Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Facelifted 2009 Mitsubishi Eclipse at Chicago 08

Advertisement

Facelifted Eclipse

The facelifted Mitsubishi Galant will be joined at the 2008 Chicago Auto Show by its sportier sibling the fourth generation Mitsubishi Eclipse which also receives a mid-life facelift. The new facelift features a new front and rear as well as a higher power output for the 3.8 liter V6, which now puts out 265 horsepower and 355Nm of torque.

The new front look now features Mitsubishi’s new corporate grille, which sports a rather Audi-like look with a blackened bar going through the middle.

More details on the facelifted Eclipse once Chicago 2008 rolls by.

Facelifted Eclipse

27 Comments »

1. NiceCar said,

February 4, 2008 @ 8:12 am

having a new family front grill, it seem good..
    but interior got any significant changed? not really remember previous interior.. =P

2. terracottaz said,

February 4, 2008 @ 8:24 am

Front looks like the new GTR!!!!!

3. windchaser said,

February 4, 2008 @ 9:03 am

yeah… Back looks like the Audi…

4. kerelbort said,

February 4, 2008 @ 9:22 am

audi tt-ish…. still cool tho..

5. sxe10r said,

February 4, 2008 @ 9:55 am

nice car ~

6. MaverickNeo said,

February 4, 2008 @ 9:57 am

The steering wheel is funky! Looks like one of those M&M dispensers I had when I was a kid, with the two legs and out-stretched arms, the M&Ms drop out from the mouth, in this case, right below the Mitsubishi logo..lolz!!

7. kakilubuk said,

February 4, 2008 @ 10:12 am

Waaahhh!!! Nicy! Nicy! Cool! I love this car. Awesome.

8. Jeffrey1977 said,

February 4, 2008 @ 10:14 am

Very Ah Beng looks.

9. h2k said,

February 4, 2008 @ 10:22 am

ya the front really is copy new GTR…just destroy the whole car…could be better if design abit like new evo…at least same identity grille…must be american designer

10. maibatsu_thunder said,

February 4, 2008 @ 10:28 am

How’s Mitsubishi doing in terms of finances and sales in North America? Just asking cos the Isuzu pullout made me think …

11. DtG said,

February 4, 2008 @ 10:56 am

now it has a gtr mouth.. haha… but looks good nonetheless…

12. wildthingz said,

February 4, 2008 @ 11:42 am

why mitsu always have big mouth now……..rear side ok but front side look likes i dun know macam tak kena je

13. KL-ATR said,

February 4, 2008 @ 11:45 am

Eclipse has always been one of my favourite! Nice facelift and that 3.8 is really sweet!

14. Poxxue2 said,

February 4, 2008 @ 11:47 am

Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice……colour!..d rest…biase jehhh!..

15. abtm said,

February 4, 2008 @ 12:14 pm

front looks like nissan gt-r

16. 4G63T DSM said,

February 4, 2008 @ 1:33 pm

Sure the 3.8 make 368hp?

Heard that the convertible is on the way as well.

17. Roti Naan said,

February 4, 2008 @ 3:15 pm

the meter cluster is too small for my liking. The cluster doesn’t integrate with the dashboard design. the meter cluster looks like it poked thru the dash or something. Overall the car looks sporty alright!

18. 4G63T DSM said,

February 4, 2008 @ 4:00 pm

That nose is not a copy of the GT-R. In fact, one can say its the other way around. The Original 2001 GT-R concept’s nose is quite different from that of the Production model

The front end design of new mitsus are all inspired by this concept truck sown in NAIAS in 2004. I was there in person then the Truck was launched. The Triton shares some of that DNA.

http://www.seriouswheels.com/2004/2004-Mitsubishi-Sport-Truck-Concept-FA-1920×1440.htm

But then again, almost everyone is making big grilled cars, so its to no surprise that it all ends up looking alike.

19. mitlanevo said,

February 4, 2008 @ 4:44 pm

slightly better looking than the one in Need For Speed……

(change colour, yellow not suitable for this babe)

20. cetait said,

February 4, 2008 @ 7:18 pm

i’m pretty sure that should be 265 horsepower, not 365.

21. szw said,

February 4, 2008 @ 9:09 pm

the new family look…

22. Dogster said,

February 4, 2008 @ 10:22 pm

its not audi at all. it looks like an evo styled front.

23. Scania Irizar said,

February 5, 2008 @ 12:45 am

Volksified/Audified Mitsubishi?

Volkswagen is the only manufacturer which started the “Big-Mouth” design trend, others are mere copycat I think…

24. mystvearn said,

February 5, 2008 @ 1:19 am

looking at it reminds me for the hyundai coupe. Not sure why…

25. raybrig85 said,

February 5, 2008 @ 11:14 am

no la…they already use the grille b4 in their eclipse ralliart concept…one of my fav mitsu…great

26. bmpower said,

February 5, 2008 @ 12:30 pm

boring design…
    and cramp driver cockpit..

nothing impress from mitsu now.. like no new idea..
    nissan is better.

27. leongvincent said,

September 15, 2008 @ 6:18 pm

Why I don’t see any Grey Importers importing this car?

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: VIDEO: Proton Saga TVC: “Cabin Space”
next post: Nissan Latio 1.6 and 1.8 Short Test Drive Experience