Toyota Vitz TRD Turbo M

While the European Toyota Yaris TS uses a 1.8 litre Dual VVT-i engine producing 130 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 173Nm of torque at 4,400rpm, its Japanese twin with a different name the Toyota Vitz has gone down the forced induction route with the Toyota Vitz TRD Turbo M. Sporting a similiar engine to the Toyota Vios Turbo sold in Thailand some time ago, the 1.5 litre DOHC VVT-i engine 1NZ-FE in the Toyota Vitz gets a bolt-on turbocharger with intercooler and now produces 150 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 195Nm of torque at 4,800rpm, far more powerful than the Yaris TS.

Nearly 200Nm of torque should prove pretty fun for a car that weighs only 1,060kg, but its a shame that peak torque kicks in at such a high RPM, something unseen of with modern turbocharged engines. We’re used to peak torque kicking in under 2,500rpm in small displacement engines these days, but then again we have to remember that unlike the BMW Price, Fiat T-JET or the Volkswagen TSI engine, this wasn’t designed to be a turbocharged engine to begin with, and is a bolt-on. So the numbers are pretty decent. The Vitz TRD Turbo M rides on a stiffer suspension that also lowers the car by 15mm.

When I was browsing through the Vitz’s microsite, I also found a more powerful normally aspirated variant of the 1NZ-FE that makes 119 PS at 6,000rpm and 147Nm of torque between 4,400rpm and 5,200rpm, compared to the 1NZ-FE in our Toyota Vios which makes the usual 109 PS and 142Nm of torque. We could possibly see this state of tune being made the standard 1NZ-FE tune in the future to counter Honda’s latest series of 1.5 litre engines found in the 2nd generation Fit which already produces 120 PS.

A few photos of the TRD components after the jump.

Toyota Vitz TRD Turbo M

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 1:39 am

Maybe toyota does not want the car to be used in drag races, but speeding on the road at high speeds. LOL

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 6:27 am

why the logo different ar??

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 7:48 am

At first glance, I nearly thought this is a Perodua-badged Yaris. Look at the badge. Color the badge red and green, and its a perodua. LOL!

• BW (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 8:08 am

ughhh not this design again…. So ugly

• mohdjiman (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 8:26 am

achoom!!!

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 8:56 am

I really love the Yaris… it’s so cute but yet cool enuff for the guys~
    Wish they’d have the more powerful version here too, but I guess the market here doesn’t allow for good sales…

• 707 (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 9:07 am

its the tanaka logo

• king (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 9:32 am

of all the ugly cars i have seen, this one takes the cake.

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 10:28 am

wow ~ it will fly ~ will turbo mode vios avaiable in malaysia ?? thailand got manual with turbo vios …

• mockviper (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 10:29 am

its a Toyota Modellista badge… just like the one on my bro’s wish. people thought its a new Perodua wish.

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 2:10 pm

1.6 campro cps = 125hp
    this toyota… 1.8 ONLY ONLY ONLY 130 hp? what the f?

• wat the (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 3:33 pm

campro cps is ps lah pls
    not hp
    and peak hp you won’t use it every day
    but maximum torque u use it every day
    so torque is much more real compare to hp
    cps 1.6 150nm is kind of low
    even g.livina do not have any vvt have higher torque then cps

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 4:19 pm

Does this mean if you bolt on a turbine booster on Campro CPS, we can beat a world class engine?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 4:22 pm

The 1.5 Vios Turbo produces 150hp. Just maybe, what if 1.6 Campro CPS Turbo can pull 175 horsies…hmm…

• I my (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 4:35 pm

Can the Campro CPS engine internal parts can the force of a turbo add no?? BTW, why P1 didnt make a turbo GTI?

• digiman (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 4:43 pm

is this coming? is this coming?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 5:10 pm

Hell no, we’ll never see the light of day on a CPS Turbo. Rest assured they’ll keep on makin’ it tourqier by the month (spelling right or not?)

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 5:19 pm

wat the said,
    March 6, 2008 @ 3:33 pm
    campro cps is ps lah pls
    ________

NO! you’re it’s HP no PS lah!..
    Read carefully here..
    http://images.paultan.org/images/Proton_GEN2_Facelift/specl.jpg

Mengapa? tak percaye ye?
    Or just too obsess with Toyota?
    Even the Campro IAFM 1.3 had 110hp lah!..

The Torque is another story.. :P

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 5:24 pm

Hell no, we’ll never see the light of day on a Campro CPS Turbo. Rest assured there will be more torque..

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 5:51 pm

sorry.. typo : Even the Campro IAFM 1.3 had 110hp lah!..
    should be campro iafm 1.6 .

Anyway.. i dont like turbo..
    i’m more on supercharge..

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 6:30 pm

perodua new model with turbo??
    xD

• szw (Member) on Mar 06, 2008 at 9:43 pm

doesn’t look diff

• WreaKing (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 9:47 am

Yo guys, dream on lah if this car makes it into Malaysia.
    Even if this car comes in by AP, the price will be sky high.
    This model do looks doofy but at least better than the jinjang Mugen Jazz!!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 12:34 pm

Arrrggg!! A Dugong on steriods!!!

• levin (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 2:36 pm

Any turbo kit locally for 1.8 zz-fe engine…??

• Plz PLz tell me whre i can buy this car any web site plz tell..

• PLzzz tell me where i can buy this car any web site plz do so…

• ADNAN on Aug 11, 2010 at 2:38 pm

i have this car and in this car have a dvd system,any body know who i can chang laguage ecause it is in japanes.its dvd modle is NDDN-W57.

• osman on Sep 07, 2010 at 3:08 am

please
    i want to know where can i get a turbo kit for my toyota vitz RS..
    anyone can help me

• Conor Norris on Dec 17, 2010 at 8:38 am

That turbo in the picture does anyone know where i can get one i have cash waiting here i need one of those turbos ASAP so if u know where i can get one please email me thank you

• i was wondering if i could modify a standard 1.3 litre vitz to compete in a rally. am from kenya and would love to enter the rally here in a tiny car to resemble the cause that i want to raise awareness for,ie the orphaned babies in my home town.

• steve k on Jul 09, 2013 at 1:40 am

send me more pictures on Toyota yaris

• i have 2010 toyo vitz rs trd m with a top mount intercooler but i want a front mount intercooler , will it lag air ?