2008 Proton GEN2 Facelift with CPS launched!

Proton GEN2 Facelift

The facelifted Proton GEN2 which was revealed in Thailand earlier has finally arrived on Malaysian shores. The GEN2 is an important mark in Proton history as it was the first Proton car with the new Proton Campro engine, and with this facelift it gets a new series of engines based on the Campro. Read more details after the jump.

Proton GEN2 Facelift

The new facelifted 2008 Proton GEN2 comes in medium line and high line versions. The medium line version features a new Proton Campro 1.6 IAFM engine, the larger sibling to the 1.3 IAFM Campro found in the recently launched Proton Saga. The IAFM system solves the infamous torque dip of the barebones Campro engine, and should be alot better to drive around the city now, as you do not need to rev very high to get sufficient torque for acceleration. The Proton GEN2 mid line with the IAFM Campro 1.6 delivers produces 110 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 148Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. Torque at an engine speed of 3,000rpm is 139Nm, while the barebones Campro only delivered 128Nm of torque at that engine speed.

The high line version has the Proton Campro CPS engine, which also comes in 1.6 litre displacement. This engine made its Malaysian debut with the Proton Waja Premium CPS recently. It produces 125 horsepower at 6,500rpm, and 150Nm of torque at 4,500rpm, while also making at least 139Nm from 3,000rpm onwards.

Proton GEN2 Facelift

The interior gets a redesign, adopting the Persona’s interior featuring a redesigned dashboard without the odd clock in the middle and gaining a glovebox. The door trim is all-new, also from the Persona, and features power window switches on the door arm rest instead of in the middle of the two front seats. The highline version gets leather seats and an interior with some black and red trim. It also gets Dual SRS Airbags, ABS brakes, and EBD, while the medium line version only gets a driver’s airbag. Something new for the GEN2 and cars in this segment is Automatic Cruise Control, available on the high-line version.

Proton GEN2 Facelift

As previously explained, the new CPS engine uses two technologies to achieve the new higher output and torque levels. One is CPS, a camshaft profile switching system which changes over at 3,800rpm and enables a higher valve lift. The other is VIM, which stands for Variable Intake Manifold. A longer intake manifold is used at low RPMs to achieve slower air flow; this promotes better mixing with fuel. The short intake manifold allows more air in faster, which is beneficial at high RPMs. More info here.

Proton GEN2 FaceliftWith the extra power and torque, its only natural that the engine would produce more heat, so Proton has installed an additional water-cooled oil cooler. This can be seen installed next to the oil filter. You can see a cylindrical object with heat sink fins.

The Proton Campro 1.6 IAFM engine produces the same peak torque and horsepower as the barebones Campro, but also has had its low to mid range torque boosted to eliminate the torque dip. The IAFM engine has a variable intake manifold system that produces similiar results to the Campro CPS’s VIM system, using a long runner and a short runner. It also has a coil on plug ignition system which eliminates spark plug cable losses, something that even the CPS engine does not have.

The new Proton GEN2 facelift comes in 4 colours – Nanbu Black, Hibiscus Tea, Metal Grey and Iridescent white. I like the last 2. Hibiscus Tea is kinda strange but unique. The high line version will be available on the 5th of March onwards, and the mid line will come later on the 25th.

Prices:
Proton GEN2 1.6 CPS High Line Auto – RM60,488
Proton GEN2 1.6 CPS High Line Manual – RM57,488
Proton GEN2 1.6 IAFM Medium Line Auto – RM56,488
Proton GEN2 1.6 IAFM Medium Line Manual – RM53,488

Test drive report coming up soon in the next few weeks or months, depending on when the press fleet is available.

In the meanwhile, enjoy more photos of the Proton GEN2 Facelift.

Proton Waja Campro 1.6 Premium CPS Details – More technical info on the CPS engine

Proton GEN2 Facelift
Click to enlarge – Specifications List

VIDEO: 2008 Proton GEN2 Facelift TV Commercial

VIDEO: Proton Campro CPS Engine Cut-away

Proton GEN2 Facelift

Click to enlarge – Hibiscus Tea

Proton GEN2 Facelift
Click to enlarge – Iridescent White

Proton GEN2 Facelift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• zidane (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:11 pm

i dig the interior….

• mrleehb (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:12 pm

bila CPS nak pasang dalam NEO…….????

• dah ade la bro..infact diorang pasang kt neo dulu kot..

• Pearjar on Aug 30, 2010 at 9:34 am

Install in waja first.. Then gen2, then neo.. Now they will reveal turbo version… Hehe…

• twom (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:13 pm

rear still look the same!

• farghmee (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:13 pm

E X C i T i N G !

i really want to drive this :)
    & make a comparison with my mother’s Gen2 Camxpro 1.6 HL.

will persona come with cps?

• rojak (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:15 pm

impressive !!!! can’t wait the yr test drive report.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:29 pm

beautiful

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:33 pm

now i d say the car is in ‘one piece’

• aki_zz (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:34 pm

zidane said,

i dig the interior….

i dig with you too! now the car can really ‘cucuk angin’ some german cars

• khonglo2n (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:35 pm

hmmm…. not so convinced yet….Paul, wait for your test drive report first…haha…

• aki_zz (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:36 pm

cucuk angin i mean drafting…

• budaklipas (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:38 pm

this is wat i m waiting for.. CPS GEN2!! whoaa!! nice nice.. proton! u rock!!

• pju_3 (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:47 pm

More prettier…
    The leather seats is only for front seats?
    How autocruise function for M/T version?

Paul Tan says: leather for all seats on the highline. autocruise for MT too, like normal lah. just activate it on 5th gear. my old satria 1.6 manual had autocruise too.

• altimi (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 6:48 pm

Great looking interior….

• Bebelon (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 7:03 pm

no suprise. still the same but higher price.

• ppp (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 7:09 pm

paul, yesterday i saw in CBT a full page advert by Proton on Persona IAFM Campro… still no mention of it in your blog? ;)

Paul Tan says: no press release by proton on the persona IAFM, nothing. i can only assume they are only interested in letting readers of CBT know and not any other mediums.

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 7:29 pm

i pity the previous Gen2 drivers since they are using a less performable engine while the new Gen2 seems to have a better engine… aiksss!

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 7:29 pm

right side whats your name,
    got time singgah singgah Saujana Impian,

• The Unicons (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 7:39 pm

Finally it’s here! Based on the photos above, I’m quite impressive with the latest facelift. Besides, we get Campro 1.6 IAFM and Campro CPS+VIM engines on the same model. More choices for buyer who look for new Gen.2.

Paul, do you have any information about this new Campro CPS+VIM either it is still made from cast iron block and alloy head or totally made from aluminum? Do you have any idea? I would be appreciate if you can let me know. Thanks.

The meter also look so cool. If I want to get a new car right now, this newly launched Gen.2 will be on my shopping lists.

Umm…. I’m going to test drive both engines which equipped in this car.

All the best to Proton!

Paul Tan says: same block as the Campro

• voyager86 (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 8:04 pm

great job proton!!
    look forward to the test drive report….

• GTI (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 8:05 pm

awesome!… beutifulllllllll……

great job proton..

• chap_de_x (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 8:28 pm

my gosh this is a beauty ma….with those leather trim…cool engine….nice fl…u r looking at the complete gen2 of a proton…nice work man…hope this silence some people that always said p1 dont have ABS la EBD la…no power la….and window cannot wind down completely la…at those price i said it worth to buy…but if you dont think so go buy vios or city…this car is complete man…now hope everyone can see one p1 can do…its just a matter of time our national pride will show its true potential…just hoping that the quality issues of their models is solve quickly and reduce…good luck p1…if i have the money i will book one tommorow…

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 8:31 pm

nice.. its as googd as what we are expecting……….

• painsama (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 8:34 pm

the leather seats ok great

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 8:34 pm

all looks ok only the steering wheel ~ looks like saga

• hyundai (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 9:13 pm

This is too much expensive!

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 9:14 pm

sxe10r…which part of it is like saga? im amazed that ppl cant differentiate shapes…saga’s steering wheel design is like neo’s,but neo’s isnt the same as gen2’s. can’t differentiate? gen2’s steering wheel design havent change since the day it born! and neo’s steering wheel is definitely not the same as gen2’s!

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 9:20 pm

er hyundai, compare this to current accent, which is better? test drove both b4? tho i like new 2008 accent’s interior, but the ride is just not firm, even steering response of accent is slow. interior quality of both fl gen2 n hyundai accent definitely improved alot, for family, accent might be suitable, but for sportiness, gen2 win hands down.

and im sure later some1 will say they rather get vios/city, but for me, accent,vios,n city are for family, gen2 is sportier w/o much mod needed to try and make it looks aggressive. different target of people.

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Everything is looking good now… except, I wish Proton can upgrade the steering wheel. Not sure how the door handle pull now. Previously it is very rough when openning the door.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 9:47 pm

Looks like a toy car, still prefer the old one. Chuck the engine off, install EVO4 engine, 18-inch Enkei wheels, CCFL headlamps, LED rear lamps, Brembo 6-pot brakes (8-pot if possible), adjustable semi-racing suspension, a coat of chromoflare paint, Fuza desgn bodykits with enlarged wheel arches and the list goes on.

