A Profitable 3rd Quarter 2007 For Proton

Proton LogoProton posted a profit of RM11 million for the Q3 2007 period ending 31st December 2007, a big improvement over the Q3 2006 loss of RM272 million. Proton attributes the profit to higher sales volume and lower operating costs.

Q3 2007 revenue was up to RM1.45 billion, boosted by increased sales of 36,784 in Q3, up by 2,444 units from 34,340 in Q2, thanks to Persona sales of over 30,000 units and Saga bookings of over 35,000 since it was launched on the 18th of January 2008. Proton’s market share in this quarter increased to 34.8% compared to 33.1% and 26.5% in Q2 2007 and Q1 2007 respectively.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 2:21 am

Proton will make more money with the arrival of the new MPV next year, and it’s aiming for the international market, so beware of Proton’s TIGGER!!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 2:22 am

This time Beroktua mati teruk lah…

• naikmotoje (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 2:38 am

hehe…
    ofcourse lah untung… kereta baru, kene tunggu 5 bulan plk tu…
    pas ni teruskan quality dan model baru kasi cantek…

• droll (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 5:33 am

let’s face it, there are some buyers who are just 100% price sensitive. they don’t give a rat’s *** about quality. or even if they do, they have resigned themselves to the fact that at that price, quality is so distant a concept that it’ll make a trip to Pluto look like a walk down the neighbourhood.

kudos to Proton.

• azrai (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 7:22 am

I agree with droll. Just look at these 2 simple comparison Kia Spectra and Toyota Vios. Spectra is a way ahead in term of built quality and comfortness compare to Vios which rely only on the T-badge (although Spectra and most of Kias have maintenance problem). People take for granted due to price and the badge. I see Proton at Hicom Shah Alam’s car park is always full with their staffs car everyday and everynight including Sunday. Busy on Saga I think. I hope the government will really proceed with the true NAP (just like CPS to CamxPro engine). More FDI will come in sooner than you think. We have a very stiff competition with Thailand right now due to their election. The Detroit of Asia. Perodua have to revised their lineup price from now on. they can even give rebate to Existing Perodua owner to cap up losses from this price revision just like Mitsubihi did for their defunct 380 model in Australia.

• SKUNK_WORX (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 7:58 am

MyviKiller said,
    February 22, 2008 @ 2:22 am

—————————————————-
    too early for you to barking here. never know what will happen tomorrow.
    even an empire will fall if take things for granted.

• sxe10r (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 8:44 am

need to increase more sell , should preparing for more model 4×4 SUV , MPV for fair price & better quality like Persona , waja CPs & Saga ….

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 9:04 am

better build fuel economy car lah find new solution to decrease the car FC nowminyak mahal owh i takut after election kasi naik aduiiiii low income people like me die lor minyak naik tambang naik

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 9:18 am

For a change, at least Proton has some new stuff to sell. I’m sure this has helped.

The question is, can this be maintained? Can Proton, continue to update and release new cars in a timely basis and maintain build quality? That leaves to be seen. What you have here is a “starved” automotive market. Consumers will buy whatever new is out.

You have to remember Proton has an invisible arm helping them out. Yes, the government….which purchases almost exclusively Proton cars (other than a few 4x4s or Kancils that Proton does not have equivalents).

• tec96248 (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 9:23 am

the day is still young and tiger can be shot too. even thundercat not well received after years of playing. changing position in automotives is nothing to be surprised. but price is really a factor, wanted know how will it be if without NAP. hahaha………

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 9:50 am

4G63T, “You have to remember Proton has an invisible arm helping them out. Yes, the government….which purchases almost exclusively Proton cars (other than a few 4×4s or Kancils that Proton does not have equivalents).”

you make it sound as if Proton’s current sales are due to the govt. alone buying cars from them…

I also dont agree that our market is “starved”. in fact, we are already a market thats quite saturated. we have one of the highest motorisation levels in the world today, comparable with european countries. This is exactly the reason why proton says it will put more focus on the export markets, especially in emerging markets. The export focus(if successful) will also ensure proton has no problems when the malaysian car markets open up to the world.

to me, the main thing is, protons needs to sell more cars today, and in the upcoming months. they need to build up their “war chest” so to speak. without which, they cant develop new models for the future. It would be interesting to see what lies ahead for Proton after the launch of the MPV, because I believe the key to their long term survival will depend on what comes next after that.

• BW (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 10:45 am

I think Proton will be back like before… And i hope they will be success like Kia and Hyundai and hope it will made it to the american road…. And of course, we gotta support Perodua as well…

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 11:37 am

long live proton
    hopefully we will be able to enjoy some benefit from this

hah, yer rite..

do they determine their income through bookings only (for saga)?
    can they do that? or is it just potential income?

