Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Sexy new Jaguar XF now available in Malaysia!

Advertisement

Jaguar XF

SISMA Auto Sdn Bhd unveiled the new Jaguar XF for the first time in Malaysia during the weekend at its showroom at the Pavillion, KL, The new award-winning Jaguar XF is available here in three variants – the 3.0 liter V6 priced at RM488,888, the 4.2 liter V8 priced at RM599,888 and finally the 4.2 liter supercharged V8 producing 420 horsepower at RM728,888.

Continue reading to find out more about the new Jaguar XF and watch a collection of videos as well as additional photos of the car.

Jaguar XF

Jaguar has got that new popular “4-door coupe” thing right with the Jaguar XF – rather than just looking like a sedan with an awkward roofline, the Jaguar XF looks like a proper coupe, a downsized version of the upcoming Aston Martin Rapide if you like.

The 3.0 liter V6 model that’s priced just under half a million ringgit produces 240 horsepower and 293Nm of torque, with 80% of peak torque available all the way from below 1,500rpm up to the peak engine revs of 6,800rpm. The all-aluminium engine features continuously variable cam phasing and variable geometry air intakes. 0 to 100km/h takes 8.3 seconds.

The 4.2 liter normally aspirated mid-range model produces 300 horsepower and 411Nm of torque. In supercharged form, this increases to 420 horsepower and 560Nm of torque. All three engines are mated to a ZF 6-speed quick shifting gearbox. A snappy ZF 6-speed with shift by wire will remind you of the new 6-speed ZF in the latest BMWs – especially the facelifted E60 and the 2nd generation X5 – so it may be a similiar model. 0 to 100km/h with these two models take 6.5 seconds and 5.4 seconds respectively.

Being a CBU car, the interior can be customised at order with several different seat and upper interior trims colours as well as 3 different types of wood. Despite the sloping coupe roofline, I did not find any problem with headroom in the rear seat bench.

And then there’s of course the much talked about start-up sequence when you enter the new XF. You will find a video of this after the jump. When you turn on the car via the pulsating red start button, the JaguarDrive selected rises up to meet your palm, the instrumentation panel displays a startup sequence, and the air conditioning vents turn to the opened position. Turn the JaguarDrive selector clockwise from P to D and vice versa, and for Sports mode you give it a little press.

Interestingly during the presentation, it was revealed that the instrumentation panel lighting was inspired from the Motorola RAZR mobile phones, which explains the turquoise-coloured ambient lighting used throughout the car. Consulting for the controls layout was also provided by Motorola. Other than the rotary dial JaguarDrive gear selector, there are also a few other cool novelties. The front interior lights and the glove box are opened with a wave of your hand or a finger light touch thanks to a proximity sensor.

Driving aids include dual-mode DSC with a less intrusive mode, ABS, EBD, cornering brake control, engine drag torque control, and understeer control logic which decelerates the car and helps restore grip to the front wheels when required. Strangely xenon headlamps seem to be only available for the supercharged V8 model, while the V6 and V8 get halogen headlamps.

New Jaguar XF – more details and photos
Jaguar XF wins 2007 Autocar Design Award
Jaguar XF wins What Car? Car of the Year Award

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

Jaguar XF

VIDEO: Jaguar XF – Exterior

Jaguar Director of Design Ian Callum, provides insight into the XF’s exterior design.

VIDEO: Jaguar XF – Interior

Jaguar Design’s Alister Whelan discusses what makes the XF’s interior a contemporary space.

VIDEO: Jaguar XF – Drive Modes

Jaguar Chief Engineer Mike Cross provides a driver’s view of the XF’s Drive Control system. The Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) system uses the anti-lock braking and traction control systems to give the driver better control of the car.

VIDEO: Jaguar XF – Performance

Jaguar Chief Engineer Mike Cross describes the XF’s in-built strengh and agility, including the XF’s body structure and suspension technology.

VIDEO: Jaguar XF – Start-Up Sequence

Jaguar Design’s Wayne Burgess describes the XF’s unique start up sequence. At start-up, the button in front of the JaguarDrive Selectorâ„¢ pulses red; once you press it, the engine starts and the JaguarDrive Selectorâ„¢ rises softly into the palm of your hand – what Jaguar calls the Jaguar handshake.

VIDEO: Jaguar XF – Refined Drive

Members of the XF Engineering and Technical team discuss the importance of sound engineering, not just making the car quiet but how the overall car sounds.

VIDEO: Jaguar XF – Bowers & Wilkins Acoustic system

Jaguar Design’s Wayne Burgess and Danny Haikin of Bowers & Wilkins describe the XF’s sound system.

