Proton Waja CPS 1.6 now in showrooms!

Waja CPS

I have just returned from a Proton Edar showroom in the neighbourhood and snapped photos of the new Proton Waja CPS to share with you.

The showroom I visited only had the manual version on display, so you will not be able to see the new gated shifter in detail but then again you’ve already seen it in my previous spyshot post, so not too much of a loss there. Showrooms have started taking bookings for the new Proton Waja CPS beginning today, and prices are supposed to top out at about RM65K for the automatic version.

Let’s have a look at the Waja CPS photos after the jump.

Waja CPS

As seen with the photos of the Thai-market facelifted Proton GEN2, the new Waja CPS engine uses a red cam cover.

Waja CPS

You can see what appears to be spark plug cables (marked with 1, 2, 3, 4 denoting which cylinder it goes to) leading into the space under the cam cover, so this means that the Proton Campro CPS engine does not use coil-on-plug ignition, unlike the Proton Campro IAFM engine used in the second generation Proton Saga.

Waja CPS

Another shot of the engine bay.

Waja CPS

Externally the Proton Waja CPS 1.6 looks pretty much the same as the non-CPS Waja.

Waja CPS

The rear of the Waja CPS 1.6 also looks the same except for twin tailpipes and the CPS logo on the top left of the boot lid.

Waja CPS

Twin tailpipes.

Waja CPS

The wheels of the new Waja CPS 1.6 wrapped with Silverstone Kruizer-1 tyres.

Waja CPS

The interior features a new meter panel and a new head-unit capable of playing CDs, MP3 files and WMA files. The automatic version has a new gated shifter, but you cannot see it here as this is the interior of the manual version.

Waja CPS

The new metre panel looks pretty much similiar to the old version except the speedometer numbers are now even-numbered instead of odd-numbered.

Waja CPS

The new Clarion head unit which supports a single disc and plays MP3 and WMA files.

That’s pretty much it, and more details will be released and published here on this blog on Wednesday, or whenever I can get a hold of more details. I had a short drive in the car, only about a hundred metres or so and only got up to 2nd gear, and all I can say for now is the car’s low to mid range torque is a huge improvement over the non-CPS Campro. I will try to get a test drive unit and post my findings soon.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 3:38 pm

Why red plug cover?

• wanwnp (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 3:43 pm

second!

wah.. nice one proton..!
    tiba2 ja keluar.. xda iklan teaser dulu dalam tv ka?

• sxe10r (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 3:46 pm

soon P1 all model will be replace by CPS system … malaysian make Mivec ..

• abtm (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 3:50 pm

red engine cover- is it a Proton Waja ‘Type-R’-NO!!

• sainio (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 3:55 pm

proton is late on producing this type of engine..but its okay.well dine proton

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 3:58 pm

Silly me, is there a table somewhere I can view the different specs between Campro IAFM and Campro CPS, features and functions.

• Bella147 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 3:58 pm

how many hp nie?

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:01 pm

Cant wait for the test drive report.

• san_j (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:01 pm

wah..launch already ka?

the dashboard center console n meter panel look a lil bit boring…

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:02 pm

Campro IAFM + Campro CPS = 200hp ?!!!

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:02 pm

Still the same s…t!..sorry.!……ugly rear combi graphic!…although its been around for quite sometime , i jz have to say this, wats with the freakin grille??!!! totally hideous!..Fog lamp on bumper looks like last minute decision!…everything is so arrgh!..luckily interior cuun…anyway..hope Proton will put more effort on the future Waja…

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:04 pm

The Perdana V6 in the backgroud of the 5th picture is your car right Paul?

Paul Tan says: yup, how observant :)

• Irkeez (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:07 pm

Nice car… Totally powerful I think… Anybody know how to convert from Waja (4G18P) to the Campro CPS :-)

• nizam80 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:09 pm

Nice!!. I don’t care much about the interior. I’m waiting for Paul to do a full test drive review on this new CPS.

Btw, What about the GEN2 CPS? Proton gonna launch it later? Si-Fu, please comment. :)

• nizam hussein on Aug 23, 2010 at 2:31 pm

halfcut enjin waja campro n gearbox brapa rm halfcut enjin first model waja sekali

• badboys (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:18 pm

not understand why proton dont want to do full facelift like vios instead of there add a little bit there add a little bit….. for me I still wont consider to buy this waja unless proton change the exterior (especially front & rear light, front grille) to a better look one, I cant accept the design…… :p

• Rees_lll (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:22 pm

Gen2 CPS?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:25 pm

i suspect this should be the last version of the waja as we know it. they will/have to replace this at least by the coming year.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:33 pm

Irkeez, In KL ppl dont convert to Campro. They convert to 4g92 MIVEC or 4g93 Turbo from lancer cedia. It have 4-speed tiptronic for A/T and 5-speed manual (LSD). The dashboard is almost the match in the Waja body and engine mouting is the almost the same.

Anyway this Campro engine got VIM or not? Why the 1.3L IAFM engine seems to have more better coil-on-plug ignition compare to this 1.6L CPS. Want to cut cost izzit Proton.. lolz…

Paul Tan says: the CPS system is supposed to include a form of VIM, but this is unconfirmed. gotta wait for proton’s official info pack on the new engine to be sure.

anyway, although i wish the campro cps engine is packed with every performance enhancing technology out there, coil on plug and other technologies are just many different ways to achieve a goal. if the campro cps can meet its intended performance and torque curve goals without it, i dont see a problem with it omitting it

• proton12vauto (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:40 pm

Irkeez said,

February 4, 2008 @ 4:07 pm

Nice car… Totally powerful I think… Anybody know how to convert from Waja (4G18P) to the Campro CPS :-)

just get urself 4g92 Mivec laaa

• Irkeez (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:47 pm

Mr LittleFire85 or anybody here, can you all help me how to get 4g92 MIVEC or 4g93 Turbo engine ha. can you advice me a little bit more. I just buy the second hand hand Waja last year and I want to convert the engine.

