JPJ to crack down on HID and tinting by July 2008

HID Lamps

The JPJ has announced that it is giving car owners 3 months until the end of July 2008 to remove non-compliant xenon lamps and dark tinting that does not comply with JPJ specifications from their cars.

During the 3 months leading up to the deadline, vehicles caught in violation will be issued a PG1 notice (Notis Larangan Penggunaan), but there will be no compound associated with the notice. To get this notice retracted, the car owner needs to comply with the directive. JPJ director Salim Parlan urges the public to report the number plates of “offending cars” to 03-88866412.

Despite all these warnings, drama and deadlines, there is still no clear rules and regulations published as to what exactly non-compliance means when it comes to xenon lamps. Are aftermarket xenon headlamps illegal, or just any xenon lamps that are of an unsuitable colour temperature, brightness or pointing at the wrong angle?

Only retrofitted HID lights to be banned

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• thingsyoudo3 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 8:26 am

As i am sure enough,the first problem will occur when JPJ is going to enforce the regulations,how do exact they will comply with the spec??are there any black and white?

• dr_carz (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 8:45 am

I HATE THIS XENON FANATICS…
    MY EYES WENT BLURR WHEN I PASS THEM
    HOPE JPJ WILL STAND UP TO ALL THIS OFFENDERS
    IF I KNOW WHERE THEY LIVE I LL SMASH THEIR CARS WITH A BRICK !

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 9:40 am

it is not fair with the car oredi fitted wit xenon light…takan nak tukar kot…i think jpj shud saman the car with aftermarket xenon light…for tinted thing…b4 nak saman rakyat…saman dulu menteri2 yg ketenye tinted…

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 9:48 am

Bloody cost cutting POPULAR car in Malaysia using cost cutting REFELECTOR design headlamp cause all these glaring problem.

• bien335 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:45 am

aiyah. didnt you gusy read it clearly.

it says cars that didnt come with OEM HIDs only. if the car came with HID as OEM, its cool. The potong weelas with blinding HIDs are the ones that are of concern

the dungu’s that install the HID without proper reflectors should be blamed for this.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 1:33 pm

jus another way to get more pocket money….i applaud the idea…but their intentions are very clear…..if thy r serious thy wd hav doen it long ago….
    rreally corrupt bunch…..

anyway those HID are menance really…a real irritation to road users….dangerous….but bcos motorists KNOW enforcement is so weak….thy thy dont mind n go ahead purchasing those HIDs….

another ting is….WHY DONT SOME MINISTRY GO AFTER THOSE WHO SELL THEM RATHER THAN USE THEM ?????

• Alister Muffaz (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 1:38 pm

Regarding the tinted/ rear privacy glass issue. They should change the rules & allow cars that came with them from the factory (Part of the glass (Usually has an AS3 mark stamped on it.), not film.) to be left as it is.

But I do agree that cars with limo tints all round (Darker than the rear-only factory-spec ones commonly seen on Alphards, Estimas, Harriers, Elgrands, Muranos, Wishes & the like.) should be banned, as those are are waaay too dark to the point where you almost can’t see out of the windows at night. With the factory privacy glass, you can still see through it clearly at night & the police can still see through (As long you don’t add an extra layer of tint, otherwise you’re just asking for trouble.).

My parents WILL NOT change the privacy glass on the Estima, as it came from the factory that way & it should be left as it is.

What about the other JDM-spec owners, especially if they have a car that’s not common? Will be very hard to find the glass for it (Or they’ll have to fabricate one from a shop, which will cost alot.).

Alister

• ah liew (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 1:44 pm

Well remember those days when JPJ is very strict about after market exhaust pipe? JPJ used to catch them at Tols? it is also illegal to lower your car, change air filter & even body kits. Well happen to those now?

Not to mention, HID & tinted glass is already illegal for many many years in Malaysia. It’s not a new law or new crackdown. As long there is a road block, you’re gonna get caught.

How about swapping engines? isn’t that illegal too & yet JPJ can convert your road tax to legalise it.

The worst is more of these crackdown, the more “rasuah” will be offered.

In general, not all Malaysian’s modify their cars but still everyone can be caught for speeding right? when you’re being caught at a road block, what comes to your mind….? offer money & you’re free man again.

