Hicom-Chevrolet launches Chevrolet Optra Magnum sedan and estate, Chevrolet Aveo notchback

Chevrolet

Hicom-Chevrolet Sdn Bhd unveiled three cars today – the Chevrolet Aveo notchback sedan, the facelifted Chevrolet Optra Magnum sedan and the facelifted Chevrolet Optra Magnum Estate. Continue reading about the cars after the jump.

Chevrolet

The Chevrolet Optra Magnum sedan has a new front end that will remind many of the different front end that the Chevrolet Optra5 had. The rest of the car is carried over from the previous model including the engine, chassis and suspension. The car rides on a MacPherson strut setup at the front with a stabilizer bar, and independent suspension with stabilizer bar at the rear.

The Optra Magnum sedan is once again offered with a choice of a 1.6 litre or a 1.8 litre engine. The 1.6 litre DOHC engine produces 107 PS at 5,800rpm and 150Nm of torque at 4,000rpm, while the 1.8 litre DOHC engine puts out 121 PS at 5,800rpm and 160Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. The estate body variant of the Chevrolet Optra Magnum also carries over the previous model’s 1.6 litre DOHC engine with the same specs as the sedan’s 1.6 litre engine. The estate boot stores 400 litres of luggage, and can be increased to 1,410 litres by folding down the rear seats. Other equipment that the Optra Magnum is available with include ABS, TCS traction control, and single or dual SRS front airbags.

The Chevrolet Aveo is largely the same car as the one launched earlier, powered by a 1.4 litre engine with a variable geometry intake manifold producing 92 PS at 6,200rpm and 130Nm of torque at 3,400rpm. A very welcome change is that the car is now available with dual SRS Airbags and ABS brakes, as the earlier car unveiled in August last year only had a driver airbag and no option for a passenger airbag or ABS brakes.

UPDATE: The following are the prices for the 3 Chevrolet models. The baseline Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 SE goes for RM72,587.20 OTR with insurance, and comes with 14 inch steel wheels. There is a driver airbag and a single CD player with 4 speakers. Next is the Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 SX which adds alloy wheels and an immobilizer, going for RM75,665.20. The top of the range Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 LUX ups the alloy wheel size to 15″ and adds another 2 speakers to the sound system, making a total of 6. The sound system also includes a 6-CD changer instead of a single disc player. This top of the line version also includes a passenger airbag.

The Chevrolet Optra Magnum 1.6L Base comes with 15 inch steel wheels, a single CD player, 4 speakers, and a driver SRS airbag and goes for RM88,023.50 OTR with insurance. The Chevrolet Optra Magnum 1.6L LS SS adds 15 inch alloy wheels, 6 speakers, a single CD player that supports MP3 data files, dual SRS airbags for the driver and passenger, and goes for RM93,153.50 OTR with insurance. The top of the line Chevrolet Optra Magnum 1.8 LT SS comes with larger 16 inch alloy wheels, a 6 CD changer with MP3 support, and of course the larger engine.

The Chevrolet Optra Magnum Estate 1.6 LS comes with 15 inch steel wheels, a single CD player with 4 speakers, and a front driver SRS airbag. This model goes for RM92,205.50 OTR with insurance. The other better equipped variant costs RM100,335.20 OTR with insurance and is called the 1.6 LS SS. It adds 15 inch alloy wheels, 6 speakers, and a 6-CD changer with MP3 support.

All of the cars come with a 3 year, 100,000km warranty.

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet Aveo Interior

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet Optra Magnum Sedan Interior

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet Optra Magnum Estate Interior

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

Chevrolet

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AlexKhoo (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 6:06 pm

Good Stuff!

• drM (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 6:09 pm

why am I not interested?

maybe if the signboard by the last chicks written her phonenumber, then onli i’ll be interested..

hahahhaahahahah

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 7:12 pm

I like lil Chevys… they’re cute and stylish. Would love to own one if I wasn’t already owning my Alfa… :)

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 7:21 pm

wow wow wow!!! this is one great car launch i ever seen in malaysia… i mean the models… hehe… those models are cute! i mean the girls… hehe… but i do like the wagon… looks great though…

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 7:29 pm

Conservative design, not sure will be fresh 2 years in time.

• faizfadil (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 7:58 pm

Dun really like the optra sedan and the estate……… the others are ok..

• _xXx_ (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 8:13 pm

sorry, no more Korean makes in the rest of my life

• knight_templar (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 8:24 pm

‘…powered by a 1.4 liter engine with a variable geometry intake manifold ‘, is that similar too IAFM in new Saga?
    hhmmm, im not sure abt the estate. Is it to Bolehland tastes? Estates sold in the past are countable, AD Resort, some Toyotas and Datsuns i think. I dun think they were big sellers. AD Resort did not have a successor so i guess it wasnt successful. Sad thing is we get Koreanised Chevys here. Is the new Camaro a.k.a Bumblebee gonna come here once its launched?

