Perodua Nautica 4WD: Specifications and Photos

Perodua Nautica 4WD

The Perodua Kembara was launched in 1998, and as one of the cheapest 4WD SUVs in the market, it took the lion’s share of the SUV market – 60% by 1999. The Kembara’s successor – the Perodua Nautica 4WD was launched today and Perodua seems to be approaching it differently, bringing it as a premium product imported from Japan (a first for a Perodua) with only one variant priced at RM89,900 OTR with insurance. While the Kembara took 60%, Perodua only intends to take 5% of the current SUV market, with sales of about 150 to 200 units monthly.

The Perodua Nautica is essentially a Perodua-badged version of the short wheelbase Daihatsu Terios/Toyota Rush. The front bumper and grille is different, and these along with the rear bumper are made locally in Malaysia, while the rest of the car comes completely assembled from Japan. For lighting, you get foglamps and projector halogen headlamps while the rear brake lamp cluster use conventional bulbs.

The chassis is based on a derivative of the Toyota Avanza platform but has additional reinforcements to make it 30% stiffer than its derivative models. The suspension design consists of MacPherson struts at the front and a live axle at the rear.

The longitudinally mounted 1.5 litre DVVT engine is the 3SZ-VE producing 109hp at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. This engine is also found in the Rush and Avanza 1.5. It is mated to a single overdrive 4-speed automatic, and a full-time 4WD system which has a centre differential lock which can be activated from a button on the dashboard. It locks so that the front and rear axles rotate at the same speed.

The shifter for the 4-speed automatic is located in a more conventional position between the two front seats, unlike another more premium-looking design which is available which positions it at an angle more towards the dashboard, allowing it to be much more closer to the steering wheel so that hand movements between the steering wheel and shifter is minimal.

Time for some dimensions – the Perodua Nautica weighs 1,200kg, is 4115mm long, 1695mm wide and 1740mm high. Interior space is 1800mm long, 1385mm wide and 1240mm high. The width between the front passengers is 700mm, and seat height is 740mm. The wheels are 16 inch alloys with 215/65R16 tyres. The cargo area takes 380 litres, and the rear seats can be folded down for more luggage capacity.

Additional niceties include electrically adjustable and flipping wing mirrors and a multi-info display on the meter panel which displays a clock, average fuel consumption, external temperature and remaining travel range.

Click here for more photos and a video of the Perodua Nautica.

Perodua Nautica 4WD

VIDEO: Perodua Nautica 4WD TV Commercial

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nanashisan (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 11:04 pm

the pricing is almost the same with rush.
    but i prefer this better than rush.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • albagmane (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 11:21 pm

i don see any sincerity of perodua in selling this model… seems like they are throwing this car to the consumers saying tat, “if u wan then buy it, if don wan then go away” like tat… :x

• Mr.me (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 11:33 pm

Another overpriced car from Perodua……Btw, how many airbags does this car hav??? 2 or 6?

• sumaika (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 11:42 pm

Shorter wheelbase mean cannot put more seat behind like Rush….but the price at Rush level…

• afroiq (Member) on May 09, 2008 at 11:48 pm

geez..90K for a perodua??..if want 4wd better buy those big truck, storm, ranger etc..same price what..

perodua, from a budget car to a premium price car??

btw if this car is 100% made in malaysia, wonder how much would it cost..RM55k??

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 12:04 am

I suppose Perodua in a very awkward position
    When Saga can sell @ 37K for a 1.3
    Who need Viva & MyVi hatchbackes?
    If Saga can really catch up in QC
    What is Perodua?

• claxxion (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 12:11 am

Who wants to buy a perodua at 90k? Overpriced.
    Might as well top up for its Toyota sibbling which is longer, has another row of seats and maybe drinks less petrol coz the rush is 2wd?
    Very dull colours offered.

• mct (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 12:12 am

paul
    the car platform doesn’t derived form avanza
    it is diffrent
    it use 5 link instead of 4 link

Paul Tan says: it is derived, not exactly the same

• nyzam2301 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 12:32 am

hermmm.. i thought perdua was established to assist for those who can’t effrd expensive car… if the price is that step.. then i might consider perdana V6 or 2nd hand civic, not sure there is aftermarket value for perdua 4wheeler

• perdua is come out to earn some malaysia bucks….perodua product always is overprice unit…viva like a toy car it selling 37K, Myvi 1year aircon rosak selling 55k…if not overprice then over wat? i better get BLM 40k SE…or mayb buy a hyundai i10…

• My50Cents (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 12:37 am

Hmmm….if u want quality..ill go for Nautica since its CBU from Japan…Rush although with Toyota batch but actually made in Indonesia under Daihatsu Indonesia…

Although the name of the factory may be Daihatsu/Toyota…but the manpower in assembly line/part vendors (not all of course as some would be CKD)/etc still are made in Indonesia….Do they really follow the true TPS culture??what about vendors?? It is not easy to implement this culture…Toyota took 100 years to study and still studying…ppl in Indonesia???

Dont be fooled just because the name is Toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • fastcx (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 12:48 am

perodua became naza clone now…

• indigo (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 12:53 am

Daihatsu was unable to sell it as the orignal brand locally and needed to rebadge it. This move some how brought down the value of this small suv. Who wants a CBU Daihatsu with Perodua badge on it? Is the management out of their mind? Think they can do like Youngman in China selling rebadged Gen.2? If the product can’t sell means they will discontinue it pretty fast are they? 90k..I’ll get a ASEAN Toyota or Honda.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 1:17 am

Is perodua trying to become a premium brand or mainstream brand by introducing this model? It can work, but not a lot of people would like an expansive car with a perodua batch on it. Toyota batch, then thats not a problem. Perodua was supposed to be affordable. Maybe making it more upclass, then Clarkson cannot take a hammer on this car then :p

• crasher7 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 1:22 am

Many people will buy Rush rather than Nautica because of its brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • e-nabilll (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 1:29 am

i need a bucket to puke ….horrible..a disgrace….i mean WHO CARES ?!

• osh_kosh (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 1:41 am

hmm… good luck P2… u need it..

7 to 10 units per month huh?

btw afroiq, maybe this Nautica in the same price range with those doublecab/pick-up truck like storm, ranger etc. but whatabout their road-tax/insurance?? ;)

p/s: Paul did mentioned somewhere in his previous thread that P2 boss admitted that 1 of the reason for low-volume cbu Nautica is to add more choices into P2 line-up.. come to think about it, maybe it’s the only reason, just to add more choices…

• unclekyo (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 1:44 am

kalo 55k wa bli haha!

