Proton Savvy rear wheel bearing recall

Proton Savvy Rear Wheel

Proton is recalling a total of 34,000 Proton Savvys due to potential water entry into the rear wheel-bearing which could lead to a malfunction of the affected components. Proton say this recall is purely a precautionary measure for the safety of its customers.

“The safety and satisfaction of our customers is a primary concern. As a precautionary measure, we are recalling all Savvy’s for inspection and repair. We do apologise to all the Savvy owners for any inconvenience,” said Proton managing director Dato Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

Customers should immediately contact the nearest Proton Edar or EON service branch for an appointment to have their cars inspected, or call Proton i-Care at 1300880888.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lepatz_81 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 7:40 pm

which batch effect?wat year?

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 7:41 pm

FIRST!! Well, crappy quality, but at least they’re doing something about it and not ignoring it…so can’t bitch much…

• lepatz_81 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 7:42 pm

Which batch effect?Year?

• blazerSST (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 8:01 pm

Good to know, are they going to do a recall of gen2s ?

http://gilagen2.20.forumer.com/viewtopic.php?t=389&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=120

• blazerSST (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 8:02 pm

http://gilagen2.20.forumer.com/viewtopic.php?t=389&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=120

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 8:08 pm

MaverickNeo said,
    March 31, 2008 @ 7:41 pm

FIRST!! Well, crappy quality, but at least they’re doing something about it and not ignoring it…so can’t bitch much…
    =============================================

couldn’t wait to bash, dont you? its normal for any other car maker to recall any of its car if found to have potential fault in the future.taken from the qoute “purely a precautionary measure for the safety of its customers” which is a good measure taken by proton.stop being such a childish commentor, will you?

• zaen (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 8:11 pm

better than so called ‘Malaysian Car’ but with Korean & China origin which we never heard any recall even though everybody know there is error here & there.. Go PROTON!

• IsaacVky (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 8:14 pm

LoL I thought only the old saga rear wheel bearing suffer from this.

• mel (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 8:26 pm

give chance la, even the established car makers have done recalls, but nobody condemn also?

• digiman (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 8:32 pm

hei.. change seems to be in place with proton… hmm.. i wonder should i trust proton quality when they release the perdana replacement..

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 8:59 pm

Don’t WORRY Babe your SAWI will be FIXED soON!

• adamccl (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 9:57 pm

Another step to be a great as an established brand…
    Well, what to do? FYI it’s some unknown supplier of the old stock, that’s why a new one of a different supplier is needed.
    Anyway, great job, Proton Edar! You may seem hopeless to me, but nevertheless, you never give up on such vague ideas/perspectives…

• KF (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 10:57 pm

At least this Proton CEO has the humility to apologize to all Savvy owners unlike the previous one.

But “potential water entry into the rear wheel-bearing which could lead to a malfunction of the affected components” ? hmmm…I thought the rear brake hub is tightly sealed…

Anyway..going to send my Savvy this weekend to the nearest EON SC to get the rear bearing inspected and hopefully replaced with a new design. I had to replaced both my rear bearings about 2 months ago…

• ah liew (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 10:58 pm

I think they should recall the whole car & scrap it! hehe!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:07 pm

Lexus also recall their cars.

I just sold my savvy, hopefully the new owners get the message…

• ProtonSucks (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:16 pm

I hate Proton but they are doing the right thing this time.It is not shamed to recall, at least they care.

• hyundai (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:18 pm

Good job Proton! Keep it up!

• kinwawa (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:44 pm

kudos for being responsible….

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 11:47 pm

its not wrong if they call their customer…it show they care bout their customer…many auto maker make a recall b4 like lexus,even merc,nissan,etc…so…its not wrong to do that…thats good…at least theyre not ignoring it…

• marvel (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 12:27 am

Toyota recalls few hundred thousand in Japan and US,Don’t know about Malaysian Toyota, and yes,Proton is doing the right thing,

• hypermount (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 12:42 am

It was VERY BRAVE of them…sending news release to ALL MAJOR TV networks, print medias, websites and others.

I hope this will not be used as a mean to bash Proton.

Proud of them.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 2:28 am

good move to raise the brand name

• RM (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 7:06 am

Massive recall – definetely a first for Proton! Can only mean the problem must be really serious considering the numerous faults associated with the marque. I’d heed their message and start heading down there asap if were a Savvy owner.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 7:14 am

I wonder what will happened to the new SAGA. It uses the same parts as Savvy, mostly. So far, 43k new SAGA already been booked. Wow.

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 8:30 am

RM said,
    April 1, 2008 @ 7:06 am

Massive recall – definetely a first for Proton!

=====================================

Actually they did before for the Waja and Juara…
    The Waja had a rim defect, i’m not sure what, i think cracks or something. they replaced it with a new design FOC~
    The Juara was fitted FOC with a tougher gearbox cos some lunatic broke his gear in Japan shifting more than 1000 times a day~ (ours was already changed though)

But good work on Proton’s part, most carmakers do recalls too for customer safety. It’s quite a responsible thing to do

• bmpower (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 8:54 am

34K unit on the malaysia road.. plus another K in us and aussie and thai.. not bad.

Good move proton.

BTW.. (harras mode)

http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/881/vivacompressorwt2.jpg
    DO P2 will recall to replace this puny little bar for better and bigger on? :
    not only to sticky up the bumper only? ? :D

• edperdana (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 9:21 am

Well done Proton..better late than never

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 9:24 am

at least they are responsible for the flaw… which is quite a good thing oso… look at the positive way lor…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 9:25 am

At least they take initiative 2 recall. That to me shows that they’re proactive. Not that we should be condoning defects, but its a norm. Even BMWs and Merc do recall, sometime for more serious issues.