• hyundai (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 8:51 pm

I always feel that Chevrolet’s cars are over-priced, except the Captiva…

• JonW (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 9:57 pm

the VGIS is something like the IAFM from proton, aka variable intake manifold

• transformer (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 10:07 pm

Love that Estate!

Would be more tempting if its comes with Independant Suspension all round, front and rear! Most people-goods carrier uses Torsion beam which resulting bumpy ride at the back!

Sedan should all round disc, Estate same kah?

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 10:27 pm

Whose idea was it for the launch to be held by getting models to hold placard around? BERSIH? Hindraf? UMNO? lol.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 10:50 pm

will Daewoo and Suzuki get the same new model in other countries?

sorry out of topic, have u guys seen any Chevrolet Lumina on the road???

• avanza (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 11:17 pm

aveo… euroncap crash rating only 1.5 stars.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 11:24 pm

Yawn ….. the Optra (current) looks rather good and European-ish untill you went in and sit inside …. then extreme YAWWNNN begins.

• LHQ (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 11:36 pm

Y dun they bring the Cobalt SS here?

• LHQ (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 11:40 pm

there is too much family car here, need a change.

• ob8 (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 12:31 am

people here dont like estates. soccer moms in malaysia already got avanza. plus, they dont carry their big dogs around like the yanks.designs definitely too conservative.

• wrong-turn (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 1:36 am

I love estate – the only problem is not enough being offered!

Honda Airwave – too expensive due to CBU
    V70 – cheap 2nd hand, but maintenance can be high
    Skoda Fabia Wagon – too small
    AD Resort – bought already, old model now!
    Kia Rio – ?

Not many for less than 100k ..for wagon!

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 2:56 am

daewoos in disguise

horrible drive. even worse to own.

• alyy (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 7:48 am

quite funny, why they hire a “orang putih” as the car models? This just made the car “look” smaller. Some more the car is in black paint, just made the car look even smaller. I tough the first picture with car model is Aveo.

No wonder all Japanese Car “look” bigger than in real life.

Anyway, I like the design of Estate. But I doubt the price will be around RM90k-RM99K.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 8:09 am

topgunthang said,
    April 16, 2008 @ 2:56 am

daewoos in disguise

horrible drive. even worse to own.
    —-

Odd, I found the Optra fairly nice to drive…

Wagons would be nice. Can’t complain when there are more choices. Only thing is, the tyres look a little undersized and why did they put the “SS” badge on…..LOL.

• King Samurai (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 8:40 am

No more Korean cars…thanks..

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 9:10 am

Sat in the Optra once. Found that it is very well put together, and is pretty spacious. The ride is also pretty firm yet comfortable. Not sure about the ownership thought, cos I hear that it is expensive to maintain, and I doubt the resale value is very good.

Any previous owners can comment?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 9:21 am

brand new 2007 optra 1.8 went for about RM97k.

2nd hand 1.8 optra 2005 model goes for around RM47k.

• agentHunt (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 10:41 am

chevy always not my cup of tea, but the chicks are hot……damn!

• kevintth (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 10:54 am

I’m confused… Chevrolet is American made right? Why someone said is Korean car?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 11:17 am

raptorclans,

wat alfa do u own???

mitlanevo,

ive seen a few lumina…in kl n malacca…i think nt nore than 5 luminas ive seen arnd 4 yrs time…1st in malacca with johore plate…

• Mayonaise (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 11:49 am

Ah, finally… The Aveo is getting Dual Airbags and ABS… I also notice the Aveo gets Auto Climate Control too…

• Xoomie (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 12:13 pm

not my cup of tea.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 12:22 pm

They not gonna make it. Didn’t they ask themself why previously they failed it. Why they all caucasian model? An ‘orang putih”s car only?

• jules (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 12:26 pm

Just the front end got facelift. No big deal but it is quite a well built car. Overall the packaging is no longer that attractive as the car engines offered not that attractive anymore since Proton came out with CPS .. 1.6 with 125hp and the 1.8 Chevy comes out with inly 121hp. Also remember recently the huge discount given. I think the pricing must at least around 60 – 70 k region .

• fastcx (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 12:33 pm

kevintth, it is just daewoo that is rebadge as chevy for asean market

• fastcx (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 12:35 pm

guys, PS n HP is different…121ps is just around 119hp, seach the web for converter

• wong (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 12:38 pm

kevintth said,

April 16, 2008 @ 10:54 am

I’m confused… Chevrolet is American made right? Why someone said is Korean car?
    ==============================================
    It’s Korean Daewoo,using Chevy badge….

• kevyeoh (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 12:50 pm

doesn’t look to be a good package….
    boring design…

• altimi (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 4:26 pm

LOve the estate version. If only it comes with Nissan/Honda/Toyota badge

• altimi (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 4:29 pm

wrong-turn said,

April 16, 2008 @ 1:36 am

I love estate – the only problem is not enough being offered!