• wflo128 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 4:57 pm

Another sad story for Perodua….. Sad…….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 5:28 pm

Irkeez, easy… Go to Half-cut shop or second hand parts shop and ask. Tell them u want Waja Mivec or Waja GSR Turbo half-cut, they will know. The price is between RM4500-RM7000 depending on what spec and condition, KL area like kajang, selayang, klang and etc got a lot of these half-cut shops.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 5:43 pm

LittleFire85, not everyone wants to buy a car and do an engine conversion. you are only talking about the tiny minority of people who do that. the majority of people want to buy a new car and drive off and do whatever they wanna do, and not have to worry about puspakom, jpj and poor workmanship..etc. etc. etc.

to the everyday person on the street, whats the point of buying a 2008 car and then plonking in an engine thats more than 10 years old and has been sitting on the floor of some halfcut shop somewhere?

• lantoi (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 5:45 pm

Yummy, The CPS in principle is more like MIVEC or VTEC? Anybody can give info. Coz some people says it works more like VTEC? If VTEC, sure buy one.

Paul Tan says: from what i’ve heard, its switching between 3 sets of valve timings, which means 2 switchover points

• hazri99 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 6:19 pm

just saw it at he road.. SA drive like crazy.. very fast..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 6:24 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop, Irkeez already mention he bought a second hand waja. Do u think transplant a new Campro CPS would cost below RM10k?

Anyway the Mivec is not the same found in the old mirage, is newer and tune for more better emission. Japanese only use 5 years of car and even the engine is 10 years old, the engine condition is still better and outperform some of our local made…

• cc (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 6:30 pm

more like vvti, dvvt i guess. cos it only apply to intake rite..

• radd (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 6:47 pm

ciss proton!! apesal awal sgt kluar.?? aku book saga pon blom smp lg. nak tukar ke tak.. nak ke tak.. nak ke tak.. argghhh

• nmh (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 6:49 pm

Its 95kw about 127hp and 150nm torque. Im just coming back from showroom. But pricey larr….>60k. Well im not interested with waja. I just prefer G2 Persona or Neo with CPS of course. Better wait

• nmh (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 6:51 pm

radd…angkat cps larr…baru power

• mcwk (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 6:52 pm

Looks like not much is known about the CPS engine – Proton could at least provide the model number, so we know if we are looking at the same engine or different incarnations of the same base design.

Having said that, it would be good if Proton could publish some promo material on their new product. I remember some years back, if I’m not mistaken, the Campro was benchmarking a certain BMW engine performance?

Right now, the end users would surely like to know, what is the expected fuel consumption figure (besides the usual power / torque), as fuel prices these days make everyone think hard about what car they would like to own and drive….

Perhaps, it would be good if someone (like Paul maybe) can do a side-by-side review comparing the outgoing engine against the new entry.

• xstan (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 6:52 pm

I just await for review. Not much changes except for the engine & some perks. Will await for Pauls’s view.

• calvin5189 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 7:26 pm

how much the selling price? Anyone?

• kingglim (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 7:26 pm

“…the car’s low to mid range torque is a huge improvement over the non-CPS Campro.” That’s good news. Finally, Campro should live up to its promise…after cheating people with CamTakPro for almost 4 years. Current new CamTakPro Waja (A) sells for RM55k after discounts, so the CPS costs additional RM10k.

• mzfnd (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 7:56 pm

Unfortunately have to agree with Poxxue2 and badboys, exterior could have been better. Why the rush Proton? Saga is still selling like hot cakes. A full facelift would have been great.

Those who wish to do engine conversion, listen to BanyakMasukWorkshop. He’s been well, banyak masuk workshop (I guess :) )

• kakilubuk (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 8:06 pm

Wah! CAMPRO CPS? But….the car is still look like W A J A. Come on dear PROTON, we need a new shape, please bring out some sporty shape & powerful engine or a good looking MPV at least. Reasonable price also. We will surely support you guys.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 8:37 pm

aiyoyo everyone wants a new shape…have to wait la…this platform already to many facelifts…if facelift again still people kutuk coz using the old platform….better proton save cost for totally new waja 2010.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 8:39 pm

anyway plastic quality looks better

• afroiq (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 8:58 pm

interested about the CPS engine..i.m using 2004 waja..hmm can we go to the factory..and do the transplant??..i like this engine..my mitsu engine give me headache..

no pickup..kuat mkn minyak..bunyi bising..aiseh pokai la ini macam..

hmm paul, what happen to the DVD/navigation system in the spyshot??

• szw (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:01 pm

65k ?
    YES !!!

• kevyeoh (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:09 pm

aiyah…then i think the current waja will suffer price drop somemore…
    waht’s wrong with proton? always cause the existing user to kena depreciation teruk teruk…

lets talk about toyota instead…they still maintain the vios pricing and just phase out the old model…
    but what proton do is…they still maintain the current model and sell at lower price instead…this way, will bulat bulat cause the existing buyer to kena depreciation on their car….

• bobdbilder (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:15 pm

Would really like to see the torque curve on this thing. But having those signal lights down there is the one thing that keeps me using my existing front bumper.

