R55 MINI Clubman now available in Malaysia!

MINI Clubman

The MINI Clubman and its higher powered sibling the Clubman S is now available in the Malaysian market, priced at RM 225,000.00 and RM 259,000.00 respectively OTR without insurance. It’s a 5-door as opposed to the Cooper’s 3-door body, but the configuration of the 5-doors is not what you would expect.

Instead of having 4 doors on the sides and 1 rear hatch, the MINI Clubman has 2 doors on 1 side, 1 door on the other, and 2 doors for the rear hatch. The double-hinged rear hatch reinterprets the design of the old estate-body MINIs. The additional door on the right side of the car is called the “Clubdoor”, and does not have a handle on the outside. It can only be opened when the driver’s door is open.

It’s up to you to decide whether this door is actually useful or not but as for me I think having this Clubdoor on the passenger side makes more sense. It would also mean the Clubdoor would open to the curb instead of onto the road, facilitating safer loading of goods or passengers. Unfortunately BMW’s engineers designed the Clubman primarily for left hand drive markets where this Clubdoor would be on the passenger side of the car. They say it would be too costly to reengineer the Clubdoor’s position for right hand drive markets because of the position of the fuel filler and other components.

While the use of the MINI Cooper’s rear seats are at best acceptable, the Clubman adds an additional 80mm of legroom for the rear passengers, thanks to an overall increase of 240mm in length for the overall car. The bootspace is now also more usable at 260 litres, extendable to 930 litres with the rear seats down.

Engine options for the Clubman and Clubman S are the same as the Cooper and Cooper S. The Clubman gets a normally aspirated 1.6 litre Valvetronic engine producing 120 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 160Nm of torque at 4,250rpm. The real scorcher is the 1.6 litre direct injection twin-scroll turbocharged engine making 175 horsepower at 5,500rpm and a peak torque of 240Nm right down from 1,600rpm up to 5,000rpm. This increases to 260Nm momentarily during overboost, which the car activates automatically depending on your throttle behaviour.

10 body colours are available for the new Clubman – two solid colours which are Chili Red and Pepper White, and the rest are metallic: Astro Black, Sparkling Silver, British Racing Green, Pure Silver, Lightning Blue, Dark Silver, Laser Blue and Hot Chocolate. Interior trim can also be customised with four interior colours and five Colour Lines. The seats are offered in cloth, cloth/leather, full leather, and premium Leather Lounge upholstery. Some of these upholstery can be configured to match the exterior paint.

Safety features include ABS anti-lock brakes, Electronic Brakeforce Distribution, Cornering Brake Control, and Dynamic Stability Control including hill start-off assistance which automatically helps you apply the brakes so you can start off from inclines without the car rolling backwards.

There is also an optional MINI Tender Loving Care package which is similiar to BMW’s Service Inclusive. For RM888, you do not have to pay for your MINI’s maintenance for 3 years or 50,000km.

More photos of the MINI Clubman available after the jump.

MINI Clubman Test Drive Review
Full Details On The New MINI Clubman

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cutester (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 2:23 pm

Wah, so expensive…..

• xenith (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 2:32 pm

Not for me….

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 2:33 pm

ugly butt n so so xpensive…

• kenneth1985 (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 2:34 pm

I still prefer Cooper S

• LHQ (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 2:53 pm

Why spend so much on small cars? I didn’t get it.

• LHQ (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 2:53 pm

and its ugly too.

• the stik (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 3:29 pm

aku nak welding left side pintu belakang proton aku, then i’ll get a proton clubman S.. dat S stands for Sewel.. hehe
    neway i also think dat this is a very very expensive small cars, 250++k and no spare tyre :-)

• mohdjiman (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 4:30 pm

unique but expensive…maybe the price due to the unique design

• armandd (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 5:04 pm

reminds me to the London Taxi, haha..

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 5:30 pm

u buy this car based on emotions only rather than logic…its so pointless….

• mystvearn (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 6:20 pm

So expansive and yet they forgot to place doors at the right side of the road. I think Top gear S10 has this in the news section. Or was it Season 9

• albagmane (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 6:55 pm

yucks! its not a practical car at all… i cant see the reason y we should purchase this car anyway… :X

• szw (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 9:01 pm

its been here all this while…
    is just that not launch till now…

• cyberx11 (Member) on May 06, 2008 at 11:45 pm

most luxury coffin car..

• v0ices (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 6:33 am

Yep, it’s expensive… but the new Minis are never meant to be cheap, affordable cars anyway.

BMW has always placed them to be lifestyle cars. There WILL be people buying it.

• azrai (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 10:00 am

Riches toys. Maybe taowkey beras one.

• qozhx (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 10:36 am

price is expensive due gov tax… total waste of money… with kinda of money might as well go 4 R34 GTR…..

• bmpower (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 11:23 am

quarter of million?
    no thanks.. you’re selling brand, not the car itself.

in my eye, i still looking this car as ‘kereta keranda’.
    mini cooper s far betterlah.. not this one.

not worthy for 1.6 with 120hp only..
    proton engine campro cps is better looo. (yes, your gearbox is better)

such a waste.

• suzanne (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 11:49 am

mini is my hero!! but this is not totally not my type… =(

• daze (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 1:32 pm

It will be my honor to have this car for my funeral.
    hehe
    make it longer and Wala..

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 2:03 pm

kereta keranda?

Sorry guys, the length of this MINI cannot fit in a keranda, unless the keranda is oso a MINI keranda.

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 07, 2008 at 5:37 pm

ugly thing with ugly price tag…..

the term ‘MINI’ is no longer its exact meaning, pathetic…..

wanna get others attention of what u are driving? no problem, but NOT with this Clubman……

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 8:55 am

Suitable for rich Datins or those boutique owners that needs the luggage space but don’t want to sacrifice space.

For young males, for tha kinda money better go for Golf GTi/Type-R/1-series or even 3-series/C-Class

• bmpower (Member) on May 08, 2008 at 1:08 pm

Roti Naan said,
    May 7, 2008 @ 2:03 pm
    kereta keranda?
    Sorry guys, the length of this MINI cannot fit in a keranda, unless the keranda is oso a MINI keranda.

just look at that rear hub / ‘door’ laa, 2 flip door is really similiar with keranda car.. yes.. the car long not enough, can mod then.. hehe

• mahoneeey on Apr 28, 2009 at 5:57 am

kenapa la smua komen yg buruk……i peminat cooper classic n modern. sejak kecik spi skrg…..(belum tua sgt le) i tau keburukan dan kelebihan dan i ada minicooper clubman classic wagon 1969 dan the latest minicooper clubman 2008…….mmg best…..test drive dulu baru tau…