Honda Airwave – too expensive due to CBU
    V70 – cheap 2nd hand, but maintenance can be high
    Skoda Fabia Wagon – too small
    AD Resort – bought already, old model now!
    Kia Rio – ?

……………………………………………………….

How about Toyota Caldina?

• joe1209p (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 7:43 pm

cute? great car? oh come on ppl.. chevy has always have very boring design.. except for the very expensive ones of course.. you’re better off with a proton.. seriously…

• joe1209p (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 7:56 pm

chevy cars, such as the Aveo, can be sold in the US because it is in small, cheap car segment. ppl couldn’t complaint about the dull design because of the low price they’re willing to pay. but here in Msia, i think it is kinda silly to buy an Aveo. Persona or even the new Saga would give you much better value for money. if you want to spend pre-RM100k, buy a Honda or Toyota instead. better than a Chevy in most, if not all aspects.

• king (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 8:49 pm

altimi said,
    April 16, 2008 @ 4:29 pm

wrong-turn said,

How about Toyota Caldina?

___

you gotta be kidding…..caldina is at least 130k-140k for an old 4-5 year 2nd hand model

• Javanese (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 10:23 pm

2 words… Rubbish Cars. Absolutely uninspiring, totally bland, cash cow, I could go on but you got the general idea….

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 10:30 pm

are all of these new models still designed by pininfarina like the chevy optra 1.8 ?.btw.. the rear of the optra magnum doesnt look in-proportion with the front “sporty” design…looks plain weird.

• edmandwong (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 10:56 pm

this a deowood Korea car, but now market by cherolet and in some area by suzuki.
    this is a old design even the dashborad is taken direct from the previours Optra 5.
    you can just buy a half cut old Optra 5 (front) and old Optra (back) mix in to this so call new car!!!!
    worst deal, the last batch of optra and Optra 5 is given 30k discount to clear stock before this lunch!!! it only sold 63k for the 1.8 model.
    so do you want to buy one of this? for 100K????
    i prefer add a bit more for toyota/honda.

• edmandwong (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 10:58 pm

old design, old model, old engine

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 12:09 am

isnt the optra a daewoo laceti or something. koreans really like it.

its good to drive in a sense its a new car and feels new to drive. but after 1 day feels crap.

• LHQ (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 12:15 am

joe1209p said,

April 16, 2008 @ 7:43 pm

cute? great car? oh come on ppl.. chevy has always have very boring design.. except for the very expensive ones of course.. you’re better off with a proton.. seriously…

————————————-

Chevy has always hav very boring design? then tell me that corvettes, camaros , and those old time classic muscle cars are boring. Didn’t u see the comment above, this is just Chevy badged Daewoo from Korea, those idiots in DRB-Hicom are just deceiving all of us.

• LHQ (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 12:19 am

and the Cobalt for tuner class car.

• jaygan (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 9:28 am

Looks sporty.

But not sure if Malaysian will buy into it.

Good luck, Chevy.

• jules (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 9:52 am

Pricing more or less the same as before (before the huge discount)…so good luck in selling it. The name already tarnished. Who is going to buy? Can’t see the reason for buying it. I rather scrape to get more money to buy the Altis. At least the resale value is better.

• waimak (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 10:21 am

In general, Malaysians dont go for the etate but Chevy can try. The rest of the models will sell well I think. But what’s up with the placard gimmick? I think there are bettre ways to do it lah, seriously.

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 11:05 am

i dun get it, why use male models for optra?

car for gays?

huahuahuahuahua

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 3:07 pm

raybrig85,

Alfa 155 :)
    U drive Alfa too?

• bavarian (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 3:33 pm

the optra magnum looks OK but how many Malaysians are going to buy it ???

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 4:50 pm

LHQ, DRB is deceiving no one.. If anything, please blame chevy. Do you think DRB can actually make decisions on what chevy’s to bring into malaysia? of course not.

but then again, if you brought in 100% true american chevy cars to malaysia, they will definitely bomb as well.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 6:46 pm

haha..nice car..good…me…147

• chap_de_x (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 8:13 pm

hmm the magnum seems cool…but the estate dun think it wil sell wel in malaysia market…the magnum interior is not at its best i think

• transformer (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 10:38 pm

Just read that the Estate even come with all-round disc!
    Even Grand Livina and Innova had drums at rear!

Now what kind of suspension setup at rear….

• JonW (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 12:59 pm

went to have a look at the estate
    looks very good in-flesh with the bodykits
    rear suspension are same as the sedan, since it’s the same chassis
    independent all-round

• halesh on Oct 05, 2011 at 10:59 pm

hai. i want to know what code is the silver shown above. i tried searching but cant find. TQ