According to Proton Edar guy there’s no black and white if they will come out with a CPS for the Neo. I know cause I asked him to hold onto my order. A friend of mine who was in R+D said it would be some performance improvement but not CPS. But then again, you don’t need it so much on the Neo. But you need something to make it sell more. At 300 units a month its unflattering. I think they need to sell more of it to have a sizeable marketing sample to see where they need the improvement. I think it needs to shave off those layers of fat. Lighter seats, plastic rear windows, Cromoly side impact bars whatever. Chapman is right.

So, yes Proton, very good, small improvements, keep it going, move on to Neo please. And get back that MME trophy!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:35 pm

kevyeoh said,

February 4, 2008 @ 9:09 pm

aiyah…then i think the current waja will suffer price drop somemore…
    waht’s wrong with proton? always cause the existing user to kena depreciation teruk teruk…

lets talk about toyota instead…they still maintain the vios pricing and just phase out the old model…
    but what proton do is…they still maintain the current model and sell at lower price instead…this way, will bulat bulat cause the existing buyer to kena depreciation on their car….

————————————————————-

Thats why their price will never drop even without NAP anymore….people can dream about super cheap toyota.

• peYno (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:42 pm

if proton doesnt drop car price.. they say, proton cekik darah,stupid
    if toyota (3rd class toyota to be exact) doesnt drop the car price.. they say toyota really care about their existing customer,

prrfthhhh

• peYno (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 9:47 pm

kingglim said,
    February 4, 2008 @ 7:26 pm

Current new CamTakPro Waja (A) sells for RM55k after discounts, so the CPS costs additional RM10k.

========================
    cps costs +RM10k?? prrrfthh
    mana sekolah??

as what i calculate.. the price will be remain same as current waja

• BW (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:00 pm

hmmm waja cps…
    I wonder did they improve on the interior plastics and all those cheap and easily spoil stuff

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:03 pm

the waja just had a facelift last year. why do another facelift in less than a year. you’ll be wasting money for a model thats already near its end of life, and it wont exactly be a high volume seller anyways.

• peYno (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:06 pm

Waja interior plastic much2 better than 3rd class toyota BLM (Vios)

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:10 pm

emmm…
    i agree wit banyakmasukworkshop comment…
    maybe proton want make last kopek waja wit campro cps?…
    still waiting 4 paul driving report wit this waja…

• ENZO (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:11 pm

so fast? while waiting 5 months for the new Saga & now new car is coming out?
    woah, P1 is really serious bout the business now……..

• peYno (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:16 pm

later(in this year)they will come out Gen2 cps
    go proton go!!!

prrrfthhh

• InsaneClown (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:21 pm

CPS engine from Proton…at last, an engine which will improve the low & mid torque power of the Campro. But honestly, Proton should wait for a little while before introducing it to the public. At least wait until the hype about the Saga dies down. Being myself in the automotive industry for more than 10 years, it is not advisable to introduce 2 or more models in a short period of time, will affect the sales of either model.

• ezralimm (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:33 pm

peYno said,
    February 4, 2008 @ 10:06 pm
    Waja interior plastic much2 better than 3rd class toyota BLM (Vios)

_____________________________________________–

Really? Cuz the vios is the same price as the waja if there is no import tariffs.

• avanza (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:55 pm

Errr… PAUL, what’s the power output and torque? Does is have VIM?

• nmh (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:55 pm

Paul I heard that BMW unveil 5 series Long Wheelbase for China. Can u post new topic bout that

• Dogster (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:56 pm

u can add all those extra performance bla bla thing but, as always from a marketing point of view, 1st impression/look is the most important aspect in atrracting customers. same when anyone goes through courting process… haih. this bloody front grill and lights haihhhhhhh. disappointing. it looks like a plastic toy car from front. u probably will die from head on collision with this.. :P

• kingglim (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:59 pm

peYno,

You can now buy a brand new Waja CamTakPro for about RM55k after discount…So, with new Waja CPS at RM65k, it is about RM10k higher price than Waja CamTakPro. You see??

• bpkid (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:02 pm

Not the odd-looking grille, fog lights and front signal lights again… :(

• Dogster (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:02 pm

How many variants are available for this car?

• Alifz (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:32 pm

afroiq said,
    February 4, 2008 @ 8:58 pm

interested about the CPS engine..i.m using 2004 waja..hmm can we go to the factory..and do the transplant??..i like this engine..my mitsu engine give me headache..

Aiseyman…

I’m also using Waja 2004, Mitsu engine. It’s much more better torque than CamTak Pro. I’ve already tuned the engine to Stage 1 and beleive me, I could easily ‘tapau’ standard Satria GTI..hehe..imagine how much power that my car have now..

Cheers..

• seisan-shisaku (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:42 pm

Huh? what happened to blaupunkt (RBMA)? someone care to explain? Or izit they only produce for the gen2 only?

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:44 pm

nmh said,

February 4, 2008 @ 10:55 pm

Paul I heard that BMW unveil 5 series Long Wheelbase for China. Can u post new topic bout that

—————————————————————-

well this is very old news my friend…..Long Wheelbase cars is common in china..Rich people over there wants as premium as can.

• mzfnd (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 11:50 pm

There’s only so much car enthusiasts. The rest won’t even care to understand the CPS. For these people, looks comes first. That’s why the higher priced CPS Protons should come with good looks to justify the price, as far as non car enthusiasts are concerned that is.

• tech.titan (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:08 am

i must say that im pretty excited about the prospect of owning waja cps (even it is an old model with different eyeliner and lipstick) . but i think it will be worthwhile to wait for your detailed report. if vim is confirmed i’d probably head straight to book one.

