VIDEO: Proton Saga TVC: “Acceleration”

Proton LogoWe’ve previously seen the set of 3 TV commercials promoting the new Proton Saga which were about 1 minute long each featuring local personalities such as Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor our Malaysian Angkawasan, David Arumugam of the popular Alleycats band as well as Dr Kenny who serves the rural areas in East Malaysia. There is another set of 3 videos which are more focused on the car’s features and they are about 30 seconds each. Here is the first of three, featuring our Angkawasan again. Video after jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cole planet (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 7:53 am

now this is one good ad… more focus on the car… that is wat a car ad should be…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 7:57 am

Rocket saya lebih laju. Hmmm!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 8:14 am

0-100 on a straight in 13.5 secs = 5 seconds on a hill. Hebat… No wonder we don’t get to see the results of the experiments conducted by our “cosmonaut”.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 8:30 am

I just don’t get it. But then again I just don’t get the whole teh tarik in space, and angkasawan hullaballoo either.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 9:31 am

Haha i don’t get it either. At first he’s trying to explain what does it mean by 0-100 km/h in 13.5 sec…but then he answered it means that the car can climb up the hill in just 5 sec !?? What’s the relation ? Could somebody sort this out ?

• hidz7 (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 10:38 am

i think for them 0-100kmh in 13.5s is fast..so by showing the car can go uphill
    in 5 secs,it means the pickup of the car is good..juz my 2 cents..

• idiomanic (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 11:52 am

arrrgghhhh.. you’re soo cute…. marry me.. marry me.

arrrggghhhh..

*hysterical*

arrrghhhh…

arrghhhhhh…………………………….

*taking a short breath*

arrrghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh………………………………………………………

*passed out*

I’m out.. hehehe

• wong (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 12:27 pm

not bad, not bad

• sunsilk (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 2:02 pm

haha…it seems like has good pick up…

• freeze (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 2:27 pm

That must be a very short bukit

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 3:15 pm

Daffyd! Daffyd!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 3:32 pm

lawak jugak die nie..huhuhuh

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 3:33 pm

that’s one steep bukit… not bad i guess :)
    lol at roket joke hehe ;p

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 3:41 pm

torishimeyakuin said,

February 3, 2008 @ 9:31 am

Haha i don’t get it either. At first he’s trying to explain what does it mean by 0-100 km/h in 13.5 sec…but then he answered it means that the car can climb up the hill in just 5 sec !?? What’s the relation ? Could somebody sort this out ?

————————————————————-

that means engine is powerfull la not underpowered…simple thing cant understand meh???

• bmx (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 4:04 pm

empty vessel just like our angkasawan?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 4:09 pm

“but my rocket is faster” ??? wtf……

• normaluser (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 6:24 pm

Paul,

I believed the audio is a bit out of sync. The sound comes a bit late.

• transformer (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 8:29 pm

yeah! taxi ride astonomer adverts saga…. an saga indeed!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 8:37 pm

Which rocket is he referring to actually? Are we going to buy it?

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 8:58 pm

Wasted 30 saat of my time. Zero correlation between the two. The 0-100 sprint in 13.5 seconds does not necessarily justify the 5 second uphill climb specifically.

So should we buy the rocket now instead of the Saga?

• DAN L (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:02 am

used and don by group of mind sat people that only can understand !…no wonder Malaysia boleh whit there own people …what a wested , never mind coz a lot of idiot out there will support there own kind.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:42 am

That commercial is sooooooooooo wrong. Does not make sense. Acceleration is calculated on a flat surface not uphill. So more using a person who went up to space to show the stupidity of the person who wrote this script in the first place.
    Proton:
    try making something like, accelerating from a falling building. Or overtaking a lori balak. That makes a lot more sense