• giyzmo (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 1:47 am

i think most consumers would opt for the toyota rush rather than the perodua nautica, especially when considering the toyota rush is a 7 seater compared to the nautica 5 seater layout…

• DtG (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 1:49 am

HAHAHAHAHAHA… seriously… what the hell are perodua thinking???
    ok maybe its a good car, maybe its a japanese cbu, maybe the quality is a bit better than most cars beneath its price range… but its a PERODUA. 90k can buy lots of things… u can buy toyotas, hondas, nissans, hyundais, kias… who the hell needs a 1.5liter perodua which costs 90 bloody malaysian ringgit??? Perodua, national carmaker, trying to suck the rakyat’s blood with a BUATAN JEPUN car… they can say whatever they wanna say about the car, the simple fact that it is a perodua which no one really ever needs at 90k will never sell, to me at least…

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 2:09 am

This NaughtyCar is absurdly overpriced..at 90k.The badge doesnt justify the price regardless of whether its a cbu or not. The interior doesnt reflect on that kind of price either…200 units per month…I dont even think it will sell in the first place.Looks like perodua is heading towards a “Bently” like exclusivity manufacturing & marketing strategy. What the heck are they thinking..They are a PERODUA for Gods sake. Those top nuts cant even define their target market in the first place.

• csv (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 2:09 am

overpriced. i still dont get it why Perodua wont just CKD this and sell it cheaper than the Rush?

it’s gonna sell like hot cakes!just like the kembara did.

why ah? Any experts here care to explain?

• BW (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 2:15 am

I think this is a nice car just that i dun really like the front haha… Should have made the grill larger… But after all it’s ok… And i guess this is the perodua’s version of “Perdana” … haha… Never knew Perodua will come out with a car at this price…

• adil2008 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 2:40 am

Cost RM89,900?????? Rush only RM88,888 extra RM1,012.00, why, perodua only cut and paste, we malaysian need to bought the “Impoted” national car and paid extra RM1012.00?
    never mind, must got supporter. BTW, the front bumper is not match with the whole design, too simple.

• Jeffio21 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 3:08 am

Hmmm…. I guess it’s kinda ok…but a bit pricey. Personally, for that price I would rather get a Mitsubishi Triton eventhough its a pick-up..save on petrol too since it runs on diesel. I’m not sure if Perodua will get to sell 150 – 200 units per month. Maybe if they cut 10k off the price. Let’s just hope when Perodua decides to do a Special Edition Model…They’ll change the grill. huhu

• REDDEVIL (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 3:55 am

RIDICULOUS PRICE… This car only costs less than AED60k in Dubai.. what’s wrong with P2? Can’t they produce this car locally?

• enthusiast_02 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 5:34 am

I’m not pro-Perodua. Not a car expert either but to those of you who thinks this recent move by Perodua of introducing Nautica is disastrous, well, think again. Of course if you look at the price tag, the car is a lil bit too overpriced as compared to other national car in the market. However, this move, in my opinion, is done because of few logical reasons.

One, is to give offer variation to the current Perodua models, while helping to push the sales for its parent company’s Toyota Rush. Limiting sales on Nautica will help boosting Toyota Rush’s market share. After all, they’re both in the same team now.

Secondly, in terms of its pricing – which is as expensive as its half-brother, Rush – well, anyone with good pair of eyes and brain could tell that in terms of quality, the Nautica is way better! the interior is much more comfortable than Toyota Rush’s “plastic” and filmsy interior (Just look and compare the second row seats and dashboard, you’ll see what I’m trying to prove here). Smaller size with same engine specs also means better performance for Nautica.

I agree with reader, osh_kosh, on his observation on the difference the road tax and insurance. Surely, Nautica will be cheaper. And yes, the fact this car is produced in Japan (gives credibility to the car), obviously its selling price would be slightly higher than cars produced in Indonesia.

NOTE: its siblings, Rush, Terios, Be-Go has won numerous awards, which means Nautica already has its credentials for what it claims to be!!

Nonetheless, I respect all views from other readers, as it shows great concern to the development of our local automotive industry. However, as a Malaysian, I am disappointed with the attitudes for some readers for using small issues like this to condemn the positive growth of OUR industry.

And why can’t Perodua or any of our national carmaker be a premium provider? There’s no problem for companies like Toyota for catering the needs of the general mass and exclusive markets. Nobody complains, but when our own people want to penetrate to a new market, we don’t want support them just because they’re made in Malaysia.

I believe, If they can deliver efficiently, and meet to the customers’ expectations and need, I’m sure they can go as far as other premium brands available in the market and if you look like countries like Italy, Japan and even South Korea, one of the main reasons why their cars are such a successful stories is because of national pride. They support the development all through and they are proud of their national brands.

• _xXx_ (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 6:16 am

check AP price per piece before you complain.

• azrai (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 7:23 am

A 95k Kembara? Be real Perodua. A debadged Daihatsu BeGO with MyVi steering. Look like a ‘kontot’ rush.

• Bebelon (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 7:40 am

Perodua just help daihatsu Japan to clear old stock. 4yrs old model is outdated in Japan nevertheless, it is new for local market.

one more thing, maybe Perodua sales representatives used to sell cheaper car model, they are not willing tp push this Nautica model to customer. i have viewed the car yesterday when i servicing my sis’s car. it is quite good looking but too old age and overpriced “national car” rebadged brand

• weewitt (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 8:07 am

tq..i rather wait for the perodua mvp aka corolla fielder than this expensive monster.. :(

• pheonix_comet (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 8:57 am

Now seem like perodua is going for a little luxury market.

all the while perodua car letting ppl have the feeling of affortable 2nd choice of national car…

now it does not seem like that already. ^_^

• pheonix_comet (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 9:00 am

This time i can say perodua have taken the wrong step.
    at 1st i thought that the price will be around 75000 now almost 90000. totally insaine. so sad..

still plan to buy this car.. now i don think so.. too expensive

• h22-c (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 9:12 am

Paul, are we going to get CKD for this Perodua Nautica in the near future ??
    thanks Paul.

• apak66 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 9:42 am

Are P2 out of their mind. How to sell?!
    This model will last like Proton Juara.
    Will hardly sell and will die out…..
    If they are thinking of trying the market with this kind of strategy, No… I said they have none.
    Nobody in their right mind will come with this kind of idea after Rush came in.
    Comm’n P2, what’s next? next gen of Rusa with the price of Wish?!…..

• timber8115 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 9:57 am

One word to describe.. DISAPPOINTED

• ec (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 10:02 am

Toyota Rush = 88,888
    longer + INDONESIA made

Perodua Nautica = 89,999
    shorter + JAPAN made

If nautica going to sell at 55-60K, firstly Toyota has to get off of the Rush in the market, else it is imposibble for Toyota to sell it.

• mazri (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 10:02 am

Price too high for a budget family which perodua always target this prospect. don’t think will sell like hot cakes like myvi/kancil.

btw, malaysian car always use cheap plastic interior, wonder if this car also same like others. maybe this is fully imported version so they keep the original interior from japan. malaysian-assembly nautica maybe will have a better price tag in the future, but cheap plastic interior will be everywhere.

this car is not compatible with ipod/bluetooth/etc which new hyundai ascent have.+ ascent has soft dashboard and interior. ++ better price tag. +++very fuel economy. don’t like to blow my RM on fuel.

sorry nautica, not my taste.