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 11:59 am

Good to know that Proton is recovering from its long setback….Ya..its still to early to be speculating on its future..but it surely is looking brighter….

• pju_3 (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 2:20 pm

too early to say…let see how Proton perform in long run…

• bmpower (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 3:39 pm

I’m waiting for their MPV now..

• chaku/maru (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 3:47 pm

i dun understand why p1 n p2 supporter hv to gaduh over who’s better.why cant we just support both of them.both also hv their own advantage.

• intermilan (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 4:33 pm

why this blog comment entries becoming more and more ‘compliant’. Duh.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 5:11 pm

SKUNK_WORX said,
    February 22, 2008 @ 7:58 am

MyviKiller said,
    February 22, 2008 @ 2:22 am

—————————————————-
    too early for you to barking here. never know what will happen tomorrow.
    even an empire will fall if take things for granted.
    —————————————————————-

Perodua Myvi, the One-Hit-Wonder model?

Anway, you are right, time will tell.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 5:14 pm

chaku/maru said,
    February 22, 2008 @ 3:47 pm

i dun understand why p1 n p2 supporter hv to gaduh over who’s better.why cant we just support both of them.both also hv their own advantage.
    —————————————————————-

That’s not gaduh, they are exchaninging their opinions.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 5:19 pm

Apologies, it should be exchanging, not exchaninging.

By the way, it should be ideas and opinions.

• neurra (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 9:39 pm

congratz proton! looking forward for the new mpv~

• cetait (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 10:06 pm

Uh, I’m pretty sure 4G meant starved for choice, not starved for cars. As in, there has traditionally been so little variety in the cars most Malaysians can afford (thx NAP) so of course new designs will generally sell well at launch, whatever their shortcomings. (Gen2 wru)

Saga/Persona should do better long-term because of improved design and a protected market, but only if quality is maintained and real improvements continually introduced. Otherwise it’ll be Iswara/Wira all over again.

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 11:16 pm

Only reason is new models right? Persona & Saga. And probably next year’s MPV, whatever they might call it. Shows that people are fedup with things which are in the market for too long.
    Time to remove the perdana as well. More like Proton needs a new model every year to sustain this growth? By the time they come full circle, its time to replace an older model.
    Also, P1 has the “force”. Like MAS has the “force”. Look how 1 sided the fight is between MAS and AirAsia. Though P2 has Toyota, Gov has little things it can do, even though its still doing it.

• twinhope (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 12:43 pm

I don’t think this is what we should proud about.
    Try to remove the protection and follow what AFTA should tax on cars, if people really go back to Proton then we should celebrate our Hard-earned tax payer money.

By then with less then RM50k you can get a brand new Honda City, Toyota Vios and even a Nissan Sentra. Korean cars will even cost lower.

Remember Proton is belong to all Malaysian and we should decide insted of them.

• peYno-1 (Member) on Feb 23, 2008 at 12:49 pm

P1 vs P2 = Mas vs Airasia??
    Mas and Airasia are runned by Malaysian

P2 is run by Japanese

• nanashisan (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 12:30 am

twinhope said,

February 23, 2008 @ 12:43 pm

By then with less then RM50k you can get a brand new Honda City, Toyota Vios and even a Nissan Sentra. Korean cars will even cost lower.
    ————————————–
    lol… your statement sounded like bigfish. i missed him bcoz of this. r u bigfish?

anyway, it is good for proton for making a profitable 3rd quarter especially under DSZ management and i hope, after proton itself stable enough to sustain itself for 2 years and above, it is time to remove NAP slowly so that it wont kill the used car dealers at the same time.

• fastcx (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 10:41 am

er twinhope…dnt knw where u get that fantasy in ur head about those cars below 50k w/o NAP…dont use that kastam price list already, v explained what’s the meaning of that list b4, pls wake up! not just u cant get that price in malaysia, u cant even get that kind of price in other country! y dnt u think thats the cost for those cars, but ur t n h brand mark up till over 20k profit each sale?

• twinhope (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 2:00 pm

this is my personal opinions:

a cost to manufacture a car is cheap. pls dun be fooled by your government. go australia, singapore, new zealand, hong kong, japan, china, india, etc to see the car price there. Although their tax structure is higher then here but remember their $1 is $1 and what is ours?