• nanashisan (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 9:55 pm

last time, somebody did mentioned about recommending proton to honda marketing strategy. honda idsi and honda vtec. now proton too following honda trend. proton cps (honda vtec), proton iafm (honda idsi).

from now on, this kind of marketing will be the trend setter for all proton model equipped with campro engine. i think.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 10:05 pm

people who understand car, who understand proton-lotus in its development and style, will have no problem with the design of the steering wheel, the instrument layout,
    its inherit the image of an engagging sportiness of lotus,

same as the uniquely design rear light cluter, its specially a proton that fit the theme of overall design in harmony,

• ferruccio (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 10:10 pm

I was at the launch today as well. Saw the video on how CPS works. It’s not a cam-phasing device like most systems. This one’s a valve lift system. From the video the systems looks incredibly similar to Porsche’s VarioCam Plus found on their top of the line models like 911 Turbo, GT2, GT3 etc. Call it coincidence but did you guys know that Variocam Plus is actually licensed from Lotus? ie. Porsche paid Lotus for the use of the system, and calling it Variocam Plus. So your CAMPRO CPS share genes with Porsche! Wow

• DrJackal (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 10:34 pm

Hi Paul,

I suspect the transmission is unchanged by looking at the max speed and comparing it to Waja CPS’s acceleration time. It would be a big sad news if it’s true ; fuel economy is definitely more or less the same….

• marvel (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 10:54 pm

MyviKiller said,
    March 3, 2008 @ 9:47 pm

Looks like a toy car, still prefer the old one. Chuck the engine off, install EVO4 engine, 18-inch Enkei wheels, CCFL headlamps, LED rear lamps, Brembo 6-pot brakes (8-pot if possible), adjustable semi-racing suspension, a coat of chromoflare paint, Fuza desgn bodykits with enlarged wheel arches and the list goes on.
    =============================================
    well, if you have so much cash , why not go for continentals,a used Bmw, say e36,will cost lower than 50k,the ultimate driving machine…actually do you own a car?

• BW (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 10:58 pm

this gen2 better be good…

• sunsilk (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:05 pm

like the interior especially the meter and gear knob…but the exterior view not much different la..facelifted again…

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:07 pm

damn..for a car at this kinda price..considering the interior specs..im diggin’ this..and sick front facelift. :) but i’d rather have the back have sorta some new elements instead for those spoilers.. :(

• libralcl (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:07 pm

Paul,

Is this Gen2 CPS comes with electric control side mirror and UV protection mirror?

Thanks.

Paul Tan says: I am not sure about the UV protection mirror, but there are electric side mirrors. you can view in this photo

• nh149 (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:12 pm

how about the real seat?
    more comfortable@same as the old one?
    anyway good job p1
    i’m among of p1 fan……..
    go go go p1
    proud 2 be malaysian

• trustgtr (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:12 pm

the gen 2 is finally ready!!..it shld be like this from the beginning..maybe with a bit lower price tag would be nice..he3

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:22 pm

new transmission?

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:26 pm

Hey Paul, upload the ads pls!! I just saw it on TV3, looks very nice!! It’s almost like the Petronas’ F1 ads a few years ago, showing parts assembling together.

It has gotten a bit more expensive, bt still cheaper than the Waja CPS. So it’s pretty good then, pricing wise.

• mokh997 (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:27 pm

orang tak keji kalau bagus
    orang tak puji kalau teruk
    tahniah teruskan proton mencari identiti sendiri
    jadikan proton berjiwa asia dan malaysia
    rakyat malaysia akan terus menyokong selagi proton menepati citarasa malaysia
    kurangkan vendor
    kerana vendor yang banyak menyebabkan kualiti part teruk
    proton berniaga bukan hanya sekadar ade
    jadi kalau nak meniaga meniaga betul2 kalau stakat ade baik tutup dari merugikan negara
    ayuh proton kualiti dan khidmat lepas jualan adalah kunci kejayaan dalam pembuatan kereta

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:30 pm

the new front bumper is very nice!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:33 pm

I really like the front skirting. Looks also low profile

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:58 pm

hehe can i get that meter for my neo? love the red ring

• huckerz (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 12:19 am

Good Improvements. Dato Zainal has made a lot of changes! However yaa the back shud be new facelift as well, hmm they may have reason for that… cost maybe… everything is related to cost.. well… i hope tht the performance is gud, the quality of door is better and no minor or major propblem within 2-3 years like suspension prob,lights,power window etc. Im really really wait for the neo CPS. faster!!!!!

• Proton-Saja (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 12:31 am

How about the 1.3 version, Paul. Do they give any info? They will phase out or leave the engine be plain like now?

• kerelbort (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 12:34 am

niiceeee… this should take my mind of the election for a while…

kudos for the new Gen2 advert… now u are ready to face the world.. go go go!

• scudz (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 12:42 am

Certainly looks promising!!!

• b4nd3r (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 12:49 am

Congrats proton ! you have improved a lot. I just want to add on ergonomic factor (based on the pictures):

Button on the steering, better make it bigger.
    Handbrake, too simple.

Other than that, outside and inside are competitive enough for the price tag.

Bravo !

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 1:27 am

before saying good night,,

—————–
    Proton Exploring Next Generation 1.8 And 2.0 Engines
    KUALA LUMPUR, March 3 (Bernama) — National car manufacturer, Proton Holdings Bhd is looking at exploring the next generation 1.8 and 2.0 litre engines and a diesel-powered vehicle as part of its five-year project, managing director, Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir said
    (bernama)

• infinity (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 1:33 am

“The New Gen2-The Facelift Towards Perfection”
    a very good tag line from proton…

it’s good tat they finally introduce the cps and iafm in the campro..interior improved, exterior subjective, but i liked it…the dark head lamps looks good…
    good job proton!

• 707 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 1:42 am

wow i love the interior

• ProtonSaja (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 2:16 am

So new engine? Good job.

• xenith (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 2:16 am

Yay…
    I want one….

• libralcl (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 2:58 am

Sorry Paul, my statement earlier might have misleading.

What I meant in my last statement was the side mirror have the electric control foldable function?

• Bbingbong (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 3:22 am

Paul, i have some question, how about the turning radius of this gen2 cps? is it till same like the old gen2 camxpro which is short turning radius or proton already have improve it,coz my fren say gen2 turning radius far more shorter than other proton model..

• GTI (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 3:45 am

where did the girls go?… sudah hilang ke…>?

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 4:48 am

Not too shabby Proton, not too shabby. Keep this up and it may win some more hearts over. Dig the interior. Hope it’s not just photo-retouching at work. Hope to see more.

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 6:57 am

Pretty nice touch….!..U guys r indeed getting better..the interior looks good..d trims and all..and the seats…r hot!..slap with a 16 inch wheel or 17 (hehe)…its good to go…Syabas Proton!..SHABASH!…

• azrai (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 7:04 am

I like the new bumper, the new headlamp, and the new interior. But it is still the old low head clearnce Gen-2 at the back right. i really hope Proton will rename this car to Persona Aeroback or even Persona S for sport). For Persona owners, now you have choice to chop2 and mix and match your cars with Gen2 new bumper and headlamp. Just like what the Kancil’s and Wira’s owner did with their stepsister parts a.k.a Daihatsu and Mitsubishi. The price is quite attractive due to the new line of engine.

• abtm (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:13 am

Proton’s just teasing us, you’d think that they could have just launched the Neo and Persona with CPS together with this Gen2, since they’re all the same car…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:31 am

Nice steering, i hope that’s leather wrapped.

Again i dont get Proton’s pricing/equipment stratergy. For the manual tranny, the difference between the IAFM and CPS is just 4k, yet you lose a more powerful engine and crucially, an airbag and ABS.

A single airbag is acceptable, but why punish someone that want a less powerful engine (maybe don’t need the power but want better fuel consumption) by removing ABS?

I know alot will go on saying you don’t need those, that the driver shld drive responsibly bla bla bla…. but ABS is important, and you’ll rue not having it when you’re braking hard in the wet and realise your front wheel has locked and you’re closing in on the front car… heh.

Btw, are the IAFM and CPS going to be made available on Neo? Any ideas?

• mohdjiman (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:37 am

CPS+VIM is more powerful than CPS+IAFM? any comment. New Gen-2 have press release on Berita harian today. furthermore proton will develop 1.8, 2.0 and diesel engines for 5 years future plan. hmmm…. engines for MPV maybe?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:37 am

And the rear light, for crying out loud, tukar la Proton!

Haha… I sound like a freaking basher, tho I’m not, just constructive criticism :-P

• weewitt (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:38 am

for me..the rest is okay..nice
    BUT..still the same OLD rear bumper & NOT sooo good looking steering wheel.. :( yucks!

• tech.titan (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:51 am

it’s good that campro 1.6 come in two version IAFM and CPS. but i’m still curious to know whether current campro owners can upgrade their engine? Upgrading to campro cps is totally out of question unless you swap everything (you might as well buy a new campro cps car). What about IAFM? I know a lot of current campro owners that will benefit from it.

• 707 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:00 am

i wonder why proton didnt come up with items like these earlier?

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:05 am

Sweet… I like hibiscus tea… sounds sweet…

But I can’t get over them taking out the clock… it was one of the nicer things in the car… and the GEN.2’s nice dash graphics are gone :(

• Mb_321 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:13 am

Sweet..! when is the turn for neo?

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:32 am

Finally, a Gen2 that I actually don’t mind considering to own…

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:34 am

fastcx said,
    March 3, 2008 @ 9:14 pm

if i buy this car i will changing the ugly steering 1st ~

and im sure later some1 will say they rather get vios/city, but for me, accent,vios,n city are for family, gen2 is sportier w/o much mod needed to try and make it looks aggressive. different target of people

friend in the end which one value will be good ?? don’t mix japanese/korean car with malaysia made that one can’t compare !! u think it can’t sell well if the import car no tax ??! dreaming la …

• chanel (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:43 am

mohdjiman said,

March 4, 2008 @ 8:37 am

CPS+VIM is more powerful than CPS+IAFM? any comment. New Gen-2 have press release on Berita harian today. furthermore proton will develop 1.8, 2.0 and diesel engines for 5 years future plan. hmmm…. engines for MPV maybe?

