in the future…for example our home made transmission system

• scorpicore (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 10:11 am

My arguement is very simple. The fact is P1 is advertising in the media the lowest price of the new saga, but again MOST malaysians do need some security system for their car, which cost more. And for those who just want simple accessory like reverse sensor need to buy the most expensive option which bundled with airbag, is this logical?.
    1. The cheapest model has power-steering but no alarm system. Is power-steering cost much less? Why not without power-steering for potential kampung folks buyer, so the price will be much cheaper…they will be more happier.
    2. It is very expensive to have reverse sensor installed? I am sure urban folks with small parking lots will find this option essentially important. But why it only offers in the most expensive model?
    The rest like airbag, alloy rims are alright to be bundled with the most expensive package, no question about that.
    Emmmm…..

• tec96248 (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 10:22 am

peYno said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 6:40 pm

prrrfthh P2 wudnt do so.. coz P2 is assembler not a car maker..
    somemore Daihatsu got no sedan car mahh..

–hahahaha, r u still stuck in a tunnel? just couldn’t help it when i saw ur comment…..who told u dahaitsu don’t hv sedan car, kid? hahahakakaka.

• scorpicore (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 10:24 am

Maybe you are right…Maybe P1 has done market survey among Malaysians regarding this before deciding on the options available for each different lines. I do hope to see N-lines are selling well too especially among kampung folks since it is the cheapest option and buyers for b-lines do not need a reverse sensor for the price they pay.

• tec96248 (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 10:47 am

tokmoh said,
    February 1, 2008 @ 11:58 pm

–anyway, i don’t totally agree with u. there always hv pro and cons. ever wonder why so much people working oversea and asked why the govn mentioned we are professional supplier? if its so tough out there, why a lot don’t want to come back? why there’s a time reasonly govn invited those who left to consider to come back or hv second home overhere? i don’t understand why people been asked to leave just because complained about car selling overhere is expensive. maybe that fellow is incompetent somehow……..
    but then we can’t claim that we are forced to buy certain things, this i agree…

• mofo (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 11:26 am

Congratz Proton, i cant expect every brand have ‘Zero’ issue on all thier products. Its the matter how sincere they solve the problems with their customer [AFTER SALES SERVICE]. Anyway i could tell you all, i have bad impression with them with ‘Dunno no care’ attitude.

About the sales figure, no doubt everyone knows that the main reason behind these numbers. But if they so good, pls consider lift up the high import tax to create healthy market. For anyone had the mind [Please give them time], 20 years++, enough yet ? or another 50 years ? Pointless, at the same time there’s AP.

Come on, to support local suppliers ? is this open for every citizen in malaysia ? no doubts, you know i know. Pls don;t defend just because you like it, defend with facts.

On another story, cheers to Proton with 23k booking.

• ezralimm (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 11:51 am

The government has been slowly chaning it’s policies to comply with AFTA without too much shock to the local used car industry.

Pls note, there is no such thing as 300% tax anymore. The Suzuki swift is almost the same price in malaysia compared to australia. Small cars like the latio, vios/yaris and jazz are about 20% more expensive in malaysia compared to first world markets once OTR costs are included.

The govt will have to abolish the unfair tax policies designed to shield the local car industry eventually. With AFTA specifying a 5% import tariff, a city/yaris would still cost upwards of RM60k OTR excluding insurance.

The New Saga is only RM40k at it’s highest trim!

Kudos to proton. Time will tell if their QC has really improved.

• Neutral_Fan (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 3:02 pm

Bravo P1… as of yesterday, the actual booking was 29000 units. Wow! the faster sell even Myvi not like this.
    I guess to this 2 days weekend, the booking will keep coming.. expect to reach at least 32000units.

Bravo again P1 !!

• The Unicons (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 6:26 pm

So far so good. Keep up the good job with right products and the right price. All the best to Proton.

• cwt100 (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 6:34 pm

Good Job P1!! for those ppl out there still jealous with the P1 performance recently… keeep on coz you all are loser… I will proud of P1!!

• king (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 2:54 am

bravo P1….just send overpriced viva to the grave!!!

• snailhill78 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 10:49 am

Now i’ve heard that the bookings is 30’000 units..
    thats amazing!!! good job proton!!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Feb 08, 2008 at 2:17 pm

good. open up the car market and watch some heavy price competition between proton and international brands.

• nubie (Member) on Feb 26, 2008 at 6:28 pm

Paul, not sure if this is useful or in the correct thread but its rather discouraging for me, we took delivery of the proton BLM last week and this week we had a door lock knob problem! when unlocking the car using the central locking key fob one of the rear door knob is not releasing itself properly and got stuck midway up with ensuing problems. My primary reason for buying this car is the value it represents but by the looks of it, my parents are going to have to live with the car’s QC issues.

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 12:39 pm

nubie
    go to its center, get sorted,

• Time Observer (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 11:53 am

Have to wait for 5 months? Is it still going on?

• andrewtan (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 4:49 pm

D waiting it’s definetely more than 5 months. I checked with the proton and i noticed that some people who booked the car before the launch still havent got their car yet. The production is crazy, they never follow the demand. If you booked MLine, u may have to wait longer. If u booked the Manual transmission then be prepare to get it after 7 months.

• Rupert CAMPBELL on May 08, 2009 at 2:03 pm

I would like to find parts for my porton saga, I am living jamaica and finding hard to get part for car. So I am asking for information

• MUHAMAD FIRDAUS on Nov 13, 2009 at 8:46 pm

Proton perlu kerja dengan lebih keras lagi untuk memenuhi tampahan pengguna, dah tempah kereta proton tapi x dapat lagi.. ada rase nak change ke perodua ke.. kawan aku tempah myvi 2 minggu dah dapat.. proton saga aku 2 bulan pun x tau cerita lagi.. salesman dok kate seminggu ke seminggu dampai aku pun dah naik fed up….