• Mr.me (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 10:45 am

How many order so far??? :))

• JonW (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 11:35 am

this model isn’t meant to be a mainstream seller
    it’s targetting a niche market and a sale of 150-200 unit
    target buyer are from the middle to upper income group who wants quality (Japan CBU) and be different (small SUV)
    just think of this as an alternative to the suzuki SX4

they might have wanted to make it locally but perhaps the market is not big enough
    on top of that, perodua making a 1.5l car/SUV (they can offer a 2WD version) at

• gey2718 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 11:43 am

this is weird, national car manufacturer now become importer because just wanna add more choice to their line-up..
    i think perodua is still not sure about the future government taxation scheme, or maybe the AP matters.
    if future free car trade market is really happens, importing cbu is the great trial for them i guess
    but the nautical id definitely better in handling, look, and value than the INDON rush
    imagine u stretch longer the viva to 7 seater? ugly!
    small petrol suv still have the advantage as diesel subsidy may be removed soon!

• hyundai (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 11:53 am

Perodua is crazy enough to put this car at such price… Realy wonder who will buy this car…

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 12:00 pm

JonW has a point there.

• chee89 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 12:33 pm

maybe they are trying to build a stronger brand name or something.
    If you wan a more premium Rush or 4wd Rush, u have to find Perodua.

but then again.. its a Perodua. Buy it for about 90k ringgit.. you wouldnt get even half of it back in the following few years..

• blunt (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 12:37 pm

If Daihatsu/Toyota really sincere …why give P2 a 4 yrs old model. Or just clearing stock exercise in Toyota/Daihatsu part. Another question..is the car is 2008 made?

• B1u3Be@m (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 2:13 pm

The grille looks a little bit too squarish..

• armandd (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 4:31 pm

i bet it’s not gonna sell.. 90k for a perodua.. oh come on..

• 1NZFE (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 5:01 pm

Again, price does matter!!!

• indigo (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 5:50 pm

Who says it is a 4yr old model? Check properly. To be exact is around 1 year plus. I am not saying this is a bad car though, just don’t like the idea of rebadging.
    I don’t really support local car industry since it has not been performing well as Koreans started off almost the same time as we did, how come their cars had already surpass our local P1 and P2? Even India and China are doing better. Now they have to just “cincai” import and resell, end of story.

• GL3n (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 6:44 pm

Oh my~~ another “based-on” car from perodua… I’m not proud to buy a perodua….

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 7:21 pm

because of CBU and AWD, the price gone crazy…..

sorry Perodua, I will choose Rush……

• Goddess (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 8:35 pm

…it’s better than expected…. but still…… it doesnt worth the money…

• Goddess (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 8:38 pm

RE:
    [[mitlanevo said,
    because of CBU and AWD, the price gone crazy…..

sorry Perodua, I will choose Rush…… ]]

:::: ya… agree…. but not everyone is clever enough to understand this…

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 8:48 pm

nobody is saying its a bad car…jus that price/value ratio is crap….its like offering proton wira for rm80k bcos its based on a mitsubishi lancer….

and p2 is so pround to say that the front bumper is 100% malaysian design!

its like WOW! now can design bumper alrewady ! dono lough or cry !

• fastcx (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 9:14 pm

indigo, hyundai n kia starts in auto industry way b4 proton exist, ur statement isnt totally correct.

• transformer (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 9:21 pm

born to fail…

90K Rush = 72KAvanza+blings
    90K Nautica = 90K Rush-Rear+FWD ?

• kei9 (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 9:33 pm

DAmnm expensive, i will definately see more Rush than this. :I

• prangin (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 10:16 pm

Hmm.. buy CBU Nautica now at 90k and a year later Perodua will localise n price CKD units at 60K. U’ll have negative asset with 40% value wiped off in first yr. I think I’ll pass.

• MAT KACAU (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 11:32 pm

better buy vios s spec!!

• kennysir (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 11:35 pm

I CANNOT believe when I found out the price of Nautica as it is a DIRECT competition with Toyota Rush. Even though Nautica is 4WD and Rush is 2WD, but who cares? I do not think Perodua make a wise decision by launching this model. Perodua Nautica is priced higher than Toyota Rush 1.5G A/T and 1.5G M/T. Perodua VS Toyota. Ladies and Gentlemen, a 2-star hotel and 4-star hotel offers the same price room rate. Which one would you like to make reservation?

• cutester (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 11:39 pm

I agree with JonW too. For this price, I will go for Suzuki SX4 which is a CBU model too. Except it’s a 2WD.

• MAT KACAU (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 11:40 pm

better buy vios s spec!!!

• uma (Member) on May 10, 2008 at 11:55 pm

i looks too compact and sheety

• JonW (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 12:24 am

saw the car at a roadshow just now
    the interior is actually quite spacious
    the built quality is top notch
    the door, switch gears, materials, paint work are all well done
    btw, the car is selling for less than 60k at langkawi and labuan

• lockersbest_c (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 12:46 am

nautica
    errm, just another clone from perodua..
    langsung x impress me..
    proton world!! peace..

• szw (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 12:51 am

damn freaking expensive

• tommyboy (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 8:34 am

Dear brothers,
    Finally I salute all of you for coming to your senses!! This is not a damn expensive car but FAR WORST THAN THAT and so is RUSH! You see these Japs are also smart. If you want to sell something similar to Jap Co (toyota), you must not undercut! We Rakyat made the scape goat. I would say boycott these 2 cars. Don’t rush and buy the car and we rakyat if we stay united can get what we want at reasonable price. Remember “Makkal Sakhti”!

• mr_em (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 8:41 am

RM90k??????? VERY VERY PRICEY for a PERODUA…
    I can see and understand the revolt from a lot of comments here….

BUT DO A BIT OF LATERAL THINKING…

I bet sooner or later Perodua dealers will discount the car to clear the stocks etc by then, what if some of you buy the Nautica, take out all the local parts, eg bumpers, steering, badges and replace its with OEM parts from Daihatsu Terios/Toyota BeGo…

Hold and behold!!! You have a fully imported CBU Daihatsu/Toyota and heck, might as well ask JPJ to change the logbook also to describe it as a Daihatsu or Toyota….. hopefully by then all the “brand” snobs will realise that it is after all a mildly rebadged Japanese CBU car…

only then will you also realise that Perodua, in this situation, may have not made the decision on its own, to sell this Kembara replacement. You look at the shareholders of Perodua (one of them is UMW-Toyota Manufacturing).

If Rush sales increase because of this, one of their objectives is met. If they can’t sell the stock of CBU Nautica by year end, they’ll just discount by RM10k or so… or throw in some LCD TVs for free…

In any case, no matter what we think about the car, Toyota-Perodua will be run just like any other businesses, with the main objective to MAXIMISE their PROFITS, bottom line, or whatever you want to call it. National pride or interest can just take a back seat. Unlike the ‘other’ car company, too much national interest and pride sometimes can ‘cloud’ your business judgements.
    You decide, with profits or national pride objectives to achieve, both will come at a cost, and sometimes, these companies uses the TAXPAYERS’ MONEY to save national pride (supposedly), which most of us will not agree.

In the end, as the consumers, we decide what is best for us, and go out & buy the car from the company that match or meet our principles/ethics etc.

• terenceloh (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 8:48 am

I guess P2 are just giving their supporters/Malaysian more options in their range of vehicles. Nothing wrong with that. Either you buy or you don’t. Thats all.