=============================

Mohd,

CPS+VIM are a set of tools, they only work with each other to get the performance……CPS can’t be pair with IAFM…..it’s totally a different world…..

FYI, IAFM= Integrated Air Fuel Module……..meaning it’s a box housed inside are electronic controlled air intake(short or long runner) as well as the throttle body….

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:45 am

Yes…..now waiting for Neo’s turn

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:51 am

Hello ladies.. Wah, congrats Proton! Finally a complete product and 100% Proton. The H-line looks goood! Now we can really sell the car in the UK and Australia and not have motoring journos bash us in for obscure quality. If I were looking for a car, the H line would be it.

Sad to say that standard safety features not in across the range. It’s like you don’t love Malaysians. Let the poorer ones suffer.

Would Porsche be fuming if Proton uses a similar system that they liscensed from Lotus? My guess is that the CPS is nothing similar to Porsche’s.

Now how bout turning the rear light cluster into a proper LED extreme makeover.

• najibxs (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 10:15 am

nice car….,better than first edition of Gen2..

• mohdjiman (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 10:20 am

i will go and see it today.thanks for the explaination chanel :)

• ferruccio (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 10:21 am

Mukhri888,

Porsche’s Variocam Plus Valve Lift system and the CPS valve lift works in very similar fashion. A pin inside the bucket tappets, driven by hydraulic pressure locks to engage a different cam profile.

Of course Porsche has it together with continuous cam-phasing and resonance intake

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 10:29 am

So signor, my concern is, will it raise any er legal consequences or backlash due to the similarity of the system, especially if the source is the same, although we OWN Lotus? anyone?

And if it is similar, would a, for example 3.8litre V8 Campro produce the same amount of power as a 3.8litre V8 Porsche GT engine? Example oni ar..

• venomie (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 10:53 am

Sedih..i own the old Gen2 manual..hutang kat bank banyak lagi..nak trade in tak laku…yang ni is better..

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 11:16 am

after waja cps…
    here gen2 cps…
    after that?…
    in 1 year only,proton introduces many fl model…
    anyway,syabas proton 4 u gen2 fl…
    :)
    nice look…but rear look same as previous model…
    wit spoiler we know is gen2 fl or previous
    paul,what the rheostat dimmer?…

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 11:20 am

i notice at headlamp have proton logo…
    thats mean proton produce headlamp in their factory?…
    nor vendor supply it?…
    correct me if i wrong….

• Realeyes (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 11:31 am

I want the interior, engine and front end into Persona, and that’ll be a perfect car for me..

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 11:37 am

venomie said,
    March 4, 2008 @ 10:53 am

Sedih..i own the old Gen2 manual..hutang kat bank banyak lagi..nak trade in tak laku…yang ni is better

————————————-

Aiyoh…. not worth trading in for man, just continue using it for now. If want to upgrade, mk sure its to a better car or make ;-)

Btw an article from James May of TopGear fame on automobiles “facelifts”….. http://www.topgear.com/content/features/stories/2007/12/stories/15/1.html

• ferruccio (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 11:38 am

Mukhri888

I doubt that there would be any legal consequence. Proton’s legal dept would have ensured it is legal to use. In any case the system has been in use for many years which makes it a ‘less sensitive’ technology. Porsche might have asked for exclusive use for a few years. They’ve been using it at least since 2001. Long time.

As for will it make the same power if the engine had the same displacement as POrsche engines, I don’t think so. Porsche’s high power output is due to it’s overall ‘package’ Valve lift is just one feature out of many found in POrsche engines.

Apart from Variocam Plus Valve lift, other features in porsche engines include Variocam continuous cam phasing, resonance intake, resonance exhaust, direct injection and many many more. Features which would have either been developed inhouse or sourced from other technology partners other than Lotus Engineering.

• ThienWu (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 11:48 am

Paul…
    still cannot get Campro CPS test drive unit ke?? can’t wait for your test drive review la…

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 12:04 pm

VarioCamâ„¢ is Trade mark by the Porsche. But the tech (dont know the name ) is licensed by lotus.

Variocam and CPS is similiar.. but the CPS is the downgraded version, and cheaper.. if totally use variocam in Gen2 / waja.. Then waja/gen2 fuel consumption will be the same as Porsche.. hehe.. then proton kena bash againlah.. :D

I still hate to look the rear bumper and lamp.. why no new one? .. after market one to be sell by R3 later? the nicer one?

Satria neo CPS? .. no need la.. launch the Satria neo GTi lah..

• kenneth1985 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 12:24 pm

Where is the keyhole to open the trunk?
    The signal and wiper levers still on the opposite direction?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 12:32 pm

Of course la Neo CPS Gti, wonder if Neo with CPS can dip below 10 secs for 0 – 100 pickup test. And how deep is the dip.., you know la, city driving.. and could this be the first ever production stock Proton to go below 10?

Grazie tanto signor ferruccio for the explanation.. and vielen dank to herr bmpower too..

• car_craze (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 12:49 pm

SagaKnight, i don’t think there is any car manufacturer which produces their headlamps in house due to costs. This would include Proton as well. It is better to get headlamp vendors like Bosch to do it because they have all the expertise. The Proton logo, i think is to show it is a genuine part designed for Proton. Should you need to replace it later you will know if it is the same parts and not get conned by some workshops who will charge you for the genuine parts price but giving you some unknown manufacturer replacements.

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 12:57 pm

i see…
    thanks car_craze

• Xoomie (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 1:04 pm

Paul,
    Any info on FC? Proton should have shouted on these issues to boast sales…
    Has it improved?

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 1:10 pm

@the culprit
    Sadly though, when doin studies, they found out Msians prefer airbags to ABS.

• ferruccio (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 2:29 pm

bmpower,

Just to share. Porsche introduced ‘Variocam’ first. Variocam is cam ‘de-phasing’ control. Meaning it alters ‘when’ the valves open and close.

They later introduced ‘Variocam PLUS’ which adds 2 stage valve lift control. Which means in addition to feature above it now controls ‘how much’ the valve is opened. It is this ‘how much’ mechanism that is similar to CPS. Don’t know where Porsche got the ‘when to open’ technology.

Even before Variocam and Variocam Plus, Porsche was already featuring ‘VarioRam’ which is their multi stage resonance intake system. Probably designed inhouse because their ‘boxer’ engine’s intake manifold arrangement is not common to other manufacturers. My guess.

• edperdana (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 2:33 pm

Paul

Did Proton solve the jerky downshift problem with the auto box? Even the slightest incline will downshift the auto down two gears and send the engine screaming like a banshee..

This is a major irritant of ownership. Could you check with them whether they can flash the TCU for us existing G2 owners with a updated programme to address this problem?

TQ

• ferruccio (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 2:35 pm

As for why CPS not yet in NEO, news is that it did not FIT!

Not enough clearance in the NEO engine bay to have the CPS engine which has slightly different brackets etc. So I think the CPS will be introduced later inline with facelift exercise as altering engine bay for production line = $$$$

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 3:12 pm

the TVC is awesome!..anyone agree?

• ferruccio (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 3:46 pm

eperdana,

I know that beginning with the Persona the TCU was upgraded to address the exact problem you mentioned. Expect the upgrade in the Gen2 CPS as well.

I’ve noticed that Proton is now continually making improvements. For instance with the Persona, though using the non-CPS Campro the power curve was improved and improvements were made in both ECU and TCU. The Persona actually makes slightly better power than previous Campro variant, even without CPS and VIM.

For the SAGA they introduced IAFM and coil over plug ignition. During SAGA launch I spoke to the engineer responsible for developing the ECU and he admitted they are continually making improvements which will likely appear in new models as they go along.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 4:00 pm

Does this mean they designed the Neo’s engine bay without calculating future upgrades like CPS?

• tyang (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 4:04 pm

Cool!
    Placing the power window and electric side mirror buttons at the door, that’s better. Are they gonna put one more cupholder there? :P
    And no more steadler-norris pencil style for the interior door locks, I like! And it got glovebox cover now. :)
    But i still love the old meter style with odd numbers.

• ferruccio (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 4:08 pm

Mukhri88,

Thats the soalan ‘cepu mas’ as they say. Do bear in mind that models previous to Persona were developed under previous management.

Persona onwards saw marked attention to interior ergonomics and build quality feel.

• proton12vauto (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 5:02 pm

#
    edperdana said,

March 4, 2008 @ 2:33 pm

Paul

Did Proton solve the jerky downshift problem with the auto box? Even the slightest incline will downshift the auto down two gears and send the engine screaming like a banshee..

This is a major irritant of ownership. Could you check with them whether they can flash the TCU for us existing G2 owners with a updated programme to address this problem?

TQ

it’s called engine braking..

• mohdjiman (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 5:17 pm

proton12vauto said,

March 4, 2008 @ 5:02 pm

#
    edperdana said,

March 4, 2008 @ 2:33 pm

Paul

TQ

it’s called engine braking..

—————————————————————-

i think Persona’s model already solve this problem right?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 5:24 pm

Yeah it was a glaringly obvious and irritating question for Proton execs isn’t it… seemed like a good idea at the time to openly ask the obvious.

• ezralimm (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 5:30 pm

Fold-down leather seats!

nice.