What i’m saying is, in the mind of fellow Malaysian’s now are in fear to pay ” rasuah” rather than kena the real saman!

So think about it….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 1:57 pm

ah liew said,
    March 30, 2008 @ 1:44 pm

Well remember those days when JPJ is very strict about after market exhaust pipe? JPJ used to catch them at Tols? it is also illegal to lower your car, change air filter & even body kits. Well happen to those now?

Not to mention, HID & tinted glass is already illegal for many many years in Malaysia. It’s not a new law or new crackdown. As long there is a road block, you’re gonna get caught.

How about swapping engines? isn’t that illegal too & yet JPJ can convert your road tax to legalise it.

The worst is more of these crackdown, the more “rasuah” will be offered.

In general, not all Malaysian’s modify their cars but still everyone can be caught for speeding right? when you’re being caught at a road block, what comes to your mind….? offer money & you’re free man again.

What i’m saying is, in the mind of fellow Malaysian’s now are in fear to pay ” rasuah” rather than kena the real saman!

So think about it….
    —————————————————————-

Hey, engine swapping in Malaysia is legal provided your donor engine displacement DOES NOT exceed 25% of your original engine displacement. Anyway, you are right, those Plotongs with improper HID installation are very blinding lah…

• king (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 2:17 pm

i tint only my rear window 100% …but just because my eyes are blinded by tall mpvs/ suvs fitted with lousy after market HIDs

• king (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 2:20 pm

e-nabilll said,
    March 30, 2008 @ 1:33 pm
    …..

anyway those HID are menance really…a real irritation to road users….dangerous….but bcos motorists KNOW enforcement is so weak….thy thy dont mind n go ahead purchasing those HIDs….

another ting is….WHY DONT SOME MINISTRY GO AFTER THOSE WHO SELL THEM RATHER THAN USE THEM ?????

_____

i agree with u 100%…its like going after the drug addict and letting the drug dealer free. stupid JPJ director.

• banana88 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 3:52 pm

I think the JPJ should catch those vehicles that produced dark smoke from their vehicles. Catch those stupid buses and motors, damn polluting the environment. Rather than catching those not so serius offenses.

• carsut (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 4:40 pm

this is good start.. i hate car that this uncool light, make my eyes blur n my heart hot..

• transformer (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 5:22 pm

not only potong car has them, i had seen Vios & Myvi too! Sucking HID! Blinding every living(mosquito to human & spirit) things when they passed-by….

should enact a law for JPJ officer to smashed their headlight(both Left & Right) if their HID are not factory fitted! and smashed their window whenever theres any tint too dark! No need to waste time…. Just smash them!

• Hybrid (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 6:59 pm

Wake up fellow Malaysian, you guys already purchase the most expensive car on earth with limited safety features. First of all HID are invented for better visibility in night driving. Second only minority who is unaware of how to adjust the correct height & angle that makes glaring to others. Come on, others develop countries public transport already fitted with HID. If you guys continue have the mindset like that, by years 2020, JPJ would be glad to ask you to light up candle in front of your car, which is compliance to ECO Friendly, while other are toking about HID & SUPER LED lighting system. Why should we proposed & allowed double standrad for JPJ? Its their duty find out a way to legalize & make road driving more safety for every motorist. Why should give only Premium cars can have tinted & HID? not others who can afford & comply to the standard? Make it a standard across all the cars. So far any one heard of reporting or figures saying that HID direct correlate to road accident? Judge by facts & figures around the world motor standard, not by self feeling.

• faizfadil (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 8:09 pm

They should have come up with an alternative……. car manufacture r trying 2 make things better bcauz of the roads 2day are so TERUK!!!!!!!! And why is it so biggie abt tinting so dark?????? It’s our rite to do whatever we want….. How can they stop us from doing it???? Xcept HID lights of course….. sakit mata……

• chanel (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 8:37 pm

Dear Mr. Saman

Pls do draw up the list of OEM HID cars & those whose car are later factory fitted with OEM HID after some MMC change. (i.e: Waja 2000-2007 no HID; Waja 2008 onward, factory OEM HID) before you get a wrong guy or being deceive by those retrofit guy.

As for tinted glass, do u guys calibrated your device? A wind glass without tinted film already have less than 100% light visibility. If your device are not properly calibrated, any film in the word would also fail the 70% visible light test.

