Nissan Latio 1.6 and 1.8 Short Test Drive Experience

Nissan Latio Test Drive

The new Nissan Latio has arrived on our local shores a few months ago, and has redefined the B-class economy sedan segment somewhat. We are very used to the baseline Japanese models having 1.5 litre engines as with the Vios and the City, but the Nissan Latio comes with 1.6 litre and 1.8 litre, the same engine displacements that the Nissan Sentra previously was offered with.

Read more about the new Nissan Latio after the jump.

Nissan Latio Test Drive

So is the Latio a Sentra replacement or a Vios/City competitor? With an interior space that matches the size of the larger Accord-class Nissan Teana, it may seem possible at first to think of the Latio as going up against the Altis and the Civic with a price tag advantage of being under RM100,000, but when I got into the car for the first time it suddenly became quite apparent this is a B-segment car.

This is because of little things like the lack of a steering wheel with adjustable reach, which made the driving position slightly awkward for me. I also had this problem with the new Toyota Vios, so perhaps B-segment cars are really not for people of my physique. The good news is we will see a proper Sentra replacement soon in the form of the Nissan Bluebird Sylphy.

Nissan Latio Test Drive

Then again I got to thinking about the rest of the car’s specification levels which exceeded the typical B-segment car. There is genuine keyless entry and keyless start as well as xenon HID headlamps for the top spec model. The wood finish looks rather interesting as it does not look like the typical cheapo shiny fake wood found in cars of this price level. The seats are very large and are quite comfortable. This same cushiony material is also used on the arm rests, so basically most parts of the interior that you come in contact with feels more expensive than the car really is. This special care taken to ensure the passengers feel happy is becoming increasingly rare at cars of this price level. You get the beige-ish interior with the Latio and the black interior with silver trim for the Latio Sport. I much prefer the black interior.

My driving impression of the new Nissan Latio was limited to a drive up to Penang and around the streets of Penang. The Latios that we drove displayed very much above average sound insulation during our highway drive, but I noticed that the engine growl was rather loud, though this was most probably in comparison to how impressively silent the rest of the car was.

The chassis must also be rather well sorted as I felt the car tackled bends quite well with just the right amount of steering weight to make it more effortless for the driver to point the car where he wants it to go. I think that if a family man who enjoys spirited driving once in a while but finds himself in the position of having to buy a sedan under RM100k should seriously consider this car. Not much steering feedback but this is a family sedan and typically steering feedback will be interpreted as bad NVH by those who are not really into driving enjoyment. Quite decent for a car with a torsion beam rear suspension, but then again the modern torsion beam rear suspension can be tuned to handle rather well as proven with the European Honda Civic hatchback.

Nissan Latio Test Drive

The gearbox is smooth and downshifts are particularly impressive as you do not feel any jerk at all during kickdown. But there was one thing that both my partner and I (we were two to a car up to Penang and back) noticed, that there was no noticable difference between the 1.6 litre CVVT engine and 1.8 litre CVVT engine’s performance.

This might be due to the fact that the 1.6 litre (109 PS at 6,000rpm and 153Nm of torque at 4,400rpm) is more stroke-biased while the 1.8 litre (126 PS at 5,200rpm and 174Nm of torque at 4,800rpm) is a revvy bore-biased engine, so the torque levels of both engines combined with an automatic gearbox felt quite similiar. The 1.8 litre might feel alot more spritely with a manual gearbox that can be pushed to higher revs than an auto, but sadly the manual is only offered on the 1.6 litre.

Prices:
Nissan Latio 1.6 ST (A) – RM87,945.50
Nissan Latio 1.6 ST (M) – RM82,189.50
Nissan Latio 1.6 ST-L (A) – RM92,929.50
Nissan Latio 1.8 Ti (A) – RM99,957.90
Nissan Latio Sport 1.6L (A) – RM94,801.50

Nissan Latio Test Drive

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sxe10r (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:54 am

just between vios & city @ swift ~ ppl have new choose ~

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:54 am

They should’ve slimmed the front light a little, and put in a nicer grille, and it’ll look like a million dollars.