• wong (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 5:38 pm

Much better now,the current Neo 1.6 manual,does lack low torque,which makes the car feel ‘heavy and sluggish’ at slow speed but no problem at higher speed,even stable at 180km/h, so maybe the IAFM will solve this problem for the newer model, no need facelift, some interior changes will be good….I like the new Gen2 interior

• waimak (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 5:39 pm

One of the best designs from Proton, interior and exterior. Neat, sporty and looks upmarket too. I can live with the same rear lights. Foglight looks fresh. Front grill almost german look alike but unmistakenly Malaysian made. Black interior and some red stip and stcihes here and there are icing on the cake!

The only let down I foresee is that the owners of the 1st bacth of Gen 2s might feel cheated and frustrated from this exercise.

• ferruccio (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 6:26 pm

I think it’s quite fair for Proton to facelift the Gen2 now. Everything will be facelifted/upgraded at some point. No model would remain stagnant

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 6:37 pm

well some with NORMAL campro may want to improve lower end a bit,
    might want to use adjustable cam gear, or mod its oem cam gear for abit ‘advanced’

why advanced a it a bit?
    as a result, valve closure earlier before the dead bottom intake stroke, hence the mixture sucked in and have to sneaks through valve and seat at some velocity when the valve is about to completely closed while the piston still in action moving toward its dead bottom, hence greater air fuel mixture swirl graetely for supreme combustion and at lower engine speed. hence the torque gained

BUT higher end is sacrificed, due to pumping loss,
    during rapid higher rpm the momentum of incoming air/fuel doesnt fill the chamber to the fullest as valve closure a bit early,

top end sacrifice mean lower top speed,

• rt (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 7:02 pm

Guys,
    Last week I travelled from Temerloh to Maran at East Coast highway.
    I “tested” the Persona for few minutes from Temerloh to Chenor Plaza at 170-180 km/h and at 110-120km/h for the rest of the journey .
    Suprisingly,
    The fuel gauge shows 3/4 when I reached Maran, even though I just refuel at Temerloh rest area. Temerloh to Chenor only 15km, and to Maran I think only, 50km.
    high consumption at higth speed is normal. I did the same using Waja and Wira 1.6 before. but I do think the fuel usage for Persona at high speed is quite excessive. (or my gauge is fooling me)

Can somebody verify this!.

RT

• mrleehb (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 7:26 pm

u mean that, lambat lagi la nak tunggu Neo CPS in market…….

plz bang, plz………………. i want NEO CPS…

• snailhill78 (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 7:35 pm

Congratulations PROTON..
    Now malaysians locals automotive really can survive the world!!
    i’ve saw many gen2’s in Iran.. thats nice!!

• GTI (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:01 pm

i think.. every body already see the different … now there they have clear view about proton vision… great job proton.. every body now proud to be Malaysian…. n proud with proton…

GTI..

• szw (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:12 pm

good job proton…

• irvingctl (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:51 pm

is that a multi information display among the gauges?

• ezralimm (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:55 pm

fuel gauges are not linear…

What does the digital meter say?

• chap_de_x (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:02 pm

Paul, when u gonna test drive the car….this new gen2 and waja cps… very anxious to read your review…hope 2 read the FC is reduce and torque drop is gone and good handling for both car…guys i wonder what proton will do on next half of this year since for 3 straight month they introduce new and facelifted product…could it be the neo gti will come true and savvy get its facelifted with more cooler transmission from Renault Clio like 6 speed AMT with 1.3 iafm campro engine if its can be fitted into it…savvy is a good car in my opinion….at some angle its a nice Europe stylish good performance car…and neo gti will be tune by lotus like the old satria gti…lets hope so…this year is very good year for us and p1 i think….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:10 pm

marvel said,

well, if you have so much cash , why not go for continentals,a used Bmw, say e36,will cost lower than 50k,the ultimate driving machine…actually do you own a car?
    —————————————————————-

If I have the money, I would have bought a garage not only full of cars, but also full of trucks and buses. By the way, if you like modifying cars then it’s worth spending RM 50k on it, because you are doing what you loved doing it, and it’s not against the law, unless you rob a bank then I have no comments lah…

• KF (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 10:10 pm

Gen 2 face-lift looks kinda nice especially the front grill and the smoked headlights. The red lining on the seats of the CPS version looks….ummm…well…kinda tacky..

But I just don’t understand why can’t Proton come out with one CAMPRO engine version..the CAMPRO CPS. Coming out with two versions of the CAMPRO..i.e CPS and IAFM may confuse consumers.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 10:41 pm

tHe CuLpRit said,
    March 4, 2008 @ 8:37 am

And the rear light, for crying out loud, tukar la Proton!

Haha… I sound like a freaking basher, tho I’m not, just constructive criticism
    —————————————————————-

No, you are a culprit in this forum.
    ————

Hahahaha, just kidding.

• kinwawa (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 11:05 pm

does the previous Gen2 also have the multi link rear suspension???? never thought they would have that for this price range of cars

• marvel (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 11:11 pm

MyviKiller said,
    March 4, 2008 @ 9:10 pm
    If I have the money, I would have bought a garage not only full of cars, but also full of trucks and buses. By the way, if you like modifying cars then it’s worth spending RM 50k on it, because you are doing what you loved doing it, and it’s not against the law, unless you rob a bank then I have no comments lah
    =============================================
    Very true, happy driving then..cheers!!!

• paxter (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 11:53 pm

That will look sick in black. The interior will look so good with an black exterior and slightly tinted windows…. wah thats it this is my next car.!

• yippi33 (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 1:54 am

good job proton!!keep it coming..like every inch of this car

just to confirm though..is the logo still in colour or black n white like the new saga ?? well, since the CPS is a “special” engine, it would be great if it is given a special coloured logo (like type R) eg. red background (since the interior theme is also red) or gold outline with black background…u know,just to distinguish it from other variants..haha

by the way..the TVC reminded me of the TVC for honda accord euro..and whats the title of the background song??really suits the TVC..creative!!

• DrA (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 6:23 am

this is actualy quite nice… definitely better than any KIAs, NAZAs. (apart from CEED)

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 8:36 am

Paul i still don;t understand the CPS / IAFM it gone ?? can explaine to me the meaning of CPS / IAFM ?? it is same with VVTI / VTEC ?? Campro ++ ??

• scirocco (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 9:36 am

sxe10r

there is no cps/iafm. there is just the campro iafm and the campro cps (incorporating VIM). 2 different engines.
    iafm is a standalone module, whereas the VIM has to go together with CPS. both iafm and vim are variations of the variable intake manifold concept, differing only in how its activated. it is not the same as vvti or vtec. the closest example would probably be the variable intake manifold adopted on the honda R series engines as part of its iVTEC.
    CPS is a valve lift system as far as we know, so yes, it is comparable to the original VTEC.

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 9:46 am

go search in this PT.org lah sxe10r!
    already detailed by Paul before and read all the related post.. haiyaa..
    so lazy..

• farghmee (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 9:49 am

from the graph above:

torque at 3000rpm:
    1.campro cps & campro iafm’s curves, both at the same position,
    2.normal campro’s curve is at lower level than cps’ & iafm’s.
    this means the torque ditch at 3000rpm of normal campro has been solved by cps&iafm.

power at 5000rpm:
    1.campro’s & iafm’s curves are at lower level than cps’.
    2.campro cps is higher than normal campro & iafm’s,
    this means the cps starting at 5000rpm onwards got more power than normal campro & iafm.

if i not mistaken, please do correct me if i make mistake:
    iafm is some sort of air intake.
    cps is some sort of valve opening(movement of cam).

at a glance,
    1.cps for power at higher rpm.
    2.cps & iafm correct the torque problem of normal campro at 3000rpm.

it is good to know that:
    1.torque availability at lower rpm is really useful.
    2.diesel-cycle engine gives the high torque at low rpm.

TQ :)

• jethrope88 (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 10:52 am

on paper its a major improvement compared to the old one
    but hv 2 wait for the test drive to c how good it is

very nice interior, but the red colour finish on the steering wheel is out of place.. for me la.. wud be nicer if the steering wheel is all black.. and it wud oso b nicer if proton offers some options for the interior, like a black + silver interior,etc.. but that depends on proton la.. im just giving my opinion

regardless of that, all i can say is way to go proton..!!

• narrowband (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 1:05 pm

The front bumper looks abit funny from the side – doesn’t go very well with the skirts at the side of the car. I think the front bumper is abit too low. Anyway I don’t dig Gen-2s.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 1:15 pm

waimak said,

March 4, 2008 @ 5:39 pm

The only let down I foresee is that the owners of the 1st bacth of Gen 2s might feel cheated and frustrated from this exercise.
    ————–
    >>>Isn’t that what most other car owners felt when a new model just launched? That includes James May, who’d go on to write his frustration for all these facelifts.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 1:44 pm

hi guys & girls…

just got my Waja CPS last week… been testing it for this couple of days… what can I say… the engine really feels better and much more powerful… but I have yet to test the max speed or acceleration… haven’t reached the magical 1000km yet. But for a car as heavy as Waja, it feels lite on the move. If I’m not mistaken, Gen-2 is lighter so you can expect a better performance there too. One thing I must mention is when the engine is pushed, it will emit a growling sound like a race car. That always bring a smile to me… :) So don’t wait any longer… book yours today… ciao.. safe driving to all…

• juanbeibei (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 2:41 pm

its a smiling gen2! =) haha.. looking good!^^ interior might look better if they provide white-black interior~ haha.. red also not bad..^^

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 3:46 pm

juanbeibei said,

March 5, 2008 @ 2:41 pm

its a smiling gen2! =) haha.. looking good!^^ interior might look better if they provide white-black interior~ haha.. red also not bad..^^

—————————————————

dude! ur abselutely right! smiling gen2 lol it might say “im better come get me” LOL

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 4:06 pm

well, once Naza brings in Naza ‘ceed and pro_ceed, probably maybe Proton execs will be scrambling again to meet the standards, but that’s a long time coming…

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 4:42 pm

The ad is very nice! If I bumped into it somewhere other than this site, I might thought that the ad was made by other established carmaker. I can say that its the best TV ad for proton.

