Rear seatbelt usage to go into effect Q3 2008?

It looks like rear safety belts will become compulsory from Q3 2008 onwards, if the Road Safety Department’s plans go through successfully. Old cars produced before 1995 are expected to be exempted from the rule for a period of 3 years so that there is ample time for rear seat belts to be retrofitted. According to the RSD, the technicalities of retrofitting rear seatbelts are currently being discussed with car manufacturers.

The ruling will begin with a 3 month grace period where a warning will be issued instead of a summon, after of which real enforcement will begin. RSD director general Datuk Suret Singh says that the RSD estimates risk of heavy injuries of death can be reduced by 50% with this new rule, or about 350 lives a year based on 2007 statistics.

Source 1, Source 2

Rear seatbelt usage to be made compulsory
Proton balik kampung rear seatbelt community service message

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• redwings (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 4:25 pm

Good move..this is reduce the death statistics…Bravo..
    Next, airbags should be a must in all cars for both driver and front passenger…

• sweilim (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 4:41 pm

my 2001 1st gen kelisa didnt come with rear seat belts. do you think i can go back to them and ask them to be fitted in, at a no/cheaper cost? they ought to, actually.

• nonengko (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 4:58 pm

Hope the authorities don’t just “hangat hangat saje” like the 3rd brake light enforcement. The intention of the govt is good, but it must be complemented with effective follow ups………..

• andylimkokk (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 5:27 pm

The problem is some cars especially Perodua & Proton only have two seat belts at the rear side and the middle seat is without seatbelt. What are they going to do?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 5:28 pm

hangat hangat tahi ayam, absolutely nonengko……

trust me, this will never be possible……

• farmcow (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 5:50 pm

yea hangat hangat tahi ayam, but it definitely help “them” find another way to eat money , bolehland boleh !!!

• zimmer (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 6:09 pm

as folks already know, how gov implemented on plate number size, black box for buses, light on heavy transport alert on certain speed and soo on….. hangat2 taik kucingggggg…. they can get big money easily…..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 7:06 pm

thanks Paul for the news… already start wondering what happen to the plan a few week back…

” Old cars produced before 1995 are expected to be exempted from the rule for a period of 3 years so that there is ample time for rear seat belts to be retrofitted.”

–> my 2003 kancil how? get 3 year also or a year?

• brutus (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 9:22 pm

what about those family having more than 3 child and 2 parents?

• toyowira (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 9:23 pm

dear all,

I had get my kancil install the rear seatbelt month ago. the kancil I bought second hand was make in year 1999 and didn’t have rear seatbelt, but when I saw my friend’s kancil make in year 1997(GX model) got 3 two piont rear seatbelt ,I check with my kancil & found that there are place to install the seatbelt & it come with bolt on it.
    so I just bought 3sets of two point seatbelt at second spare part shop below RM 100.00 & DIY.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 11, 2008 at 11:38 pm

Good move. Now how do you convince the kids that its the law

• azrai (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 7:24 am

There is no point of rear seatbelt usage + airbag + ABS EBD system if people still driving rackless, uncareful, and lack of skill on the road.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 8:28 am

brutus said,
    April 11, 2008 @ 9:22 pm

what about those family having more than 3 child and 2 parents?

—-

If you have more than 3 kids, you would have perhaps thought of family planning and how you can afford them? The cost of a larger 6/7 seater car is the LEAST of your worries.

I know, its blunt and i apologize. But isn’t it common sense? If you are a parent you already know how expensive they can be.

Good. Very good. I would love to see that in place. Better safety is always welcomed. I would also like to see the cops pull over every parent that has thier kid unbelted in the front seat…usually standing on the seat, leaning over the dashboard. It’s not “takdir Allah” if its your own ignorance.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 8:31 am

azrai said,
    April 12, 2008 @ 7:24 am

There is no point of rear seatbelt usage + airbag + ABS EBD system if people still driving rackless, uncareful, and lack of skill on the road.
    —-

True, but safety awareness have to come first before drivers can learn to be more skillfull. I hold myself as a fairly skilled driver and yet, there are accidents you can’t avoid….this is where the passive safety gear comes to play.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 8:54 am

azrai said,

still gt a point if u install all the safety features…at least it can reduce the impact…imagine if all of that are not fitted??mmg x knal mukela after accident..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 11:47 am

I don’t think my 7-year-old cousin will like the rear seatbelts, lol~

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 1:18 pm

mitlanevo said,
    April 11, 2008 @ 5:28 pm

hangat hangat tahi ayam, absolutely nonengko……

trust me, this will never be possible……
    —————————————————————-

With your mentality like this sure impossible one…trust me there are many people out there who does not think like the way you are thinking.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 1:22 pm

raybrig85 said,
    April 12, 2008 @ 8:54 am

azrai said,

—————————————————————-

Yup, agreed with you, driving recklessly kills.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 2:03 pm

MyviKiller, speaking about M-E-N-T-A-L-I-T-Y, either u accept it as a typical Malaysian, or u can choose to migrate……

nothing wrong with make use of rear seatbelts, but yet again, its the “hangat hangat tahi ayam” attitude of RSD……

same goes to dark window tint, custom exhaust, HID issue and so on……

“many people out there who does not think like the way you are thinking.”???

