Renault Car Pricelist in Malaysia

Renault Car Pricelist

Reader Al Maarof who sent in the photos of the Renault showcase earlier has scanned for us the estimated pricelist (with specifications) for the 4 Renault models going to be offered in Malaysia. All of them are over RM200K, with the turbocharged Renault Grand Espace going for over RM300,000 OTR inclusive of insurance.

TC Eurocars previews Malaysia-bound Renault cars

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 9:25 am

Ridiculous prices!
    Betul2 karut! same goes to Nissan Teana!
    I think even new Nissan Selphy will also be priced at nonsense & ridiculous RM!!!
    Wake up TC!

• AvE (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 9:35 am

omigosh…price so high..not worth buying…with that price tag…better go for other brands that has logic price…who ever buys it sure is bad in maths or just dont know where to spend their $$$…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 9:37 am

wow..it is quite shocked to c the pricelist…espace is too xpensive…sure x brape laku nanti…i tot it will b arnd odyssey price tag…clio rs is too xpensive…conclusion…the price is too ridiculous n nonsense…

• jhuan (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:06 am

Aiyoyo…so expensive…for that amount of money I could buy a brand new merz C-class/BMW 3 series. Why do I need renault when I can have german latest technology??

• indigo (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:14 am

Wow, french cars have that kinda value? Look at old Peu, Cit and Ren. All of them have such a low resell value. Who will wanna take risk even if they are interested to get. I saw new Picanto the other day which costs only 88k over.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:38 am

I agree that the prices are quite expensive. But let’s not forget that they come here in CBUs and they are the first bunch of renaults since the Kangoo some many years ago. It is a bold step the distributors are doing now.

Iwould love to buy the Clio. Just awesome

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:42 am

Why are they selling the megane coupe-cabriolet? Its not like the malaysians like convertibles.

On my comment earlier, the megane r26 and clio rs are sports cars and manufactured by renaultsport (performance divison of renault), so no wonder they are expensive

• bien335 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:46 am

300K??

dayum son, something’s not right.

the previous gen grand espace was priced under 200K IIRC.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 11:37 am

digging their own grave….more ex than Golf GTI? 300k MPV? Can buy 2 recon Oddesey Absolute my frd!

• Bebelon (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 11:55 am

hope renault can make a strong comeback in malaysia. but i personally think that the price is high and TC needs put more efforts in after sales service and maintain its resale value. Megane is a great car but why TC only bring in R26 and clio sport? i think these 3 models will go against golf GTI. pls bring megane and clio basic model into malaysia!!!

• hyundai (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 12:39 pm

Tan Chong is crazy… They should introduce some common car instead of this kind of crazy and expensive car… They should bring in the origninal Megane, Clio and Laguna… Those Renault are way too expensive!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 2:06 pm

Stupid pricing strategy.

• zidane (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 3:43 pm

VERY STUPID

• banana88 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 3:58 pm

I agree with the CBU that makes the price shooting up. Blame the stupid government with the stupid policies. Making us paid more that we earned, crazy!

• lchan (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 4:04 pm

haha….R26 for 250k and worse, clio RS for 224k?…no comments…

• azolkipl (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 4:12 pm

The Clio R27 and the Megane R26 are special editions of the Clio 197 and Megane 230. They’re specially assembled at Dieppe. This is the site where RenaultSport is based. That’s why they’re expensive. Maybe you should compare the Clio with the Golf GTI 30th anniversary edition, and the Megane with the Golf R32. Because that’s the obvious direct contender for these two cars.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 6:49 pm

good point azolkipl.

Clio RS’s 197hp is close to Golf GTi’s 200hp, while Megane R26’s 230hp is more likely to content the Golf R32’s 250hp. Poor Malaysians, as the tax & pricing makes them as luxury items whereas in UK, average wage-earners can buy these cars affordably.

• demio121 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 7:30 pm

i wonder how many renault car is TC planning to sell with that kinda price??? Not that Renault have a strong presence here or its a luxury brand… but i guess some people think all thing ang moh should come with a premium price.

