Taiwanese market Mitsubishi Lancer Fortis

At first glance, you may confuse the Mitsubishi Lancer Fortis launched in Taiwan sometime last year with a Toyota Mark X, or some other car, but definitely not the latest generation Lancer. This is because Taiwan’s Lancer has its own styling, featuring its own totally different front and a modified rear end which reminds me of the USDM Civic and features LED tail lamp clusters.

The side profile looks similiar, but with what appears to be a shorter rear end because it does not feature the Lancer’s aggressive protruding snout anymore.

The interior is largely similiar to the original Lancer interior, but Taiwan gets an option for 7 airbags, a DVD player, rear parking camera, and a host of other gadgets. Under the hood is a version of the 4B11 which makes 157 PS at 6,000rpm and 205Nm of torque at 4,250rpm, slightly more powerful than our 155 PS and 199Nm of torque.

It looks more grown up and tamer than the very aggressive Lancer that Malaysia and the rest of the world gets. Which do you prefer? I prefer ours.

View more photos and a video after the jump.

VIDEO: Taiwanese market Mitsubishi Lancer Fortis

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hctiu (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:00 pm

It’s definitely nicer than the current Lancer here

• clutch_plate (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:06 pm

Hey.. it’s nice what! with simple design make this car looks so cool. I like it! :)

• clutch_plate (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:08 pm

Errr.. one more thing, if the Perdana Replacement Model looks like this, surely sell like hot cakes.. just my 2 cents.. ehehe.. peace! :)

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:11 pm

Waja replacement model, lmao~

notice the headlights?

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:11 pm

Some said this would be the new Perdana rather than Mitsubishi 380

• AMG (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:12 pm

Looks LESS aggressive! T.T

• blazerSST (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:27 pm

Ford falcon face

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:30 pm

probably they’re not aggresive ppl. Maybe they simply cannot accept the gnarling snout, too much for them.

• DtG (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:36 pm

not bad… headlamps remind me of 3 series tho..

• dzat46 (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:39 pm

Front a bit like Waja & rear look like hyundai sonata….hmmm maybe ppl that side of the world prefer ths type of styling

• Xoomie (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:45 pm

This would be a good candidate for Perdana Replacement Model.
    The rear design still looks agressive to me.. Overall is just ok.
    Can’t wait for the latest H.Accord though…..!!

• 707 (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:47 pm

i prefer this one

• farghmee (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:54 pm

hm..
    x3-ish front lamp
    evo-ish bonnet

err..i think the rear light suits our “shark” looking lancer.

the torque curve is almost constant..

personally if perdana badging does happen (badging lol),
    i prefer this fortis to 380 ;)

• Xoomie (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 3:54 pm

Where’s Theo? Why dont do a chop slapped on the pics for PRM..!!! : )

• oyl78 (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 4:06 pm

simple and nice, i prefer this than the current one… overall feel the car is larger, in term of size and passanger space…

• xstan (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 4:21 pm

uuuh…dont u think the front looks identical to the present Waja. Serious its front grille is so identical to Waja so is the side light. Only its looks better than Waja.

• shooter (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 4:30 pm

kereta org tua……

• moha774 (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 4:46 pm

Front bumper is more Sunway Bodykit friendly…hehehe

• ThienWu (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 5:01 pm

front look like expand waja… ours lancer is better..

my 2 posen

• BW (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 5:11 pm

it’s definitely nicer than the current lancer here.. It’s so unfair!!!!

• Apathy (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 5:11 pm

Ala daddy-daddy and uncle-uncle company’s car. Tame front. X3 lights.
    As usual…….ugly butt. Same goes to our version too. Hurmmmm why can’t they design a sexy looking butt like the RX8 or the Z4?

• maxtek (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 5:17 pm

XD Haha… And I thought this is a new Waja facelift.
    The minute I saw the photo, I really thought it was a Waja.

But one thing though, it looks very elegant. Gambatte!

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 5:30 pm

wow!!! .. .finally.. waja neo..

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 5:31 pm

The interior looks quite exclusive. It could be design to suit a more conservative market because the sales margin is higher. But no, the new Perdana should not look anything like this, prefer the kind of the new Honda Accord, class….