With the P2/Toyota/Daihatsu thingy, the pricing is not least surprising.

• mokkf82 (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 10:27 am

Guys! Do not judge a car from it’s price and brand name. We always assumed that P2 is a national car and the price should always be cheap regarding any new model they came out with. We have this thinking on the other partner but must not have the same in this.

We must remember that this is a complete CBU unit and CBU unit has always been on the high price tag. But weight it with the price & quality built up, you will be amazed that these is a correct price tag they putting on. Do not trust me? Go check out the show room car.

• offroader manix (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 11:07 am

M’sian Motor Industry is a JOKE !

• king (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 12:25 pm

this car at its crazy price will only appeal to hardcore perodua fanboys.

• king (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 12:29 pm

i predict this car will sell badly…then p2 will start lelong sale at 10-20k discount by year end. by that time i get to laugh at those guinea pigs who purchase the 1st batch at full price.

• king (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 12:44 pm

enthusiast_02 said,
    May 10, 2008 @ 5:34 am

And why can’t Perodua or any of our national carmaker be a premium provider? There’s no problem for companies like Toyota for catering the needs of the general mass and exclusive markets. Nobody complains, but when our own people want to penetrate to a new market, we don’t want support them just because they’re made in Malaysia.

the problem is if this car was a 1.8 or 2.0L then it can considered premium and worth the money. just like a suzuki grand vitara 2.0L is CBU from japan and selling for around 108k – reasonable.

what so hard to admit that this car is seriously overkill in the pricing?

• kennysir (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 1:21 pm

Perodua would be struggling to sell with the price of RM90K… without any comparison. However, now the smart Malaysian consumers have Toyota Rush to compare… Good luck Perodua…

• kevintth (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 1:24 pm

Nautica … no comment. Malaysian car always like to copy here and there one. At least Proton do their best effort on their research, hopefully.

Korean cars – Kia and Hyundai started their business in 1944 and 1947 respectively, and Proton and Perodua both was started after 1980. Can we judge Korean can make a quality cars now as they already survive for 60 years as compare to our national car?

China’s car suck! They are copy cat… (I’m not telling all of their cars)…

• john_tch (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Look at the price difference between Langkawi and Peninsular, you will know who is behind all these. 56% gap!! Perodua must be under tremendous pressure to sell their car at higher price in order to keep their contender in the play.

No. Malaysian auto-market is not a JOKE it is just another SCAM to feed those filthy hands.

• proton12vauto (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 2:15 pm

89k? good luck… latest edition cekik darah price from perodua.. after viva

• hksp (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 3:51 pm

90k for p2
    malaysia auto market is a joke as 1 of teh most expensive price in the world

• sxe10r (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 4:13 pm

maybe 69k i will book one ~ …. but using the P2 logo selling the japanese import price … name it nautica somemore … better take the toyota 2nd harrier or rav4 … still the T brand …

• sbjess (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 4:24 pm

Dear fellow readers,
    I was told from some that this car will ony be assembled and shipped to our shore once order is confirmed. So,do least expect any discounts in the nearest future. And yes, this model is introduced to add more choices from P2 range. Booking fee is RM2K, delivery in two months. Test drive unit will arrive somewhere next week or the week after. :)

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 11, 2008 at 7:37 pm

wah, sound so exclusive!!

• jules (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 12:14 am

They didn’t do a local version is because Perodua can only build up to 1.3? and by importing it they can go around it? If thats true they shouldn’t bother with it.

• moonier (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 8:14 am

enough la… kalau harga beras dah naik mendadak, takkan harga kereta pun nak naik mendadak jugak.. too pricey ma ini model

• shaif (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 8:14 am

I don’t think Perodua want to put this price but since MOF so rigid with tax scheme for car CBU from Japan, the people have to pay higher price. Why those people in MOF so strict since this car sold under Perodua. So its profit go back to Perodua, Malaysian worker who. The spin off from Perodua’s profits will mean business for automotive industries.
    For me, it should around RM78K-RM80K only.
    Thats why, the Ministry should have industrialist in them and let go old staff who should pension when the time come rather than staying so long with lower productivity but too much allowances. Bureaucratics should facilitate not frustrate the businesses.

• car_craze (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 8:29 am

90k for a car with additional 2 wheel drive and 2 less passengers than a Toyota Rush? I think NAK-TIKAR is sold purposely at a higher price so that Malaysians will buy the Toyota Rush! That’s why they are only targetting for 5% of the 4WD segment. Many seems to forget when they compare the Toyota Rush/Daihatsu BeGo and the NAK-TIKAR, they are the from the same group. Whichever car you buy goes to the same Toyota group coffer.
    I saw the NAK-TIKAR yesterday at the Curve Cineleisure and was totally disappointed with the finishing and equipment level. The interior is very basic for such an expensive car. The air cond knobs are as large as the knobs on your kitchen stove! The rear seats theoratically can accomodate 3 people but there is no headrestraint for the center passenger. In case of a rear collision, the middle passenger can suffer SERIOUS OR FATAL INJURY. I wonder if Toyota engineeris considers Malaysian lives less important? I am sure they have heard of the term ‘whiplash’.
    Another thing- the salesperson don’t understand me when i asked about maximum climb and incline angle. And they are selling 4x4s! Pity.
    I just hope the Nautica does not become a NAK GULUNG TIKAR! Disappointing in terms of price vs specifications.

• ManicMan (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 9:25 am

Wow, looks like Malaysians here are worried bout price rather than anything. Ok let’s put things in perspective. For 90k you can get (brand new): Suzuki SX4, Rush or Nautica. The first 2 are 2WD, Suzi is CBU from Japan, and Rush CBU from Suhartoland.

Now for Nautica, is it a 4WD, as a user commented, the other reasonable choice is the Grand Vitara 2.0L which is a 2WD.

Let’s remove the Perodua badge and see it as a CBU from Japan 4WD. Not too shabby for that price as the only 90k SUV/Crossover is the SX4 (let’s leave all the pre-owned cars out of this and all the pick-ups too). That takes us back to main argument i.e. price.

Should Perodua price it at 90k? I believe it is up to them, only the market will determine whether it is over-priced. But my issue is this, why can’t we accept that it’s Perodua prerogative to set the price? And whether they want to move into a so-called premium segment? The only reason some users think that 90K is premium is maybe (I’m speculating here) is that they don’t earn that much. So my advice is this, stop whining and work harder to improve yourself. That way we call all afford really premium SUV like the Cayenne and not complain that P2 doesn’t produce ‘affordable cars’. Losers!

• mohdjiman (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 9:51 am

No thanks!

• mukhri88 (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 9:57 am

ManicMan-Let’s remove the Perodua badge and see it as a CBU from Japan 4WD. Not too shabby for that price as the only 90k SUV/Crossover is the SX4 (let’s leave all the pre-owned cars out of this and all the pick-ups too). That takes us back to main argument i.e. price.