• chanel (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 8:50 pm

dr_carz said,
    March 30, 2008 @ 8:45 am

I HATE THIS XENON FANATICS…
    MY EYES WENT BLURR WHEN I PASS THEM
    HOPE JPJ WILL STAND UP TO ALL THIS OFFENDERS
    IF I KNOW WHERE THEY LIVE I LL SMASH THEIR CARS WITH A BRICK !
    =====================

Shame on you called your self “dr carz”………….Sorry I’m not here to flame you.
    Pls take some info here, not all HID or XENON will blur your eyes. If any retro fit HID follow simple regulation, you won’t have this “BLURR”. Any type of light have higher than 6000K temp will cause problem.

those retro fit ah beng probable would like to fit 8k temp or even 12k temp as their HID, hence, you eyes will blurr if you come across with it.

People who follow or care other users will,
    -adjust their lighting angle after installed HID.
    -will not use any bulb that exceed 6000k temp level, as above the rate it become bluish, so it cant light up ur road. Only Ah Beng like to light up other user eye.

YOu mentioned you will smash their headlamp with brick if you know where they stay. Pls cautioned your word, as it may become an evidence to hit you back.

lastly, don’t simply make a conclusion HID are bad become some of the idiot Ah Beng make it look so……

In reality,
    -HID does save your car voltage (only 35w compare to halogen 60w),
    -bright up your road like day light; drive at a trunk road where there is not lampu tiang you will really notice the different.

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 9:40 pm

i hope the JPJ is smart enough to catch those illegal ones… i mean those imported cars are come with HID lights as standard… if so, wat bout the gov ministers whose the rides are such as 7 series, merc S class (tun mahathir’s ride) etc…? catch them lar…

im sad for the tinting issue there… nth wrong to tint our cars black mah… wats the problem with JPJ these days… their karcheng itchy ah…

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 9:46 pm

JPJ no idea where to go with this as lots of gov bigshots have cars which are mentioned here?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:19 pm

good move, saman those brainless people with aftermarket HID, only allow those original HID which comes with the car….

but for dark window tint, i think no need to ban lah….. no big problem, right?

• baldwin (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:31 pm

why are the pigs at JPJ still so dumb???..

just SAMAN those who fit HID’s on “REFLECTOR HEADLAMPS” ; eg: Myvi, Vios, City, Wira..

HID lighting on reflector headlamps DOES NOT glare other oncoming cars! dammit!

Can’t even think of that simple guidelines!

• avanza (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:35 pm

Another thing the ministry should go after is noisy exhaust pipes! I use to have this neighbour that when he started his car, my baby cried! Real idiot!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:50 pm

actually..gov n jpj are really idiot..if they want to ban the tinted thing…they are so so stupid…actually it help to reduce heat in our car n make us cmfort..i wont change a tinted glass n hid light to all my cars…

yup..most of u re rite…they shud look after the other thing like xhaust pipe…mat rempit…buses or lorries dat polute d environment…pity our gov n jpj are brainless…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:50 pm

pollute*

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:52 pm

The JPJ is the stupid department ~ better go caught those illegal motobike racer or burning black smoke diesel every where ~

• kaizou (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 11:05 pm

Hybrid said,
    March 30, 2008 @ 6:59 pm

Wake up fellow Malaysian, you guys already purchase the most expensive car on earth with limited safety features. First of all HID are invented for better visibility in night driving. Second only minority who is unaware of how to adjust the correct height & angle that makes glaring to others. Come on, others develop countries public transport already fitted with HID.

———————————————————

Most of us understand wat ur saying. but come on, malaysia = developed ? Not in my dictionary. most of cars fitted HID in malaysia are made in china aftermarket which usually being used by MYVI PASSOLA, WIRALUTION, VIOS ALMIGHTY. most expensive car in the world yea right.

JPJ should enforce/check on this aftermarket HID seller. make them safe compliance. not only sell n fit as customer want.

• Hybrid (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 11:05 pm

No exact specification on automotive standard indicate that HID only can be fitted on projector headlamp? Projector or Multi-reflector only type of headlight design. Some OEM head lamp from Premium Imported car also came with HID on multi reflector. Its just the matter of fine tuning & alignment of the light system.

