Transport for London Awareness Test

TFL Test

The Transport For London created this test to create awareness on the importance of paying attention and looking out for cyclists. Though we don’t have much cyclists here on our roads, I guess the same could apply to pedestrians, motorcyclists and etc.

Did you pass or fail the test? I failed. Take the test after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 3:53 am

hehe.. I live in London yet I dont know there is such a campaign.. hmmm…

I failed the test as I dont really know whats happening from start till end… haha… well, yea, Mayor of London is proposing a cycling corridors throughout London. 500Million pounds project over the next decade to get people go back to cycling, with bicycles rental around the city, to reduce pollution and congestion in public transport and the road. There are actually quite a lot of cyclists around the city now and many with folding bikes carried to the office. so i think the awareness test is important.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 5:24 am

That was a great awareness campaign they’ve got. Just took it and was bemused at my own ignorance of the happenings in the scene. Bravo for such an eye opener.

The fact that it could be ported over to a television advertisement makes it doubly sweet.

Take the test. This is what “awareness ” is all about.

• mzfnd (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 5:51 am

Hahaha. Bravo to the moonwalking bear for being totally invisible to me. (I even missed it on 2nd watch!). I guess I failed.

• tommy73 (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 7:56 am

I failed but the message is out! Good work.

• maxtek (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 9:20 am

For some reason… I passed. XD

It’s supposed to be spotting the bear thingy isn’t it?

• iamisiamwhatiam (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 1:09 pm

If you spotted the bear, then you got the passes right?
    Even with stuttering vid I had, I didn’t saw the bear

• moha774 (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 6:36 pm

what bear?.. I was busy counting and even missed one pass…. wow.. this test sure is spot on.. I failed…

• joe1209p (Member) on Mar 16, 2008 at 9:55 pm

haha. i was already shouting with joy when he announced the answer is 13. silly me, thought i got it. knowing about the presence of moonwalking bear, i redo the test of counting the passes. still i couldn’t spot the bear at all. i could only see the bear when i wasn’t counting.

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:04 am

cyclist just need to get off the road and stick to foot paths. its really a pain trying to avoid them as much as they trying to avoid you.

lets be honest. most of the time these foot paths are empty. i.e no pedestrians.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 12:34 am

holy @#$% !!!!

I really didn’t notice the bear!!

Paul, this is a great test, thanks!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 1:35 am

I did not notice the bear!!hahaa

• petulance (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 7:51 am

topgunthang said,

March 17, 2008 @ 12:04 am

cyclist just need to get off the road and stick to foot paths. its really a pain trying to avoid them as much as they trying to avoid you.

—————————————————–

Typical uncultured Malaysian comment. Cyclists have a right to be on the road just as you do. Be aware of your surroundings and leave enough space when overtaking cyclists.

In more cultured societies (i.e. Europe) car drivers respect cyclists on the road. And awareness of pedestrians and cyclists is drummed into drivers as part of the driver education in order to pass your driving test.

Foot paths are for pedestrians. I don’t have the link but studies show that most cyclists accidents occur on shared paths (i.e. footpaths) and not main roads.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 9:00 am

A great test I must say! Bravo!

• dangermouse (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 11:44 am

topgunthang said,

March 17, 2008 @ 12:04 am

———————————————

In UK it is illegal to cycle on footpaths, and it is enforced too.
    Road or cyclepaths are your only options, and cycle paths are usually poorly designed & maintained, or have cars parked on top of them!!!

• kingbrutal (Member) on Mar 17, 2008 at 2:08 pm

hahahaha…. i counted the white shirts made 13 passes and the black shirts made 15 passes…. and i saw the bear too… which make me a very observant person… or maybe I was just lucky… :D

anyway… nice video paul…. a good campaign too…

• joe1209p (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 12:22 am

to kingbrutal,
    the message is “it’s easy to miss something you’re not looking for”. that’s why the task is to count the pass made by the team in white (ONLY). if you’re counting the pass made by black team as well, of course you’ll see the bear, because the bear is black.

but you’re observance enough to be able to count passes by both team. just that it doesn’t mean you’re aware of something you’re not looking for, which is the message of the ad.

• shooter (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 4:44 pm

M’sian drivers sucks, our driver training sucks, the fact that we all are not aware of and dont give a damn about pedestrians (or other road users for that matter) sucks…..we suck!

• andrewhtf (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 7:26 pm

actually i saw that bear while counting the passes… i was like, “wtf? what is that guy doing some funny moves when everybody’s passing balls..?” lol

• pavithran (Member) on Apr 03, 2008 at 7:29 pm

Moonwalking bear! I missed a MOONWALKING BEAR?? Lol!! Wow!