That’s the whole issue, man, this is not aToyota nor a Daihatsu. It’s a Perodua. Yen to ringgit, is the price comparable in Japan as in Malaysia? If you are willing to consider the car as Malaysian, you will have to put aside the CBU status. Must consider it as irrelevant. If you consider the CBU status, then Perodua is no longer Malaysian, and the Malaysian pride no longer exists, no more Malaysia boleh for Perodua.

And most of all, is this car even a premium product? By which standard is this vehicle a premium product?? Anybody? IMHO it is a just simple sub-compact 4×4. Nothing high tech, nothing luxury. And don’t get me started on safety.

• farghmee (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 10:06 am

hmm…don’t say some1 can’t buy smthg becoz he/she doesn’t work hard :(

exterior wise, the “make-up” is not that nice = boring.
    interior wise, the arrangement ok.
    engine? how about FC, high altitude climbing.

prove the critics that they’re wrong, admit the truth eventhough it’s s|_|ck.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 10:07 am

car craze….

ur statement…

‘The rear seats theoratically can accomodate 3 people but there is no headrestraint for the center passenger. In case of a rear collision, the middle passenger can suffer SERIOUS OR FATAL INJURY’

i think they nt adding the additional head rest 4 the center seat bcoz …ya it is accommodate for 3 ppl at the back…bt mabe comfortably for 2 adults n not 3 adults…and center seat is comfortably for a child… many cars is like that…including my alfa 147…no head rest at the center seat…i think its nt a big deal…

‘I wonder if Toyota engineeris considers Malaysian lives less important? I am sure they have heard of the term ‘whiplash’.’

abt ur statement above…wat abt our nation pride-proton???do they care enough abt our safety???can u tell me??

‘Another thing- the salesperson don’t understand me when i asked about maximum climb and incline angle. And they are selling 4×4s! Pity.’

at dat statement???i think its nt a big deal…it is the same situation when i visited to honda showroom once a long time ago and the sales person dunno what is sunroof….so…its nt a big deal…dun xpect much frm the sales person bcoz nt all of them hv a lot of knowledge abt cars…so..no offence

i think if u really hate dat car n its nt suit u…dun b angry n dont buy it…kete tu bknnye nyusahkan u all pn…jz wait n c la…mabe it is a failure or not…if it is failure…at least perodua learn sumting…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 10:20 am

mukhri88…

wanna ask u sumting n plz correct me if im wrong..peace n no offence…

u said perodua is no longer our pride..etc…ok…my quest is

jz take a look at the nissan,honda…where they produce n dsg their car at the other country…like nissan murano n 350z…honda..mabe the euro version…ok…wat abt fiat where some of their car is nt assemble or produce in italy…ok..is dat we call that nissan,honda,fiat had lost their nation pride too???and is dat call dat no more italy boleh..etc???okla…let say if vw bought proton then sum of proton car had produce by vw outside our country…is dat we call dat proton lost its malaysia boleh n nation pride???

ok..hopefully u can answer n i wan to hear wat u think abt it…n…no war n peace…no offense..do correct me if im wrong abt it…all of us are learning here…

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 10:22 am

P2 is stepping backward with this model, other car manufacturers like Naza & Inokom started with selling CBUs, then CKDs, then re-badged CKDs until they have their own line-up. But it’s a shame after the success of Kancil facelift, Myvi & Viva, P2 is selling re-badged CBU as it’s model. They don’t deserve the ‘National Car’ title.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 10:32 am

king,

i predict this car will sell badly…then p2 will start lelong sale at 10-20k discount by year end. by that time i get to laugh at those guinea pigs who purchase the 1st batch at full price.

i like ur statement…lelong2 n gt prob like proton..then…da xde national car…so…imported car price will go lower..then…we can use an affordable price imported car..nice…n luxury car like bimmer n merc also will b cheaper than now…yes…

• car_craze (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 10:59 am

Raybrig,

Your Alfa 147 is meant for 4 people. The back center part is higher in case of ‘accidental’ passanger. It’s for sporty driving. My staff has one too.
    In the case of Nak-tikar, you mean to tell me that P2 have to tell every would be buyer that ther rear center seat is just for children only? That is is not safe for an adult to sit in the center?
    Well at least you agree with me that Malaysian salesperson is not very knowledgeable about their own products!

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 11:11 am

no…nt like datla…i know my car is meant for 4 ppl eventho it can cater 3 adults at the back…n 2L 147 gt a head rest at the cnter…mine is 1.6…so..it is a trim level…same goes to dis one…it can cater cmfortably for 2 adults at the back…mabe dats why they jz put only 2 head rest at the back…nt a big problem eventho no head rest at the center…

• mukhri88 (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 11:20 am

raybrig85, I understand and appreciate ur responses. If Perodua owns a factory in Japan, builds a car and send it back here, OK lar. If Perodua owns a factory in Batam, builds a car and send it back here, OK also. Daihatsu, which is now owned by Toyota, who also owns a part of Perodua but not majority, builds this car in Japan for Perodua and send it back here, selling it like it’s a Perodua with Toyota price. Other than standing in a Malaysian ‘car manufacturer’s’ showroom, I don’t see anything else Malaysian, including price. Maybe it’s just me being an idiot again.

• tlbtcaptain (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 11:58 am

ManicMan,

totally agree with you..we are at the same side

Guys, y must you all condemn perodua because of its over price Nautica ? The 90K mark is being set by perodua after their research and neumerous plannings. They have their reason for that !

Sorry for being so straight:

If you cannot afford a 90k rebadge perodua, then shut up. There are so many other people that can afford will still willing to buy it. Nautica need not be the primary car for a household. It can be a secondary car or a third car. It can even used only for rich men’s wife to get groceries from nearby bangsar village or hartamas market.

why malaysian’s only like to complain ? are we not mature ? are we not patriotic ? why must we give so much complains when perodua launch an “extreamly expensive” car ?

kl are fully of exotics, supercars and luxury cars. Why don’t you see them complain ? To your surprise, those owners might be the ones getting Nautica for their household. As what said: if you can’t afford, work hard ! stop complaining

As a malaysian, we need to support perodua and hope perodua will get an “image changed” by launching it permium class vehicle.

• gtmaniac (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 12:57 pm

Stylish. Far improvement from the last gen Kembara, at a price to match too. Sadly, people in Malaysia still have an old mindset – they are still not ready & blur on what niche market is this vehicle for. Imagine comparing this car with Mitsu Triton..?? And i agree – if you think this car is overpriced/expensive/etc, then this vehicle is not for you. Doesn’t matter how hard you work.

Good as a second car.. to send children to school or to go to market.

• mukhri88 (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 1:06 pm

tlbtcaptain said, – As a malaysian, we need to support perodua and hope perodua will get an “image changed” by launching it permium class vehicle.

Ahakakaks: dude, dontcha git it? This is NOT a premium class car and NOT suppossed to be sold at THIS price. That’s why the MAJORITY ppl here are complaining. Learn.

When Lancer 2.0GT is sold at 118K, everyone agree that’s good. A CBU Mitsubishi, 18inches, 156hp. The price is right. For Nautica, well almost everyone agree the price is wrong!
    Democracy! Majority!