• faizfadil (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 8:14 pm

msmar_453 said,

March 30, 2008 @ 9:25 am

Ridiculous prices!
    Betul2 karut! same goes to Nissan Teana!
    I think even new Nissan Selphy will also be priced at nonsense & ridiculous RM!!!
    Wake up TC
    ——————————————————————

Ectually, this has 2 blame 2 the government….. They made us pay 300% tax……. Basically if u buy a Honda City, it’s like buying another 2 more city…… One of the reason is they are scared of their local markets like Proton n Perodua.. If they x naik the tax, I would have baught a New GTR easily

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 9:43 pm

German cars have much better value and more badge for the money you are paying.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:03 pm

just go ahead and buy if u have the budget and really appreciate the car…

just like those who bought cars like Lancer Evo, Peugeot 407 etc…..

concern about resale value and maintenance cost? bullshit lah!!! don’t care about that if u really like the car…….

• trustgtr (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:16 pm

Renault are no doubt good cars, but their products are more for the average joe and not a luxury brand. Infact, i bet even Renault find these pricing absolutely ridiculous..to me its pathetic..policies from pathetic govt..

• szw (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 10:17 pm

VW better…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 11:01 pm

yup…i agree with trustgtr…

renault is not a premium brand..it is jz as same as d honda…so…im pretty shocked to c d espace ricetag…too xpensive…the clio rs still xpensive for me coz it is a mini car…smaller than golf gti..but xpensive…u can gt a better hot hatches like golf gti with a reasonable pricetag…btw..let see wat happen..

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 11:15 pm

even without government policy its still not a good buy. so many better choices. renault is a joke.

• bien335 (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 11:25 pm

for 50k less, I can get a Civic Type-R

• wong (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 11:42 pm

Too expensive?Don’t buy…Even if the car is below 150k,maintenance in the longrun is costly

• tommy73 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 12:19 am

TC sales/marketing manager should be sent back to school. Whoever buys these cars should be sent back to kindergarten.

• sxe10r (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 8:41 am

it will bankarp soon in this 3 month ~

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 9:01 am

TC is fishing for losers with money.. If put it at luxury price, maybe ppl think Renault is luxury item at quarter milion ringgit like Precision German Engineering or Ultimate Driving Machine. Some more wit F1 wins long time ago, they might say it comes wit F1 tech.

To us it might sound ridiculous, others might say ‘hey, cool Frenchie! How bout a kiss..’ Actual recommended retail price? Maybe the price in Thailand or UK.. Yamseng!

• h2k (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 9:07 am

seems TC dont really intend to sell these cars in big volume…maybe just to impress Ghosn when he drops by Malaysia?

Clio Rs at 220k is way too expensive…might as well go for Honda Type R with better handling and more power :P

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 9:07 am

Target group, idiot rich kids whose dads let them blow money any way they like it until one day they take over dad’s business and run it six feet into the ground.

Any of you motorheads out there like these kids? TC customers ahaks.. so easy for me to size ppl down, sorry.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 9:09 am

oh.. forgot to put my – Yamseng!

• 2ST (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 10:06 am

Nisan not laku..then bring in Rinolt? wit stupid price figure/resale value/reliabilty etc..
    TC syok sendili maa…they just build the batu nisan for themself better!THE ULTIMATE IDIOT>

• kjryth (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 10:34 am

this is typical Tan Chong ler…… super high price!!!!!!!!!

• xavier_lert (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:26 am

crazy !!! clio = (~ bmw 3sries)/ (civic type R + kancil)/ (jazz x 2 + kancil) !!!!!!!!!!

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 12:57 pm

i know nothing bout the price comparisons among other french car maker.. but one thing i know that i can’t afford it lah!!

my eyes only on the SAGA… itu aje yg mampu looorrrr…

• lchan (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 4:01 pm

you do not pip a car based on it’s horsepower. It is because of this naive mentality that the clio RS and Megane R26 becomes expensive. This same thinking has made the R32 priced against the bmw 130i, which is stupid.

