FAMRC 2008 – First Round, Day One Results

Karamjit in Perlis

Day One of the first round of the 2008 Felda-AAM Malaysian Rally Championship (FAMRC) in Bahau, Negeri Sembilan is now over, with Team Perodua M5s Lim Leong Onn and Kamarul Anuar establishing themselves as the car to beat at the top of the timesheet, driving a 4WD Perodua Viva Turbo. Team Perodua M5’s other car is a Perodua Myvi Turbo 4WD with Kan Chee Hong and Bernard Chin.

You might wonder what happened to FAMRC 2007’s champion Karamjit Singh. His team is not at its top form this round as instead of his new car, he will be driving a hired front wheel drive Proton Satria 1.6. “Being a front wheel drive, it is slow compared to the Subaru, Mitsubishi and even the Perodua Myvi 4WD, so we dont expect to win this round.” said Karamjit. His own car is stuck in a warehouse in Port Klang.

Another team also switched cars. Gunaseelan Rajoo and his co-driver chose to drive their old 4WD Proton Putra instead of their front wheel drive Proton GEN2 as they would benefit from the extra traction 4WD provided on the tough Bahau course.

More than 20 cars were flagged off today for Day One, which consists of 8 Stages with a total distance of 109.39km. The longest Stage distance for Leg 1 is 16.78km at Feldajaya while the shortest distance is 7.63km at Jerneh. Tomorrow’s course consists of 6 Stages, with a total distance of 72.3km.

Day One claimed 6 cars, including James Russell who suffered engine seizure just 500 meters from the start gate, and Team Pennzoil’s all-women team whose Proton Satria suffered steering and rear suspension damage.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 29, 2008 at 9:01 pm

no longer pakaii wira ke??
    how about nnt tukar pulak proton saga blm…??

• AvE (Member) on Mar 29, 2008 at 11:29 pm

wat about persona hehee…wah bad day for karamjit…i really admire his skills..anyhow congrats to day 1 of 1st round winner…

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 12:11 am

4WD Viva, Myvi and Satria? HAH?! First time hearing a FWD car converted into 4WD…possible meh? time to research..

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 12:25 am

Persona/saga not good for this stuff as wira?

• Paul Tan on Mar 30, 2008 at 12:26 am

The Viva and Myvi equivalents in Japan has always been available with 4WD.

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 2:14 am

Dear Maverick, 4WD Toyota Passo is available in the 1,000cc la. Personally I think Myvi is good in cutting nicely into corners. It has shorter overhangs and larger front view than those competitors. But it lacks the rear weight to do rear swing. Malaysia still needs more exposure to the rally championships… I dun like the ‘estate’ race track in Malaysia. It lacks the sharp corners and scenaries….

• moha774 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 12:11 pm

read somewhere that Karamjit requested from Proton to use Satria Neo that has been NA tuned to give 200hp( doesn’t recall about the engine source). Is it possible that the car stuck in Klang is the car featured in one of the thread been tuned up in the U.K for rally purposes.??? hehehe wait and see…

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 7:05 pm

The UK rally Neo which was featured in NST CBT & previous blog post does look marvellous. But I dont think it’ll be used for local rallying scene. I think its intended for the WRC super 2000 series.

• theanswer (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 7:22 pm

maverickneo: waah..u never heard that b4? wow….those converts(fwd to 4wd) already happens long time ago..if u wanna do some research now..go ahead, sure u will find lots of info abt that…even u can easily finds that inside our local car magzine like ‘kereta’.

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 9:26 pm

Awesome, damn Japs putting 4WD into everything..lolz! I read in most forums saying that converting a FWD into a 4WD would be time-consuming, not to mention insanely costly, justifying a better stock 4WD car. I’ve seen 4WD turned into RWD, but FWD into RWD and 4WD..awesome!..lolz..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 11:29 pm

“I dun like the ‘estate’ race track in Malaysia. It lacks the sharp corners….” you obviously haven’t seen a real malaysian rally. there are hundreds of sharp corners.
    malaysian rally’s stages are one of the most popular among foreign participants in the aprc, coz its challenging, tough, and technical. when we used to have WRC cars and drivers in coming to malaysia in the 80’s, they said the same things.

there have been known cases of people converting wira’s into 4wd running evo powertrain more than 10 years ago.

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 10:15 am

i dont understand how can Karamjit’s Mitsu Evo8 was allowed to race against the Kancils and Myvis

sound not fair at all, am i rite?

unless the latters went through a serious engine mods that can match Evo’s power, which i highly doubt…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 12:28 pm

pOckeTbOcoR, in racing, there are different classifications, or classes.

although those cars are racing with an EVO8 for overall, they are also racing in their own respective classes.

when you watch a WRC race on TV, you only see the 10-12 cars that make up the front pack of a WRC race. but what you dont see, is the other 80plus cars who make up an entire WRC race. you have the super 1600, super 2000, world production cars..etc. etc. although they are also racing for overall positions, they are only concentrating on their own classes, because the overall top positions are only usually won by the WRcars which are the fastest, and have the largest budgets.

likewise in an endurance race, like lemans, you have more than 6 different classes who race together on the same track.. but of course, the winners every year are from the LMP1 prototype class, which represent the fastest cars.

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 2:31 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    March 31, 2008 @ 12:28 pm

i know that, but i dont think in Felda rally they do it like that, right? i mean, how many evos r there in the rally? as far as i know, only karamjit is driving one…i dont see other evo cars competing. even the second place last time was putra/wira…so u got my point right..

konpius…