Berjaya takes over Mazda business in Malaysia

mazda logoThe Mazda distributorship in Malaysia will be handled by Berjaya Corporation from the second half of 2008, through its company BerMaz Motor Sdn Bhd, formerly known as Berjaya Synthetic Fibre Sdn Bhd. BerMaz will acquire Cycle and Carriage Bintang Berhad’s entire shareholding in Hercules Automotive Engineers Sdn Bhd, which is the current Mazda franchise holder and a Cycle and Carriage company since 1983.

The Hercules shares will go for a total of RM16.8 million. BerMaz Motor’s Distribution Agreement with Mazda will begin officially on the 1st of April 2008 and will end 3 years later on 31st of March 2011.

Berjaya group currently has its foot in the automotive industry selling Skoda cars, ChangAn cars and Mercedes-Benz commercial vehicles. The ChangAn CM8 sighted on public roads sometime in the past is most likely brought in by Berjaya for testing.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 3:48 pm

Good news or bad news? I was thinking of buying a used Mazda and was already concerned (or afraid) about the spare parts situation. Does that have any effect on spare parts? Or you just would not get them anyway, no matter who owns the distribution rights … :-)

• msmar_453 (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 4:28 pm

Pls bring the 2008 Mazda6 asap.
    Read on the CBT yesterday that Mazda6 will be on our shore by mid2008.
    P/S: New Campro IAFM 1.6 on Persona (Advert on CBT yesterday oso).
    How fast you’re Proton?

• azrai (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Correct correct correct (Berjaya own by Vincent Tan.) After this, buy a Mazda, get free Starbuck voucher. Yes. Or even a Starbuck cafe inside a Mazda 3S centre. With a Boarder book store maybe. (These 3 companies own by Vincent)

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 5:11 pm

I thought Berjaya group is not good at doing business ?
    The construction in front of Renaisaunce Hotel KL, stop-and-go half dead for 2 years already.

• car_craze (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 5:54 pm

Berjaya’s expertise is unfortunately not in selling motor vehicles. Admittedly Mazda have some very nice cars elsewhere but they are not doing well in Malaysia maybe due to branding and pricing issues.
    As for spare parts i think Mazda and Ford would have many common parts, however availability and pricing is a source of concern for owners and would be owners.

• Bebelon (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 7:14 pm

mazda, come on fight with toyota and honda…we are bored to see them already. and pls price your car in more friendly way..be friendly to everyone. maybe we can see more mazda cars in berjaya’s premises…just like many skoda cars in berjaya times square basement car park!!

• Bebelon (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 7:16 pm

to azrai
    Correct correct correct (Berjaya own by Vincent Tan.) After this, buy a Mazda, get free Starbuck voucher. Yes. Or even a Starbuck cafe inside a Mazda 3S centre. With a Boarder book store maybe. (These 3 companies own by Vincent)

• arch747 (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 9:37 pm

Most of all, please bring in Mazda 2. I love to see it fight head-on with Jazz and Yaris, but with a cheaper selling price.

• demio121 (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 10:53 pm

i don’t expect BerMaz to last long. Given its own by Berjaya, in a few years a new hand will be running the Mazda business.

anyway, i do hope BerMaz can do something to revive the brand. Not just the higher range but those more affordable like Mazda2.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:35 pm

Any reason why it has to be like that?

• shamel (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 11:59 pm

bermaz please make it Berjaya to restore mazda’s image in this country like what enjoy by the brand in German/Europe. Handling-wise even outperform Honda BUT pricing wise, GAGAL.

• williaml (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 12:10 am

Why still want to compare a CBU Japan Mazda and a local assemble Honda, even a CBU Japan Stream 1.8L price just lower by 10K, and with that 10K you can get a CBU Japan Mazda5 2.0L with Power Sliding Doors…

Zoom Zoom…

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:39 am

I really hope that this is a sign of better things to come…

• allanc (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 5:41 pm

msmar_453, where is the article you read on the launching of mazda6 in MY ? what is CBT ?

• szw (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 8:16 pm

so when da new cars coming in ?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 04, 2008 at 9:39 pm

to revive the mazda brand, plenty of money needs to be spent to entice customers back.. its easy to tell them, bring in mazda 6, or mazda 2..etc. every model you bring in, you need to spend plenty of money. sales and service training, spareparts support.. etc. etc. and the long list goes on. its not like the grey importers who just bring a car in, sell it, and say byebye. there are warranty issues to worry about, after sales.. setting up dealers and service centres….. what if the car cant sell?

• williaml (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 9:03 am

Yes, you are right. To bring in a new model definitely plenty of work and money need to spend, moreover, a certain commitment to the principal before bring in is required.

Zoom Zoom…

• msmar_453 (Member) on Mar 05, 2008 at 12:40 pm

allanc said,

March 4, 2008 @ 5:41 pm

msmar_453, where is the article you read on the launching of mazda6 in MY ? what is CBT ?
    ——————————————————————-

Aiyah, sorry for late reply!
    (Yesterday (040308) Terengganu Public Holiday)

CBT – Car, Bike & Truck is attached together with every Sunday NST.
    Just pay RM1.20 (cheap enough), and you can get updated cars’ news.
    Er, NST editor, no honorarium for me ah?

• Frank Martin on Sep 29, 2014 at 8:20 am

Unfortunately Bermaz sucked at handling issues and servicing of Mazda cars.