• AvE (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 11:12 pm

JPJ = otak’less
    jpj = cakap kosong
    jpj = rasuah sikit..smua hal tetap lulus,under table money
    jpj = want extra income from motorist, especially hujung bulan

jk..

• carcrazy_sbs (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 1:20 am

about the HID, JPJ have no brains….they only know how to banned and dono how to slove it….as we know most of them Europe’s or japan’s car now fitted with HID as OEM headlight so it increase night driving safety……

DO THEY GONNA BANNED IT??

and for those aftermarket HID….if they wanna banned HID, y dont just stop those importer and stop those ppl who selling HID ??
    y they wanna target the user?? and not all users are AH BENG….coz i have do research on HID for more than a year……
    yes… i do agree my HID was damm glaring when i 1st use it….and now i just keep on researching and do modify the glare shield so it will make the cutoff as OEM as it can(normally aftermarket HID from china are all without a proper shield or even dont have any shield) …..
    And now my car is now using HID with a proper DIY shield….and it make no difference between OEM HID like Estima or new CIVIC 2.0…..izit putting a HID on Proton’s or any non-OEM fitted HID will be summons/notice??

Did they know anything about HID?? for those who has retrofit……do u think JPJ or police will know u using wat so ever projector?? and most of the projector are compliment with ECE or DOT regulation…..did they know??they only know

*****LAMPU PUTIH*****

i’m not here to flame anyone and i just wanna let u ppl know just because some acknowledge HID user and now making the whole malaysia its going for candle light in 2020…..

u might refer to TITAN REV in zth for more information on the “legal to sell hid, not legal to use it” thingy…..

• xg9 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 9:09 am

doggy: selamat petang encik
    me: saya tau salah saya, saya potong double line
    doggy: takpelah, blanja kitaorang minum kopi 20 ringgit sudah cukup, kita kasi lepas

RASUAH!!!!!!

• kevin62 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 9:21 am

Haiyo.. JPJ should only approve for those installed by JPJ. But make sure is good quality.
    Like that they still can make some money.

• zzzxtreme (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 9:26 am

Good. PUNISH THESE AH BENG HID XENON OWNERS

THOSE WHO INSTALL THESE STUPID ANNOYING HIDs HAS NOTHING ELSE TO DO OR HAS NO GIRLFRIEND. INSTEAD OF GF FLASHING BOOBS, THEY ONLY HAVE HID TO FLASH OTHER CARS

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 10:21 am

Just another chance for them to RASUAH! Too many controversy and only end users will suffer. Wondering how many imported cars fitted with HID will kena.

JPJ = Selamat petang encik. Kreta encik guna HID wor.
    Victims = Ni kereta Benz. Factory fitted la. Mana tau dia HID tak HID?
    JPJ = Tak kisah encik, asalkan HID encik sudah kena
    Victims = Then apa macam?
    JPJ = Encik nak settle sini ke? nak ambik bil
    Victims = !@#$%^&*

Just a thought

Btw, JPJ sud take action in stopping the unapproved HID been selling across malaysia rather than catching end users. What a STUPID action they’ve made.

• qozhx (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:30 am

Not all HID’s are illegal, if 6000k n below is legal but above then that is illegal anymore. So why all d fuzz about… so let say if u come across glaring light’s HID’s, maybe it comes from d above 6000k discharge unit. Basically above 6000k HID light are aftermarket unit & if it came from d carmaker itself, it is complied & bound with d regulation.

• xavier_lert (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:32 am

hey my car come wit standerd one….if im not mistaken this is only for the after market one…..

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 12:51 pm

As long as HID give me glare, I’ll smash their lights. So dangerous… Idiots that manufacture third party HID, idiots who bring them into the country & dono how to install them, and idiots who purchase them. Smash em all..

Educate yourselves first when installing HID so that a safety feature does not turn into a hazardous feature. Then this issue become a non issue..

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 1:16 pm

god damn it!… manyak sakit mata ini lampu.
    i will swearing like hell to the car tailing me behind with this hell of lamps!
    even worst, if the driver oso stewpid using high beam!.

banning it asap no matter what reason the car owner give. I hate HID xenon!

