Land Rover Black and Silver LRX Hybrid Concept

Land Rover LRX Hybrid Concept

Land Rover has unveiled a second version of its LRX Concept which was first shown at the 2008 Detroit Auto Show. This version is called the Land Rover Black and Silver LRX Hybrid Concept and is powered by a 2.0 litre turbodiesel hybrid powertrain.

Land Rover claims the diesel hybrid can achieve a fuel economy of 4.7 litres per 100km on the European combined cycle, and produces CO2 emissions of 120g/km. No performance figures were quoted, so Land Rover must be really focusing on the fuel economy aspect of this concept.

The LRX Hybrid Concept’s Electric Rear Axle Drive (ERAD) allows the LRX Hybrid Concept to run on electric drive alone at lower speeds of up to 32km/h, with the turbodiesel engine able to start automatically and smoothly on demand while on the move. This engine can run on biodiesel fuel.

It is a compact SUV, or cross-coupe as Land Rover calls it. The LRX Hybrid Concept is 149mm shorter and 205mm lower than the Land Rover LR2 (Freelander 2), but will be positioned above it as a more premium compact vehicle.

Land Rover LRX Concept from Detroit 2008

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 7:41 am

Cantik! Memang cantik tapi macam biasa, harga Landrover kat sini bukan murah. Yang dah buruk pun masih 20k lebih lagi. Spare part pulak, CEKIK DARAH!!!

However! Landrover is still the best for me. Especially the Freelander. I wish to own one someday for a deep forest fishing trips.

Congratulation to Landrover for this Diesel Hybrid concept. Bravo! Bravo! Lavarkutu!

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 8:10 am

i doubt the final production version will retain the sportiness of this concept. The roofline will affect the headroom for the rear passenger.

• wan@auto (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 9:13 am

nice………………..very nice

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 9:51 am

Walau. Where can we get those tyres? Cun la. Wat brand?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 10:35 am

what LRX means? Long Run-about-vehicle-X-treme?

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 10:50 am

the production model may not be as sporty, but the powertrain sure is interesting. Plus biodiesel…something to look at, if can somehow incorporate a natural gas system into the car, like our taxis are using, it’ll be even more interesting. Hehe..dreaming out loud.

• hamster (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 11:32 am

oh man…a land rover wit hybrid system..?? tat kills da vibe..really kills da vibe..i dont oppost to da concept tho..wish thers gon b mo choices..a hybrid n a cheeze eatin beast model..lov da look..

• azrai (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 11:41 am

Pimp My Ride..West Coast Custom.

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 12:24 pm

when can i have one ?? .. another dream 4×4 in my lsit

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 5:21 pm

is this one the same in Gran Turismo 4?

excellent design!!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 9:14 pm

dis one is not d same model in gt 4…dat one is range stormer…dis is lrx…nice…handsome n muscular…

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 10:32 pm

Nice, looks like taking front lights from honda stream. Rear view mirro so small, what can you see in it? Not that practical there. Nice concept though

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 1:03 am

i like its tyre
    looks so cool man

• rhoma (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 11:16 am

land rover currently owned by whom?still can come out with concept car

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 9:40 pm

rear view mirror should replace by rear view camera, thats the new trend….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 5:24 pm

rhoma,

land rover own by ford…ford plan to sell it n tata company intrested to buy land rover…correct me if im wrong…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 5:25 pm

rhoma,

land rover own by ford…ford plan to sell it n tata company interested to buy land rover…correct me if im wrong…

• szw (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 11:25 pm

i jz luv how da way LRX look…

• czhen (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 2:52 am

wow this car is just too beautiful

• naz3em on Feb 13, 2009 at 3:27 pm

cantek giler kete nii.mmg bagus lah land rover.macho n tampan.wat a car…

• mokkf82 on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:45 pm

With the current quality of diesel in Malaysia, i don't think it can achive 4.7 liters per 100km.

Nonetheless, this is a great SUV.

• Lewis on Mar 13, 2009 at 12:56 am

very well design indeed and very sporty too. but then how about interior ?

• Mark Leo on Oct 28, 2009 at 10:10 am

fugfugfugfugfugfugfugfug!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM GONNA GET MYSELF ONE OF THESE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• harry on Sep 19, 2010 at 6:35 pm

simply the best , who can beat this, difinadlly no one

• harry on Sep 19, 2010 at 6:36 pm

no one can beat the lrs not even in 2020