The clio is to polo and megane is to golf.

• dzat46 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 4:47 pm

Nuts…Grand Espace at RM300K….hahahaha…definately x laku, most ppl will definately buy those alphards/estima/elysion instead of this 50% depriciation after drivin out of the show room kind of thing….

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 10:36 am

lchan is right.

The Clio is a smaller model and doesn’t compete with the Golf. The Megane competes with the Golf and in the UK, the Megane R26 is around the same price bracket as the Golf GTi. The Clio RS (I suppose it is either the Cup or the R27) is several thousand Pounds cheaper than the Golf GTi.

I think the culprit here maybe the AP (Approved Permit) bullshit. I’m just speculating here, but I believe Tan Chong being a non-bumi company, with no Ali Baba connections, doesn’t get free APs. Therefore, they had to buy the APs from the jokers who get APs for free. And therefore they have to include that cost into the price itself. And if you take that into account, then the pricelist becomes less ridiculous.

I believe it’s just like the situation that Mazda have with their cars in Malaysia, which are just more expensive than their competitors by a good margin.

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 10:50 am

who give a flying fck if this is CBU ka, Conti ka, ABS ka, DVVT ka, turbocharged ka, save fuel ka, whatever lah.. its a Renault for fck sake..

What image that Renault remind or have with every single Malaya people? Reliability? Sporty? Premium brand? :O :O :O

Woi TAN CHONG !! Purposely wanna kill Renault brand, ha?

Dah la RENAULT spare part price that TAN CHONG control are bloody ridiculous!

Now, give new models with the right hand but immediately give ‘a great KO punch’ using the other hand.

fdohreuufjsfjvfjlkdsj5#@$$#F VDSFW$%$#%GFDGTYUI*& !!

Cancel the plan to bring all this Cars/MPV for the sake of Renault future image / marketability.. coz you sure gonna fail miserably.

Unless of course that’s the point of all this move…

which is the most stupid plan ever plan, think of and done by any auto dealer in Malaysia…. EVER!

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 10:51 am

Ok, I just did a bit of research and this is what I got.

Using the VW Golf GTi as a reference point;

Golf GTi = £21,000 approx (in the UK); RM200,000 approx (in Malaysia)
    Megane F1 R26 = £20,000 approx (in the UK); RM250,000 approx (in Malaysia)
    Clio F1 R27 = £17,000 approx (in the UK); RM220,000 approx (in Malaysia)

Bear in mind that the Renault Clio is competing with the VW Polo. Whereas the Renault Megane competes in the same segment as the VW Golf.

• Shuhaiba (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 4:16 pm

The prices provided are just estimated prices and they are usually marked up. When the cars are oficially launched in Malaysia, the prices will be less than the estimated prices.

• BanyakMasukBengkel (Member) on Oct 19, 2008 at 10:11 am

price too darned high.
    renault support worst in malaysia.
    peaugot more better.
    say no to renault.

• bola7 on Oct 10, 2009 at 2:12 am

omg…but i can afford it..savvy amt just rm43..hohohoho..its still renault clio whut…sp dont buy renault..but savvy!!!

• sugumar samogam on Mar 22, 2010 at 6:32 pm

Renault cars are reliable but beleive me Tan Chong Motors will make them look shoddy by the expert opinion of their own service people who will recommend all sort of expensive repairs and replacement. I own a kangoo and the servicing always cost me a bomb since there is always something to replace. Further more they do not have a proper place to file your complaints. Makes them very non-transparent. So stay clear from Tan Chong Motors and Renault. Better to invest in Toyota/Honda.

• richard79 on Apr 24, 2010 at 12:27 pm

dun blame Renault,blame TC and their marketing !!fcuk gov oso!!

Long Live Renault

from r26 owner>>>cum2 honda civic..what ever type!! wanna get some smoke from my exhaust??

• atz1999 on Dec 24, 2011 at 11:26 pm

damn so expensive ..better buy vw golf