VIDEO: Jaguar XF – Random Footage and Interviews

VIDEO: Jaguar XF – TV Commercial

54 Comments »

1. mockviper said,

April 21, 2008 @ 3:33 am

sexy car

2. aliBaPa said,

April 21, 2008 @ 3:35 am

Too many videos Paul!
    First glance isn’t so good.
    Maybe that’s why they make so many videos.
    To hard sell?

3. Paul Tan said,

April 21, 2008 @ 3:38 am

I could combine them all into one as they are all just short clips, but it’s nearly 4AM and I need sleep. Anyway they are at the end of the story (so you can view the photos first) and viewing is optional so you don’t have to watch them if you don’t want to, or you can watch a few and save the rest for when you are bored.

4. xenith said,

April 21, 2008 @ 4:55 am

Damn nice car…
    The cat’s getting sexier, not too conservative design…

5. azrai said,

April 21, 2008 @ 7:06 am

This one at pavilion isn’t it. Wow, new breed of cat. TATA bought it at the right time. So sexy with those curve but still look masculine enough.

6. abtm said,

April 21, 2008 @ 7:23 am

coolest thing in town

7. shaif said,

April 21, 2008 @ 8:04 am

Big boys toy…it looks fabulous, just that Jag not in wish list of 007. Hope to see it in bigscreen.

8. Auto_crat said,

April 21, 2008 @ 8:49 am

Another welcomed choice for the rich.

9. waimak said,

April 21, 2008 @ 8:56 am

Absolute beauty!

10. drebar said,

April 21, 2008 @ 9:22 am

true beauty, but beyond our reach! only the super rich can afford. have problems to buy even a house costing 350k… this is like driving a house!

btw, the one in pavilion is not this model..

11. hamster said,

April 21, 2008 @ 9:25 am

looks great !!..dont realy dig da ‘radio tuner’ gear change thing tho..wonder does it equip wit da 1 touch glove compartment..great improvement by JAG..reminds me of Aston Martin DB9..any test drive report soon..???

12. Xoomie said,

April 21, 2008 @ 10:08 am

waa… no gear shift lever…

13. tHe CuLpRit said,

April 21, 2008 @ 10:38 am

One cool Cat. Just wished that the front light was tweaked a little. Right now it looks a little like the Elantra. Otherwise, it looks simply beautiful.

14. raybrig85 said,

April 21, 2008 @ 10:44 am

nice jag so far…bt i still prefer the german…

15. altimi said,

April 21, 2008 @ 11:02 am

Wow……such a fine car…..very good looking indeed.

16. raptorclans said,

April 21, 2008 @ 11:05 am

The start-up sequence is damn cool… but too bad even if we work till we die we can’t afford one :(

Maybe a HotWheels version perhaps…

17. White Jack said,

April 21, 2008 @ 11:24 am

Aston Martin back :)

18. altimi said,

April 21, 2008 @ 11:42 am

Yes we can afford one in 15-20 years from now….

19. _xXx_ said,

April 21, 2008 @ 12:44 pm

0.5, 0.6 & 0.7 million just for a car? Do you know that with that amt of $ (excl interest), you can take cab for 20 years daily at RM100 per day!

20. 4G63T DSM said,

April 21, 2008 @ 12:53 pm

_xXx_ said,
    April 21, 2008 @ 12:44 pm

0.5, 0.6 & 0.7 million just for a car? Do you know that with that amt of $ (excl interest), you can take cab for 20 years daily at RM100 per day!

Hint. The car is not marketed at us.

Your usual targeted buyer would have incomes at least 1 million per year…or own a company cash-rich enough to be put on the company’s tab.

Us small fry’s can only dream.

21. fastcx said,

April 21, 2008 @ 1:03 pm

this car is great, 1st saw it on discovery real time channel last time, fell in love with it!

Great interior design, good looking n comfortable texture. cool start up sequence, especially the aircon vent turn up n control knob rise up.

price is out of our reach or not, jaguar did a great job in changing their skin. at least for me, change drive mode with the dial is faster than using conventional stick for auto gb.

22. fastcx said,

April 21, 2008 @ 1:05 pm

guys, rather than dream n online posting comments at tis hour, y not do something to make urself rich? there r still a lot of money out thr for u to grab! stop complaining, start working!

over n out!

23. carsut said,

April 21, 2008 @ 1:28 pm

work, work, work and get a Jag..

24. moonier said,

April 21, 2008 @ 2:04 pm

wah 1st time see jaguar drift…

25. elpaciko said,

April 21, 2008 @ 3:25 pm

start up sequence too gimicky. Why the need to close the aircond vents and lowered the gear selector in the first place? just to give the impresion that u drive some sort of spaceship?

anyway… its a damn good looking car. no more uncle-ish design

26. bahari said,

April 21, 2008 @ 4:03 pm

boring design.
    sebijik macam BMW 7 series.
    no unique styles from jaguar.
    the dashboard also look too simple.
    nasib baik ada corak2 walnut wood..kalau tkde, it looks like a civic.

todays, car design become tepu ka?

