2009 Hyundai Matrix Facelift

2008 Hyundai Matrix Facelift

Hyundai has given its Hyundai Matrix a facelift for the 2009 model year and the mini-MPV now features Hyundai’s new corporate nose, similiar to the one on the new generation Hyundai i30. There are minimal changes on the rear.

Three engine choices are available – a 103 PS 1.6 litre from the Alpha family of engines, a 128 PS 1.8 litre from the Beta family of engines, and a 1.5 litre CRDi turbodiesel putting out 110 PS. The Malaysian Inokom Matrix is only available with the petrol engines.

More photos and a video after the jump.

VIDEO: 2008 Hyundai Matrix Facelift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 4:20 am

Is the facelifted front designed by Pininfarina too?

• Steffen on Jan 10, 2015 at 7:40 pm

I think they have removed the Pininfarina badge from the side, so I don’t think so.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 6:37 am

same old hyundai matrix except the front lamp
    like the 2002 hyundai atoz…

• abtm (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 7:12 am

i thought there will be a new one, not a facelift, this car is getting old

• azrai (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 7:37 am

Quite a bit like Santa FE face.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 7:52 am

At least a lot better from the old one. They have also painted black on the C-pillar side of the rear window, probably after realizing that customers don’t like much the step-up side windows design (like the savvy).

• ka_one2000 (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 8:49 am

Side profile looks like Naza sutera.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 8:49 am

I find the new front cute :)

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 8:55 am

PS: I kinda prefered the step-up windows… it adds some character to the car, like the Savvy. Wish they didn’t blacken it up, makes it look so generic.

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 9:28 am

if sell 1.5 liter CRDi turbodiesel in malaysia will sell well … but the rear it is same …

• I my (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 9:56 am

I like their CRDi car too . hv test out the Tucson 2.0 VGT(??) auto before feel good. but problem is here the diesel is bad & most of us dont seem the new diesel power is a good car, (diesel = lorry). Also the road tax is higher then the petrol ver too.

• hazri99 (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 10:09 am

lok like nazacitra/kia karen a bit… infront like more longer..

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 12:05 pm

YES THE DIESEL WILL SELL! I WILL BUY IF THERE IS A DIESEL VERSION. BUT SAD THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE MONKEYS

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 12:07 pm

but in sabah diesel car roadtax is cheeper … dimax 3.0 only rm300++ .. if this 1.5 CRDI maybe like our petrol below rm100 … hehe anywhere 1.5 CRDI turbo maybe nice torque compare with Avanza 1.5 … + low FC also on diesel

• jaygan (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 2:51 pm

Looks like the same old same old :(

But auto diesel is available and sell cheap, not more than 1.8L petrol’s price, that will be GREAT.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 3:06 pm

incoherent front and the body,

• renyeo (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 3:50 pm

The face is friendly with a feminine touch. I was put off by the old Matrix because I wasn’t fond of the way it used to be. I hope the new powertrain will give the Matrix a new lease of life – the old one was crude and feels dated. Matrix is truly a standard bearer in terms of packaging. It packs in loads of space within a small body.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 8:55 pm

old one = ugly

facelifted = even more ugly…..

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 9:24 pm

Why did they bother facelifting this? This is the 2nd facelift for matrix after changing the grill and lamps. Isn’t the i30 the replacement for the matrix in the first place?

• Paul Tan on Mar 07, 2008 at 9:31 pm

I also find this facelift strange. Where is the Hyundai version of the Kia Rondo? And on the Kia side, where is the Kia version of the Santa Fe?

• brutus (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 9:56 pm

is that a rear disc brake?
    seems our Malaysian companies are very ignorant about bring in diesel powered cars! sad!
    think the 1.5CRDi putting out 110hp would even beat the 1.8i in town driving!

• bluebeam (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 10:10 pm

It does look a lot more cheeful..but I wished they did something at the back too…

• transformer (Member) on Mar 07, 2008 at 10:49 pm

Others get Rondo as Matrix replacement but what the shit we are getting?????? another “nasional” car kah?

Bolehland are being used as dumpsite for old automobile(more than 24months after initial launch)….

Latio, Cefiro (Teana), Belta(07Vios), Rush….

Too many example…

Paul Tan says: er, no one is getting a Rondo as a Matrix replacement. that was what I was talking about earlier… there’s no Hyundai version of the Rondo anywhere in the world. This Matrix facelift was a world premiere at Geneva 2008

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 08, 2008 at 10:27 am

Hyundai kia might be taking a different approach for some models. Not all hyundai would be direct convert to kia while some kia would be for kia only. Eg hyundai getz, santa fe and kia rondo. However, if you compare this matrix and i30, which one will you prefer? Both are 5 seater wagons with 5 doors. And both are having similar engine cc range but i30 is using newer generation engines up to 2.0 similar to kia ceed. Looks like another case of our local atos. Newer front, the rest are the same.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 08, 2008 at 6:17 pm

Paul,

Wasn’t the Rondo the replacement for the Carens/Citra? There is no Hyundai equivalent.

