B8 Audi A4 spotted in Malaysia!

Reader Nozzydrive sent in these shots of the latest B8 model Audi A4 snapped here in Malaysia. The baseline model will feature the recently announced 1.8 litre TFSI engine, which replaces the old 1.8 litre turbo engine in the B7 A4 1.8T.

The new 1.8 litre TFSI engine (click for page with torque curve) features gasoline direct injection and a water-cooled Borg Warner K03 turbocharger. Peak power is 160 PS from 5,000rpm to 6,200rpm, and peak torque is rated at 250Nm at a very low 1,500rpm, with 165Nm available at 1,000rpm.

Models that use a Multitronic transmission gain an extra “virtual gear” – 8 speeds for you to choose from now, though for best acceleration you should just leave it in the normal CVT behavious mode so it can stay at the optimum RPM.

More shots after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• drgn86 (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 4:34 am

neat…..let’s see how this audi goes against the bmw 3 series and the merc-benz c class….

• azrai (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 6:45 am

Nice LED headlamp there.

• White Jack (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 8:08 am

This version of A4 look very nice !

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 8:34 am

let the wanking begin :-P

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 8:38 am

Gorgeous steering, lovely tail-light (esp at nite), and I like how the console is directed to the driver, ala the older 3-series.

if I had one i’ll prolly turn off the daytime running light, looks like too much of a novelty. maybe once in a while, when driving around nightspot on saturday nites. should impress the ladies ;-)

• redwings (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 8:49 am

drgn86 said,

May 9, 2008 @ 4:34 am

neat…..let’s see how this audi goes against the bmw 3 series and the merc-benz c class….

——————————————————-

If you refer to Autocar UK…, this baby lose out to 3 series n Merc C Class on overall… but the overall appearance is not bad…

• hamster (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 8:54 am

LED lights r neat..i wonder whether they can hide it durin day time n made only visable at nite..coz durin da day da LED lights looks a lil odd..

• tikus (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 9:14 am

Torque 250nm at 1500RPM . Sure this car damn fun to drive and look sexy.

• tikus (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 9:18 am

Anybody have any idea how much this sexy babe on retail ????

• TheophilusChin (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 9:26 am

In most European motoring journal comparison, not only did it loose out to the Merc C-Class and BMW 3-Series, the Mondeo beaten it too. And I think I read somewhere even the (new) Mazda 6 has it licked!

It’s basically a 4-door version of last year’s A5. Or was it the A5 is a 2-door preview of this A4 ahhahahahaha….

Anyway my bimbo (but not pretty) colleague came to my desk and saw this paultan.org page I’m viewing. She saw the pic’s of the A4’s rear and commented: “Eh, those bru (blue) things, new bumper protect rubber ah? Nice hor, bru caroor one (blue colour).”

• keeekeee (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 10:45 am

how much for this in Msia ar?

• _xXx_ (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 11:21 am

I hate to read report for cars where 99.9% of the ppl cannot afford to own

• Cire (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 11:46 am

Well, everyone is entitled to his/her own opinion, and it is the reader who would judge whether this opinion or comments is relevent or just someone talking air; and sadly most of the time, many may not have driven one or came up close to one before on the cars that they commented.

The photos taken were not those of the best angle that this car deserves.
    Best to wait for the cars to be at the showroom, go over, test drive it, and then put your comment here * although that short drive does not really gives one a true feel of the car.

In my opinion, the car looks better in real life than in these poorly taken photos..sorry.
    The bimmer looks aged and outdated *maybe that’s why owners are dressing them up. And the merc, is actually moving backwards with more plasticky interiors and cheap looking steering wheels.
    Handling wise, I will comment later once the A4 is launched. I have driven both bimmer and merc.across states, which could fairly gives them the comments it deserves. But till then, exterior wise, the A4 wins handdown.

• Cire (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 11:52 am

Oh yeah, the built quality is second to none for the Audi A4, or perhaps on all current Audi cars.
    Obviously, you have to wait awhile before you could confirm my statement here on the new A4, but still, you could always check out the existing Audi at its showroon at Glenmarie, Jaya33, or Bangsar.
    If you take external view from the auto magazines outthere, I am sure the comments are favourable to Audi.

• pOckeTbOcoR (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 12:14 pm

this is not spotted, if spotted how can he took so many pics, including the interior? unless this guy is a friend of Nozzydrive, or he just ask directly from the owner…naah, who cares…

however the design is not so audi at all, kinda weird & x lawa…

• armandd (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 12:39 pm

when exactly audi will launch this model here?

• mel (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 12:53 pm

what a beauty! this will turn heads definitely!

too many beemers & mercs on the road, but this mmm….

