Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X Technical Features

Evo X Headlamps

Mitsubishi Motors has published a list of what they claim are technical innovations in the new Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X. The list does look very fancy indeed, and stuff like ETACs will lend the Lancer Evolution X a much needed more upmarket feel – the Evo 9 did not really feel its price.

• No Reverse Gear – The 5-speed manual does not have a reverse gear, instead it uses a combination of gears 1 and 3 with an idler gear on a separate shaft to reverse the direction of rotation.
  • Spoilers In The Wheel Arch – A miniscule spoiler lip protects wheel houses from swirling wind, this improves aerodynamics.
  • Energy Saving Glass – This reduces solar heat transmission by 66 to 100%, and cuts out UV light so that the air conditioning system does not have to work too hard.
  • Stainless Steel Manifold – the insides of the exhaust manifold is smoother.
  • ETACs – The Mitsubishi Electronic Total Automobile Control system lets the driver personalise his car. For example, he or she can decide how long the interior light stays on after door closure, or just disable the feature. The wing mirrors can also be set to automatically fold when the door is closed and ignition switched off.
  • Acoustic Engineering – Lightweight acoustic and vibration dampening materials including foam filling for pillars for good NVH while minimizing weight increase.
  • Adaptive Front Lighting – HID lamps light up the way ahead but additional beams light up to illuminate corners.
  • Vents – vents are placed around the car like the ones on the hood and behind the front wheels to release heat, and a central air intake for cool air.
  • F1 Piston Technology – The 4B11T uses Mahle full floating pistons which are based on F1 technology. The pistons are made of a very hard and strong alloy. The 4B11T is about 12kg lighter than the outgoing 4G63T.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 2:48 am

The pic looks very much like Autobot

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 6:54 am

Hey Paul, ETACS is not new innovation system for EVO-X, it had been already USED on exsiting Mitsubishi Model from SMall mini car to High end models since 10 year ago. Just the different is Customer CAN control and reprogramme the ETACS on EVO-X and the rest of the model is NOT adjustable.

• abtm (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 7:10 am

i’m waiting for the lancer ralliat

• azrai (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 7:17 am

Just like its tag: “Fantastic Sports Machine”. No reverse gear also and F1 Piston Technology. Wow. Really cool and many innovation. The price surely said everything.

• the stik (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 8:10 am

mitsu evolusi rocks! errr the ETAC system dah cam handphone plak, also can turn to ‘silent’ mode ka?

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 8:35 am

my dreammmmm carrrrrrrrrrrrrrr hey paul i still dont understand without reverse gear how can we reverse its says with combination of 1st and 3rd gear i still dont understand lor any one can tell me the prise for this beast

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 8:56 am

i also dun get the idling gear combination thingy… apatu… but cool tech nevertheless… :)

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 9:05 am

F1 Tech? Where did they get it?
    Mitsubishi in F1? Never heard of it..

or is it just….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 9:59 am

“F1 Tech? Where did they get it? Mitsubishi in F1? Never heard of it.. ”

They got it from MAHLE! Who supplies pistons to F1 teams including ferrari.
    you dont have to be in F1 to benefit from F1 technology. There is plenty of technology developed in F1 in our production cars today. Alpina also uses them for their performance bmw engines.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 11:12 am

Removal of reverse gear for weight reduction purpose? I would still prefer the 6 speed CVT gearbox rather than manual although manual is sporty and classy. But technology change the world changing us. CVT would rather more luxury + sport feel. Any idea the current Lancer GT is using F1 piston as well? Any where to get the F1 piston from aftermarket?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 11:34 am

Evolution TEN … it sure has come a long way has it. Incidentally Mahle owns Cosworth, so can we speculate that Cosworth may have been involved?

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 2:00 pm

Gah pure excitement!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 3:03 pm

“CVT would rather more luxury ”

The main problem is, CVT boxes have not been reliable in high horsepower applications. plus, a manual gearbox will always have less transmission losses as compared to a conventional torque convertor auto or CVT.

mahle performance pistons cost a bomb to buy. just putting them into a standard lancer engine isn’t going to change anything.

..and cosworth has nothing to do with mahle’s piston technology, they were bought in 2005 and mahle was making f1 stuff way before that. cosworth tech grp has actually been absorbed by mahle’s powertrain division.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 4:55 pm

i like the ETACS and energy saving glass…..

these features make previous Evolution looks dull and old-school, haha~

• ganz (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 5:16 pm

nice … sure RM300K ++..

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 8:30 pm

yeah.. sure rm300k above….

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 20, 2008 at 11:29 pm

Looks like mitsu made a light version of BMW’s I drive. I would like to see how well the “reverse gear” performs under stress. Maybe can destroy the gear box? Rust Swift can have a go at this car

• avanza (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 6:37 pm

… cuts out UV light so that the air conditioning system does not have to work too hard.

Paul, UV does not heat things up, it’s infra-red. UV tans your skin and damages plastics.

• szw (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 9:14 pm

seeling it here d ?
    i just wan to see the price…
    i bet it’ll beat type r flat…

• bavarian (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 10:24 am

people will buy a normal lancer and pretend to have an evo

it is going to compete with bmw 3 series audi a4 or mercedes c class
    although not many will think so

i say so because of the size and the price