Paul Tan says: er, wasn’t that’s exactly what i was saying? where is the hyundai equivalent of the Rondo?

I don’t think Hyundai has a direct replacement for the Matrix…at least yet.

The i30 wagon is just an Elantra wagon. Begining to wonder if the Matrix is the end of the line, both KIA and Hyundai seems to have given up on this segment/Platform.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 08, 2008 at 9:03 pm

ya… maybe Hyundai are following Porsche 911 design languages for its rear…

(911 30years ago didn’t looks much diff from today’s 911… exterior wise!)

• charles27 (Member) on Mar 09, 2008 at 6:05 am

paul.. any news about the upcoming new HYUNDAI SONATA 2009?
    hear that its already release in US, and not sure when is malaysia turn.

i see the photo, interial is much much better and with forced induction engine. almost matching the current accord power.

hope to see this car review soon :)

• lantoi (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 11:57 am

Not much difference, only front look and rear bumper. Wonder if any major changes inside

• figo (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 9:23 am

They should provide the 2.0 cc(like kia citra) with the new facelift and selling at ~70K. As we are aware, this car is heavy as compared to most 1.6/1.8 car in the market.

• juanbeibei (Member) on Mar 12, 2008 at 6:37 pm

front looks cute! but when it comes to the rear.. juz a minor changes.. will be nicer if they change the side and rear a bit.. haha..^^

• nmh (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 12:02 am

UGLY

• nuajon (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 8:43 pm

ug ly lohhhh

• kadir on Feb 13, 2009 at 1:18 pm

hello all. i am contemplating a purchase the new hyundai matrix 1.6 auto. but the front is the older model styling, maybe old stock. i am wondering how is the car in terms of consumption per km and cost in maintaining it in 12 months. anyone who could help, please drop me a line at [email protected]. thank you all – kadir

*and thanks paul tan.

• This look is defintly more appealing but i like the older look better , the biggest problem with matix is the cv-joints and thier trasmission colapes very fast,the bushings should be made more durable and i suggest ,tetron. and the Radiators should be made off steel rather than plastic.

Tel; 1(868) 794 9564

by Zaid Allaham

Automotive Analyist

Trinadad and Tobago

• Terence on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:01 am

Please can someone tell me when this facelifted Matrix (130 front) is going to be on sale in uk?

• K.BALENDRA. on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:19 am

I have Matrix 2001 model imported to Srilanka as a used car from Singapore.I came into possession of it 2004. It is quite comfortable and roomy. But the petrol consumption is rather high in that it does 5or6 kilometers only per liter in the city.However it does about 10km outstation. Is there any way I can improve the petrol consumption to be economical. It is an Auto transmission

I don't see any latest models in Srilanka I wonder why ?. I wonder whether spares will be continueosly available What will be the approximate CIF price of a latest model Matrix.

Await your response please

• linda on Jul 15, 2009 at 6:12 pm

Just bought a matrix 1.6 auto two weeks ago. The performance not too bad. Quite good for town use. Went from Penang to Ipoh, petrol consumption low too. Handling of the car quite smooth. So far so good. Costs around RM67K on the road.

• azral on May 15, 2010 at 5:23 pm

Hi Linda,

I was thinking either to buy Hyundai matrix or new Hyundai accent 1.6 AT. I would like to know is it true the petrol consumption is low. So far we heard about high petrol consumption for all hyundai car. Really need your help to tell the experience in term of maintenance, petrol consumption or anything about Hyundai Matrix. Thank you

• Robert on Sep 14, 2009 at 7:05 am

I own a 2005 model which is very agreeable to drive,yet i find this new improved 2009 model even better looking and more aerodynamic.

Should keep improving the design particularly inside the car making it a bit more luxurious ,giving it a more glamorous touch.

• azral on May 15, 2010 at 6:19 pm

I was thinking either to buy Hyundai matrix or new Hyundai accent 1.6 AT. I would like to know is it true the petrol consumption is low. So far we heard about high petrol consumption for all hyundai car. Really need your help to tell the experience in term of maintenance, petrol consumption or anything about Hyundai Matrix. Thank you
    Please email me your comment at [email protected]

• Elvin Yeo on Dec 07, 2011 at 5:20 pm

HI …. how much is the new facelife Matrix Cost? What is the different between the old and the new Matrix? thanks