• chanlman (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:27 am

I still don’t understand why Campro CPS is needed to offer the market when we have Campro around. Unless P1 said this is a replacement of all new protons, then it makes sense. Just kesian those who bought any Campro today like GEn.2, waja or persona. (i’m gonna be one of the victim for existing Campro)

Many said, CPS give more power and torque. But the price seems a little higher than Campro. Why need to increase price when existing Campro does not offer any better?

Unlike Honda offered both iDSi and Vtec engines for a very CLEAR market. One for fuel saving, another for power performance. As for Campro and CPS, what is the distinct different in these 2 engines??

In other forums, I agreed, this will confused buyers like me. Why proton do such a thing?? If anyone can give good reason , i like to hear.

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:34 am

wflo128 said,
    February 4, 2008 @ 4:57 pm

Another sad story for Perodua….. Sad…….
    —————————————————————-

This is MyviKiller here, damn happy-la…

No offense please, my friend drives a black Myvi SE…Sorry out of the topic.

• nmh (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:34 am

just replace all campro with campro cps…..economies of scale, cheaper campro cps protons

• nmh (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:37 am

oh..and then offer all current campro the upgrade package (transplant for new cps engine) worth rm 5000 for example

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:40 am

Hey Paul, have you driven the Persona before? What I can say is the seating postion at the back is much better than the current Honda City, as it has more cushion for our legs, plus more legroom for the rear passengers.

• mockviper (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:48 am

maybe theyre running out of plain vanilla campro. so its a good thing if they will introduce CPS + VIM to the market now… better performance and fc.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:54 am

the plastic cam cover looks like tupperware quality.

Anyway, the exterior has nothing much to shout about. Among many car manufacturers, Proton is still the LEADER and EXPERT in producing “Face-Lift” for their cars.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:55 am

Is this car fitted with VIM?
    The CPS Intake Manifold looks different from the Campro.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:01 am

Someone said the car is fitted with standard HID

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:01 am

chanlman said,

February 5, 2008 @ 12:27 am

I still don’t understand why Campro CPS is needed to offer the market when we have Campro around. Unless P1 said this is a replacement of all new protons, then it makes sense. Just kesian those who bought any Campro today like GEn.2, waja or persona. (i’m gonna be one of the victim for existing Campro)

Many said, CPS give more power and torque. But the price seems a little higher than Campro. Why need to increase price when existing Campro does not offer any better?

Unlike Honda offered both iDSi and Vtec engines for a very CLEAR market. One for fuel saving, another for power performance. As for Campro and CPS, what is the distinct different in these 2 engines??

In other forums, I agreed, this will confused buyers like me. Why proton do such a thing?? If anyone can give good reason , i like to hear.

————————————————————

IAFM : low cost,fuel saving
    CPS: High cost,High perfomance

OLD CAMTAKPRO : No more for new models

• IsaacVky (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:01 am

Headlight Height adjustable and cruising control for automatic.

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:09 am

CAMPRO = Can Makan Proton ah?

• Scania Irizar (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:16 am

Those rear lights = Girlieman!!!

• sunsilk (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:31 am

i think proton waja don come out with a new design because it needs a lot $ to develop it…mayb after few years when proton company has enough $ then we will c how la…

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:33 am

I woulr like to see someone test all waja’s 1.6l side by side. In a simple drag race, which car will win.
    Radio does not have AUX right?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 2:23 am

i dont really why people making such a fuss because proton introduce campro cps to the market??

what is wrong actually??some say the price of current waja will drop..true but why drop??because its getting old..its already 7 years plus..so there is no chance the car price will remain the same…if you buy a car..one of the criteria is to know when will the car be replaced,how the second hand value and etc…why can people understand this simple logic??anyway the waja price has been dropped long time ago..when people first bought waja..the price was rm 65 k for the auto will normal seats and etc…but now with airbags,leather seats and etc the price is maintained at rm63000…so since people want more choice…the cps version is introduced..proton never mention yet that the campro engine is goin to be phased out??did they officially mention anything??please dont speculate..wait for the official news/announcement.

of they would have launch there current cps version of campro…again a simple logic will say…its well known waja sold more than gen 2..and way much more even the price of gen2 was more competitive..so it can be a move to introduce a product on a trusted model…and when people are satisfied with the performance of the engine..its easily sells if its put into other models…this will not be the last car with campro cps…as everyone know..so its just an introduction to malaysians…its as simple as that!!

why the GEN2 did not sell well??because its proton’s very first engine fitted into a car…people were holding back and waited for review from the people who was brave enough to buy it first…so its just like tat..now the campro gain peoples trust already and persona is the prove of it…so this is the same method used by proton to help cps gain popularity before putting it into a all new model…which might spoil the model sales if people are unsure of this cps technology…its really as simple as that….its better to experiment and introduce with a old model rather than introducing it into an all new model repeat the same mistake gen2 did…

people dont complain when toyota use the same engine in their so called new vios…people dont complain when honda re introduce its 2.0 engine into the all new civic..people dont complain when bmw re introduce its retuned/upgrade/new engine during its mid life facelift into the latest engine..
    but i wonder why people complain so much when proton introduce a new engine into an old car..haha..weird malaysians..

ok back to the car review..for the front grill a simple and easy solution is to paint it black or titanium grey..it looks way much better than it is in chrome…i saw a guy painted it black and it looks so sporty…and titanium grey will look cool and elegent

interior..proton should have done more..atleast door handles should be metal like persona..the fascia should have better finish for example like how the new fiat bravo..shinny black(like how latest laptop covers are or toyota wish) aircond vent should have same treatment like how the steering wheel has…and where is the in dash dvd??