• abtm (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 9:30 am

reminds me of the episode of top gear when they joked about bentley recalling cars bcos their wheel nuts are not fasten properly

• hk_loo (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 9:50 am

umw toyota also recall twice since 2006 for vios, first is the faomus immobiliser failure, 2nd is the rear lower arm nut tighten up… but they dont publish in newspaper to let whole malaysian know … hehe

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 10:56 am

its usual for toyota to recall its car i think..hehhe
    see for more..

http://www.automotive.com/new-cars/recalls/01/toyota/index.html

• dzat46 (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 11:29 am

Gud cust service by d new proton mgmt….i show that u hv improve…anyway, how about recall for the known power window prob?

• My50Cents (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 11:37 am

Kudos to P1 for taking responsible action towards the community and customers..ensuring the satisfaction and safety of road users…

anyhow..any of Myvi owners had to replace his/hers disc brakes? Apprently I was told by most workshops i visited that a lot of ppl complained about the disc brakes…if this is true..i hope P2 will take some action like what P1 did…

• My50Cents (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 11:44 am

dzat46 said,
    April 1, 2008 @ 11:29 am

Gud cust service by d new proton mgmt….i show that u hv improve…anyway, how about recall for the known power window prob?

=============================================

I think the power window problem is still there..just not as bad as previous..i think persona/new gen2/savvy(im not sure about this) still uses the same mechanism as the old gen2/waja..however they have changed the motor (Which is mainly the problem) from taiwanese motor to japanese supplier hence reducing the problem occurance/motor faults…however sometimes the window may go up at different angles hence not closing appropriately (but still closes)..

considering changing the power window principles?

just my 50cents

• Xoomie (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 12:04 pm

They did also recalled the Perdana for similar problem as Saavy except its was for the front bearing.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 1:13 pm

yay!!

I can apply work leave and send my car to service center!!!

• wong (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 2:39 pm

Good move Proton,btw please monitor those service centre…sent my car for service last month, no problems so far except for loose rear lights,just need to be tighten,that’s all..and the mechanic said,’biasa maa,made in Malaysia’,…what an idiot…

• mohdwahidi (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Good job Proton. Bashing will do nothing. Don’t just talk, do something. Make your own perfect car with your own perfect company with perfect quality and zero defect.

• cecibo (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 5:40 pm

THAT”S NOT ENOUGH!!!!! highest officer from proton should bend their head and beg for thousand apologies from their customers, just like the toyota men and all the japanese do…

• mejaneujoe (Member) on Apr 01, 2008 at 10:17 pm

i dont see this a problem. i think it should be done regardless of brand of the car. I dont think people should make a big fuss out of it. betul x? Now we know that P1 is on the right track. I dont think the recall is something one should worry about.:) cheers.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 12:47 pm

mohdwahidi said,
    April 1, 2008 @ 4:41 pm

Good job Proton. Bashing will do nothing. Don’t just talk, do something. Make your own perfect car with your own perfect company with perfect quality and zero defect.

——————–

can’t understand your point… Proton suppose to be our OWN car, we own it, right? it just it’s not DIRECTLY ours… so any critics to make them improve is wrong? how can you improve if everyone around u agree with whatever u do? think about it..

btw, i do agree with what they do.. it’s the right call :)

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 1:28 pm

I hope proton will continue to fix their problem and do not stop until all of them are fixed.

Look at Gen-2’s door issue, have they recalled and fixed for customer for free?
    http://paultan.org/archives/2005/09/22/how-to-solve-proton-gen2-door-problem/
    Looks like customer have to fix them DIY

How about Wira/ Waja power window issue? Why proton re-call and fix? is this not consider quality issue? don they know this problem?

I already give up on proton, especially on quality issue and design issue. lets wait if proton can come up with something at least like The New Elantra or not.

For those who wait for New Proton Saga and can’t wait, no need to wait. Go to Penang second hand car shop, there you can find at least 2 New Saga for sale.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 1:52 pm

ah liew said,
    March 31, 2008 @ 10:58 pm

I think they should recall the whole car & scrap it! hehe!
    —————————————————————-
    And your crappy mind as well!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 2:04 pm

recall and fix the probelm is fine and its the responsibility of proton to their customer. So, I think there is no need to praise proton. It’s all logic. When you do business, and when the things you sell go wrong, you have the obligation to fix the problem of your customers.

What I want to know is: How is proton going to deal and compensate their customer’s time and effort that go WASTED becoz they had to send their cars for bearing replacement??!! give free ice cream?

• mejaneujoe (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 2:58 pm

there is no issue of time and effort wasted. the fact is that, when u buy a car, that is when u decide to take the risk. i know its your hard-earned money. But why fuss over them wanting to fix the car? Bear in mind that, Time is nothing comparing to your life and the ones you love. I think, those savvy owners should be grateful for this and not fret. Rileks je. Go send your car to proton, let them get ur cute savvy fixed, and while waiting, go get urself something good to read. Dont just sit there and do nothing. and be happy. xpayah serabut2. cheers.:)

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 04, 2008 at 7:07 pm

http://www.thaiprotonclub.com/picview.php?id=105

• Wheel Bearing on May 10, 2009 at 6:47 am

My honda wheel bearings were recalled, it's really a pain.