MyviKiller, are u from other planet or what??

• fastcx (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 2:24 pm

mitlanevo, malaysia’s failure is somehow due to ur kind of mentality. if u cnt even start from urself, n u just join the rest, i bet u wont even success in another 10yrs

• Roti Naan (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 3:22 pm

ain’t no seat belt gonna save the passenger or driver if the car driven like crazy/reckless.

What happened to the law that prohibits drivers from using handphone while driving? I see too many drivers talking while driving like nobody business…..and so far never seen one got booked by polisman

• nonengko (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 4:13 pm

Roti Naan’s last sentence……again highlighting the need for strict enforcement by authorities. Off course, wearing that belt is not just to please the polis-man but its for our/family’s own safety.

We have many hard core road users who openly flout the rules and its difficult to explain to children why some can still go when its red……

• Bebelon (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 7:26 pm

this is a good move. i think the gov should impose this very early before. even though this move may take effective from 3 quarter this year, however, i think oublic should take initiative and buckle your rear seatbelts!!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 12, 2008 at 11:28 pm

mitlanevo said,
    April 12, 2008 @ 2:03 pm

MyviKiller, speaking about M-E-N-T-A-L-I-T-Y, either u accept it as a typical Malaysian, or u can choose to migrate……

————

Very mature Mitlanevo…. if all Malaysians think like you, habis kita.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 3:09 pm

mitlanevo said,
    April 12, 2008 @ 2:03 pm

—————————————————————-

How old are you, sounds like you are a typical 15 year old, stupid stupid stupid…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 4:18 pm

now its about Malaysia’s failure pulak….. hell yeah fastcx, MyviKiller and 4G63T DSM, living here for decades and u always got ur own ideas and actions to be taken… just like u know our ABC, XYZ departments and authorities are making their jobs “nicely”…… and u are extremely “satisified” with every single thing of our country…..
    (as if….)

anyway, I still support the use of rear seatbelts…

go into effect Q3 2008? nice effort, but its too late….

3 kindergarten kids trying to teach each other about mature mentality and how to be more patriotic….

LMAO !!

• toyowira (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 4:43 pm

actually , those rackless driver do not care &not aware about road safety , be it own safety or other road user safety. so seatbelt /air-bag/ABS etc-etc those safety system mean nothing to them.

but for those road user who care about road safety, all those safety system mean alot to them & me as well. it is to protect ourself/passenger where accident/crash cause by other rackless driver towards you.

since carefull driver drive safetly and did not cause accident, but other driver drive racklessly will get you involved , it ‘s dosen’t mean when accident happen to those rackless driver, it will only crash by himself to tree/drain/overturn…..some time it carsh and fly towards your lane……..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 7:14 pm

mitlanevo said,
    April 13, 2008 @ 4:18 pm

3 kindergarten kids trying to teach each other about mature mentality and how to be more patriotic….

LMAO !!

—————————————————————-

Katak dalam tempurung, do you think people in the UK or the other developed nations have better government? Hell not!!! John Lennon wouldn’t have migrated to the US if the taxes in the UK are not high, and here in Malaysia we have better road system than theirs!!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 7:19 pm

A Government is formed by the people, if the people shares the same mentality like you, such as being denial, then the government would have been collapsed in the last few years!

• _xXx_ (Member) on Apr 13, 2008 at 7:26 pm

More road blocks can be expected. You guys know the reason well….

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 9:46 am

Roti Naan said,
    April 12, 2008 @ 3:22 pm

What happened to the law that prohibits drivers from using handphone while driving? I see too many drivers talking while driving like nobody business…..and so far never seen one got booked by polisman

—————————-

i’ve been stopped twice for using my hp while driving… one of them being booked (served me right)… sorry guys, come to think of it, it’s stupid… have to admitted, i can’t fully focused on the road condition while on the phone (no point lie to yourself)… bottomline is bro, to say that the law is not implemented just becoz u never seen before is just not right… :)

p/s: just to share, i even saw a policemen driving a waja police car talking to his h/p while driving… not using his handfree kits… life not fair is it? :)

• hamster (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 10:36 am

good move..lets c how does ppl react to it…i stil dont wear no seatbelt while as a rear passenger..wit da safety ratings of our local cars i dont think it makes much difference to wear em or not..:(

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 12:55 pm

MyviKiller, that’s why I voted for the D-party, not B-party…… and they won all the seats in my state (guess where, lol)

haiya, don’t give a damn about the government in UK or US lah, we are not going to drive 5000cc pickup trucks or keep some UK pounds in wallet…..