anyway hope proton’s new mpv has all this high class features…especially how nissan designs its latest cars interior..simple/but modern,less complicated and high quality…

• adunadun (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 2:25 am

chanlman said,

February 5, 2008 @ 12:27 am

————————————————————

IAFM : low cost,fuel saving
    CPS: High cost,High perfomance

OLD CAMTAKPRO : No more for new models

——————————-

ADDitional comment…
    i think because they want to winden the price range and make more money(with NAP helplah)

currently
    persona 45k-55k
    gen2 47k-57k (this already overlap with persona)
    waja 56k-63k

they cannot jsut simple increase gen2 price without reason.CPS is solid reason, but customer could be dissapoitedlah. What why border? Most profitable company ,normally is a boring+cruel company.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 7:41 am

notice its using the gen2 airbox filter now no more the waja type…interesting…

• moha774 (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 8:52 am

My assumption is that, Proton really wanted to introduce New Waja with new face, but, the current model’s inventory is just too much to just being scrap off, so the next best thing is to off load what ever they have with new engine so that they can get rid of the old model faster and then only introduce new facelifted model with the new engine….. personally think that, at least they should fit the car with Waja MME bumpers to make it looks sportier

• mits27 (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 9:01 am

Everytime I saw the interior of this waja CPS, I have lost my appetite…

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 9:03 am

dont know CPS = CARA PANDU SELAMAT ?????

• dr_carz (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 9:03 am

OR + CAR PERFORMANCE SLOW???

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 9:20 am

id ont really understand..
    1 pipeline for 1.6 ?

mostly 2 exhaust pipe apply to 1.8 and 2.0 only..
    so is that mean.. i under estimate the CPS?

1.8 / 2.0 cps + vim in later new Satria Neo GTI? = 220hp :D :o
    whoaa.. i will wait for that one..

• king (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 9:45 am

mits27 said,
    February 5, 2008 @ 9:01 am

Everytime I saw the interior of this waja CPS, I have lost my appetite…

_____

any waja for that matter…..

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 9:54 am

badboys: since when vios got full facelift? the previous model just change lights and bumper, then full replacement by new model~ hehe :p

• Roti Naan (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 11:11 am

Arggghh!!! the headlamp looks like item from Brother’s Car Accesories Shop.

• proton12vauto (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:23 pm

afroiq said,

February 4, 2008 @ 8:58 pm

=========
    get ur self aotomatik gear from Mitsu Lancer.

Same engine code, but different gearbox type.

• afroiq (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:25 pm

hmm..i think the interior of waja is much more improve than non campro waja..i like current interior..look more solid..

why so much people complaint about the design..waja design is much more better than those city and new vios..just a bit out dated..

yup..i agreed with someone comment early that, current waja plastic is much more better than vios..i.m a 2004 waja owner and a bit frustrating with my waja interior..i wish i have the current waja interior…

• afroiq (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:29 pm

proton12vauto..is the gearbox, much more clever than old waja mitsu gearbox??

but must wait until paul review about the engine..

• King Samurai (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:11 pm

Proton oh Proton… we know you did a lot of improvement lately. But please..for this Waja its already 7 years old laaaaa.. Give us the FMC that comes with this new engine!! No more minor changes please…We want All New Model replacement..you’ll be no.1 again for sure.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:13 pm

Example:Campro CPS, VIM/IAFM with performance AichiKikkai gearbox. Use the same platform, just a different body and advanced chassis, more towards the current design language with Persona/Gen2/Saga.But Proton needs to figure out their niche market, where does this car fit in the market or even between it’s current new models.

• shaif (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:54 pm

I do agree with moha. The Waja CPS should come with interesting extrior like MME body skirting, smoked headlamp…looks play an important part in choosing car.

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 1:55 pm

i want this i want that,
    but not too soon, there will be time,

waja is not a bad poser, good looking car, yes , it is, but keep its exterior standard,
    and the best part is now it got a batter heart, and that will then be put in other model as well,

• samsam (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 2:06 pm

Its a good effort for proton.loading with new machine with a old body.its defintely a considerably move. atleast for current waja owners with some choice to change their engine to cps in few years time. engine bay of gen2 n waja should be same size right?!

• kingbrutal (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 2:47 pm

hi guys & girls…

As I told si_fu and others… I was waiting for this car since last year. So, just booked it today…

And for your info… there is only one model available which is the Premium… no H-Line or whatever… for AT or MT… standard equipments are ABS, dual SRS air bag, Xenon HID, leather seats, remote boot opening and the new Clarion audio system. Waiting period is less than a month and there will be only 1500 units made every month. The SA told me he drove the car before and it is more smooth and less revvy compared to the old CAMPRO. So for now I have to take his for it…

For the other skeptic, the reason for this model is to replace the current Waja and to become a premium sedan for Proton. And this is the final version before a replacement is made. When? I also don’t know for sure. The will be no official lunch for this model because it’s a sort of face-lifted model.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to test drive it since all Sale Center only received 1 MT model as a showcase car. Maybe I can tell after I received my car… but first impression is it a better built and have a higher quality feels to it. No cheap plastic here… mostly in leather and upholstery feel better than previous model…

That all now… later guys…

• kingbrutal (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 2:51 pm

BTW… the actual price is:

MT – RM 61,880.00
    AT – RM 64,880.00

I booked the AT…

• kingbrutal (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 2:56 pm

hmm… 1 more thing… my friend asked a favor from fellow bloggers… those who had brought the Persona to share their experience and feels for that particular model… he is thinking of buying it but want to know more… thanks…

• nanashisan (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 3:21 pm

100!!! this is MILDER!!

