Fiat 500 Abarth initial details

Fiat 500 Abarth

The first details on the upcoming Fiat 500 Abarth have been revealed, and it looks like the MINI Cooper S has a new competitor, although the 500’s 135 horsepower figure and over-8 second 0-100km/h sprint time looks like it is overshadowed by what the turbocharged direct injection 1.6 Prince engine in the Cooper S can do.

The Fiat 500 Abarth’s 1.4 litre Fire family engine puts out 135 horses at 5,500rpm and 206Nm of torque at 3,000rpm, but probably has potential to put out more, possibly up to 180 horses in aggressive states of tune. Expect a boosted up variant to appear in the Fiat 500 Abarth Essesse.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cutester (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 4:38 pm

Cute!

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Baadaaas lookin Bugger!…Nice set of rims…I’ll buy this over Mini anytime!..

• nuajon (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 4:49 pm

my father cars year 1960

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 4:52 pm

weird front design… posibbly fugly to me..
    weirdo rim design and color too..
    but the engine can up too 180hp? :o
    impressive indeed!

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 5:18 pm

Same engine with the current FIAT 1.4 turbo Bravo?

• painsama (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 6:09 pm

Nice looking car. The fact that it looks weird make it such a nice one.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 6:22 pm

hahaha…this cute ass…i definitely choose dis over mini…already getting bored with the mini…dis 500…trendy…

paul, do u hv any idea how much the standard 500 will cost when come to bolehland???izit 100k above or less??

• chap_de_x (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 7:25 pm

looks cute for me…looks like new beetle a bit…sportier look and great engine

• szw (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 7:55 pm

powerful small car, i like…

• nmh (Member) on Feb 19, 2008 at 11:17 pm

I shud give proton some idea for savvy…..how bout 3 doors savvy hothatch

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 12:21 am

Does not look sporty no matter how they try it. It looks weird and slightly dull

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 12:54 am

How cute it is to be loved by you…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 12:56 am

But still prefer the old model, soooo cuuuuuute!!!!!!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 1:01 am

nice little car with POWER !!!!