Hyundai Starex MPV spotted in JPJ Putrajaya!

Hyundai Starex

A white Hyundai H1 Starex was spotted in the vicinity of JPJ Putrajaya by reader JDMD, our regular Putrajaya CBU snapshot “supplier”. ;)

Looking at the rows of seats through the windows, we can see that this is the 4 row version of the MPV. The Starex can be configured to seat up to 11 people, but an 8 seater configuration is also available.

Peeking into the interior to have a look at the dashboard reveals manual air conditoning (as opposed to the automatic climate control you can see in the last photo in my previous post on the Starex), and an automatic gearbox shift lever.

Continue reading for more photos of the Starex in Putrajaya.

Hyundai Starex

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• V_NoZ (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:22 am

from the look of it.. it could be a new batch of fleet for KLIA.. just a guess.. i dont think hyundai want to sell this base model as it is to basic. there no alloy rims also. never know it could be nissan lavina new rival. all assumptions.. hope one of it is true..cheers!

• xenith (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 4:15 am

This car was recently launched in our neighboring country, Indonesia…

• azrai (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 6:43 am

A minibus to say. So JDMD, your regular Putrajaya CBU snapshot “supplier” must be an ‘insider’ at the Putrajaya RTD, must he.

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 7:52 am

Its huge. The outside looks like a luxury MPV, but inside practical like a van/tourist mini-bus.

Price it at RM100K and give the old Naza Ria a run for the money.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 9:21 am

izit an alphard,elgrand and elysion new friend??haha

• kjryth (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 9:36 am

alphard,elgrand and elysion is more luxurios leh… this is oni ppl mover… lawan for Preggio n oso Vito lerr… n err Oso the Toy Hiace..

• drM (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 9:39 am

dey…

this thing belongs to which category of ‘van’?

i mean, got big, transformer like Aplhard-Estima-Elysson category.

and also we got those Vito-Transit style ‘van’

soo..this korean breed of ‘van’ is….?

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 11:27 am

unless u mod the wheels and some light bodykits… if this can be done on a hyundai, im sure this so called “MPV” has potential… oh yea… lets not forget to install some LCD TVs inside…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 1:36 pm

Looks cool for a Korean van.

• xenith (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 2:07 pm

This MPV cost RM 13x,xxx.

• bmpower (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:11 pm

it’s a van. not MPV.. the old nazaria / kia karnial is better than this.

so.. this is VAN!

• juanbeibei (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:15 pm

wow.. this can replace the mercedes benz touring van.. good for airport shuttle too or hotel van.. the seats looks comfortable and quite premium too =P.. wondering whether its leather or beige fabric..

• juanbeibei (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:21 pm

btw, i went to s.korea before and i saw the older version of this, some called starex, some called h-1 being used as airport shuttle as well as ambulance..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:29 pm

hmm…. doesn’t look like luxury MPV…….

and I don’t think rear passengers will feel comfortable on long journey…..

• freeze (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:44 pm

This is a competition for Toyota LiteAce. But the Toyota is not that expensive anyway.

• freeze (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 3:47 pm

I mean the Hiace not Liteace

• hyundai (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 5:33 pm

Hope that this car will have a right price then it may become a popular one…

• carlover87 (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 6:35 pm

well this van looks like the ordinary people carrier as well as goods van..let’s see if the pricing of this van works out to attract the interest of prospective buyers..

• faizfadil (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 7:49 pm

I think this is as almost the same as the Alphard and the Estima.. I guess…..

• shamel (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 8:13 pm

It’s competitor for Hiace, or Nissan Urvan maybe little pricier. BUT at RM130k for the basic will deter some buyers.

I’ll take this over Hiace or Urvan. For safety reason

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 9:51 pm

i think it’s an MPV, just look at where the engine is located. typically van engine bay is located under the driver, as opposed to MPV which placed the engine in front to give it slightly car-like driving position.

side profile looks like a stretched avanza. it may beat urvan and hiace as people mover but may not be successful as commercial vehicle. make it more upright to maximise loading capacity and most important of all, introduce a panel van. without these features, those big boys at serendah and shah alam have nothing to worry.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 10:32 pm

nice looking people carrier there. Looks like upmarket too.

• szw (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 12:36 am

hyundai ppl already start training 4 dis car n hyundai i10 lor…
    the i 10 we get don hav all wheel disc brakes like in UK , damn…

• shamel (Member) on Apr 19, 2008 at 4:53 am

how much this ppl mover?

• Auto_crat (Member) on Apr 20, 2008 at 1:08 pm

It does look good. But this one should be the baseline model. The highline should give alphard and elgrand a cause to worry.

• dzat46 (Member) on Apr 21, 2008 at 11:13 am

If the pricing is right & they put a gud TDI/CRD engine( eg..Santa Fe 2.2CRD)….. & wt 3 rows of 7/8 seaters will definately be a potential future replacement for my tajet….7 seaters wt big luggage area (no need for roof box if travelling wt 7/8 ppl)

• autosyn (Member) on Apr 26, 2008 at 10:30 am

This car is called the H1 in Thailand and is very popular since it is much cheaper than the other MPVs of this size. They are selling it with the 2.2 litre turbo diesel.

• Hyundai Sime Darby (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 1:19 am

As i noe(hyundai salesman here), the price is about RM13x,xxx ~ it gonna launch together with Hyundai i10, the date is between 20th-27th may this month…

and our product training is going on. its a Van like MPV ~ its gonna b a luxury van… Do drop by to our hyundai showroom for more infomation…

• zveloyak (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 12:35 pm

I don’t keep track of how long after a new model is brought in CBU form, Hyundai brings it out in CKD form. Can anyone enlighten me? I’d be interested in the Starex if only it is locally assembled in which case the price will dip to near 100K which will put it in direct competition with Toyota Hiace which is my other choice for a outdoor adventure vehicle, you know, loading it up with my bicycles and folding kayaks.As it is the Hiace wins hands down for being more utilitarian, cheaper, having more space with high roof backed up by the trusted Toyota name but loses out in not having an intercooler and VGT thus having less power. The Starex is presented as being more luxurious and powerful but pricier. Hard to decide for now, but a CBU price might just tip the decision of many a potential buyer in its favor.

• Norhakim Marzuki on Sep 06, 2009 at 8:44 am

But Still Hyundai Quality Better than Naza…