• theking (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 3:28 pm

kingbrutal,

Ask your fren to wait for Persona with 1.6 Campro IAFM very soon.

• nmh (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 4:48 pm

Ill wait for Campro with all IAFM, CPS, VIM

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 5:04 pm

as far as i concernd, cps is 2 staged, although 3 lobes involve (balanced exertion on tapped), (second stage for higher end)
    and…….very beneficial if vim serve lower end,

3 stage lobe setting is very possibly executed valve train architecture that used rocker arm, and sliding pin in vtech honda,
    1st stage provide a very low lift at one of the intake hence low end torque,

cps valve lift is direct cam on tappet, so very simple architecture, once tapped enggaged its ready for a fast cam lobe,

not until we confirm with its tech fact, from proton

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 5:19 pm

Lobe settings stages are controlled by what? How are the settings determined during operation? Is the settings designed for performance or efficiency?

• ezralimm (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 5:57 pm

Now i understand why Proton released the satria neo and gen2 before the saga.

Think about it. If the new saga had been released first, what would happen to the sales of it’s other models? it had to come out last. Nobody would buy a wira or satria once the new saga comes out.

Similarly, if they had released the CPS engine in say the neo and gen2, buyers of the waja would be put off as why should they pay more for a car with an inferior engine??

So they put it into their premium sedan first.

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 6:20 pm

staged controlled by ecu inrelation to rpm, or non ecu-ed is solely oil pressure for older style, but both modern and old is oil prssure actuated,
    those stage by right been dyno tested for optimization in all aspect (engineer thingy and engine performance design)

first stage yes its for efficieny at low or mid,
    for iafm / vimis taking that task similarly, the goal a batter air velocity and swirl for superior combustion at lower end,

3 staged best in both world,
    if vim+cps also best in both world,

(im not explaining the best sifu have batter explanation)

anyway let see since for sure dyno graph for cps power torque eliminates the lethargic lower/mid end,
    this could be vim does for cps exist ,

lets wait for the fact,

• wong (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 7:01 pm

sorry out of topic but still Proton
    http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news_lite.php?id=312190

• aki_zz (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 10:17 pm

guys why dont we search reviews from thailand as they go the campro cps 1st. it’ll be interesting. i’ post the link if i found one

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 12:18 am

The a/c speed is 1,2,3,4? No more auto,1,2,3? Strange……my dad’s 2002 waja premium 1.6X comes with the auto setting!! Or, the auto a/c setting is oni for waja auto? kingbrutal, any idea?

• heavymetal (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:44 am

This Waja is like a testing ground for the cps engine, have to try it first…

• carcrazy_sbs (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:52 am

actually Proton just change the engine, they change a little by little for the waja.
    why can proton just came out just when every thing is done??….hahaha

And the New WAJA CPS is fitted with the HID which using OSRAM bulb and AL(BOSCH) ballast and with auto leveling projector, which i believe is using the same 1 with BMW E46 or Audi A4 projector(single beam only)

• armandd (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 8:56 am

i can’t wait to read the full review from paul, heheh..

• armandd (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 9:11 am

anybody here knows how can i put my pic (avatar) beside my name?

• carsut (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 11:30 am

Scania Irizar said,
    February 5, 2008 @ 1:16 am

Those rear lights = Girlieman!!!
    ——————————
    no… ADIDAS type of light :D

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 12:50 pm

From what protonGL explained and what Paul says (from what i’ve heard, its switching between 3 sets of valve timings, which means 2 switchover points), this system would be similar to which other manufacturer? Or is it a unique system?

One more thing, when is proton gonna start their R&D on twin clutch gearbox? Coz if they introduce it in 2014 as a ‘new thing’….

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 1:49 pm

if refer to vario cam plus, it has 3 lobes , but 2 with the same lift,
    therefore its only 2 staged, (1 swich over)

proton cps is said without cam phaser (plastic pully is flat without phaser mech) , so lower end is not much tuned,
    therefore, this cps need for vim,

if 2 switch over does exis therefore low end is superior of course, vim is not needed, but if it variocam plus is used where its a 2 staged.(with one switch over)
    which badly need fo vim for its lower end,

anyway we batter wait for the fact, what actually….
    what i said is that refering 2 staged variocam plus system, minus cam phaser,

• mzfnd (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:00 pm

armandd said,

February 6, 2008 @ 9:11 am

anybody here knows how can i put my pic (avatar) beside my name?

January 1, 2008 @ 5:58 pm

hi guys – i will make an announcement post on this later, but for the moment if you would like to use an avatar (display picture) on this site, please sign up with Gravatar and upload a picture there. remember to use the same email you used to sign up with this site.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:05 pm

hi… to tokmoh… I have no idea… sorry. I’ll be going to the showroom today to finalize my loan so maybe I can check that…

• seisan-shisaku (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:10 pm

carcrazy_sbs said,
    February 6, 2008 @ 2:52 am

actually Proton just change the engine, they change a little by little for the waja.
    why can proton just came out just when every thing is done??….hahaha

And the New WAJA CPS is fitted with the HID which using OSRAM bulb and AL(BOSCH) ballast and with auto leveling projector, which i believe is using the same 1 with BMW E46 or Audi A4 projector(single beam only)

——————————————————-
    Hermm? BOSCH? I reckon AL now under Magneti Marelli

• altimi (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 3:41 pm

Guys, check this out!!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/article_1261/cps55.JPG

• mzfnd (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:04 pm

altimi said,

February 6, 2008 @ 3:41 pm

Guys, check this out!!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/article_1261/cps55.JPG

• si-fu (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:38 pm

Hi Guys!