1st our currency is damn weak (thanks to the government), 2nd our country good NAP policies, 3rd our good cronies need to survive (thanks to NEP, AP, etc…), 4th weak productivity, 5th….countless…..

it is more then 20 years, how long more they want to waste the tax payer money? Malaysian is force to buy. Can they perfrom outside bolehland?

• chap_de_x (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 3:51 pm

twinhope

such a baseless opinion u give overhere…cost to manufacture a car is cheap huh…wher do u get those lousy fact…every car manufacturer in this world is spend milion or billion of dollar for R&D to produce a single brand new car…manufacturing is also the same…toyota always think how to cut manufacturing cost because it was expensive to produce a car…think before you comment.

for a develop country our currency is consider high base on current money exchange….rm3.2 for a dollar is not weak…its strong for a develop country and its will become stronger(hope so)…NAP policies is dumb slowly by the goverment…but some badge is so ignorant to reduce their price tag…easy to mark up their price but when G intoduce new policies to lower it down they said must calculate it first.

Malaysian product is accepted worldwide…world know malaysian producing better quality product then china, india and even thailand…mercedes produce here also not sell here but it for oversea market where world very well accepted the quality of the product.

my advise..open your eyes…broad your perspective before making any silly comment over here twin hopeless

• marvel (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 3:54 pm

yes twinhope, your personal opinions sounds like bigfish….

• phas3r (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 10:51 pm

new PERDANA model please ! the shape is from ’95

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 11:00 pm

twinhope said,
    February 24, 2008 @ 2:00 pm

this is my personal opinions:

a cost to manufacture a car is cheap. pls dun be fooled by your government. go australia, singapore, new zealand, hong kong, japan, china, india, etc to see the car price there. Although their tax structure is higher then here but remember their $1 is $1 and what is ours?

1st our currency is damn weak (thanks to the government), 2nd our country good NAP policies, 3rd our good cronies need to survive (thanks to NEP, AP, etc…), 4th weak productivity, 5th….countless…..

it is more then 20 years, how long more they want to waste the tax payer money? Malaysian is force to buy. Can they perfrom outside bolehland?
    —————————————————————-

The prices may be cheap there, but the maintainance cost is damn sky high lah. A typical oil/filter change session for a Land Rover Freelander V6 in UK costs about 200 pounds.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 11:01 pm

And remember the fuel prices as well.

• SY0H (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 11:20 pm

Ha ha ha ha. You proton salesman/proton stackholders/proton cronies in PaulTan.Org! Proton days are numbered. Goverment will lose big this coming election. I’ve asked a ‘bomoh’ to forecast their future, and I was hoping he would do some kinda magic demonstration but it turns out he pointed me to his car garage, amazingly an aging 1980 Proton Saga model. Which he recall as, “The Finest Tin Milo” ever manufactured by Malaysians.

• fastcx (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 12:53 am

Yeah, sure u are wise to ask “knowledge” from bomoh, u are wise indeed SY0H

• marvel (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 3:07 am

SY0H said,
    February 24, 2008 @ 11:20 pm

Ha ha ha ha. You proton salesman/proton stackholders/proton cronies in PaulTan.Org! Proton days are numbered. Goverment will lose big this coming election. I’ve asked a ‘bomoh’ to forecast their future, and I was hoping he would do some kinda magic demonstration but it turns out he pointed me to his car garage, amazingly an aging 1980 Proton Saga model. Which he recall as, “The Finest Tin Milo” ever manufactured by Malaysians.
    ==========================================
    Funny, you still believe in bomohs….is there any 1980 Proton? Get an imported bomoh next time…

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 11:36 am

SY0H got the wrong bomoh lah……if he ask me, I say Proton look better in short term la.

Bt long term, very clouded the future is, lol. Against the Japs n Germans, Proton must compete with. Difficult indeed, to see the outcome.

• fastcx (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 7:36 pm

lol tokmoh sound like master yoda is it?

• SY0H (Member) on May 05, 2008 at 2:00 pm

Ehem … please tell me did that “Tok Bomoh” of mine mislead me? The current Goverment lose almost 50% of the country in the last election. Pakatan Rakyat is the new sheriff in town, hahahaha. To Proton cronies, your days are totally numbered to none!

Let me quote some of the losers in here;

marvel said,

February 25, 2008 @ 3:07 am
    Funny, you still believe in bomohs….is there any 1980 Proton? Get an imported bomoh next time…

fastcx said,

February 25, 2008 @ 12:53 am
    Yeah, sure u are wise to ask “knowledge” from bomoh, u are wise indeed SY0H

tokmoh said,

February 25, 2008 @ 11:36 am

SY0H got the wrong bomoh lah……if he ask me, I say Proton look better in short term la.