• normaluser (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 2:11 pm

When prices of critical goods have increased (utilities, food, petrol), its no surprise that people will shy away from buying Nautica. Some more, its too super duper expensive for a Perodua badge. The market positioning has deviated from the original reason for its establishment as a 2nd national carmaker: to offer economical cars for the people who can’t afford a Proton.

From a manufacturer (or assembler since they only rebadge with minor R&D), now they become importer like Naza. Frankly, there is not much value added contribution to the economy. Greedy Perodua!

• n8cky (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 2:28 pm

Design also almost same like Rush,
    Yes, this time perodua is saying:” If you want to buy, come; if not, sorry.”
    Perodua is trying to create the mind set of,:”Dear Malaysian, you’re buying a top brand of buatan Malaysia”. However, it’s still CBU, for the sake of market testing. This 89k is to test the market reaction. CKD might on the road at cheaper price when the CBU hits the target..
    Yes, it’s expensive, which i don’t think it’s over-priced. I don’t care whether it’s 2 dual air bags, or 6? It’s a 4-WD, CBU, bigger dimension than the previous Kembara.
    Thus, selling a brand is what Perodua doing nowadays. Perodua can be cocky through Daihatsu/ Toyota, see MyVi results, or Avanza?(Perodua manufactured T-brand product)..Instead, some local manufacturer being cocky, not to cooperate with foreign manufacturer? :P

• n8cky (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 2:31 pm

Furthermore, the target market of this car is very obvious.
    For thoz who can’t afford Prado/ Pajero, this is cheaper. Triton?it’s a pick up truck.
    Rich dad/mum might buy one for their kids..safer..
    why not?

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 2:39 pm

“why malaysian’s only like to complain ? are we not mature ? are we not patriotic ? why must we give so much complains when perodua launch an “extreamly expensive” car ?

kl are fully of exotics, supercars and luxury cars. Why don’t you see them complain ? To your surprise, those owners might be the ones getting Nautica for their household. As what said: if you can’t afford, work hard ! stop complaining

As a malaysian, we need to support perodua and hope perodua will get an “image changed” by launching it permium class vehicle.”

—————————————————————-

lol!! accusing Malaysian not being patriotic, what about P2’s patriotism? selling CBU is patriotic to the Japs, not to us.

sigh! gone the era of affordable cars from P2. pity for those with small income.

• normaluser (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 2:48 pm

ManicMan says:
    Should Perodua price it at 90k? I believe it is up to them, only the market will determine whether it is over-priced. But my issue is this, why can’t we accept that it’s Perodua prerogative to set the price? And whether they want to move into a so-called premium segment? The only reason some users think that 90K is premium is maybe (I’m speculating here) is that they don’t earn that much. So my advice is this, stop whining and work harder to improve yourself. That way we call all afford really premium SUV like the Cayenne and not complain that P2 doesn’t produce ‘affordable cars’. Losers!
    ——————————————-

ManicMan & tlbtcaptain,

Think first & respect others before commenting. Not all of the critics here are losers. Not all of them are lazy to work hard. And not all of them critics the car because they can’t afford it.

The important this is that the car is not even worth the money for RM90K. Here, we’re talking about ridiculous TAXES & DUTIES which baloons the original car price. We’re talking about earning power versus inflated & heavily taxed goods.

To be frank, other than Malaysia and some other poor countries, where you can find a basic family car that costs you like a bomb? In US/UK, a basic family saloon car costs around 5 months of a fresh grad salary. eg. USD3,000 US fresh grad salary & Civic USD15,000.

Here, even the smaller Vios/City price is more than 30 times of a fresh grad salary. For RM90K, its 45 times a fresh grad salary. If that is so in the UK/US, its like you’re buying a Honda Civic at the price of a top line Mercedes/BMW limousine.

• normaluser (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 2:55 pm

For the above post, for the price of Vios/City, I was referring to Second Hand cars which worth around RM60K, vs Fresh Grad average salary of RM2,000.

• ys (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 6:32 pm

not going to sell with this price

• forofor (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 7:57 pm

Just like when someone have a new hairstyle and everyone will feel weird first seeing him. this is what p2 is facing. P2 is going for a rebranding in the market. In Msian mindset, p2=cheap car. it needs to take time for us to change our view towards p2. how long it takes is still a question mark.

btw, i feel sad hearing lots of comments regarding the nautica,not because of the bad things abt the car, but the ignorant ppl making the stupid comment abt the car.
    eg,”comparing the nautica wf a storm”..are they the same category of vehicle?;
    “p2 selling RM90k is over price”…if ym 2008 daihatsu terios brand new fully import from japan selling at RM90k otr is considering over price, how about a re-cond ym2003 T.Wish,with strong cigarette stink and 100k+ km milleage, selling at abt RM118 otr, which one is actually OVERPRICED?

• forofor (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 7:57 pm

Just like when someone have a new hairstyle and everyone will feel weird first seeing him. this is what p2 is facing. P2 is going for a rebranding in the market. In Msian mindset, p2=cheap car. it needs to take time for us to change our view towards p2. how long it takes is still a question mark.

btw, i feel sad hearing lots of comments regarding the nautica,not because of the bad things abt the car, but the ignorant ppl making the stupid comment abt the car.
    eg,”comparing the nautica wf a storm”..are they the same category of vehicle?;
    “p2 selling RM90k is over price”…if ym 2008 daihatsu terios brand new fully import from japan selling at RM90k otr is considering over price, how about a re-cond ym2003 T.Wish,with strong cigarette stink and 100k+ km milleage, selling at abt RM118 otr, which one is actually OVERPRICED?

• Auto_crat (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 9:22 pm

Haiya… way too expensive for a small SUV. It is more logical to CKD it. Is P2 giving way for Rush?

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 9:35 pm

Congratulation to Perodua for its new launched Kembara replacement-Nautica 4WD and kudos to Paultan for the cover up.
    At last everything has been answered.

Being in a shoes of layman, I tend to agree with many that the price tag of this car has shoved me aback. I would honestly profess that to the masses, it’s quite expensive rather than affordable. However, to the people of Langkawi & Labuan, they can get this car at below RM 58k.

So what has skyrocketed the price. Is it because the CBU status? Then, what made P2 to come up with the CBU-ed idea at the first place. Why can’t it just CKD the bloody Nautica just like its predecessor the Kembara. I wondered my self so i tried to find any good reason or fact available that could justify this P2’s madness and stunning action.

1) As what has been said by P2, this model is not intended for the masses, it caters for a very niche market. Thus the sales target is around 150~200 units/mth. It just for the purpose of adding some variety at the showroom and offer something distinguish in P2 car’s line up.

2) Factor of economies of scale. SUV market in Malaysia is not that big. For mass production scale of one particular model, an automotive manufacturer needs to produce at least 1500 units/month to ensure it makes money and survive. I think base on this, P2 didn’t make money with its old Kembara model.
    ==> Kembara’s local production started in 1998 and halted in 2006 = 8 years.
    Within that period, it has been reported that only 77,884 units sold.
    Using simple math, averagely only 9736 units/ yr and 811 units/mth had been sold.

