New Toyota Urban Cruiser unveiled at Geneva

New Toyota Urban Cruiser

Toyota has unveiled the Toyota Urban Cruiser at the 2008 Geneva Motor Show. The Toyota Urban Cruiser is essentially the Japanese market Toyota ist, which is in turn a restyled version of the American market Scion xD.

So we have the Urban Cruiser for Europe, the ist for Japan and the xD for the USA. Toyota says the Toyota Urban Cruiser was developed to fill up the void that the discontinued three-door version of the Toyota RAV4 left behind.

More angles after the jump.

Toyota Urban Cruiser SUV to debut at Geneva 2008
Toyota to develop new small SUV for Europe

New Toyota Urban Cruiser

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 3:26 am

:clap:
    finally… this model soon rebadge into perodua lah

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 7:47 am

In order for this car to rebadge as perodua, it must be rebadge as daihatsu first. A cross-over hatch is nice if perodua can badge this one.

• farghmee (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 9:22 am

nape aku nmpk cm myvi? ;)

• KF (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 9:48 am

Hmmmmmmm…Myvi on steroids ??

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 10:17 am

Im gona try my hand at mindless rumour-mongering here….

“this car, will be the Myvi replacement model, to be launced middle of next year. This is because Toyota got links with Perodua. They will sell it using P2’s badge, so it can be priced at under RM90k. I know, because my sister’s husband’s father’s brother’s son works for P2.”

Heh… :-P

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 11:36 am

So this might be a 4×4 toughie wanabe but only be driven in urban?

hey, how come the rear windows tinted? izit becoz the designers haven’t figured out the back seat and interior yet?

• mockviper (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 12:15 pm

hey, how come the rear windows tinted? izit becoz the designers haven’t figured out the back seat and interior yet?
    ———————————

it is common for SUV and MPV there to have darker rear window. so this is the new RAV4 replacement..

what does p2 got to do with this car? haha… u guys are damn funny. why dont u say that the upcoming Supra MK V will be rebadged as P2 as well? -peace-

• hyundai (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 12:27 pm

Can it beat Nissan Qashqai?

• wat the (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 1:40 pm

toyota rav4??
    this car is a lot smaller la bro
    toyota ist is a small car
    this is a copy of second generation ist

if,perodua rebadge it ,i don’t think the price will be like 80~90k
    the first generation just sell for 90k with a toyota badge

• cutester (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 1:55 pm

The rear wiper are so cute!

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 4:14 pm

rear wiper? i couldnt see any rear wiper…

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 13, 2008 at 11:08 pm

Look carefully, its there.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 12:34 am

OMG dude, there is a rear viper, and by golly, it is cute…like a robot dog’s tail…

• AlexKhoo (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 3:17 pm

————————————————————–

In europe, they have an option when buying the car which they call privacy glass.
    Not only on SUVs and MPVs. they have it on Sedans, Hatches, etc. etc.

• DtG (Member) on Mar 14, 2008 at 6:29 pm

rear end very landrover-like

• bobdbilder (Member) on Mar 15, 2008 at 4:56 pm

Car Mfg really like to make SUV and hope its a growing trend. There’s not much technical requirement in an SUV. All you do when you select an SUV is to see how the interior feels. Nobody talks about fuel consumption or even how it handles around the bend. Just as long as it feels nice. They can charge you a lot for perceived value. Hell it doesn’t even have to look nice at all.