Wasted 30secs of my time

• whodz (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 2:14 am

@mystvearn ,

what makes you think your idea is better? Accelerate from falling building? That’s ridiculous idea, not logic neither realistic. Overtake a lori balak? This one is more nonsense, it could show and educate people to speed and overtake. On one part it’s good for showing the power of the car, on the other side, it can give a subliminal message of always overtake a lori balak when is in front of you. That’s very dangerous. Anyway, of all three ads, this is the one I like less.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 5:22 am

@ whodz

well overtaking a lorry balak travelling at 60kmh on a flat road is better than accelerating on top a mountain

• KL-ATR (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:35 am

I think this is a stupid add. Climb a hill in 5 sec. How high was the hill? If he said 5 sec to climb Gasing Hill, fine. I can relate to that. What hill was this? What gradient? Distance? Height? Come on. Most 0-100kph testing was done on level ground. The more accurate ones will even include how many feet above sea level, temperature and wind factor because these factors can influence the time taken. NOBODY use an up hill run to test such times… until now.

Oh sorry… I dwell too much into physics. This add was for those who don’t question such matters. And he wrapped it up so nicely with “Rocket Saya”. Rocket KAMU park kat rumah ke? Atau simpan kat pocket? Wah… bila beli rocket tu? Way to go doc.

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:32 am

bile masa dier beli roket????? or dier nak letak roket kat saga wakakakaka

• hk_loo (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:51 pm

this advertisement show me the power of campro … impressive

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 7:15 pm

MisterBenjo said,
    February 3, 2008 @ 3:41 pm

torishimeyakuin said,
    February 3, 2008 @ 9:31 am

————————————————————-

that means engine is powerfull la not underpowered…simple thing cant understand meh???

Oh yeah, thanks for your thought… though i hope, i’ll never sink down to the level of your wisdom…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 8:58 pm

these ads are straighfoward yet wanna create a confusion…aiya dont know la

• ckalex (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:23 pm

Was he was referring to the rocket in his pants. “Lagi laju?” Premature ejaculator…hmm.
    The whole acceleration test is wrong in the ad. No car manufacturer in the world quotes acceleration figures going uphill. Strange…

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:57 am

idiomanic said,
    February 3, 2008 @ 11:52 am

arrrgghhhh.. you’re soo cute…. marry me.. marry me.

arrrggghhhh..

*hysterical*

arrrghhhh…

arrghhhhhh…………………………….

*taking a short breath*

arrrghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh………………………………………………………

*passed out*

I’m out.. hehehe
    —————————————————————-

Bwahahahahahahahahhaha

Soo hysterical, idiotic…

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:00 am

Is he dring an auto car?

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:02 am

What I meant was driving, not dring, typing error.

• rexis (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:03 am

Our New Saga really can do 13.5s?

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:05 am

Why not try the Top Gear style? Just put the angkasawan in the Saga with the rocket and then launch it upwards, just like they did it with the Reliant Robin.

• aenz81 (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:09 pm

What Dr Sheikh Muszaphar mean here is…. if that car can climb up that hill just in 5 sec, it already told us that saga had a powerful “pick-up” that can go 0-100km/h in just 13.5 sec….. let’s put honda city or toyota vios there and try to climb up that hill just in 3 or 4 sec… can that 2 cars climb up the hill in 4 sec?? my waja can go 0-100km/h in just 12.8 sec….

WAJA = 118 HP 1.6 liter
    CITY = 94 HP 1.5 liter
    VIOS = 92 HP 1.5 liter
    SAGA IAFM = 98 HP 1.3 liter

• snailhill78 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 10:57 am

nice!!!

• Hotice (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:26 pm

I’m not sure Proton’s statement that BLM saga fuel consumptions is correct or miscalculated??? It is because my new saga(2days old) “appetite” is not what is stated…..I took the car with a full tank(courtesy of my car dealer) the meter showed 13 km covered….but the digital readout of the fuel gauge show 1 empty bar(total 6 bars) when I covered 26km!…then 2nd empty bar on reaching 118km…and until todate 3rd bar gone at 138km!!…what is happening?this saga is worst then my MPV!!