27. tHe CuLpRit said,

April 21, 2008 @ 4:25 pm

fastcx said,
    April 21, 2008 @ 1:05 pm

guys, rather than dream n online posting comments at tis hour, y not do something to make urself rich? there r still a lot of money out thr for u to grab! stop complaining, start working!

over n out!

==================================

No easy way meh? Lottery or something? Why must work one?

Heh, only kidding mate! ;-)

28. chery said,

April 21, 2008 @ 4:29 pm

it will look better if the headlamp doesn’t “rise” up on the projector

29. faizfadil said,

April 21, 2008 @ 5:10 pm

What a beauty………. DAMN!!!!!!!!!!! But i still go 4 the R35… hahahaha…..

30. MyviKiller said,

April 21, 2008 @ 5:19 pm

Wah Paul this time you lucky la…

Anyway the “stickless” gear is not new as it appeared on the 60’s Volgas if I have not mistaken.

31. torishimeyakuin said,

April 21, 2008 @ 6:03 pm

A very nice car. I want it…

32. mr.ferrari said,

April 21, 2008 @ 6:48 pm

the headlights looks like the SsangYong Actyon…. only upside down…. i dunt like the eyes

33. mystvearn said,

April 21, 2008 @ 7:36 pm

Nice car. Tata owns it now. Maybe can make a cheaper version of this car. Very few can afford half a million ringgit for this car

34. LHQ said,

April 21, 2008 @ 7:51 pm

Yeah, thats how a Jag should be look like these days, maybe to relive their old time glory i think. However, in here, near 500K for the cheapest variant, maybe i will able to buy after 50 years. Hope it could be shorter, like 10 years;-).

35. szw said,

April 21, 2008 @ 8:35 pm

cool…
    i saw a mustang in sunway 2day…

36. s60t said,

April 21, 2008 @ 9:09 pm

Looks really sporty.If you drive this car (even 3.0 version)it will be noticed more than a BMW 530i or a merc E280 which are both becoming so common nowadays.But be prepared for relability issues ( but people who buy this car usually have at least 5 other cars at home)and plummeting resale price.Plus you don’t have to be so worried about car thefts and hijackers as the car is difficult to conceal or sell.For the rich, the pleasure of driving something different (other than BM or merc) with all the stares and attention is priceless.

37. ezralimm said,

April 21, 2008 @ 9:32 pm

Oh my god.. i love the design!

It’s not too flashy, not to outlandish,…

subtle. elegant.

38. topgunthang said,

April 21, 2008 @ 11:04 pm

good improvement. but one more step. the exterior is not good enough for supercar class. its like VW passat level.

39. aksMs said,

April 21, 2008 @ 11:40 pm

Watched it the 1st time when James May drove it in last season of Top Gear. I love the start up sequence!! *drool*

40. aksMs said,

April 21, 2008 @ 11:44 pm

mystvearn, luxury and cheap? There are no such thing! What do you want? 1st class on MAS with Air Asia’s price? Get real man.

41. chun said,

April 22, 2008 @ 1:11 am

I love the XF. First like someone mentioned, it’s a hell of a lot less common than the 5series and E Class. Interior wise, it completely knocks the socks of BMW and Mercedes and perhaps equalling or even slightly surpassing (I’m a sucker for the handshake sequence) the A6. As or reliability, I remember that Jaguar comes tops coming only just behind Lexus, but much better than the Germans. I too was surprised by that fact, but it is comforting especially if you are in the market for one.

42. Javanese said,

April 22, 2008 @ 7:41 am

I guess I’m the only one disapointed with the design of the new XF. The front end looked soo much better in the concept I wonder why they changed it. They manage to pull off the concept to production on the XK coupe, why they didnt on this XF? EU regulations maybe?

43. BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

April 22, 2008 @ 9:53 am

mystvearn,

tata bought jaguar for the very fact that its a super highclass luxury brand.
    jaguar will remain jaguar.

tata’s are known as ultra cheap transport, and nothing more. by buying jaguar, they hope to instil some of the bigcats qualities into their other brands as well as their people. its like proton buying lotus. its more than just technology, but branding as well.