Anyone went to KLIMS back in ’06? there was a Nissan prototype and looks pretty much like the Latio hatchback, that had a nice look front. This one’s abit “fat” infront

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:02 am

White exterior + Black Interior would be a nice combo, IMHO.

• kakilubuk (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:17 am

No thanks! Too expensive! I better buy 2nd hand Toyota Celica.

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:34 am

I love the interior… looks rilly expensive… a lot of ppl I know made the final choice to buy after actually sitting in it~ remember that inside is where u’re gona spend the most time at :)

• jules (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:41 am

tHe CuLpRit said,
    February 4, 2008 @ 9:54 am

They should’ve slimmed the front light a little, and put in a nicer grille, and it’ll look like a million dollars.

Anyone went to KLIMS back in ‘06? there was a Nissan prototype and looks pretty much like the Latio hatchback, that had a nice look front. This one’s abit “fat” infront

Yeah You’re right…. Especially if you see the one one witht the body kit, the front lip has a “horse shoe” and the concept car also has one but a bigger one.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:18 am

Paul, i think the 1.6L is more to revvy type since the max hp is around 6’000rpm, while the 1.8L is just around 5’200 rpm.

The problem is both the car is driven by only single driver. If paul test a 4 person in a car test, the 1.8L will score better and even save more fuel than the 1.6L coz of greater torque to move around.

If i not mistaken the gear ratio of both A/T is the same… That why u will feel noticable difference.

• jules (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:39 am

Paul, can i ask, how tall are you. Just wondering whether this car will fit me.

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:43 am

The interior is worth mentioning, dark coloured interior always creates that elegant and luxury feeling as opposed to brown, cream, etc …looks cheap…
    The exterior..mm..mix feelings…think its a bit off….rear looks too close to previous Sentra…too convetional n lame…front too…the skirting ….adoi!..freaking ugly …!are those optional from Nissan Paul?..My FRP fabricator friend in Balakong can do better design/finish…hehe..

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:43 am

boringgggggg

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:50 am

i jus cannot except any car with a rear design like the one in the atio design..its ugly in any language man!

bt its very big inside…..and its very quite….bt it jus doesnt look nice at all…from any angle…

it already needs a facelift !

• BW (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 12:00 pm

I’ve sat in my friend’s Latio Sports version few days ago and the car roxx!!! The ride is so comfortable and quiet and the interior is so spacious… Yet i like the sound system… Sounds like a woofer in the door or somethin’…

• spishl (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 12:01 pm

i see a lot of Sylphy in Singapore, the design is very nice!

• nmh (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 12:12 pm

Good review but no thanks…ill take swift sport 1.6

• normaluser (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:00 pm

paul, how abt fuel consumption?

• abtm (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:29 pm

that’s the ugliest bodykit i’ve seen! is that nismo? cmon nissan look at how nice the 350z’s bodykit is

• wei_tsung (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:38 pm

Agree with what paul said regarding the car satisfting both requirements of a family man who needs large space to transport his family and a smooth manual gearbox for those occasional spirited drives when he is alone. Have tested the manual and auto 1.6L versions and i must say the manual really rocks! It is just plain unfortunate that ETCM is not offering a hatch 1.8L manual like in Australia. That would be fantastic for petrol heads.
    Heard from mylatioclub forum that nissan may be bringing in other latio bodykits, maybe IMPUL or NISMO or the tahiland version soon. Also Tiida/versa facelift has just been introduced in Japan with minor exterior and interior changes.Of course with ETCM that would probably come to malaysia in 2-3 years time. Sigh….

• wei_tsung (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 1:40 pm

oopss lots of typo. satisfying no satisfting and thailand not tahiland.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 2:09 pm

jules said,
    February 4, 2008 @ 10:41 am

Yeah You’re right…. Especially if you see the one one witht the body kit, the front lip has a “horse shoe” and the concept car also has one but a bigger one.
    ============================

Yup, i always wondered why they had tht silly looking thing on the bumber kit, but then had a look at the concept and saw it too had this same thingy, ‘cept its a big-a** version!