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 5:45 pm

DVD player? From sports car to luxury car…

• aki_zz (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 6:13 pm

the front looks waja-ish and i also dont really like the lancer centre console. too simple. anyway it’s up to the taiwanese, for me i dont like it

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 6:39 pm

ermm… doesnt look pretty interesting to me.. quite uncle looking car… the mivec engine is no doubt tat good lor…

• szw (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 7:33 pm

the wan we got wan definitely looks nicer , not only in terms of design but also is better proportioned over here…

• ah liew (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 8:12 pm

another uncle car….. hard to modify.

do u find a modified altis look aggressive! uncle car will always be a uncle car.

• kimikewl (Member) on Mar 19, 2008 at 11:40 pm

front grill reminds me of old galant…. ooolllldddd

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 12:06 am

I prefer the current lancer over this one

• KF (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 12:08 am

Personally, I prefer the Lancer Fortis to the Lancer GT.

• kruzer (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 12:21 am

errr.. how to be perdana replacement? Perdana is in D segment, whereas Lancer is in C segment

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 1:14 am

The Lancer lights look just right on this model. Seems as though Mitsubishi tried to save cost by saying “Hey, the lights look great on the Fortis, let’s try cramming it onto the Lancer as well.”

This is probably how the Lancer should have looked like. It also looks a little bit like a deformed Audi A4 from the back.

• abtm (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 6:03 am

the rear certainly looks better, the front looks too tame though, the normal lancer’s front looks like and evo already….

• White Jack (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 8:32 am

In Taiwan, they split their target custoner very clearly.

Lancer Fortis is as a family sedan, same direction as Accord and Camry. So you don’t need a sport and fiece look of the car.

Lancer EVO X is as a sport performance car, they use this to target customer who wants performance.

Cars in Taiwan are cheap. EVO X is not expensive for them.

But in Msia, we have the Lancer with almost similar look like EVO X. Selling well. There are a few reasons for it :)

• azrai (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 9:20 am

This look like ‘toyota’ verion of lancer actually. Too conservative, too lame, too ‘unclish’ look. The headlamp can be a good idea for Waja facelift. It should be in 1.8 engine and in executive form that’s mean a longer waja.

• badsoulfly (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 9:30 am

front lamp and bumper look like 3 series…
    rear lamps look like audi A4
    but this one more siutable for family car
    if u want high performance better get GT…and more fierce

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 20, 2008 at 1:49 pm

The Lancer we get is definitely nicer… dis one’s more retrained and slightly dated with ‘old man’-like details, but it’s more like an executive car, which the Lancer is actually not. The front lights remind me of the new Skoda Superb tho~ nice LEDS, but the rear’s ruined :)

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 1:06 am

raptorclans said,

The front lights remind me of the new Skoda Superb tho~ nice LEDS, but the rear’s ruined
    —————————————————————-

Did you notice the L initial in the 8th picture? Nice detailing.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 1:19 am

Got some Alfa Romeo syndrome in the pictures shown, just look at the 1st and the 2nd picture, it is so obvious that the photographer was inspired by the Alfa 159 picture, otherwise he wouldn’t have snapped the car in this angle.

By the way, the car has the 159 side profile.

• xstan (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 9:20 am

Again I repeat…front its clear copy to Waja. But then when u put Proton emblem to it..people start to critise.

• infinity (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 12:23 pm

i would like this to be our waja replacement model…its target are more on more matured buyers..thus the uncle look..but, it would be good for proton line-up…saga for entry or 2nd car, gen2 and persona for younger ppl…and this, for the more “matured” ppl…

dun count the current perdana in the list as it’s jz too old to be compared…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 1:29 pm

xstan said,
    March 21, 2008 @ 9:20 am

Again I repeat…front its clear copy to Waja. But then when u put Proton emblem to it..people start to critise.
    —————————————————————-

Yeah I agree, people will say the design is uninspiring, unchallenging, looks too old and blah blah blah…

• jo jambul on Oct 13, 2009 at 12:09 am

Ohhhh…..That is waja replacement model………..

• Bius Dogong on Apr 21, 2010 at 9:39 am

confirmmmmmmmmm… this is waja replacement! great! pice around RM 80K….

• sillylily on May 18, 2010 at 2:07 am

next waja…

• joker84 on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:19 pm

nice car…looking good for ordinary people like me.

• wakawaka on Aug 26, 2010 at 3:44 pm

defenitely waja replacement model with price from 80k-100k. just annouced by proton they will used fortis as base for the new waja.

• peewit on Aug 27, 2010 at 2:27 pm

how about oil consumption