44. erichigc said,

April 22, 2008 @ 1:24 pm

Aiyo, this car was sold £33,900 in UK.
    After Conversion….
    33900 Gibraltar Pound(s) = 213865 Malaysian Ringgit(s)
    1 MYR = 0.158511 GIP
    1 GIP = 6.30872 MYR

Conclusion? 200 to 300 K go to G* and its cronies… MIGRATE NOW >>> :)

http://www.zercustoms.com/news/2009-Jaguar-XF-Price.html

45. erichigc said,

April 22, 2008 @ 1:30 pm

Pricing in States =>

49975 US Dollar(s) = 157201 Malaysian Ringgit(s)
    1 MYR = 0.317904 USD
    1 USD = 3.1456 MYR

http://www.jaguarusa.com/us/en/xf/models_pricing/models/xf_luxury.htm

Second option of migration… :P

46. austin_cipan said,

April 22, 2008 @ 4:08 pm

No 2.7L Diesel option for Malaysian market? what a shame… pity malaysian poor diesel fuel quality… I prefer the oil burner rather than the petrol option..

47. B1u3Be@m said,

April 22, 2008 @ 8:13 pm

This is THE most beautiful jaguar ever….even better than the XK

48. Porkbutcher said,

April 23, 2008 @ 12:21 am

This car looks OK la. But I still prefer a German make. Interestingly, their marketing has changed a little bit. They try hard to attract the spoil rich brats who likes partying and showy. Overall, it still has the uncle-ish genes. Too many electronics gadgets and the turquoise colour scheme really spoil the luxurious identity.

49. joe1209p said,

April 23, 2008 @ 9:51 am

overall, not bad. but they actually just took an Aston and made it uglier. the front headlights and grill are simply hideous. if i have such money, i’ll take Aston anytime rather than this.

50. TLE said,

April 23, 2008 @ 3:30 pm

@Porkbutcher
    “Interestingly, their marketing has changed a little bit. They try hard to attract the spoil rich brats who likes partying and showy. ”
    >> Jaguar has changed their marketing stance to attract a younger clientele, which, by most accounts, is the correct way to go. Jay Leno said “you can sell a old man a young man’s car but you can’t sell a young man an old man’s car”. Now, now your “spoil(ed) brat” comment is laughable and reeks of jealousy – so a German make like Mercedes or BMW with its fine driving dynamics and speed is marketed at the geriatric brigade or “spoil(ed) brats” respectively too? Just because the car isn’t marketed at YOU or your income level, doesn’t mean it is for the rich “brats” around.

“Too many electronics gadgets and the turquoise colour scheme really spoil the luxurious identity.”
    >> Quoting your preferred German brands presumably BMW, Mercedes, Audi, pray tell me whether they have too many electronics gadgets like iDrive, COMAND or MMI interfaces and the whole array of suspension and electronics? As for the turquoise colour scheme spoiling the interior, perhaps orange or white backlighting will rock your boat? The luxuriousness of the cabin is not determined by the lighting alone it is the whole ambience and finishing. I put to you that this Jag with its aluminium panels and buttons, burr walnut veneers is as good, if not better, than many German marques. If you don’t like the interior design and have a reason for it, that is fine, but to say that the turquoise colour scheme “spoils the luxuriousness” is just a poor excuse for hating it.

51. dr_carz said,

April 25, 2008 @ 8:21 am

THE GIRL HOLDING THE MIC IN THE FIRST PICTURE IS SEXY.

CAN CHANGE THAT MIC AAA TO MY OWN MIC HEHEHEHEHE

A LITTE BIT OF FANTASY THERE!

OLD GUY TRYING HIS WHAT EVER LEFT OF FANTASY!

I JUST PUT A SPORT PIPING ON MY KANCIL

EXZOS SPORT MAA

EXZOS BULUH BETONG!

52. Lee Kee Kong said,

March 14, 2009 @ 5:20 pm

Lovely but how about the back up service especially in east Malaysia, Sabah?

53. V.Unnikrishnan Velauthan said,

September 23, 2009 @ 2:34 pm

Dear sir i bought s type 2.5lit jaguar manufacturer year 2005 and registerd on 2006 model from the car dealer on the june 2009 the milage shown in the car 12523km only the car still under waranty.
    the roof of the car is sinking i ask the dealer they said order from the uk not arrive yet pls reply me for this
    hope to ear from you
    Thanks
    regards
    V.Unnikrishnan
    Mobile:+6012-267 3560
    Home :+603-3324 8391

54. Ndeena said,

October 11, 2009 @ 2:46 pm

I’ve read the comments, it seems like XF is only boys. What abt us ladies… Cant we drive this car?

I just owned a E92 3 mths ago (RM275,000). A week after owning the car, I drove along the Bukit Bintang, saw a Black XF. I fell in love w the car straight away, rear view.

The price is double the E92. Well, true as the Culprit said, still a lot of money out there. Just have to go grab it. This is my next toy.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Stricter laws for Mat Rempits, but will there be any enforcement?
next post: Proton may engage former Mercedez-Benz man