• ganz (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 4:19 pm

JPJ has to come out with detail spec to the public and not just mentioning about HID and tinted.. what if the retro fit people who install with HID but follow the rules..?

what about the car that totally imported that already fitted with HID but local one don’t have.. do JPJ know that? i don’t think so

JPJ need to be specified.. n not just hentam, n don’t just hangat2 tahi ayam only

*about HID.. as a layman whio drive on the road.. I hate HID.. regardless i don’t know either it is retro fit or factory fit…one thing.. it blind me..so as malay proveb.. kerana nila setitik.. rosak susu sebelanga..

• KL-ATR (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 5:31 pm

JPJ director Salim Parlan urges the public to report the number plates of “offending cars” to 03-88866412.
    ========================
    Great. Now everyone’s gonna be out on a witch hunt. How would the general public know what car has OEM factory fitted HID? I would imagine anything whitish will be marked.

And what sort of guidelines these JPJ clowns will have during their crack down exercise? I hate to imagine the kind of hassle I have to go through. The factory option for my HID lights costs almost RM4k in Japan but I’m sure I’ll be stopped at every block to show proof of origin. Maybe I should just stick my Japanese manual on the windscreen. Baga…

• ckcheong (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 9:07 pm

Agreed with ganz, JPJ should release in black and white governing regulations before even starting any enforcement. Without anything which could be passed on as law, if motorist want to bring the issue to court, who will win le?

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:27 pm

baldwin said,

March 30, 2008 @ 10:31 pm

why are the pigs at JPJ still so dumb???..

just SAMAN those who fit HID’s on “REFLECTOR HEADLAMPS” ; eg: Myvi, Vios, City, Wira..

HID lighting on PROJECTOR headlamps DOES NOT glare other oncoming cars! dammit!