The ad reminds me of the Honda Accord Euro Wagon (UK) TV commercial.

• waimak (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 5:32 pm

waimak said,

March 4, 2008 @ 5:39 pm

————–
    Tokmoh said,

>>>Isn’t that what most other car owners felt when a new model just launched? That includes James May, who’d go on to write his frustration for all these facelifts.
    ———————————————–
    Tokmoh, the level of frustration may be different from a mere facelift than a facelift that involves new engine, performance and much much better built quality, right.

But then again, that’s business!

• Cire (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 5:55 pm

A very easy lot to satisfy indeed.
    Some cosmetic changes and modified engine, bingo! A success story?

There’s a lot of talk about not having EBD,ABS etc etc..but what the use-lah.
    Basic safety items equipped like seat belts also tak pakai?! What talk abt msian life being cheapo and p1 doesn’t care ecetera ecetera…

This is highly mentioned, about the HP and torque etc., but handling macam mana?
    You need to combine this 2 together and then make your judgement whether this car is good or not.
    Overall, its just another Gen2 with 90s tech. No big deal.

• scirocco (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 6:00 pm

that’s how it is. car manufacturers do it all the time.
    good example is the bmw 318i e46. debuted in 99 with the 8v 1.9 engine making ard 115hp if not mistaken. facelifted in 2002 with the 16v dbl vanos valvetronic alloy 2.0 making 143hp. did that make anyone pissed off? i’m sure it did, upgrades always do.
    if u want a better car/computer/etc then u have to wait. but its a never ending wait, so u just end up buying what is available then and live with it.

• mohdwahidi (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 6:59 pm

rt said,

March 4, 2008 @ 7:02 pm

Guys,
    Last week I travelled from Temerloh to Maran at East Coast highway.
    I “tested” the Persona for few minutes from Temerloh to Chenor Plaza at 170-180 km/h and at 110-120km/h for the rest of the journey .
    Suprisingly,
    The fuel gauge shows 3/4 when I reached Maran, even though I just refuel at Temerloh rest area. Temerloh to Chenor only 15km, and to Maran I think only, 50km.
    high consumption at higth speed is normal. I did the same using Waja and Wira 1.6 before. but I do think the fuel usage for Persona at high speed is quite excessive. (or my gauge is fooling me)

Can somebody verify this!.

RT
    ———————————————————

Hello…

You don’t have to worry about the fuel gauge behaving that way. IMHO and my experience using my car (Civic 1.8), the fuel gauge moves quicker from the full bar until the middle of the gauge. So, what I have always experienced is that, my car fuel gauge will show lose the first bar of fuel just after I get back from work the next. My work place is just 5 minute drive.

But, when the fuel gauge past the middle, it starts to get slower. Sometimes, the last three bar can last up to 5 days until it became completely empty(the fuel bar, not the gas).

Hope that gives you a little bit of information..

• nmh (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 11:43 pm

one problem……GATE SHIFTER IS MISSING
    overall BRAVO
    but how bout the resale value of current gen2….rasa nak trade in my old gen2…replace with NEO CPS

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 11:53 pm

nmh, wait for neo facelift lah

• wong (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 1:23 am

proton GL said,

March 4, 2008 @ 6:37 pm

might want to use adjustable cam gear, or mod its oem cam gear for abit ‘advanced’
    ==============================================
    After replacing my std manifold to a performance extractor,I noticed some improvements overall, and the guy suggested an adjustable campulley that will increase lower torque but my question is:
    1. Will it harm the engine? 2.Does it effect fuel consumption? 3.Lower top speed means can it still go till 180-200km/hr( I like driving fast at highways for long distance?4. For Rm500 is it worth it?..Any suggestion?

• edperdana (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 3:13 pm

TQ Ferrucio
    Glad to know Proton believe in continuous improvement and that they addressed this with the Persona TCU.

I appreciate Engine braking like the next man if the progamming made the downshift smooth.. just compare the perdana vs g2..its blatantly obvious difference. the problem is also exacerbated by the lack of sound deadening material in the cabin(hopefully addressed with the new model)..

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 4:45 pm

wong said,
    March 6, 2008 @ 1:23 am

proton GL said,

March 4, 2008 @ 6:37 pm

==============================================
    After replacing my std manifold to a performance extractor,I noticed some improvements overall, and the guy suggested an adjustable campulley that will increase lower torque but my question is:
    1. Will it harm the engine? 2.Does it effect fuel consumption? 3.Lower top speed means can it still go till 180-200km/hr( I like driving fast at highways for long distance?4. For Rm500 is it worth it?..Any suggestion?
    ———————————————————

wong, exhaust job is good to extract power at mid to higer range since back pressure reduced,

cam pully setting dont harm engine, unless adjuster bolt came off,
    since advance setting only good for lower to mid end torque,
    theres an issue of bit higher consumption at higher speed or higher end since it doesnt work the best at high end, when it pushed to surpass that ,

rm 500 not worth,
    batter stick to original setting, since you like engine on revy side,
    (probally this is the setting of a campro)

(so any fixed engine seting reflect the purpose of the use)
    and thats why comes vvti to solve this problem,

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 5:27 pm

in the event of this fixed engine mod,

one should be awared of ignition timing taking its reading from, which might be altered if ignition timing is taken from cam position sensor, (need ignition timing corrected)
    but its ok if crank sensor reads for ignition timing,
    depends on type of engine,

• wong (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 5:47 pm

proton GL, thanks for the info, better stick to the original cam pulley setting,since I like driving fast only on highways….

• shikamaru5314 (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 11:51 pm

Paul, Is it possible to mod this system to run something similar with 3 stage vtec system?

Meaning on middle range rpm only activate one of the CPS to High Lift,
    So the range will be…

both low lift -> 1 high lift 1 low lift –> both high lift ….

Because I see that it use electro hydraulic actuator to activate the CPS……

hrm……

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 1:43 am

cps idealy designed for 2 stage,
    it has 3 lobes but with 2 different profiles,
    means only the center lobe is low or i would say normal profile, left and right is high profile,
    when the tapped locked for high cam, both left and right lobe exert the tappet in a balanced manner(left end and right end), balanced is a must since the cam directly hit the tapped,

and the design of cps is in simplicity,

so very imposibble this design to employ 3 stage,
    unless the valvetrain use rocker arm, capable to take a bit comlexity to anggage 3 different mode of lift, with two slder pin like that,

but the porsche who also use cps adop variable cam phasing (vvt) additonal to its cps therefore variocam plus
    thus might be vvt+cps performs as good as 3 satge,
    very more likely its vvt(cam phaser) contribute to enhance its lower rpm torque,

so for proton, cps, is good for midrange and higher end
    and low end considerable being taken care of its VIM select/tuned length/diameter plenum for lower end, considerably good alternative to vvt incombination with cps,

how much batter vim compare to vvt at lower end, we need need idetical engine and graphs,

• shikamaru5314 (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 9:35 am

I just wondering,
    Because CPS use cam profile switching on the tappet, Meaning it totally independent from the cams. If each tappet can be individually activated….
    …….
    Some link on Variocam plus
    wheeltalk.fancal.net/?p=366

• premierauto (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 9:43 am

when waja 1.6 CPS + IAFM will be produce?? hehehehe…imagine….

• hariff (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 10:42 am

Mr. Paul, can u comment between Gen 2 with CPS and myvi SE, which is better for young executive? from maintainence, oil consumption, performance, town use?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 1:10 pm

what myvi man…dont spoil this thread plz !

• marvel (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 2:32 pm

Hariff,very simple comparison,female drivers will mostly go for myvi,maybe because of it’s ‘girlish’ design…even p2 admitted than half of myvi buyers are woman,that’s why they can sustain good sales till now..(‘girlish is also applied to other things ex. music,fashion,colours,hobbys etc and of course cars…)

• kennytan70 (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 4:48 pm

Persona with IAFM engine currently on sale already. Price increase by RM500 to RM1,000. Want to see if they will launch Persona CPS. Proton, please take note!

• ah liew (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 10:40 pm

It seems everyone is asking for a CPS engine on Neos… i own a 6mths old Neo 1.6 (H) manual. As you all know for Waja & Gen 2 owners with Campro engines, it’s a very very Hot engine compared to many cars & very dependant on good & original coolants. i can’t imagine how High the Temp it’ll be if it has a CPS engine.

Lastly, i don’t think i have the time to wait for a CPS engines in Neos coz i modify one at the kaki lima ah beng acessories shop! ha! ha!

• esong82 (Member) on Mar 08, 2008 at 11:47 am

Why still 15″ rim? Sport car shall come with larger rim… Proton should try to make this car lighter than 1,000kg for better performance…

Why still selling the old type engine with IAFM since there are better one (CPS)? Perhaps there is too much of old stock…

Proton should offer IAFM to current GEN2, PERSONA and SATRIA NEO user (with reasonable price) to compensate for selling them car with yet developed engine and not just let them suffer and envy about the new engine…

• AvE (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 12:36 am

feel sorry for previous gen2 owner~…so left behind…VRrOOoOM~…..

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 1:06 am

hariff said,

March 7, 2008 @ 10:42 am

Mr. Paul, can u comment between Gen 2 with CPS and myvi SE, which is better for young executive? from maintainence, oil consumption, performance, town use?

