Consumer Reports: Honda has best cars in the US

Honda Accord at Tochigi R&D

A Consumer Reports study in the US concluded that the best cars in the US are sold by Honda, taking into account reliability, performance, fuel economy, comfort, interior fit and finish, and ergonomics. It is also the only automaker in the rest to earn an overall reliability rating of Excellent.

Honda scored 78 on the test, followed by Toyota with 75 points and Subaru with 72 points. BMW, Mazda, Nissan, and Volkswagen are tied at 71 points, while American automakers like GM and Ford scored some of the lowest scores.

In the individual segment tests, Honda vehicles did not always come up tops, for example the Nissan Altima beat the new Accord (shown above, due on our local shores sometime this year) in the D-segment sedan category, but its vehicles consistently rated at the top of their respective categories. Shockingly, the Toyota Camry scored a below average reliability rating in the Consumer Reports study.

GM’s new models did rather well in their respective categories but its rating was dragged down by its older models. The results also showed that Japanese cars fared better than American cars.

Read the full findings here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• charles27 (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 4:26 am

well.. really supprise that honda finally doing a really good job.
    thanks to civic, crv and accord mostly.

camry is really loosing the position now. And recently i read some cars review online (regarding accord, camry, and sonata). camry appear to the the worst among those 3. Really supprise. Camry is getting soft. But accord is getting stronger. :)

sad to see BMW is ranked so low as well. Thought to get 1 soon. dissappointed now.

• abtm (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 6:38 am

well the difference between honda and toyota in terms of reliability are simillar, but while most hondas will be problematic when they reach 150,000km to 200,000km, the toyotas will keep going strong beyond that

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 8:23 am

Really? Acquaintances of mine have a 20+ year old prelude and 15+ year old accord (more than 200K km), both of the cars’ carburator engines are still good with strong acceleration without any major overhauling.

• tokie (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 10:28 am

In terms of reliability, it depends on how does the user / car owner take care of it.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 1:12 pm

@charles27
    Aiya, BMW nice to drive oni, bt they’re very manja…like a mommy’s boy, it likes to go back to his mama (workshop). That’s why its well known as Banyak Masuk Workshop and Banyak Makan Wang :P

The current Camry ah…I read got lots of problems wit its gearbox. Bt that’s in US la, in Msia, dunno lor…shud b ok.

I remember when Jeremy Clarkson was reviewing the Honda S2000, he said that Honda hv been making 13 million VTEC engines for 15 yrs (or was it 15 million VTEC engines for 13 yrs? either one la), and he said NOT even ONE failed. Another thing, in UK, Honda is old ppl’s fav car, n there could be oni one reason for this: reliability. I remember readin Clarkson’s article which nailed this point: “the oni criteria that old ppl want in a car is a car that can outlive them, and Honda is the best of them lot. It’s a pity that while we may crave that amazing VTEC technology, we can’t buy it cuz ppl will think there’s some old man/lady in the driver’s seat.”

Pretty much the opposite situation here, eh? Here, Toyota is more for old ppl who dun want any sporty-related car, while Hondas are like Ah Beng’s choice :P

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 2:10 pm

tokmoh, not fair, you stole my line ;) sometimes we like to hide the ‘pain’ by calling it, “the cost of ownership”. but to be fair, any car built for performance tend to require more TLC and are usually more expensive to maintain as well.
    I prefer to say, “you pay for the enjoyment of ownership”. I rather pay to enjoy a car that I literally can’t wait to get behind the wheel everyday , even just to drive to the office than a car thats boring, lacking in soul and doesn’t break down.

honda on the other end, always remind me of a japanese “bmw” of sorts. almost all their cars have sporty intentions, just like bmw. they also put a lot of effort and pride in their motorsports involvement, just like …..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 3:32 pm

great job, but why GM and Ford got lowest scores? come on, they should improve lah, malu lor…..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 7:44 pm

SHOCKING!!! I thought Toyota is the best in terms of reliability!

• faizfadil (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 8:42 pm

Why honda???? Frankly speaking, I myself working at honda, their quality is CRAP!!!!! cheap stick on plastics…… n selling em like hot cakes in the us…..

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 11:26 pm

Toyota churn too many cars, reliability drops…

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 12:17 am

@BanyakMasukWorkshop
    Hontouni moshiaki arimasu, huhuhu.

I second your opinion :D . Quoting Jeremy Clarkson (again) abt his article on Gallardo Superleggera, he started by writing all sorts of reasons why supercars are rubbish: extremely uncomfortable (stiff suspension), totally impractical (small boot space and mostly 2-seater oni), terrible mileage, reliability and even more pathetic second-hand value, et cetera. And yet, they tingle the little boy in all of us. They are cars we’d put on walls (think Ferrari F40, any Aston Martin or McLaren F1), they are the avatar of silliness in all of us that craves for individuality, uniqueness and freedom from the ordinary norm. Ultimately, they make you smile, and when they make you smile, you wouldn’t mind paying GBP6,000 for a cupholder (he actually ordered his Gallardo Spyder with this!!), you wouldn’t mind all the earlier nonsense of buying a supercar that he wrote. At all!!