Regarding the article in motortrader website, I would like to higlight something. The author of the article states that the CPS system is a variable valve timing system. I would like to remind everyone that is a FALSE STATEMENT. The CPS IS NOT A VARIABLE VALVE TIMING SYSTEM! Its a VARIABLE VALVE LIFT MECHANISM. As i have stated before, it has 3 lobes, 2 high rpm lobes and 1 low prm lobe in the middle. It works via 2 STAGE where first stage, below 3800rpm, the low speed lobe and the long runner works together to give better fuel consumption and good low end to mid range torque. The second stage, above 3800rpm, the high rpm lobes and the short runner takes over to give high power and high end torque.

And i would like to remind another thing, THE CPS COMES WITH VIM! I can see that still many of you are still confused about this. The CPS comes with VIM as standard and the VIM works DIFFERENTLY from IAFM eventhough it serves the same purpose.

Cheers!!!

• wong (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 5:55 pm

And i would like to remind another thing, THE CPS COMES WITH VIM!, you’re right
    sifu, I just came back from SS2 showroom…

• proton GL (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 6:42 pm

sifu if you confirm that,
    for me this this CAMPRO CPS, is a very good engine,

again ,,a very good engine.

• Nazmier (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 11:56 pm

To Add a comment up here, I’m happy that Proton is now moving forward by introducing the CamPro CPS in Bolehland after a few years ‘cheating’ us with its no-power CamTakPro. And now, we get WAJA CamPro CPS alongside the Gen.2 CPS (which has been unveiled earlier in Siam a few months ago). It’s a good strategy for Proton. After all, I think it is good to see some more improvements over this final WAJA (I assume) before we can see the next generation of WAJA. Proton is doing their work now! Hey, come on guys! Tengok betul-betullah! Even though some may comment that this WAJA looks ugly, old lah, seven years lah, dah fed up lah, or whatever crap… I think it’s still good to see this first fully Proton-made model in Bolehland market. Especially with some new ‘extra hot chilli’ like the gated shift autotrans.

Can you guys who always kutuk-kutuk the Proton wait and see for a while. The Proton (I’m pretty sure) is now working on the WAJA replacement model. Not exactly a replacement la, but a next generation one. I don’t think it’s a good idea for Proton to replace this and that model. Just retain the current model, and renew after few facelifts. We can see now Honda Civic is already seventh generation you know. So why not just wait and see for the second generation WAJA. We now have the second generation SAGA, so the other models in Proton family should always have this kind of improvements. Not simply replace the model or stop the production. If we replace and replace, how would the model become varieties? Look like Toyota, aiyoo I don’t know how many models they hace already.

And one more thing, Proton is only 23 years old. Same like my age. There are a lot more to learn. And OI just want to state here that whatever be, my heart will always stick with Proton. I want to see a lot more improvement from now. Because you know why? If we Malaysians don’t support Proton then who else? Look like stupid Jeremy Clarkson and the gang. Always hantam sama Proton and Perodua. We should feel sorry for our heritage. It is ours la kawan… Sama-sama fikir la.

And to Proton… Come on la… Don’t use the same engine for different model. Try to develop a lot more engine in the future. Ini tak, dari dulu sampai sekarang asyik guna engine yang sama ja. Look like other car maker, different model difinitely different engine maa… Hyundai Elantra pun tak guna engine Hyundai Accent.

Last words, good luck for Proton and I’m always with you.

• Charger (Member) on Feb 07, 2008 at 12:31 am

Will the engine goes on fire again, like the 1st gen of Gen2 and recently, Satria Neo?

• kingbrutal (Member) on Feb 08, 2008 at 4:01 pm

Hmm… if Proton follows all the recommendations about the things that they should change such as engines, transmission & etc… I think it can be attained but at what cost? Are you willing to pay more? Seriously? The quick solution is buying the technology from other manufacturers but the additional cost? Who is going to be burdened by that? Of course the consumer themselves…

Proton has been learning to crawl for the last 20-odd year… now just beginning to walk… but some are expecting them to sprint the 100m dash in less than 9 sec. Comparing Proton to other manufacturer is unfair because unlike Kia, Hyundai of Korean origin, the economic of scale in Malaysia is to small to begin with. The Koreans was very patriotic with their car where the majority of the sales was domestic. But even that didn’t saved them from the Asian economic crisis. Give them time… let them learn to walk properly first, then they can learn to run/jog. Unless you want Proton to be another case in the Stephany Gate saga… :)

• kingbrutal (Member) on Feb 08, 2008 at 4:02 pm

BTW… about the A/C… there is no auto… only normal speed of 1, 2, 3 & 4.

• MrDDR (Member) on Feb 09, 2008 at 5:58 pm

kingbrutal said

let them learn to walk properly first, then they can learn to run/jog. Unless you want Proton to be another case in the Stephany Gate saga…
    ————————————————————–
    Stephany Gate??? Whats that?

• xstan (Member) on Feb 09, 2008 at 9:07 pm

“si-fu said,
    February 6, 2008 @ 5:38 pm
    Hi Guys!
    Regarding the article in motortrader website, I would like to higlight something. The author of the article states that the CPS system is a variable valve timing system. I would like to remind everyone that is a FALSE STATEMENT. The CPS IS NOT A VARIABLE VALVE TIMING SYSTEM! Its a VARIABLE VALVE LIFT MECHANISM. As i have stated before, it has 3 lobes, 2 high rpm lobes and 1 low prm lobe in the middle. It works via 2 STAGE where first stage, below 3800rpm, the low speed lobe and the long runner works together to give better fuel consumption and good low end to mid range torque. The second stage, above 3800rpm, the high rpm lobes and the short runner takes over to give high power and high end torque.