>>>Terribly sorry, bt as marvel has said, this is a sexist choice. Sexist as in Gen2 will be inclined to the males, while Myvi is inclined to the females.

The reason is quite simple: their raison d’etre. Gen.2 is developed with Lotus handling and technology to make it feel at home on tracks yet, just practical enough for normal road usage. Even if the owners may not be driving on the track at all, that adrenaline excitement will always be present in the car wherever it goes, present enuf to make the driver fantasise of being on a real track, even if he’s actually crawling during rush hours. The cons? The badge’s poor brand image, the mileage, the practicality, maintenance cost and of course, poor second-hand value.

Myvi OTOH, is built by an accountant and PR manager. They’re cheaper to buy, cheaper to maintain, consume less petrol, and they have high second-hand value. With that the accountant’s job is done, but the PR manager thought “that’ll be too boring. The people think a car is interesting if it has some sporty aspect in it,” and then the accountant further commented “statistics show if you make it ‘special edition’, it can command a higher price.” Of course, since nobody in P2 are real racers, they’ll never know how to make a real sporty car, so they passed a survey around their staff oni to get the majority thinking sporty = change bodykits + leather seats. The women are fine with that, but men, especially the romantic adventurous-spirited ones will look at it as a poser.

As a conclusion, Myvi is the winner on (financial) paper, but on the road, the Gen2 is the real McCoy.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 1:31 am

Oh, if anyone got offended by my comment, I apologise for I have no intention to degrade any gender, but it’s just a matter of distinguishing their characteristic ie which model is being feminine or masculine.

• sirzex (Member) on Mar 12, 2008 at 10:20 pm

good one proton.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 10:11 pm

paul, if im not mistaken the campro cut away video shown is without cps,
    -because camshaft with 1 lobe profile,

its campro iafm,
    (correct me)

• ganz (Member) on Mar 18, 2008 at 9:42 am

Proton should offer IAFM to current GEN2, PERSONA and SATRIA NEO user (with reasonable price) to compensate for selling them car with yet developed engine and not just let them suffer and envy about the new engine…

————————–

is it possible?

• pearjar (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 11:59 am

Just book gen2. cps =) Can’t wait to drive…

• shaif (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 9:03 am

Congratulation on your new ride. Do update us on positive and negative side on G2, since I’m in dilemma to get G2 or waja.

• thomas4688 (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 10:55 am

This stupidProton car is stupid, they look like the same!!!!!!!!!!!!

• thomas4688 (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 10:55 am

This stupidProton car is stupid, they look like the same!!!!!!!!!!!!

• johnson wong (Member) on Mar 29, 2008 at 1:28 am

125hp… hmm.. better than the new toyota 1.6 dual vvti wei… cun cun

• Brick (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:59 am

Tokmoh said

————–
    i agree!!!!!!!!!!!!

i’m owner of 1st batch gen2, well like what tokmoh said, i feel cheated with this new Gen2 CPS…..and then looking at the price tag make me feel more cheated and angry, no big difference in price, believe me i’am willing to pay more than RM150 in my monthly installment if P1 dare to install campro CPS in my Gen2……are you dare to do that P1 (Where is sifu ahh?)

to date i already invested 3 – 4k to eliminate the lousy low end torque of my CamTakpro engine…….how many want to push 4000 – 5000 rpm for daily driving!!!!!!!

yes bisnes is still bisnes, but they betryed my loyalty to malaysian car maker for their own good!!!!!……after get some return of investment from sale of old gen2 they come out with this cps model with very little price different……

tak tau la mana mereka letak moral dlm kerja…..

• Brick (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 12:24 pm

testing2 123

• pearjar (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 9:10 am

Just got my gen.2 yesterday. Test drive it last night. So far so good. Better accelerate at 3000 rpm then waja (not campro one). CPS really help… But still not expert driving M/T car.. (Drove A/T car for 7 years, exactly after got P license ).. =p However, Proton still not doing their homework. The lock still not line make it hard to shut properly. Have to use the screw driver to fix it.

http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o285/pearjar/gen2CPS/up4.jpg
    http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o285/pearjar/gen2CPS/up5.jpg

• mrleehb (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 2:21 pm

bila nak keluarkan report test drive?? dah berminggu2 dah ni…….

• altec1111 (Member) on Apr 07, 2008 at 5:47 pm

pearjar since u got the car already, can you post some of the info on the car, how’s the car etc.. comments… cant find any test drive report on this car yet..

• pearjar (Member) on Apr 08, 2008 at 10:24 am

Sorry on the first place… I’m not really know about car actually.. Do provide me with type of information that i need to share… As i said before, the car is acceleration or pickup is better than waja, not the campro one… I’ve try to drive at 140km/j yesterday. Not so noise from the engine, but loud at 5500 rpm.. No noise from the wind blow.. I fell little vibration on gas paddle when light push… Still not expert on gear shifting, but it easy to shift although need to push ‘habis’ the clutch. The remote control range still short that i need to get close to the car… The safetint not really nice install, have air bubble at every windows…

• cibengism (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 10:28 am

pearjar, my gen2 cps safetint don’t have such prob. no bubble at all.
    agree on the remote, only a short range. no prb so far. only when corner can feel so body flexing sound of some sort. will complain during the first service.

yesterday i tested the new vios, for comparison, vios is lighter on the foot noticebly but vios seating position seems higher. both car also acceptable, depends on preference.

• Azamir82 (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 8:22 pm

i’m still waiting for my CPS A/T….one month waiting already..

• Azamir82 (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 8:23 pm

I’m still waiting my CPS…one month wait already…
    I am really eager to drive this beauty..

• aenz81 (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 1:11 pm

Woah…. this car is ROCK!! i feel pity with the owner of 1st and 2nd batch Gen2’s. hehe…why dont Proton recall Gen2 1st and 2nd batch owner and “pasang IAFM and new ECU” inside their car for free…. maybe this will, at least “pujuk” them for not hate Proton anymore because they got a “lemon car”…at least there improvement in their car that will make them “sejuk hati”… huhu…just my opinion…

• aenz81 (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 1:32 pm

cibengism said,
    April 11, 2008 @ 10:28 am

pearjar, my gen2 cps safetint don’t have such prob. no bubble at all.
    agree on the remote, only a short range. no prb so far.
    ————————————————————
    Yes cibengism… the remote is “memang to be design to unlock in short range” due to safety precoution….look at all perodua cars. People can unlock their cars at least in 50-100 meters of range. Ok, for example(kancil)… if u inside ur house, park the car 30meters between house inside carpark and u suddenly unlock the car without ur notice and i’m pretty sure that u will lose all ur belong inside that car. That was easy for “car bugglar” right??

• cikedish_83 (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 4:01 pm

Dear paul, well there got some romours that this gen2 cps is just same as old one, modified only on its engine. I have a favour,can u tell me which are good compare on this gen2 cps with waja cps?

Paul Tan says: Why would you or anyone believe that rumour when it has a new dash and door panel design, and a new engine as well?

• cikedish_83 (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 11:22 am

TQ paul for ur kind. Have u test drive this Gen2 cps?how bout the result? Besides, does this new Gen2 are worth for fuel economy?

• c0nditi0n_zer0 (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 3:03 pm

Paul, when can we get the test drive of this car?

• c0nditi0n_zer0 (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 3:21 pm

Paul, when can we get the test drive report of this car?

• oscarsmh (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:25 am

I guess he’s not goin to do anymore test drive for proton as someone bashin him gettin benefits frm proton through wikipedia,anyway still keen to wait for your test drive,Paul…hope u won’t get beat down by these basher

• oscarsmh (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:27 am

waiting for your test drive,any black color available yet?how long u need to wait for the arrival once u book?(important)

• pearjar (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 12:17 pm

oscarsmh, at the place i bought my car, there was a nabu black cps. The car belong to one girl that book on the same week as me. But she could not get it due to financing prob. The car still there last week as i go there to register the captor. Mine is iridescent white.

• oscarsmh (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 4:44 pm

so how’s the car,congrats anyway,lol,still tinkin lo,for me i sure go for manual,liked speed a bit sometimes,hate auto cause i can’t drive a car without doin anything on my left hand,sure felt sleepy,hee

• oscarsmh (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 4:51 pm

forgot to ask,how abt the security,any satelite/tracking security system (forgot the name of the system) in it?

• pearjar (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 11:14 am

Black one nice.. hehe.. The security tracking system called captor. I’ve register it for free, but just for this year. Next year it will be charge rm50 annually.

p/s: my friend wanna buy the metal grey one. Look forward to see that color..

• Kapuh (Member) on Apr 22, 2008 at 3:11 am

Latest Proton’s car did not have captor anymore, they replaced it with the myNavi GPS. Captor’s contract has been terminated….

• romdi (Member) on Apr 23, 2008 at 1:12 pm

pearjar,
    does ur car already equipped with Captor?
    I checked with Netstar ( the company that supply the Captor), they said the new Gen.2 CPS dun have Captor..

another things..does ur car got auto cruise?..since in the brochure stated there even manual Gen.2 CPS got auto cruise…but I checked in the showroom, I saw the manual one dun have..

• pearjar (Member) on Apr 24, 2008 at 12:01 pm

romdi,
    I just aks to the car dealer that i wanna register my captor. Then she said that i need the fill the netstar form and it is free of charge. Then she said that annually fee will be RM50 during renewing the road tax. That’s all…. But i’ll ask them again about the status.. Thank u for the information…

It’s true that the m/t not have the auto cruise. Already ask the car dealer. But i’ll ask again the SC people during my 1k service to conform.