But of course realistically, one still need to be super rich to buy a supercar lah….

So on a smaller scale, an Alfa Romeo can emulate the aura that is similar to a supercar’s aura. You can feel the passion and soul implanted into it, so much that Alfa earns the honour to be an evidence for one to claim that he/she is a true petrolhead. As Top Gearians always say, “You can never ever consider yourself a true petrolhead until you’ve owned an Alfa. They’re not cars for posers, but they are cars for the connoisseurs.”

Or even more practical, I do love the Ford Focus, it’s the first car that actually made me fell in love with cars :wub: . Somehow, to me, I feel the genius spirit of Henry Ford whenever I see a Ford Focus ;) .

Hahaha, it is perhaps true that Honda is the Japanese BMW, as they’ve produced some really legendary car like the S2000 and the NSX. This all results from their engineers staying true to Soichiro Honda-sama’s passion for innovative engineering. Honda will never be Honda if they loose sight of this.

Which sadly they seem to slowly are. I have heard far too many bad things about CKD Honda here, so much that there are even ppl who’d sarcastically describe Honda as Proton’s partner in QC-crime!!

To be fair, I’ve yet to hear CKD Hondas fail mechanically ie the engine, transmission, you know, those technical parts. The area they seem to fail are non-technical, so I believe Honda’s bullet-proof reliability reputation is still protected.

• AvE (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 12:22 am

BMW=Bring More Worries.. Toyota=Totally Odd Yet Over The Average.. Honda=Hot On Nanny Driving Alone.. ahhahaha nothing to type…bored tonight

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 12:27 am

mystvearn said,

March 10, 2008 @ 11:26 pm

Toyota churn too many cars, reliability drops…

>>>Toyota lacks passion, that’s why they’re droppin. How long has it been since they launched a legendary car like the AE86? They’re not founded by a perverted man with the passion for cars, but by a committee to make Japan rich.And when that objective is reached, they become like BN, so one day in the future, they’ll be hit by a tsunami. The first wave have just started starting with this Consumers Reports.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 8:54 am

I used to own an EK, and today, 3 other members of my family still drive honda’s.. the strange thing is, unlike what the people here who have only negative things to say about them, we’ve never encountered any problems whatsoever with our hondas. mine was a JDM, and we had another JDM, but the others were local CKD cars, but quality was top-notch. in terms of plastic quality, honda beats toyota handsdown anyday.

to faizfadil, it doesnt matter to me where or who you work for, but to condemn the company you represent (as an employee) and who pays your salary reflects poorly on your character and who you are.

• spock (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 12:29 pm

My Accord iVTEC 2005 (CKD) has the following badge of shame:
    – loose “ignition cable” causing 1 cylinder to fail to combust (

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 6:12 pm

Any bad experience with Toyota cars ?

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 7:11 pm

My father used to own a Toyota Sprinter 1.5 Automatic (Corolla in Malaysia.) That car was still going strong after 300,000km until his black worker crashed it. I remember I changed ATF fluid for the car, and it’s totally BLACK and sticky. My father don’t even remember the very last time he changed. Fine, 5 litres of Shell ATF was poured in. Smooth. Remarkable for a 2xx,xxx km automatic car.
    Land Cruiser Prado 2.8 Diesel, takda asap hitam langsung even though it’s already 10 years old.

However, Toyota cars by UMW is just piece of shit. UMW run by people that simply just want to make money, introducing old engine old chassis old technology(they’re so proud with their SUPER ECT & VVT-i) with a new face outside.
    Corolla due to launch 14th March, OLD engine from the previous generation.
    Camry same case, so do Vios.

New Honda City expect to see i-VTEC 120ps.

• chap_de_x (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 9:08 pm

i always think that honda is much better then T…..Toyota product line up is worst day by day at malaysia….reliability wise mayb good but i think honda is much better…T is just too boring

• nmh (Member) on Mar 12, 2008 at 2:05 am

Just came back from bandung, indonesia start to sell this new accord already. Its very huge

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 12, 2008 at 5:41 am

my gf had engine failure in the civic near brand new. the part holding the belt pulley to the engine cracked and gave way. they suspect that somewhere along the process, someone used a bolt for the connector that doesnt fit into the engine that tighly. causing vibrations and eventually causing it to crack and this further cracked the connector.
    honda tech says its one in a million from the thai factory. whole engine is sent to japan for further investigations.

meanwhile i have an 8 year old corolla levin. the thing is still tight after all the years even with the hard suspension. no failures what so ever. havent even changed any lights or the battery. dont know where corolla sources thier light bulbs from but i can say its quality shit. after seeing all these holdens, VW’s and mitsu’s having failed rear lamps even when its near new.

also driven a new 2008 corolla sedan for a holiday trip. 2000kms on the odometer. naturally im comparing it to the civic seeing both are brand new. i must say the corolla is impressive. really didnt expect it from toyota. the refined feel of its engine is quite astonishing. the corolla will become a winner for toyota.