Can’t even think of that simple guidelines!

~~~~~~~~~~

Fixed for greater justice.

But what abt Civic 2.0, Estima (not the latest one) and Latio 1.8 high-spec ones? I’m quite disappointed they would use HID with reflector, while even Waja can provide projector lens. And now Waja CPS has HID, emmm, nice…..hopefully, the Satria Neo CPS would come with HID too ^_^

Agree wit ganz, they shud come out wit details on how to point at right angle, etcetc. The way it is rite now, I wouldn’t blame JPJ if they decide to absolutely ban HID in Malaysia.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:33 pm

Note: grammatical error.

And now Waja CPS has HID, emmm, nice…..hopefully, the Satria Neo CPS WILL come with HID too ^_^

• aaron_38my (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 12:30 pm

Crackdown on HIDs and non-compliant tinting? More like rasuah fund is getting matured by July 2008 for the JPJs. If these windbags would mean what they have actually said, the publics would have respected them rather than feeding them rasuah. Increase in their salaries konon. Truthfully, I hate the laid back and non-friendly attitudes of these government employees. Lousy services…all they know is complain about their salaries. Prove yourselves of worthiness la, then maybe the Uncle Sams would consider something.
    HIDs are nice and all that, but only those came with the cars as they have standards rather than those self fitted aftermarket HIDs. Worse thing now is that, HIDs are now accessible to everybody!
    Dark tinting?HAH!And DOUBLE HAH for the JPJ!Do something about those imported cars with privacy glasses first, then crackdown on others. Otherwise, ban imports of cars with those glasses FULL STOP. I’ve seen and I know JPJ employees with dark tinted windows, HID and exhaust!
    My car’s muffler tip rusted and broke, and since my car is precious to me and I love it, so I replaced it with a STYLISH SPORTY LOOKING muffler TIP (ONLY). Yet, I’ve been stopped by roadblocks and those ass holes said my original muffler with sporty looking muffler tip is illegal. I told them my muffler is barely making any noises, yet they argued and gave me saman! Go to hell la, JPJ. Mesra, cepat, ikhlas and all that jazz konon…more like opposite of all those qualities.

• Hybrid (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 10:42 pm

Come on Guys, What is JPJ? Jabatan Pengankutan Jalanraya = Jangan Pandang Jalan. All they wish is that you cannot follow the rules clearly even better still for them to get extra income without excuse, thats why till now JPJ cannot come out a clear guideline for tinting until today, not even need to mentioned HID? How long tinted glass in the market? Easily >10 years. Why they never came out a clear guidlines? Becuase most of them also want to enjoy the same entities. Those “Dcikhead” only know saman…but nothing else…Go & crack their “dcikhead” to find out a clear guideline for fellow malaysian. “Wake up JPJ” The pass experience already good enough to prove their inefficientcy & far behind knowledge about automotive trend & market. All they know is Kerata L = Lembu.

• wisedriver (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 8:46 am

Its true that HID can make your way much safer… but dont you consider about somebody else?? Cars using HID light will make people in front of him or come from the opposition road will be blur for a while bcoz the light is so bright.. i am sure all of you agree with me. If its a standard BM or merc, i think its okay (if it is not mdified to used more powerful HID).. the problem will be worst when cars like estima, harrier, wish and etc, this is bcoz their head lamp is above our rear window.. so it will directly reflect side mirror at car in front! Think of it… if you want to use HID, used a low power one.. or dont blame people when your head lamp (or your front or rear window)crack from unknown resources flying object !!!

And for tinted issue, i suggest that only on driver side, can used a bit darker compare to other window.. it will make driver more confortable… :)

Just an opinion from me ;)

• aries_shadowheart (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 12:12 pm

well jpj not the only one who try to ban aftermarket h.i.d,
    U.S gov are trying long before jpj.

http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/rules/rulings/glare.html

and

http://www.petitiononline.com/hidforum/petition.html

• leedehao (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 12:00 am

I find it interesting how people love to flame HID lamps. As few others said, proper HID lamps are designed in such a way that it enhances night driving whie reducing the glare for oncoming vehicles. One should not be confused with proper HID and those that replace their bulb so that it looks like HID. My opinion is that the government should go after the manufacturers who produces the HID look bulbs. Furthermore, more money to makan from manufacturers also right? Got big fish to catch don’t wanna catch =.=

• kenny_jkl (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 11:30 am

H.I.D ..H.I.D.. I drive a Proton Waja .. with a so called illegal h.i.d installed aftermarket ….what is legal and what is not….. does the people in authority knows.???? What is illegal…. i might not know much about cars…. but by right mod cars are illegal ….. why they are still around…hope i’m wrong….. lights… are for safety … not speed…. Hope i’m wrong….. manufacturers and widely use of H.I.D are from some this so call big countries…. Japan …Germany ….”China” …. Korea ….and many more i think…!! So i assume the association with atthority assume’s that this country are supplying illegal stuff to our country. So i assume again …. that majority of the accesories shop that carries this product “H.I.D” shall be taken on legal action. ?? haha. Guys, who owns proton cars, i heard from people that ( : izzit waja or savvy R3 originally comes with “h.i.d” ….. So i as a guy that dunno how car works ….. but go by logic …… will the proton R3 be banned … pls don’t, is a nice car …. ( -:

• ferox (Member) on Apr 29, 2008 at 4:34 pm

What we need isn’t an outright ban on HID because as you guys know, it is a safety feature for better visibility at night. What we need are better regulations to control fitting such devices to cars especially aftermarket parts.

As to the question of going after the installers or manufacturers, I believe that it is we, the consumers who are creating a demand for these products in a simple supply vs demand economics. In short, it’s our fault.

The public needs to be more informed and educated about these products. Perhaps car manufacturers can start by making an option to retrofit existing cars properly, like what the government is trying to do with seat belts.

• DAN L (Member) on May 17, 2008 at 11:37 pm

we pay tax is for this gov miss used there power to create JPJ to make burdens to rakyat !

• fronterra (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 6:02 am

Salam.

There are three things that need to be concerned about converting to HID lamps:
    1. The HID lamp must have projector head lens.
    2. The brightness of the HID lamp must not exceed 6000K.
    3. The HID lamps must be leveled correctly to the right angle.

Old cars usually don’t have projectors head lens, which spread all the glares to the opposite drivers. Projector head lens didn’t do that. It point the lamp to the right place.

Those who has projector head lens, like Proton Waja or Satria Neo, may use HID lamps which below 6000K and leveled correctly to the right angle.

I’m using HID lamp to my Waja. If I get summoned, surely I’ll fight with all the science facts. JPJ should make an academic study before enforce these laws. This HID lamp helps me to drive safely during night time.

If we doing it right, why must it be banned?

• Zai Nal on Jul 18, 2010 at 1:24 am

Fight la you stupid idiot. You think you know the law. The law can over rule your stupid science facts.
    Stupid HID brat!
    Chase ’em all Mr JPJ. Yeehaaaaaaa