VIDEO: Proton Saga TVC: “Cabin Space”

Proton LogoThis the final video of a new set of 3 30 second TV commericals which are focused on the new Proton Saga’s features. This video features Dr. Kenny Lee again, using the Proton Saga to brig his patients to the hospital. Watch the video after the jump. You will also find links to the other two 30 second TV commercials, and also the original 1 minute plus length ones.

VIDEO: Proton Saga TVC: “Cabin Space”

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 8:17 am

At first, I thought the ad was trying to say even Kampung people don’t want to be seen in a Saga until convinced by the doc. Hehe.

Look at the guy in the rear seat. Kinda awkward to put the hand out with that halfway winded down window.

• Joshuace (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 8:56 am

the car colour looks nice. is it a mountain blue? i also found the “angkasawan” car colour looks nice too. hehe..

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 9:14 am

THE DOCTOR IS HARD TRYING TO CONVINCE THAT THE SAGA IS SAFE. BUT IS IT?

• idiomanic (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 11:48 am

mm not so nice… i like david’s better..

• arch747 (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 12:18 pm

Just my 2 cents, didn;t we have enough of this free-to-air Proton commercials in yr blogs, Paul? I have nothing against Protons or its supporters nor its bashers, it’s just my honest opinion regarding the content of your blogging articles. I love your articles on local motoring scenes, western motoring news (like Hummer, though it may have very little impact to our local scene), motorcycle news (like the Honda CBR150cc, though i think u should have more articles regarding the thsese m-cycles, now that ur readers have reached different levels of society), those luxury cars (again, which may have little impact to our motorcycles scenes). and those other spy-shots or videos regarding jokes of 3rd world european countries.

I know, there gonna be some readers that may not agree with my opinion but hey, isnt this blogging is all about? :-)

Btw, I know that the new Saga is an achevement and being an average malaysian who’s proud to be one and will always be, I think that this Saga is a bit overrated and I’m sad that u Paul is also caught by it’s bug. Just hoping u could stick to what u do best which is giving us ravs and rants about motor industry. Leave all these Saga bandwagons to others..

Cheers, havagudweekend.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 1:15 pm

Proton’s tryng to catch the heart of chinese consumers with this. Cantonese spoken from Dr. Kenny Lee haha

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 1:36 pm

I dont think majority of chinese in Malaysia is cantonese… Go check it, even hakka ppl are more then cantonese in KL area…

• IsaacVky (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 1:51 pm

But they speak Cantonese.

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 2:19 pm

arch747 said,
    February 3, 2008 @ 12:18 pm

Just my 2 cents, didn;t we have enough of this free-to-air Proton commercials in yr blogs, Paul? I have nothing against Protons or its supporters nor its bashers, it’s just my honest opinion regarding the content of your blogging articles. I love your articles on local motoring scenes, western motoring news (like Hummer, though it may have very little impact to our local scene), motorcycle news (like the Honda CBR150cc, though i think u should have more articles regarding the thsese m-cycles, now that ur readers have reached different levels of society), those luxury cars (again, which may have little impact to our motorcycles scenes). and those other spy-shots or videos regarding jokes of 3rd world european countries.

I know, there gonna be some readers that may not agree with my opinion but hey, isnt this blogging is all about?

Btw, I know that the new Saga is an achevement and being an average malaysian who’s proud to be one and will always be, I think that this Saga is a bit overrated and I’m sad that u Paul is also caught by it’s bug. Just hoping u could stick to what u do best which is giving us ravs and rants about motor industry. Leave all these Saga bandwagons to others..

Cheers, havagudweekend.
    —————————————–

arch747

i think paul’s block is PTRR generally about world cars and local auto industry for sure as what PTRR is all about,

and it could be just about anything (transportation), within his hand and creativity composing his blog where he feel in context and most associated to locality,

:: paul correct me if im wrong

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 3:11 pm

HEY THEY ARE TRI LINGUIST. CANTONESE, MADARIN AND HAKKA

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 3:38 pm

arxh747: why not? it’s somethin us readers wanna see :)

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 3:39 pm

Cheers, havagudweekend.

————————————————————

This is paultan website..millions go here because of this…if u like car reviews like autocar or topgear…just go to their website lah… aiya

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 4:27 pm

Proton seems to be very good with their marketing, Petronas also makes damn good advertisements… I wonder who comes up with this, awesome!

• normaluser (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 6:35 pm

I think this ad wants to let us know how engine starter sounds like, and how the car can seat 3 behind with full seatbelts (although the kampung guy who sticked his hand out of the rear window may gave the impression that the rear seats are cramped for 3 mid-sized adults).

• BW (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 7:20 pm

LittleFire85 said,

February 3, 2008 @ 1:36 pm

I dont think majority of chinese in Malaysia is cantonese… Go check it, even hakka ppl are more then cantonese in KL area…

• transformer (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 8:33 pm

this was a nice one! much better than that fishball-haired-cat & space-taxi-rider!