• albagmane (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 1:12 pm

wow… the LED headlights really make the car pretty futuristic… i tot we can only see this in concept cars… now the production car starts this technology oredi, looks like the future is here… hope to see more of these headlights in other makers soon…

• Cire (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 1:30 pm

LED lights looks even “meaner” during night time..
    Rear lights’ after-burner look is not bad either.
    Check out the much flared wheel arches..coupled with 18″ 5spoked alloys.
    There are many more latest features in the car. Some are light headlights assist, colored MMI, 8speed multitronic GB etc..
    Go and book yourself a test drive and see the car up close and real personal. Then stand by and admire the tornado design of the exterior body line.
    Check out the B-pillar round and sexily shaped pillar. Touch and feel it.
    Check its interior solid built quality..but then, its better to see it yourself..
    cool.

• freeze (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 2:41 pm

Whats the blue stuff on the rear bumper? Not part of the car i hope…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 2:58 pm

Cire = Audi salesman. :-P

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 4:37 pm

‘normal’ A4 is good enough, but this is even better!!!

saw both B7 and B8 in local newspaper, opened for booking, advertised by some car dealers…..

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 4:39 pm

oops, i mean the new B8, not B7, haha

• topgunthang (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 6:19 pm

gets everything right. except that its fwd for the cheap models. which is not wrong. get more sales.

i think the bmw 3 and c class has it beat at the entry models. i also beleive opting for the mazda 6 can save u alot of money. half the price. if not just get the mps which is still 20-30% discount instead for a base model a4.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 6:33 pm

i prefer a4 over 3 er n c-class…approx the base model will b arnd 210k i think…so..let c how it goes here…

• blaze (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 6:43 pm

Mostly the comparison in UK or conti car magazine is the diesel version. Depends on its price, spec for spec, and being a CBU unit, the comparison between the three germans will be different over here in here anyway.

I think the car above is the S-line trim. Wonder if it equip with Bang & Olufsen audio…

• nobodyatuk (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 6:52 pm

_xXx_ said,
    May 9, 2008 @ 11:21 am

I hate to read report for cars where 99.9% of the ppl cannot afford to own
    ————————

Its like TopGear’s reviews of supercar which only the professional footballers like Ronaldo, Rooney, Notyouandme….can afford. Its fine for info…

• phas3r (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 9:13 pm

after 4 years also got new model… bmw n merc every 7 years wo.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 1:21 am

Nice exterior, conservative interior. How much does it cost? 400K?

• csv (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 1:59 am

OMG, this is one of my dream cars….. i don’t think i will ever get to own it.

haiz….

DAYTIME RUNNING LEDS!!! SWEET!!!!!

totally pawns the C-class…

• chun (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 3:43 am

The comparos the most people have read so far like the one from Autocar, are by the British journos. I have always felt that they place too much of an emphasis on handling. Yes, it is an important aspect of any car, but it is just one aspect and I feel there is an overweight on that issue especially for passenger cars. We Malaysians, are very blinkered when it comes to sizing up the quality of cars, especially the European makes.

To get a better balanced review you should take it from the Germans themselves since we are comparing German saloons here. In Germany and even the British buying public, Audi reigns supreme. Take this from Autobild:

http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/urltrurl?lp=de_en&trurl=http%3a%2f%2fwww.autobild.de%2fartikel%2fpremium-vergleich-teil-2_652275.html

Audi A4 1.8 is #1, BMW 318 is #2, and Merc C180 is #3

And we have this comparo from AutoMotor und Sport:
    http://www.auto-motor-und-sport.de/tests/vergleichstest/hxcms_article_509237_13987.hbs

The key sentence is at the end which reads: “The best choice is however neither of them (3 series and C Class), because this honour is entitled to the AUDI. Who scores so evenly and gives no serious weakness to recognize, would have to actually be called 1A instead of A4.

Furthermore, the A4 for has won all the big awards in Germany vs the 3 series and C Class. “Golden Steering Wheel” from Bild am Sonntag, “Auto Trophy” from Autozeitung, “Best Car” from automotor und sport and “Auto 1” from Autobild.

• charles27 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 5:32 am

the design not nice… feel like rojak

• Nozzydive (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 3:10 pm

Sorry for the bad pix, kinda took it very fast w/o 2nd tot of BEST angle.

The price is ard 230-245k.

That “blu” color thingy are protectors during the car was shipped here in the ship. The launching sud be ard June, wat cire said was true. It looked much much better than tis…again sry for the bad pix.

• blaze (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 3:49 pm

Thanx nozzydive.. did u know if it is equipped with b & o audio or not?

• charles27 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 5:10 pm

the bmw 325i is more pretty than this one

• szw (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 12:56 am

nice lights

• Nozzydive (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 11:30 am

It is not B&O, it comes wif the Audi Symphony.

Only the 3.2 Q comes wif B&O.