Supercar for Charity this Sunday!

Deanna YusofThe Supercar For Charity event is happening on Sunday this weekend, and Deanna Yusof has thrown in something interesting for visitors on the day. She has challenged any Malaysian driver – male or female, to beat her in a slalom competition at the event. The slalom challenge will be organized by Sepang International Drive and Race Academy (SIDRA) and a special course would be conducted by the academy race instructors at a fee of RM1,000 using the Porsche Cayman S. This will be a chance for you to drive a race tuned Porsche Cayman S yourself under the guidance of a professional trainer, instead of driven in a taxi ride around Sepang.

The Supercar For Charity event will also be attended by the DYMM Seri Paduka YDP Agong. Other guest drivers include Alex Yoong, Tommy Lee (three times Millennium Merdeka Endurance race champion), and Karamjit Singh (the World Production Car Rally Champion and six times Asia Pacific Rally Champion). Deanna will also be one of the guest drivers at the event.

For the taxi ride, there are four packages available:

• Single tickets – Class 3 -RM300/pax, Class 2 -RM500/pax and Class 1-RM1,000/pax
  • Group – 5 ride tickets on Class 3 supercars, advertising space (small) on 10 supercars and photo session – RM10,000
  • Corporate – 5 ride tickets on Class 2 supercars, advertising space (medium) on 10 supercars, advertising (logo) on show cars back-drop and photo sessions – RM20,000
  • Platinum – 5 ride tickets on Class 1 Supercars, advertising banner on supercars (large), Corporate logo included in the photo back-drop – RM50,000

The taxi ride consists of 1 outlap, 1 flying lap, and 1 inlap. These supercars include a fleet of Porsches, Ferraris, Lamborghinis, Lotus Esprit V8s, Aston Martins, and also a Mercedes Benz SL55 AMG and new BMW M6. I’m not sure which fall into which classes though, but you can probably find out on the event day itself. The event begins at 2pm and ends at 7pm. The charity rids are from 2pm to 4pm and 5pm to 6pm. 4pm to 4:45pm is reserved for premium rides, which I assume are the Class 1 supercars. From 6pm to 7pm there will be an open track time for the supercar owners.

100% of the proceeds from this event will benefit flood victims which will be monitored and disbursed by Force of Nature Aid Foundation to the Rotary & Lion Club and/or other local NGOs and foundations in aid of the flood victims.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• terracottaz (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 4:05 pm

deanna yusof? i’ll pass…

• redliner (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 4:10 pm

is she that good?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 4:31 pm

Don’t play-play, girl POWAAAH…

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 4:31 pm

fight this mak cik ke in the slalom competition? aiyoh no thanks lah…

• rushmode (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 4:55 pm

is that deanna yusoff??

oh my, she’s not aging gracefully…

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 5:04 pm

I wonder who will go and have a ride? Datuk Dato, Tan Seri, Tun? But all these guys already own those cars! And how they divide the money collected to do charity? 80:20? where car owner + organizer gets 80% while remaining 20% for the charity. Wow! It’s a scam! we’re like donating to those rich man car owners instead of the poor flood victims. IMHO

• gonggok (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 5:05 pm

Good event although I hope Deanna drives better than she sings ;)

• xenith (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 5:16 pm

jolly_idiot

“100% of the proceeds from this event will benefit flood victims which will be monitored and disbursed by Force of Nature Aid Foundation to the Rotary & Lion Club and/or other local NGOs and foundations in aid of the flood victims.”

Get your facts straight.

• BW (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 5:41 pm

So expensive le… Although i know it’s for charity, but common la, 50k o… 1k oledi expensive enuf lo…..

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 6:40 pm

Wow nice event for the weekend.
    I’d like to accept the challenge from the pretty lady Deanna Yusof,
    i’d like to lay my butt in that racing-tuned Cayman S,
    and i’d like to contribute something to the needy through this event.
    But..oh how i wish i can spend my weekend in M’sia sometimes.

Anyway hope everything turns out to be good and the event would achieve its main purpose.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 8:12 pm

50K is enough for you to fly to Germany, rent a Class 1 supercar, and have fun in the Nuburgring for a few weeks!

• kancildriver (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 8:20 pm

ignorance….. looking down on deanna yusof without knowing who she really is. sigh.