Somehow this argument is not that strong. One can rebut that then, how Suzuki Malaysia can CKD its Swift model. Same goes with other marque such as Honda Malaysia and Nissan Tan Chong where several of their models are not sold in huge volume.

Whatever it is, P2 might have its own reason. Their management must probably know what they are doing otherwise, they are plunging down into a deep shite.

At the end of the day, we the consumers have our right to decide whether to buy or not. If you say this Nautica is damn too pricey, then i’ll say most of the cars in Malaysia is relatively outrageously pricey. By exercising our right, we might teach somebody a lesson.

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 9:51 pm

nice………. i like it

• car_craze (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 9:56 pm

ManicMan,

if i got 90k, i would buy a REAL 4×4, not a 4×4 wannabe! That title belongs to the Rush, which is at least is a more logical urban people mover. And cheaper too.

• hotwheelz (Member) on May 12, 2008 at 11:21 pm

the price is unacceptable!!

• bobdbilder (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 12:04 am

Get real people. We live in a world that is losing its resources and killing itself. A 4WD sucks. A petrol SUV sucks gas big time. You don’t need it. A small SUV defeats any reason to have one. An SUV is not efficient in using fuel coz its big, heavy, higher center of gravity. It sucks in being a car. It’s just to bolster your ego. Once you buy it, you drive it in traffic. You sit there above everybody else all smug while it consumes petrol and emits CO2 more than any car worth that amount of money.

I really don’t care who makes them, or what chromed brand its got on it grill. Its disgusting. The drivers are oblivious and ignorant about climate change. They don’t care what happens to the rest of us and our children’s future.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 2:57 am

Some people here are missing the point. Don’t look at it as a direct replacement of the Kembara. Think of it more as an alternative to the Rush.

For one, it’s much better-looking than the Rush, with a shorter rear overhang and the lack of all that ghastly chrome and body cladding. I can see most of the buyers choosing the Nautica on looks alone.

The interior also trumps the Rush’s. Because the Nautica is a CBU car, I’ll bet my house that it’ll feel much better built. There’s also more kit, such as higher-spec air-conditioning and an integrated stereo. Best of all, though, the interior’s NOT beige. Thank God.

Basically, this car is for someone who puts looks at the top of their list.

In fact, it actually shows how expensive the Rush is. How can the price of Indonesian-built 2WD so-called “SUV” come within a whisker of what Perodua asks for a proper 4WD SUV shipped directly from Japan? Even with the extra two seats, is the Toyota badge worth that much? A grand in car pricing terms isn’t a lot, you know.

bobdbilder: That’s why these itty-bitty SUVs are built. They’re basically tall hatchbacks with 4WD and bigger tyres. They’re for people who want an SUV without the thirst of an alcoholic. They couldn’t possibly be significantly more harmful to the environment than, say, a Jazz.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 3:06 am

Oh, and there’s probably a reason why Perodua had to import the car. Do keep in mind that Toyota owns Perodua. Imagine the suicidal drop in Toyota Rush sales if the Nautica came in at under RM60k…

• suzanne (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 1:57 pm

just passed by the showroom and saw the car..it really looks like a RAV4.. exterior not bad what…but i havent seen the interior yet…

• fretsurfer (Member) on May 13, 2008 at 5:20 pm

93% of forummers hate it. The remaining 7% seemed either okay with it, or blase. That’s definitely a microcosm of Perodua’s expected sales of this vehicle.

Perodua doesn’t care about selling Nautica/small sized 4WD anymore. They know it. That’s why they won’t invest gajillion dollars in building a plant to make it CKD.

The game is subcompacts

• topgunthang (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 12:55 am

buying a cbu perodua is as patriotic as buying a proton. neither is patriotic.

whats up with all these greenies who have suddenly awoken up when only after the failed politician al gore tells them that they are doomed when actually he is just building up his business by feeding on the fear of people. you have no right to tell people to drive smaller cars. its the same idiots that suddenly developed a loving for whales when everyday they dont think twice when eating chicken rice or KFC. just because you drive a big 4wd doesnt mean you are ignorant of the environment. if they are so caring then why dont they just forgo driving any combustion powered vehicle alltogether. go ride thier skateboards or bmx or leg powered combi vans to work or something.

• GL3n (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 12:13 pm

I’d rather buy Isuzu Dmax than this one… hehehehe

• fastcx (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 1:50 pm

i found an article from autoexpress.uk about tax category, daihatsu terios/toyota rush(4wd), has high carbon footprint, thats y the tax is higher, over 200g/km, for info check here, http://www.dft.gov.uk/actonco2/index.php?q=best_on_co2_rankings it also included tax rate for tat car in uk! 210sterling pound! topgunthang, u really cant ignore the fact that suv r fuel guzzler n polutant! most of u said diesel pickup trucks save fuel, calculate for me in total ownership cost of the car for 5yrs n tell me ur numbers. pls dnt js talk w/o facts! u tot v r using biodiesel? u dnt even know how to produce biodiesel!

other than tat, check out http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/carreviews/newreviews/207105/daihatsu_terios.html for an old review on daihatsu terios way back at year 2006

as for road tax, i like how uk do it, categorize by using co2 emission range. another is insurance policy, young kids in malaysia should b happy! young kids vf p pays the same as others here but its not the same case in uk!

1 thing for sure in malaysia, ppl likes to complain but nv use brain to find ways go around loop holes!

• fastcx (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 1:53 pm

n pls dnt think even v get better diesel here in malaysia its cleaner as in uk, their diesel exhaust not just use cat converter, they also included better particle filter n nox converter which ur hilux do not have cause of regional regulation not as strict in us/uk

• fastcx (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 1:58 pm

as for the autoexpress uk tax review on which car in which category to get/avoid, its here http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/carreviews/grouptests/220860/the_tax_busters.html

“Performance fans don’t need to miss out on fun. The Lotus Elise remains one of the purest and most entertaining sport cars around, and its 196g/km emissions mean it attracts the same tax costs as a Daihatsu Terios 1.5 SE, also at 196g/km. The little Japanese 4×4 isn’t the wisest SUV choice – so how about the Land Rover Freelander 2.0 TD4 at 194g/km? Even adding an automatic gearbox doesn’t push it into the top band. ” quote from http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/carreviews/grouptests/220881/band_f.html# which daihatsu terios is in band F, same category as audi tt, lotus elise, n many big luxury cars. but this terios is definately nt a luxury car.

• logitech86 (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 6:01 pm

“That is for being the biggest load of unimaginative junk ever” to quote Jeremy Clarkson when he sledge hammered a Perodua Kelisa after purchasing it from a second hand dealer. He later proceeds to blowing up the car…literally.(if you haven’t seen it, its on youtube). Well, here’s to another piece of “unimaginative junk”
    In Malaysia, we ‘cetak rompak’ everything….even the cars too, and the Nautica is testimony to that, yet again…

i can only imagine what would happen when Jeremy gets a hold of this car….

• hotwheelz (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 10:00 pm

i will buy a hilux rather than this..

• zulkarim79 (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 4:40 pm

But Rush is RM 3K cheaper…. still prefer Perodua? I’ve bought Perodua Car and Proton Car… I say Malaysian Automotive Industry qualities is waaaaaayyyyy back from the current market. And if you got problem they’ll say ” Owhh biasa la semua model memang macam tue”.

