Fiat releases Fiat 500 Abarth official details

Fiat 500 Abarth

Fiat has released more official details and photos of the new Fiat 500 Abarth, so I’m posting a follow-up to the previously posted 500 Abarth story.

The engine under the hood is confirmed to be the drive by wire Fiat Fire 1.4 litre 16 valve DOHC engine, which uses an IHI variable geometry turbocharger to boost power up to 135 horsepower at 5,500rpm and 180Nm of torque at 2,500rpm. In sports mode, this torque is boosted up to 206Nm at 3,000rpm. This engine is mated to a 5-speed gearbox, with dual cable external gearbox control. It meets Euro 5 emission standards.

The Fiat 500 Abarth uses MacPherson struts at the front and a torsion beam rear axle with anti roll bar. The suspension is naturally lower than the stock 500 for a sportier stance. The power steering system is a Dualdrive EPS with Sport mode, which tightens during sportier driving conditions. The interior features an LED gear change indicator and an analogue boost gauge for the turbocharger.

Brakes are 284 x 22 mm ventilated discs at the front with floating ZPH 4.1.2 calipers, while the rear uses 240 x 11 mm solid discs with floating CII 34 calipers. Standard wheels are 16 inch with 195/45R16 tyres, with an option for 17 inchers with 205/40R17 tyres.

More photos and a video after the jump.

VIDEO: Fiat Abarth 500

Fiat 500 Abarth

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• droll (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 4:41 am

one cute sexy hot chick! i doubt we will see the light of this in m’sia. but singapore should have a couple of units of this scorpion.

since it’s turbocharged, i wonder how much more power you can extract out with some tuning.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 6:55 am

Wanna to buy one for my WIFE!

• abtm (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 7:07 am

lets hope it drives as well as the Panda 100hp, then it will be the next best hot hatch

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 7:18 am

bet itll cost somewhere around 180k to 200++ …Any news on Naza or other grey importers bringing in this Lil Devil to our shore..or maybe the standard 500..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 7:39 am

Wait for the Right Hand Drive first … is it available?

• the stik (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 8:16 am

can fitted 17inch? this 500 besar like our kelisa or neo? and so powerfull eh? pocket rocket? pocket monyet? hahaha

• alien7749 (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 8:21 am

135hp for 1.4 unit is quite huge, but not as huge as 170hp 1.4 unit of Golf GT TSI.

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 8:28 am

cute lor but i think its just same size of kancil or maybe neo

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 8:53 am

hey dat’s so cute… pocket rocket… Abarth is back! :D

• bolo (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 9:00 am

pity that fiat did not continue with the rear engine-rear drive layout, it would be a lot more interesting

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 9:02 am

FIAT Beetle?

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 9:04 am

The size should be as Mini Cooper S.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 9:14 am

No!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They’ve put a torsion beam at the back! That’s defeating the whole purpose of this car! Damn!

• I my (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 9:55 am

wow! w/ wide body… too?? can out P2 do some thing like this to the MyVi?? wide body w/ turbo power??!!

• gonggok (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 10:08 am

The track is too wide and the tyres are too big. Fast and grippy? – yes. Fun? Not so sure…

• kakilubuk (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 10:13 am

Expensive FROG must be.

• lchan (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 11:46 am

its an ABARTH! for goodness sake…whats with just 135hp and 180NM torque only. It should be putting out 150hp; 206NM standard and sports putting out 230Nm. Just like the Bravo.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 12:37 pm

Still think the Cooper S is a better choice. However, if anything, this sould be priced cheaper than the equivalent Mini.

I would think a torsion beam would not pose too much of an issue. Its a good compromise for interior space and handling. Afterall, not everyone will (or have the skill to) hang the tail out if it had an IRS. IRS is nice, but front suspension tuning is more important in a FWD car like this.

I think the power is also good. Like the Mini, this will sell based on looks. If you needed proper performance, the french hot hatches give you more bang for the buck.

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 1:59 pm

damn this car looks mighty fine :)

• lchan (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 3:03 pm

mind you, the “cinquecento” is supposedly able to pull up too .97g during cornering.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Looks exactly like years old Nissan March. Is the Nismo March more expensive than this?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 5:19 pm

hehe, this car looks like the “baddies’ in PacMan game.

Cuteness aside, the engine is pretty a performance unit.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 8:27 pm

looks cute, but very fast one huh!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 9:31 pm

i think fiat will bring in the standard one….bt dis cute lil beast??will b xpensive here…like mini cooper s i think…dis car is smaller than neo…mabe arnd the size of the panda…i think…btw…nice car n nice to hv one…sadly…nt in my list…4 d smaller car like dis one…and mini cooper…i think it is not worth to buy coz too xpensive here…x berbaloi…

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 11:17 pm

I don’t really like the idea making it aggressive like that. The original looks better. This really looks like Ah Bengs car

• chap_de_x (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 3:22 am

still think it is cute…my preferable is this cute car if compare to mini…like more sportier but maintaining its cuteness…

• White Jack (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 7:40 am

How is FIAT car ? Any owners who can share experience ?
    Which is a good Fiat showroom in KL ?

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 8:53 am

White Jack: Most modern Fiats are quite ok, as long as service on time, pretty much like other euro makes. For older models get the manual for fuss-free fun~ Used to drive one :)

• szw (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 9:09 pm

dis is wat we tokin bout…

• ICER (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 9:55 pm

Look like bettle + Mini

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 11:14 pm

white jack..

im ex fiat owner…i owned 96 fiat brava…good…but gt problem with the automatic gear….rosakbtw…puas memakai…and in good condi jz d problem of the gear makes me switch to my alfa 147…if u want to visit d showroom…at ampang gt 1…go there…

• l00nni3 (Member) on May 01, 2008 at 2:24 pm

it’s so freakin cute!. Will it come to Malaysia? If so any idea when and how much?

• question? on Nov 24, 2012 at 2:32 am

Is the right direction on-hand ?