I’m not being denial, all I wanted to say is “nothing wrong using the rear seatbelts, but authorities cannot have the hangat hangat tahi ayam attitude regarding this matter”……. “kopi” minum kurang sikit kalau boleh….

and hopefully same goes for the HID stuff…..

• the stik (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 1:27 pm

lerrr always argue² not good for ur health aa kawan.. rilex.. mai sechawan ~ for me as long as ianya di bwh tajuk ‘keselamatan’ ok jer.. ye laa good what if we can do something to prevent.. takde aa nnti bila kita dah eksiden – passanger blkg terbang ke dpn n mati – baru kita nk mnyesal n say “kalau aa aku pasang seatbelt blkg dulu” .. come on guys.. bike rider can spent lots for helmets what? eceh aku ni ckp cam bagus lak hehehe..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 6:06 pm

i got this theory… gov doing all this in a way to help P1 & P2 (maybe P3 also).. imagine what happen to all this family with more than 3 kids after the rear seat belt implementation? if now using a car then they are now ‘force’ to change to a proper people carrier (it’s good for their own safety, really)

for family who can’t afford a mpv so their best option is a van. Anyway, van got proper rear seat belt? if it have, still not everyone like to ride in a van… so if we look around then we’ll see a reasonable ‘mpv’ in our current market is the one & only Naza citra… yes, there’s avanza but it’s more like a van than a mpv.. but wait.. the point is…

1)P2 mpv this year end
    2)P1 mpv next year
    3) rear seat belt usage to go into effect this Q3

see.. all ‘fall’ into places co-incedently… LOL :)

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 6:45 pm

mitlanevo said,
    April 14, 2008 @ 12:55 pm

MyviKiller, that’s why I voted for the D-party, not B-party…… and they won all the seats in my state (guess where, lol)
    —————————————————————-

Penang? Selangor? Perak? Miss Penang Laksa lah…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 1:00 am

Penang…. if got time, visit me, I’ll take u for all the seafood and hawker food around here….

ok ok, let’s get back to automotive topics and forget about election (banyak sensitive lah)……

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 2:13 am

mitlanevo said,
    April 15, 2008 @ 1:00 am

Penang…. if got time, visit me, I’ll take u for all the seafood and hawker food around here….
    —————————————————————-

Eh I’m PenangLang lah… Still thinking of the Assam Laksa from Free School Road coz I’m in Sarawak now …

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 11:56 am

Lol, u guys very funny lar. 1st gaduh abt mentality, nden talk abt I vote for D party, now berbaik edi n dreaming abt food.

Subang Jaya resident here~!! Hannah Yeoh ftw!! Forza Hannah Yeoh!!

Wearing the rear seatbelts is logic lor, who gives a sheez if the enforcers strict or not? They can always say “we mau enforce ke tak nak onforce, suka hati kitorg. It’s ur life, not mine, so I dun give a sheez.”

No need enforcers lar. 2 advantages for rear passengers to wear on their own:
    – shud the inevitable happen, they’re safe
    – polis cannot give excuse to minta kopi

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 11:01 pm

MyviKiller, the Farlim one is better, last time selling beside Shell station, now moved to nearby shoplots…..

btw, I stay in BM, will take u to Tambun and Sungai Bakap for seafood if got chance, haha~

tokmoh, sorry lah, i know my English is weak, so sometimes people will misunderstand my point…..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 1:30 am

My hometown is BM as well, but was “produced” on the island!!! Hahahah

Yeah the one at Farlim is better. By the way, there are many seafood restaurants in Tambun, but my favourite one is located at the very end. The restaurant itself is on the jetty.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 9:15 am

to andylim, “The problem is some cars especially Perodua & Proton only have two seat belts”

strangely enough, which proton were you talking about? my 1996 proton wira had belts for 3 passengers in the rear.

the best is probably the waja.. it has 3 point belts for all 3 passengers in the rear.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 1:23 pm

MyviKiller, please don’t go that one, the price is higher and the food is just ok, not to say very good…. I recommend Neptune, just beside the road to Batu Kawan stadium….. the Tomyam prawn is the best in whole Penang!!!

and if u want nice crabs, try Soon Chi in Sungai Bakap……

my hometown is Butterworth, not BM…

• bwcm (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 1:09 pm

bro, anywhere i can install a new rear seat belt for my forester?