That said, I’d opt for one without the body kit, looks cleaner.

• freeze (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 3:15 pm

I think the basic Latio is almost simmilar the Vios S. And about the same price.

• jules (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Even if they give the bodykit free with the car… i’ll tear it out.

• junky_man (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:29 pm

one thing to add, i noticed this car does not come with mp3 cd player. it only plays regular cds. that’s a bummer in my books. for everything else, it’s worthwhile.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:52 pm

Too bad they don’t offer that very nice blue that they offer in the Versa…wonder why they dont offer a 1.8 hatch with the manual like in other markets.

Surprisingly its priced quite high here. In North America this goes toe to toe with the Yaris price wise but beats it in power and size. They also have the new Sentra meaning they have better market coverage.

The pricing of the Latio just makes TCIM look greedy.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:00 pm

This is soooo not a Clio Renaultsport F1 Team R27. Ghosn! You creep! Its a bloody pansy Clio.

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:17 pm

my opinion..
    rear part latio…
    uuuhhhh…

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:26 am

what kind of illumination are the display meters?

• normaluser (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 8:11 am

Yup, can’t agree with you less. TCM is indeed greedy and overpricing their cars.

The Latio in other parts of the world got CVVT gearbox, and some more, low pricing especially for the hatch. I wish Nissan would terminate the Tan Chong distributorship, and find a new one which is able to increase the brand image with the right pricing for the market.

============
    4G63T DSM said,
    February 4, 2008 @ 9:52 pm

Too bad they don’t offer that very nice blue that they offer in the Versa…wonder why they dont offer a 1.8 hatch with the manual like in other markets.

Surprisingly its priced quite high here. In North America this goes toe to toe with the Yaris price wise but beats it in power and size. They also have the new Sentra meaning they have better market coverage.

The pricing of the Latio just makes TCIM look greedy.

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 9:13 am

THE PRICING STRATEGY IS GOING OVERBOARD! THE NISSAN EXECUTIVES IS CHOKING FOR THEIR BONUS??

• jules (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 10:17 am

Now who wants to buy the pre-face lift models offered by ETCM?

• ppp (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:27 pm

i just passed a white latio sport test drive model with lots of nismo stickers all over and it was stalled at a kota dsara traffic lights causing a long queue at the junction, the SA standing beside it under the hot sun trying hard to cover his embarrassment (hehe) and avoiding stares from the queue who must have been (same as me) wondering what’s wrong with the NEW car… hehehehehe

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 4:15 pm

check out the kit in singapore… http://www.nissan.com.sg/parts/latio_bodykit.cfm?display#midpageAnchor

looks so much more nicer!!

• jules (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 9:45 am

I think no matter what bodykit you put, you must also change rims… at least to 17-18 inch to balance up the looks.

• redliner (Member) on Feb 16, 2008 at 4:14 pm

i have tested the latio 1.6 sport. to me Latio has good specs or at least at par with toyota and honda cars. the only reason malaysians don’t really like it is bec it is under Nissan badge name. I bet if it is a Honda, people will not complain. look at honda city. people still buy eventhough the car is ugly.. sorry guys, i don’t mean to offend any honda fans.

• mycaelis (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 10:55 am

hi guys,

i don’t mean to offence anyone here. this is purely my personal thoughts. i noticed a lot of people talked about how ugly the car looks. frankly, to me the car looks reasonably fine. just ask yourself, what gets into your mind when you want to buy a car. being a family man like myself, i prefer to have ample head and legroom. also, the boot space should be big to store a reasonable amount of things. when this kind of requirements get translated to the design, the outcome is like what you have in the latio. the selling point is it’s comfort and spaciousness, not the look.

Just look at the honda city, after the complaints of it’s flower horn look, the designers redesigned the front which in the end had lowered the headroom by quite a lot. so, headroom comfortness had been compromised a bit.

so, it’s always a give and take between the look and the comfortness. you just can’t get a slick-looking, very comfortable and spacious compact sedan. you just can’t get the slick look when the passengers compartment is to be huge and spacious. just my thoughts.