• ketum (Member) on May 05, 2008 at 11:47 pm

pearjar… it’s black color is still available.. where u bought ur car?

• pearjar (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 8:43 am

Already taken… Just saw Hibiscus Tea color on the show room yesterday. But they said nabu black color still available. I brought at JM auto, kelantan. Opposite kb mall.

• cikedish_83 (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 11:02 am

Alop pearjar..

Well i’m goin back to kb when school holidays coming, so how can i contact u..since u have book one gen2 cps, i need to ask sometin u by personnel coz i’m also crazy with this new gen2 cps.. So hope to c u soon..adios bro.

• pearjar (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Hi cikedish_83..

I’m not in kelantan from 18-22 may. If you wanna discuss something, this is my email. [email protected]. I can give my contact no if you want.

p/s: I’ll book another gen2 cps this evening for my friend. He wanna buy metal grey color one.. =)
    About the captor, i had email to netstar and ask about the registration. They said that they haven’t receive fax from the car dealer yet, and asked me to do so. But when i asked the car dealer, they said that they already fax the form and post the original form to netstar. I think i just need to wait for respond from netstar.

• ketum (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 7:31 am

pearjar,

As what i know… proton is not produce nimbu black for gen2 cps at this moment.. i have booked for gen2 cps with nimbu black colour…. but now it is almost 2 month waiting for nimbu black.. Now.. i’m taking an action by searching for nimbu black at all proton dealer who has the nimbu black colour. i found one dealer which who has that colour… just waiting for LOU validating date is expired for previous dealer because the don’t want to release my cancellation. huhuhu…

• pearjar (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 8:57 am

Hi ketum,

Yesterday i went to jm otomobil. The manager said that proton have problem in producing gen2 cps and saga blm. All the problems will settle before september. They only have 1 hibiscus tea a/t in stock (on display) for now. So, they will call my friend if they can find metal grey m/t for him. I will ask my friend to ask them about nabu black color. You want m/t or a/t?

Then i went to another shop. They have the nabu black on display. I didn’t ask them is that car just for display or can buy one…

p/s: Just knew that the trunk can be open by remote.. Hehe…

• rockkyman (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 10:49 pm

wow this is malaysian sport car with 4 doors
    if proton put iafm+cps+vim what will it horsess be?
    maby 160?

• Ricc (Member) on May 20, 2008 at 2:21 pm

I wonder where is paul’s test drive report.. or did i miss it?

• Ricc (Member) on May 20, 2008 at 2:31 pm

Whr’s the test drive report??

• reza110 (Member) on Jun 05, 2008 at 12:39 am

hi every body
    yes i buy new gen 2 and i realy satisfy its realy exclosive sporty sexy car
    but i have 1 problem!!
    when the weather is rainy my wiper blade dident worked well means didnt cleen well. idont know best brand wiper blade for gen2 what is that until i buy it ………………
    i need every body are this blog becouse im not local malaysian im international student in university and im in malaysia 3 month ago
    i need help evry one tnx so much

• pearjar (Member) on Jun 05, 2008 at 9:47 am

Hi reza 110…

It doesn’t matter what brand you buy, just make sure the size right. If you buy the cheap one, it will not last. I think, you just buy the wiper blade treatment for the moment. See if it work.

-Share Is Care-

• reza110 (Member) on Jun 05, 2008 at 10:37 pm

hi
    thanks for your suggestion
    but i don’t know what size my wiper blade is
    so i guess my size is same as waja 19-21
    im not sure abut that
    please help little more
    tnx

• kennytan70 (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 2:10 pm

Just placed a booking for Gen 2 CPS auto. Should take delivery in about 1 month’s time. Can’t wait to drive it.

• pearjar (Member) on Jun 07, 2008 at 12:19 pm

reza110,
    Original Gen2 size is 18/19. If u want to switch the bigger ones, the maximum is 19/21..

kennytan70, congrats… =)

• reza110 (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 12:44 am

hi
    thank you very much dear pearjar
    i will use it

• kennytan70 (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 8:37 am

pearjar, thank you.

any comments on your car so far?

• reza110 (Member) on Jun 12, 2008 at 11:43 pm

hi egain
    ok my car is gen2 cps 2008 transmison is manual high line
    and color is black solid
    im satisfy very much its realy good car everything is ok
    music system alloy ring seat is prety sporty
    its so good for me
    but sometimes when i drive and chang the transmison rpm is low acceleration not good on the other hand when changing transmison with hi rpm everything is good
    what ever gen 2 has good facilites for me
    tnx bye

• reza110 (Member) on Jun 13, 2008 at 1:40 am

hi every body …
    oh no my GOD. i have bad news
    i had an accident today in KL …………………………
    i have to know where can i bring my car for repairing color becuse
    whiche places are near the putrajaya,
    quality is best and price is reasonable becuase my car is new i bye it 1 month ago….
    my email is :
    if evry of you help me i will be hapy and tanx egain …

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 7:14 pm

I was wondering why no one talk about FC for this new CPS Gen2?
    Can provide some infor regarding FC?
    thx

• pearjar (Member) on Jun 19, 2008 at 8:24 am

First weak bought this car, the fc was 7.0 -7.5 /100km. After a month, the fc was 8.0-8.5 /100km. And know, after 2 month, the fc is 9.0-9.5.. All of that for normal city driving….

-Share is Care-

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 12:57 am

pearjar, taking ur figure 9L/100Km…sounds very high FC oh…
    somemore its MT…then i can assume the auto may do much worst than MT….then this so-called improved CPS doesnt make a different compare to older engine.
    its like higher performance but at the same time you need to sacrifice the same amount which match equal to it. This doesnt shows any sign of improving beside perhaps, quality build and nicer accessories…?

• pearjar (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 8:16 am

No comment about that. Maybe my way of driving is not normal… =)

• mrleehb (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 7:06 am

assalamualaikum pearjar.

can u find me an secondhand savvy 1.2 amt hline??

call me at 0139823004.

tq.

• pearjar (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 8:27 am

Wsalam…

I’m not car dealer… =P Just share something with you guys…

• gorengpisang (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 6:35 pm

Hahahaha…funny car….share with u guys…when the Gen2 1st launch in PJ uptown showroom & I went to take a look (window shopping), a malay saleman came to me & said: Abang ini kereta BAGUS! bang bang bang…. The whole viewing takes abt 2-3 minutes and he keep on saying the word “Bang”= Abang & “Bagus”…Lastly, when i open the back bonnet & close it -the hytro pull down very strongly and with a Very very strong noise of !!!!” BANG”!!!!!!!!!! & the saleman said: Abang ini “Bagus” bang!!!!!

END.

We should love buatan Malaysia…Malaysia BOLEH!

• romdi (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 9:16 am

It almost 3 months since I placed a booking for this gen.2 cps (manual)…
    till now, still no news when can i get my car..
    the salesman said proton is having problems to get parts supply from vendors..

is it true??

• kennytan70 (Member) on Jul 04, 2008 at 8:14 pm

I have placed booking for gen 2 cps (auto) on June 4 & the dealer say I should get my car sometime next week. I am keeping my finger crossed that I won’t face the same problem as romdi, having to wait for his car. Please, please, proton, please deliver my car next week & don’t dissapoint me as I need my car for work! For your info, I
    this is personally my second proton purchase and in my family, we have owned a total of 7 proton cars already!
    So please don’t let me down.

I just can’t wait to enjoy driving my gen 2 cps!

• kennytan70 (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 4:01 pm

I am still waiting for my Gen 2 CPS to arrive. The dealer says now expect car to arrive by this month! He is confident that it will be delivered by this month as he says Proton has just commence production of CPS variant because his dealership has just received 2 units of Waja CPS after 2 months of waiting period. Hope this is true!
    Well, I qm keeping my fingers & toes crossed!

• romdi (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 5:45 pm

the dealer whose I placed the booking with told me that in the database already shown 3 Gen.2 CPS auto is already released from the tg. malim plant last week. He got one (hibiscus tea)for his client. Sadly, no manual version released. He expect either this week or next week, I’ll get my car.

Dont know whether he told the truth or just to calm me down….

• kennytan70 (Member) on Jul 23, 2008 at 7:02 pm

Well guys, my wait for my Gen 2 CPS is finally over as my car will be registered tomorrow and will by getting delivery of my car earliest by this Friday or latest by next week Monday.

• pearjar (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 8:29 am

Congrats kennytan70. Do remember to check everything before you drive home your car…

1. Check through all the items in Proton Edar Check list.
    2. Power window
    3. Side Mirror – Function or not
    4. Reverse Sensor
    5. Body Paint
    6. Door alignment / Easy open for Doors
    7. Weather Strip condition
    8. Check chasis number for the manufacture year.
    9. Check for cushion on BaseLine model
    10. Make sure the mileage is between 2-20km
    …..(anything more than that you may reject the car)
    11. Roof lining (check for fitting and no stains on it)
    12. Try all the switches on Central console and switches on steering and stick switches.
    13. check on paint matching on body, spoiler and bumpers
    14. Make sure there is enough fuel to reach the nearest station.
    15. Take the SA and drive for a short trip for inspection on driving.
    16. Take your time for checking, do not pickup your car during rainy day and avoid afternoon and evening.

Get all this from forum… Maybe it useful…

• romdi (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 10:20 am

Thanks pearjar for such useful info.

My Gen.2 CPS is ready for me to view by today. Just wondering, do they state in the pre-delivery document the date of the car released from the factory?

i’m afraid if they give me a showroom car..because I’m pushing a bit the sales person and already complaint to i-care about the long waited period for this car.
    I submit my complaint last friday, & quite surprisingly their action is so fast..that’s y i’m wonderin if there’s possibility i’ll get a showroom car..