• ezralimm (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 9:27 pm

“-.- what happened to all the pretty models?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 11:02 pm

wah…gt deanna yusoff…pretty hot…

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 11:04 pm

I would not mind paying to ride with M.Shumacher. OR maybe J clarkson :p

• xavier_lert (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 11:09 pm

hey this auntie can drive really fas one…..but…1k is to much

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 11:31 pm

kancildriver said,

ignorance….. looking down on deanna yusof without knowing who she really is. sigh.

—————————————————————

i’m not looking her down. i knew she joins MME few times back there. but to pay rm1k to compete with her, for me its just not worth it. maybe lots of Datuk and Tan Sri will never mind that much money, but for us the “rakya biasa”?

giving you my “sigh” back…

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Feb 21, 2008 at 11:36 pm

Cehhhh, ol Deanna ka….??? If she is 10 years younger, i’ll will.
    Now me prefer Carmen Soo ka, Hannah Tan ka, Sarah Tan ka, Fasha Sandha ka, Annabel Chong ka…….better la……yummy yummy…….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 12:23 am

hahahhaahaha..hannah tan??yummy…it is lucky if i know her…yummy

• chap_de_x (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 1:13 am

common guys this is for charity la…u think those that will going to donate is because they want to feel riding a supercar as passanger….at that amount of money if they can donate i believe they even can own that supercar…no need to pay as a passenger…i think they pay it just for charity and social gathering…the objective is for charity but u get some back for your donation that all…

• mcik (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 1:16 am

1K..?? Nahh…I’ll pass…

p/s:like a lion lah..with her hair like dat…groaarrrr….!!!!

• engtaokia (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 5:20 am

1K..?? forget about that….
    better upgrade my bling bling car with tat money :)

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 8:59 am

wah 1k to ride deanna meh ayoyo sorry i earn below 1k a month rm1 can meh dun ride just touch that car hahahahahhaha

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 9:39 am

The money is to ride on Deanna or ride with Deanna? This sounds misleading. Btw, this some kinda rich man show off gathering while doing some charity. In fact, without the charity, i think they don’t have any reason to hold this gathering.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 9:52 am

jolly_idiot: “:And how they divide the money collected to do charity? 80:20? where car owner + organizer gets 80% while remaining 20% for the charity. Wow! It’s a scam! we’re like donating to those rich man car owners instead of the poor flood victims. IMHO”

if you actually read the whole of Paul’s article, you would know before making such a silly comment..
    “100% of the proceeds from this event will benefit flood victims”

• lone_rider (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 9:56 am

charity for rich ppl anyone??
    hmmm..can make money if i own o porch ehh..
    plus charity.good

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 10:12 am

Then who is paying for all the expenses? Petrol, renting space, etc etc? Unless those rich man is rich until they pay everything yet the money collected all for charity. Any idea?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 10:41 am

have you ever heard of “corporate sponsorship”??

companies and individuals are “sponsoring/donating” their time, and resources to organise this event.

the money they collect for taxi rides, driving courses…etc. will 100% go to charity.. Thats the meaning of a charity event.

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 11:48 am

Deanna Yusoff aye…mm…wouldnt mind riding her…i mean riding with her or in this case against her, whenever man. What do you mean she’s not aging gracefully?!..She still got d HOTNESS!!..still pretty. Its good to have tis sort of events, maybe more often and not only concentrating on aiding those sudden flood victims or other environmental catastrophe, but also in providing fund to those hardcore poor which Im assuming still statistically big in our country..The price of one of those cars used in the events could easily support a whole lot of families…kesian …

• Roti Naan (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 4:59 pm

for 1k money, i donate to old folks home -and see uncle and auntie happier. Sorry Deana Yusoff. ! think I can make the money more useful and meaningful.

Anyway, good luck with the event

• kancildriver (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 10:04 pm

previously corolla_KE70 said on February 21, 2008 @ 4:31 pm:
    “fight this mak cik ke in the slalom competition? aiyoh no thanks lah…”

then kancildriver said,
    “ignorance….. looking down on deanna yusof without knowing who she really is. sigh.”

then KE70 said:
    “i’m not looking her down. i knew she joins MME few times back there. but to pay rm1k to compete with her, for me its just not worth it. maybe lots of Datuk and Tan Sri will never mind that much money, but for us the “rakya biasa”?
    giving you my “sigh” back…”

————————-

sigh…. anyone here see he mentioned anything about 1k in the first post?