• redliner (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 7:05 pm

mycaelis,

yes, understand. Ugly vs Practicality. it works in country like Japan and europe. however, experience tells that malaysians reject odd looking cars and we kind of influenced by this mentality.

If i’m given a choice between two cars which have equal specs and performance, i’ll go for the one which looks nicer.

• kenklyap (Member) on Feb 29, 2008 at 1:08 am

anyone know latio 1.6 (M) max speed ????????

• B1u3Be@m (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 12:44 am

I hate the sedan’s bangle-butt….

• banana88 (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 10:37 pm

Buy Latio Or New Altis???? Please advise leh…

• redliner (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 7:02 pm

Banana88,

If you are not a ‘T Badge’ die hard fan, buy Latio instead.
    Compared to Altis, Latio is ‘All New’ and cheaper too.

hey how about Nissan sylphy, i heard it will be launced soon..

• banana88 (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 11:23 pm

Yah, i’m looking forward for sylphy too. Donno how much will ETCM will priced it….If gotto wait too long then probably i will choose latio then..

• swong (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 4:17 pm

old technology, old model compare to toyota or hondo too outdated. I would certainly not recommend N brand to my friends and family.

I am so delighted with my new CRV – service, build quality, fuel consumption and etc.

• bosco (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 7:08 pm

It feels great to drive a Latio especially the Latio Sports .The handling is good plus with spacious room leg and silent engine…definetly worth buying for those who wanted a car within range and good looks…Regardless with or without the 17inch sport rims ( unless you have the extra budget ) it still rocks man !

• Benz lover (Member) on Dec 23, 2008 at 8:06 pm

Nissan latio sports in the best,new techonology and a cutting edge design.But unfortunately its stability need to be reduced.When speeding at 140km/h on highway,the car will start to floating already.

• branoon (Member) on Feb 08, 2009 at 5:52 pm

swong,

how could you compare a 1.6 or 1.8 litre sedan to a 2 litre CR-V??

• watertong on Dec 07, 2009 at 3:53 pm

Malasian taste always looking for a look only !! nissan history was logger than a lot car in japan.that why i can talking it loud!!!

actually the all new latio selling point It feels great to drive especially the CVTC the feeling like NO END to continuous .The handling is good and RELAX like mind handlindplus with spacious room leg and COMPARE WITH OTHER CAR ONLY NISSAN HAVE A SILENT ENGINE…definetly worth buying for those who wanted a car within range and good looks…(for malaysian only)

1 thing i can make sure nissan technology compare with other japanes car it was special amzing and always awarded the TOP SAFETY in MAX range of 6star ONLY in nissan

coz nissan engine perfomance in japan report was a top 1 and achieve a lot GTchampion in the whole world.

i used to drive a lot of japanes car !! but a lot of them is same handling!

1 day i try to drive nissan latio then the next im already bought it and have my 1st NISSAN!

just only 3 reason i bought it…. silent Engine/power full/comfortable-stable

BTW Nissan out look design from 2000 is totally change their way is too far from our generation.

before you commented latio at lease you drive it b4 and have good knowledge of motor world and pls seach the fact report how many unit nissan sold it out by last year in the whole world in Euro area compare with other japanes car!!

• Jagonali on Mar 08, 2010 at 7:09 pm

Hi :) It's a bit to comment now, as I see the last one was made in 2009 :P But I wanna comment anyway.

I believe the Latio is overpriced. One of my friends wanted a small car… but opted for the Latio Hatchback with Impul bodykit. Cost him around 99K in all (at around 1k per month for installments). For me, i thought it was not a very good choice for a small car, as the price of almost 100K was way too steep.

Performance-wise, another story. It's good in most aspects. But still… I think it's way way way way overpriced… IMHO la :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Leelar on Feb 22, 2013 at 3:35 pm

I really like the marketing of them because it lets they people who get a certain job but they are lack of Buget. Especially now in Laos. we already this kind of service. Thanks