• kennytan70 (Member) on Jul 24, 2008 at 7:36 pm

Thank you pearjar for your guidance. Appreciate it very much.

• mergaztua (Member) on Jul 25, 2008 at 8:30 am

Hi,I’m waiting my car gen2 CPS. So now i’m planning to change with 16″x7″ sportrim car with the tyres 205/50R/16″. Could someone advise me, whether Gen2 CPS can fit with 16″x7″ rims with tyres 205/50R/16″? . I heard someone working from tyre workshop said cannot! and he said Gen 2 only can add with rim’s 16″x6″ or 16″x6.5″ Now! my decision depending on you all. Coz yesterday I went to Tek Ming Shop and look some nice Rims.

• romdi (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:42 am

Hi all,
    finally d long waiting period 4 my gen.2 cps (manual) is over and now it’s already 5 days with me. there r few things about this car running condition that i’m wondering whether it’s normal or not.

1st, when i turn on the aircon when driving, i could ‘feel’ the aircon compressor cut in at the fuel paddle.

2ndly, when i free the gear, and the engine down to idling rpm speed, then i found the engine ram a little bit up by it self (as my foot is totally off from the fuel paddle) to 1.2 rpm for 1 or 2 times before settle down to idling speed of 0.8 rpm. As i know, this characteristic can be found in 1st batch of campro engine and already elimated in the next batch…and now, is back for CPS engine?

do all these 2 behaviours also happen to you guys?

• mama (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 9:23 pm

Adakah Gen2 CPS ini lebih jimat minyak?

• pearjar (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:16 am

Mama, my car eat more petrol than my friend gen2 not cps.. Don’t know about others.. =)

• cps (Member) on Sep 03, 2008 at 4:44 pm

More prettier…
    The leather seats is only for front seats?
    How autocruise function for M/T version?

Paul Tan says: leather for all seats on the highline. autocruise for MT too, like normal lah. just activate it on 5th gear. my old satria 1.6 manual had autocruise too.

hey paul..i’ve read in some blogs mention that the autocruise function in new gen 2 cps is for HL A/T model only. So, which one is true?have u experienced it?

• pearjar (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 7:52 am

Mine is manual. No autocruise.. Don’t have the autocruise button under the steering, just empty socket…

• cps (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 8:51 am

owh..ok, thanks 4 da info pearjar..

• cps (Member) on Sep 04, 2008 at 12:16 pm

can somebody explain to me.

is it true that the old campro is the second hand engine, and now campro cps is the first hand engine?

• Hammers (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 10:11 am

I love the interior!!Super cool!

• ideoteque85 (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 8:46 pm

Just graduated, unemployed and looking for a car oledi. I might settle for this car. The sales person really convinced me on this one earlier today. But I still have the Proton Phobia somewhere in me.

Sxxks that they don’t have a test drive unit. I like the look of the interior and exterior but what about the driving experience? I tested my cousins Satria Neo..my sisters Myvi feels better driving than the Neo.

• Paul,

May I know whats the difference btw CPS and IAFM?

Plus, if I have to choose btw Gen2 CPS and VIOS 1.5J, which one should I go for?

Thanks!!

• paul, can u help me in choosing a gen2 cps or persona s.e bcoz the price diffrnc is only 1k.im a female driver,car not purposely 4 family.which is value 4 money?tq

• can anybody tell me what does GL means?? e.g. 1.3GL

• go for either GEN.2 CPS or PERSONA SE. Only this 2 models look nice.

May also consider the SAGA SE :)

• Feance on Jul 26, 2009 at 6:10 am

been waiting for my Gen2 CPS for about 2 weeks now….. cant wait…

• hi every one

last friday after only 16 month my cps manual gen2 dosnt started.

i called to aam brackdown service and i sended my car to work shop

and the that work shop manager after chaking my car problem told me

the starter died and had some big COUGH and SPARK and unfortunately starter cable was molten…..

they chang my starter and the price is 370 RM incloud wage and stipend and incloud balancing …

my car kilometer is around 31,000

i want to know dose it have my car any waranty or garanty or no …?

terima kasih

• Stanley on Aug 29, 2009 at 6:18 am

Hi pearjar,

Your list state can reject the car if mileage is more than 20km? Can explain more? What will happen to the car after reject? They adjust back to less than 20Km then pass back to u? =_="

[quote]

Congrats kennytan70. Do remember to check everything before you drive home your car…

1. Check through all the items in Proton Edar Check list.

2. Power window

3. Side Mirror – Function or not

4. Reverse Sensor

5. Body Paint

6. Door alignment / Easy open for Doors

7. Weather Strip condition

8. Check chasis number for the manufacture year.

9. Check for cushion on BaseLine model

10. Make sure the mileage is between 2-20km

…..(anything more than that you may reject the car)

11. Roof lining (check for fitting and no stains on it)

12. Try all the switches on Central console and switches on steering and stick switches.

13. check on paint matching on body, spoiler and bumpers

14. Make sure there is enough fuel to reach the nearest station.

15. Take the SA and drive for a short trip for inspection on driving.

16. Take your time for checking, do not pickup your car during rainy day and avoid afternoon and evening.

Get all this from forum… Maybe it useful…

Read more: http://paultan.org/2008/03/03/2008-proton-gen2-fa…

[/quote]

• Pearjar on Sep 01, 2009 at 4:22 pm

Hi, Stanley…

Not reject the car.. U may ask them why the mileage more than 20km… <20km its normal as they move the car from store to shop or some sort… If more than that, afraid that u'll get a test car or someone already returned it back to shop…

p/s: Odometer can't be reset back…

• colour hibiscus tea ok x????

• Stanley on Nov 12, 2009 at 2:12 pm

Hi Pearjar,

Odometer can't be reset? How if they pull out the mileage meter? lol

Btw, I scare that will get old stock aka 2008 stock car, any way to check if the car is 2009 stock? >.<" If want to wait until car certificate will be a bit late as that time I've already signed the loan etc… How to check ?

Thanks.

Regards,

Stanley

• Pearjar on Nov 12, 2009 at 5:50 pm

Hehe.. If take out mileage meter wire, can't help about that.. :p

• Stanley on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Hi Pearjar,

So how about old/new stock checking? Dun wan the stock accepted is 2008 one.. T-T'

• Ntg special~bad looking!

• http://www.youngman-l3.com/

sold in CHINA

• BoeingMan on Jan 05, 2010 at 9:26 pm

Anybody has the detail gear ratio for both A/T and M/T ?

• Which one better. Gen2 cps A/T or M/T?? In term of maintenance and fuel consumption.

• BoeingMan on Jan 08, 2010 at 3:54 pm

mf, of course M/T has better maintenance cost and fuel consumption.

me drive on A/T, i mods a liltle bit, using cone airfilter K&N and a 4-2-1 exhaust extractor…by doing this, i got fuel consumption at only 5.3 l/100km, cruising constantly at 110km/h.

• Thanks BoeingMan. I thinking of buying gen2 cps. But i dont know which one i should choose between this A/T or M/T.

BoeingMan, how the cps performance in A/T?? Can u share with a little bit ur experience with A/T cps??

• BoeingMan on Jan 12, 2010 at 4:49 pm

Gen2 cps A/T performs proportionally how you control your right foot. If u press gentle, cps will act gentle, gear will shift up from 1st – 2nd – 3rd and 4th at average of 2000rpm. The gear box understand you, you want to save fuel, so it will up shift at the lowest rpm possible.

But if aggressively press downs your right foot, the engine + gear box + ECU will up shift almost to redline, 6500rpm…they understand you, you want power and fast acceleration…at 6500rpm, you’ll feel the true power of CPS…

• thanks again boieng man,

but i'm still wondering which one is better to choose. huhuhu

• saya dah beli satu, wane coklat, tapi ada ckit la x puah ati kan, nape la wat kete mcm nak x nak, mcm x sempat siap, lampu belakang x ngam masuk kat lobang dia, cat plak x abis, stok x ade ke x tau la,tempat speaker belakang pasang x same tinggi, jadi nampak lee isi dalam die,.try la wat prubahan care keje, biar org puas ati.

• cekgu on Apr 18, 2010 at 1:22 am

yie, mcm pearjar dah ckp la. bila dpt keta baru, pastikan kita cek semua skali spec yg diberi. kita end user, make it worth every sen. buat satu checklist utk pastikan semua ikut spec. and FYI, bkn proton je yg buat kerja mcm ni. international car pun ada juga. cuma bila nama dia proton, orang akan lebih skeptikal.

• i will have it one…
    proud to be malaysian……
    go proton we malaysian support you….

• DQ_WUA799 on Jul 05, 2010 at 7:15 am

Hey guyz… I am driving it now~!! The Gen2 CPS is really nice to drive… i even got very excited and did some add ons… and it rocks with a micro-compressor installed… :)

• M.Johnny Wijaya on Jul 07, 2010 at 3:16 pm

saya pemakai mobil proton gen 2 dari banjarmasin-indonesia….saya merasa puas dengan performa dan speed yg dipunyai mobil saya…akan tetapi saya merasakan kebingungan dimana saya dapat melakukan servis rutin maupun perbaikan mobil saya…mungkin alangkah baiknya andai kata proton lebih melebarkan sayapnya di Indonesia,,khususnya Banjarmasin…akhir kata terus maju proton dalam menciptakan sebuah mahakaryanya…

• alhamdulillah… at last i own my new gen2 cps red and black color.