FYI:BLM saga manual stated that the consumption is 6.0 and 6.3L/100km at constant 90km for MT and AT respectively.
    Fuel tank:40 L

• aenz81 (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 12:38 pm

Hotice said,
    March 16, 2008 @ 3:26 pm

I’m not sure Proton’s statement that BLM saga fuel consumptions is correct or miscalculated??? It is because my new saga(2days old) “appetite” is not what is stated…..I took the car with a full tank(courtesy of my car dealer) the meter showed 13 km covered….but the digital readout of the fuel gauge show 1 empty bar(total 6 bars) when I covered 26km!…then 2nd empty bar on reaching 118km…and until todate 3rd bar gone at 138km!!…what is happening?this saga is worst then my MPV!!

FYI:BLM saga manual stated that the consumption is 6.0 and 6.3L/100km at constant 90km for MT and AT respectively.
    Fuel tank:40 L

—————————————————————-

This scenerio will happen with all new cars with new engine, every new cars need ‘run-in’ period to let engine oil get along with the engine…. and after ur next servis, try to use synthetic 15w30 engine oil…. u will find out that ur car consume less gas, low vibration and noise…so, dont drove at high speed when ur car mileage still not reach 1000-2000km.

• SY0H (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 4:08 pm

Asalamualaikum/Hello,

Well, I’m not really on to “angkasawan” guy (spaceman) thing but, here’s one fact I notice among our fellow Malaysians; we really do like to “kutuk” (insult) people. It is as if there’s nothing much better to do. If we do not like that “angkasawan” programme at least come out with a very good reason to oppose such programme together with better alternative, and bring that issue to the parliament for debate. Please blame it on our fourth-world mentality (third world people is much better though) but that’s the sad fact about Malaysians. We simply do not have that sense of patriotic instill within us.
    I was once a part of a highly confidential research and development (R & D) developing special alloy-steel for the usage of our local industries, which will surely benefit our slow-pace aeronautical, aerospace and military industries. It turns out that idea do not go all-well among some of our “brilliant” Malaysians because this people DO NOT understand and worst still they DO NOT WANT to understand at all that R & D takes time and a lot of resources to achieve its objectives. To put it into more simpler scenario; it is as if asking a “budak darjah 6” to score straight A’s in SPM examination although he have not yet been seated for UPSR and PMR examinations! To make matters worst, guess what, some “angkasawan” scientist from NASA, Japan and Europe show their interest in our project instead.
    What’s the morale of the story if one may ask? Please look at the brighter side of our aerospace industry. Just like what “angkasawan” Neil Armstrong said when he first set foot on the moon, “It’s a small step for me, but it’s a big leap for humankind”. The main focus sending the first Malaysian astronaut is to instill interest among our younger generations to go for “Hi-tech and heavy science stuffs” so hopefully they would be able to develop Malaysia even further into the ever-more challenging future. The first space mission is intended to catapult Malaysia into the space journey, instead, some of our “brilliant” politicians took that advantage by spreading lies to the people that it’s all wasting tax-payers’ money. To punish our “angkasawan” programme is what I describe as an act of deterring our own country to develop even further. Just like an old Malay saying, “meludah ke langit terkena muka sendiri”. Now countries such as India and China already send astronaut and rockets to space, and Malaysians said “barang” Made in China is no good. Now who got the last laugh? So to “brilliant” people of Malaysia, we need to accept the hard facts that we need to develop further into science and engineering or we will fall behind.

SY0H – One might say I’m a pro-government or a pro-opposition but actually I’m none. I’m glad and proud to be a Malaysian. We are living in a real world. If you are too greedy and can only think to fend for yourselves but at least think of your own children and grandchildren and great-great grandchildren of the future? Really worrying isn’t it. The destiny of Malaysia is in our hands. We are at the cross-road again. Back to square one. I just hope Malaysians made the right decision this time. End.

• soyamilk (Member) on Jun 16, 2008 at 2:55 pm

herm….do you think this advertisment is misleading ???

and does he own a rocket ?

joke…