And i would like to remind another thing, THE CPS COMES WITH VIM! I can see that still many of you are still confused about this. The CPS comes with VIM as standard and the VIM works DIFFERENTLY from IAFM eventhough it serves the same purpose.”

Thanks again Sifu.

Congrats to u KingBrutal on ur booking.Do share of ur experience once u got the car.

• mrleehb (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 12:45 am

bila this CPS engine nak pasang dalam satria neo??

tengah tunggu ni…….

• msnahar (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 8:16 pm

hmm bagus la macam tu takeover yang bersih dan pecutan yang diperlukan ada .. boleh la saya upgrade :)

• msnahar (Member) on Feb 11, 2008 at 8:18 pm

Guys .. macam mana nak upload pic kat profile sendiri ekk ?? tolong sikit..

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 3:13 am

@msnahar
    go to www.gravatar.com n make sure to use the email u use for paultan.

• aquatallica (Member) on Feb 12, 2008 at 5:08 pm

You gotta be kidding me? Waja CPS? Whats next? Waja HYbrid? Comon bro…you gotta do better than that…..relax…just a phrase..say can the CPS upgrade to my Waja Campro ka? nice one bro…

• kingbrutal (Member) on Feb 13, 2008 at 11:53 am

to MrDDR… it’s the McLaren and Ferrari scandal about the spying. It’s just an example… the name was given by the British press.

• proton12vauto (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 9:29 pm

afroiq said,

February 5, 2008 @ 12:29 pm

proton12vauto..is the gearbox, much more clever than old waja mitsu gearbox??

but must wait until paul review about the engine.
    ============

Waja use 4g18p engine with 4 speed oto gearbox
    Mitsubishi use 4g18 engine with invecs III CVT gearbox

• msnahar (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 2:04 am

HAHA great Tok Moh terima Kasih :)

• msnahar (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 2:06 am

but ok la … cuma Proton must do Very Very Drastic Change .. jangan ubah sikit sikit … so kalau ada perubahan drastik itu susuatu yang baik untuk peminat PROTON.(Protonlusion)

• bavarian (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 10:36 am

actually there is only one thing

proton should come out with all new waja using the cps that will sounds better
    actually i think the persona is overlapping with the waja

• John L. England (Member) on Mar 08, 2008 at 12:36 am

just received my new waja cps 1.6 auto today. read d manual book FC for auto 7.6 @ 90km/h & 9.5 @120km/h. and d m/t 6.8 @ 90km/h & 8.6 @ 120km/h. still feels its a bit underpowered & the gear change is better than the last model but not as smooth as CVT gear box. but handling is heaven for price u pay. wow that xenon light is realy bright & the auto cruise is wonderfull on the highways. still running in the engine few hundred km to go…

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Jul 28, 2008 at 6:44 pm

waja is just another “crap” produced by protong….ops,i mean,potong…

• puteraetiqaz (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 1:15 pm

i’ve been buy a new waja cps.but their engine perfomance only on paper..my top speed only 170k/mh..they declare the cps engine have 125hp..what happened to the proton?..i cant believe what the [roton say…i/m go for inspection at proton shah alam and they said my car not have any problem..proton just declare on paper…i’m very said with proton engineer… so prooud but nothing..zero…better u all buy a 2nd hand car and convert to evo 4…hahaha

• sayooq on Jan 01, 2009 at 2:18 am

the exterior look esp the front end is totally disappointing..a disgrace i wud say..
    how come the designers can came out with dat sort of look? typical proton..just like FAM..noting new..we are forced to pay high money for something dat is not worth it at all..power windows will soon get jammed..gaps between the interior joints etc..plastic dashboard..all this for rm60K++?? ? think again..

• P Edig on Feb 15, 2009 at 3:48 am

hai, especially to proton punya bijak pandai,
    Come on la proton, balik2 model sama tapi u all just upgrade bodykit, not much research on engine.
    As far as I know, Mitsubishi (Proton nyer abg) umo depa dah 15 tahun dah leh kuar engine Tebabo(turbo), I dont mean that proton xleh kuaqkan tebo ni, tapi dont rojak from mitsu… nyer engine la, buat sendiri la please, I heard dekat Glenmarie kita ada kilang untuk wat mould engine, and antara our customer yg suruh proton wat mould enjin ni adalah rakan senegara tapi owner dari negara lain iaitu Perodua.
    Tu dah kire baguih la tu, boleh la dibanggakan sket.
    Why dont proton join venture with our biggest company (Petronas) to do the research on engine performance and produce our own 100% performance engine.
    Proton & Petronas masing2 ada teknologi sendiri and ada duit yang byk utk sama2 wat research yang superb trhadap engine proton. Kan cantik tu……

• what type of gearbox(auto) using at proton waja cps?

• hi paul,

i want to ask….. i would like to upgrade my 4G18P SOHC to DOHC Twincam but still maintain the engine. Is it possible the upgrades? Thanks…

• WHY NOV 2009 ORDER PROTON WAJA CPS NO STOCK, GOT NEW WAJA WILL BE COME OUT???

• campro spare expensive ohh.

• Suthan on Sep 07, 2010 at 8:06 pm

I wan 2 buy a Waja CPS 1.6.
    Shall I wait for the replacement model or get it now!
    Now its the price of Persona M-Line.

• System. Kereta yang canggih
    Sesuai pada lelaki