Mazda unveils North American Mazda 6 sedan!

Mazda has unveiled the North American domestic market version of its new second generation Mazda 6. More details are to come later, but from the initial press release we know that the North American version has slightly different styling on the front and rear end, and the option for a large 3.7 litre V6 engine mated to a 6-speed auto as the flagship model. The other engine variant is the 2.5 litre inline-4 engine mated to a 5-speed auto. More details to come when Mazda issues a full press kit.

More images after the jump.

Mazda Atenza Mazdaspeed Concept
2008 Mazda 6 Details and Specifications
2008 Mazda 6 – second generation zoom-zoom!
First generation Mazda 6 2.0 and 2.3 Test Drive Review

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 3:03 pm

nice…nice….bt jap spec is nicer than this one…izit slightly bigger or still d same??

• moonier (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 3:09 pm

nice car..really

• redwings (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 3:17 pm

Heard is coming to Bolehland in Jun or July this year… Can’t wait to see it ZOOM ZOOM around KL…

• the stik (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 3:22 pm

agree with u raybrig85.. this one looks too american, kinda dodge to me.. thumbs up for jap spec..

• proton GL (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 3:43 pm

i still like the european tight solid look, its too flare

• mohdjiman (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 4:14 pm

good good…

• cutester (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Very sharp and sleek….. Nice!

• mystvearn (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 6:17 pm

European model looks way better than this elongated old camry

• mystvearn (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 6:18 pm

.. look alike

• albagmane (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 6:58 pm

this is wat we call a nice car… i wonder y there are two different types of car designer in this world, one is smart n brilliant enough to create a car as nice as this Mazda 6, while some are as idiotic n foolish enough to create a car like the Mini Clubman… juz cant understand why…

• sdan2 (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 7:15 pm

Definitely see the Camry comparison at the front. Rear 3/4 profile looks quite like the GS or the new Jag XF. Nice looking car. They should lose the bling rear lights. Its like the ones on the last generation Scoob WRX. Ugly…..

• cctan9394 (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 8:14 pm

The new 2008 Mazda 6 will be launched in Bolehland on 7/8 May 2008. Zoom…zoom…=)

• szw (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 8:59 pm

mazda 6…

• transformer (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 10:07 pm

nice…….

• cnc (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 10:23 pm

what a car!

• tokmoh (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 11:35 pm

For those interested with this car, I found this from Berjaya-Mazda’s blog:

Latest final estimated price for Mazda6 2008 :-

Mazda 6 (2.0L) – 147,962.90 (OTR)

Mazda 6 (2.5L) – 171,516.20 (OTR)

• cyberx11 (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 11:41 pm

first impression, mercs CLS

• ezralimm (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 12:00 am

my god, another fat a$$.

the euro version is much more subtle and classy imo. This ver is waaay too flashy.

• csv (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 12:44 am

this car is nice, i saw a few in Singapore.

totally looks off the wall better than honda civic and dare i say the lancer.

it really looks one of a kind. i love it.

• kruzer (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 1:29 am

hmm… so now Mazda following trend of Honda and Toyota to have JDM, UDM and EU model… tho sometimes EU and JDM are same..

• tikus (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 9:03 am

Bring it on BerMas !!! Mazda Forever !!!

• hamster (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 9:45 am

Nah…i like da previous look better…this look a lil 2 sudtle 4 me..

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 10:59 am

paul

wanna ask u…izit true mazda bring in thier suv…izit a 5 seater cx-7 or 7 seater cx-9??…

• zanggief (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 11:18 am

The rear seat door may be slightly lower for passenger to enter….but the design is sexy

• zk9 (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 3:47 pm

I saw a white one yesterday at Jalan Ampang-Sultan Ismail intersection.

• zk9 (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 3:48 pm

…with Malaysian plate, and slightly elegant grill (different from the ones shown above).

Awesome car.

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 5:31 pm

great design, NICE !

• zane (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 12:45 pm

Definitely something that I’m considering to get. The “poor” man CLS.hehe….I wanna get either this or the new accord. Paul, when can we can the test drive report? ;)

btw, what’s the pros n cons of these 2 cars?(honda accord/ mazda 6).anyone can tell me ’bout the maintenance of Mazda cars?total cost of ownership??thanks

• bmpower (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 1:09 pm

Mazda always good and nice.
    but never sell well here. :(

aiyah! why not this car oso rotary engine?
    1.3 maa, cheap roadtax.. but high power.. hehehehe

• faizulamin (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 6:58 pm

huarghh…
    the front look sooo VIOSish.. huhuh