• transformer (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 8:33 pm

at least its more sincere!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 8:47 pm

Is the guy in the ad a real customer? Whats it trying to say? Chinese-to-chinese (cos he speaks Chinese) endorsement saying “As long as can sit comfortably, its good enough lah!”??

Sorry Mr. Syed Zainal but in my humblest of opinions, and without prejudice, its like slapping your own product in the face (As long as can sit comfortably, can lah). Then again, you must have paid a lot of money to the agency to come up with these ideas. Who am I to say anything.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 9:07 pm

The cause and action at the beginning and end do not meet.

Cause: Doctor persuades elderly woman to go to hospital
    Action: Fills up the rear seats with acquaintances who are not mentioned/needed

If you want to make a 30 second commercial, do it right. Skimping on important bits will only confuse viewers. The message is not concise, state whether or not the rear can fill up 3 full sized adults or children.

From that 30 second commercial, we do not know this unless one stares at it diligently which is highly unlikely.

• ront (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 10:52 pm

BW, it depends which area of sarawak you’re talking abt…..some areas…you hardly find chinese speaking hokkien..nor cantonese…

• v0ices (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 11:17 pm

maibatsu_thunder,

Actually I think you got the message of the video, but you didn’t get the message that Proton/ad agency wants to portray the car as. The Saga IS a cheap, utilitarian car for the masses…. and Proton is admitting that it’s no luxury sedan. It’s cheap… but it’s comfortable in many sense.

Paula Tan,
    Yea la… you should stop riding on the Proton bandwagon like what some of your beloved, devoted readers say. Maybe should start riding on the GT-R bandwagon :D… wanna test drive one? ;)

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 11:42 pm

Can say the same thing about a 1990 CB Accord & even cheaper than a BLM Saga.

• yippi33 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 12:50 am

OMG..i think all of us get the idea of what the advert is trying to say..its straightforward enuff to me..i dont need to take out a scientific calculator to prove that the back seat can fit three full sized adults..

heck..that guy also want to get glamour ma..must stick out his head and show his strong armpitla..if else no one will notice him like the other two..ill do the same thing as well..

i agree with V0ices that proton never shout out that SAGA is a car that is perfect or exceed evrything..even paul also mentioned that its good car (value for money considering the features that it offered)..so theres no issue of it being overrated..and btw, i’m just wondering whether we can still drive 160km/h on hiways in a 1990 CB Accord..

-myengineisleaking-

• DAN L (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 2:17 am

dont worry income TEX a lot to TEX from businessman and rakyat ,so do any thing idiot also can and there own kind also support as long there own kind Malaysian boleh used a Ass skin put to a face…!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 7:36 am

Not sure about that but the Accord after the CD series, the first US type Accord to come here, it gets squirelly after 160 km/h, same thing with the UA Accord after that. A Kia Optima is much more stable. Then again, this is erm, actually theoretical … I’ve never exceeded our legal speed limits, NEVER! :)

• nanashisan (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:35 am

mmm…. this video feels shorter than the rest of the 2 videos. maybe so much talk and less action. they less emphasize the focus of cabin space objective e.g at early video, all of them are all outside the saga. then suddenly thay already inside the saga and not showing how they ENTERED AND SIT in the saga. well, i’m not satisfied with it.

the rest of the video series, we can see them in action and focus of the objective.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:00 am

Well at least people are talking about it and debating … that itself brings coverage and attention! Maybe that was the plan all along? Hahaha!

• razzack04 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:00 am

This is paul’s blog, he can put whatever he like. I see no problem putting the commercials here, it shows that he’s a patriotic dude. We should respect that. When he said “As long as can sit comfortably, is good enoughlah ” I get the message. It’s a base line car. You can’t compare it to other more expensive models. Vios back seat is not that spacious either.

• razzack04 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:14 am

Can say the same thing about a 1990 CB accord and even cheaper than BLM Saga?? Well in that case… I agree if you’re talking about can sit comfortably. Same as Datsun 120Y, Ford Laser, etc. Which normal sedan is not design for 4 adults? Remember Nissan Grand Livina and Avanza commercial? Can fit your whole family. Just buy an old econovan or van kilang laaa. Can fit even more and drive faster. Believe me, i see them everyday overtaking hondas, toyotas and protons.

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:40 am

BW in sibu then speak foochow lol… gong xi fachai to u
    i dun think doctor will buy saga, they prefare toyolta,hunda mercy wakakakka

• v0ices (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:03 pm

Yeah, the 1990 CB Accord is cheaper, more spacious and comfortable… and so are a whole lot more other old cars. But it’s a 1990/old car! Would like to see you get a 90% loan for a 10+yr old car, let alone a 18 year old one.

Not everybody is as rich to be able to pay cash. Some can just barely afford the downpayment.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:14 pm

Sorry off topic but,
    friend of mine told that a Sales Agent sms-ed him and said that Waja CPS is now AVAILABLE at the PROTON SHOWROOM??

• snailhill78 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 12:41 pm

nice commercial…
    good job proton!

• afkar (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 1:32 pm

what a nice doctor..i feel so touched!