• Auto_crat (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 10:29 pm

Logitech86, for J. Clarkson, proton and perodua are as trash as some asian and european brands. He is mercilessly honest about cars. Hey, at least he had to BUY the car before he can blow it, now that counts. In some other countries people blew up car like from Lada to Merc for really gruesome reasons. That you can also see in Youtube.

• chee89 (Member) on May 19, 2008 at 5:56 pm

honestly, i don see the big deal about blowing up cars.
    Malaysian reaction too strong la.
    he blown up so many cars and notoriously famous for it. and i think we are the only country that complain about it, after 1 or 2 years he did that video.
    its just make us look so stupid. He squashed a Hyundai Accent and what did Korea do? nothing!
    instead, they improve and now Hyundai is getting better!

• mikewtw (Member) on May 19, 2008 at 11:27 pm

P2 Nautica for 90K?!

Well, what can I say? Malaysia is a shitty place to own a car!

Forget about the overpriced Nautica folks. You should know how to read between the lines when Perodua themselves don’t have high expectations for Nautica.

Instead, lets wait for Proton to give us a decently priced MPV or 4WD (one can only hope)

• suzanne (Member) on May 20, 2008 at 10:53 pm

saw a lot of negative comments in other forums and from my friends…they were saying the consumers shouldn’t pay RM 90k for a local car…and comparing it with RUSH..

at first i tot of that also…why not buy a toyota rush instead of rush? but after a while…i thk back…why shud i buy 7 seaters car…am still young what…driving 7 seaters car makes me look like auntie… :P

• cuoreboy (Member) on May 21, 2008 at 4:06 pm

not say perodua copy here n there Perodua is under daihatsu n Toyota … means u guy can get Daihatsu design car for lower price if orignal MOVE that cost RM40k without import tax are u think ppl go to buy ???? even i saw Myvi design in Indonesia re-badge to daihatsu call sirion than u say daihatsu copy Perodua ????
    u think they do lost $$$$ business.

is no choice …. our custom tax is very high now daihatsu Be-Go also selling 1,700,000.00 JPY = 53,141.99 MYR + RM 45-50k for AP + duty fee + forwarder + storage ???? u guys calcualte

• cuoreboy (Member) on May 21, 2008 at 4:13 pm

i know mostly ppl look for brand instant of quality … 89k for japan another one 88k from indonesia ok …. means indonesia quality is better ???? or just few more ego bcoz own a TOYOTA :)

• bisco (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 9:16 pm

P2 kamikaze for Rush!
    Thank you Malaysia!

• jolly_idiot (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:34 am

Over priced car. Even I felt Rush should be priced so high neither this 5 seather Naughty Car.

• John Labu (Member) on Jun 07, 2008 at 10:05 pm

Blatantly overpriced car, I cannot imagine national car who is protected by the government can be so mean to the consumers(rakyat). Bloody hell. Its a BIG NO for me.

• gori_s9 (Member) on Jun 16, 2008 at 6:58 pm

Errr… does anyone try the car yet? How does it feel driving it. Please compare to Toyota Rush and it worth to 90k? And do imagine it driving without the logo. :-P

• azam74 (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 11:07 am

This Nautica VS Rush thing is a big discussion, as one has suggested lets boycott not to buy those 2 products until they bring down the price!

• Ghostfreak Syaqi (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 3:07 pm

The clone of Toyota Rush

• Aaron Ch'ng You Liang (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 10:54 pm

Copy Toyota Rush , huh? No Idea kah!!!

• too expensive!!!!!!!!!!!!! i tot around RM5++++

• huhuhu……rily dispointed.

• Michael on Jul 21, 2009 at 5:21 am

I prefer nautica compare to rush simply because it is a 4×4 compare to 2wd, yet the price is more cheaper than 2wd. 4×4 is always 4×4, if you ever use 4×4 than you know the difference. ori cbu always better than any assembly plant outside japan. japan std is made for int'l market !

• just bought a nautica.. test driven rush and nautica.. if you dont need the extra space.. nautica wins hand down. nautica feels 100% more responsive and more sporty. looks more "balanced" due to the shorter wheel base. i absolutely love my car! those with negative comments should really go for a proper test drive. ;)

• kenzo on Dec 18, 2009 at 6:10 am

nautica is better than rush ….. completely 100% ….. and the 4WD nautica short wheel bace is much more responsive and more safety than a 2WD LONG wheel based Rush ….. dont be fooled by Toyota for a look-alike 4WD drive Rush and actually it is 2WD …..

• faggggg on Dec 18, 2009 at 7:35 am

i rather buy a 1st batch second hand kebara better :D

• Aby112 on Dec 24, 2009 at 12:40 am

hi JJF~

you are the new owner of Nautica? How's the power? Is the car still on sale? What's the waiting period like?

I like Nautica very much.. love the shorter wheelbase, love the solid colour – no tacky chrome trims everywhere, and love the dark interior – much beta than Rush.

but when I was the Perodua showroom during the Alza launch recently, one of the salesman told me not available anymore.. he was definately bluffing me!

Rush is not cheap too, a S spec is like RM95k~!!

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Dec 31, 2009 at 7:17 am

Yeah, now very hard find Nautica liao…. Looking foward for the second batch/ version with a same quality and same price..

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Dec 31, 2009 at 7:18 am

More test drive review plz

• Aby112 on Jan 06, 2010 at 9:58 pm

I do see Nautica on the road quite often, weekly bases.. sometimes a few days in a week.

yeah, owners should give their comments more~

• kimmy on Jan 26, 2010 at 12:15 am

Just visit Perodua official website, seems like this model has been removed from Perodua website.

New replacement coming soon? Any news?

• Aby112 on Jan 27, 2010 at 10:06 pm

really?! that's sad..

i liked the car very much, wanted to get one.

but now i've my eye on the coming soon kia Soul..

• i don’t get it.. why ppl must be sooo harsh on P2?? obviously this car is jz an option for those who affordable .. if compare to Kia , Hyundai , Proton i will still go for this.. Rush interior is even worst.. compare to nautica..

• MonfereBlogspot on Apr 21, 2010 at 8:58 pm

Agreed with you, “made in Japan” is better than “made in Indonesia”…

• P2 has stop the sales of nautica because of AP problem.. do government really support P2?? P2 is under daihatsu & toyota, so they shared the same technology according to country target. what is the difference rush vs nautica. juz 2wd and 4wd, yet it still product under General Motor. if u like 2wd suv juz buy rush, and so for nautica. does any 4wd like nautica can compare their price?? thats the segment for camparison. tq

• Mr. Am on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:59 am

LOCAL CAR TO COMPETE WITH OUTSIDE CAR – BUT THE PRICE IS ALMOST THE SAME. IN SARAWAK, PEOPLE BETTER BUY TOYOTA COMMONRAIL, WHICH ONLY AT RM92K. WHY DON’T SELL THIS NAUTICA AT A LOWER PRICE AROUND 80K? OR LESS? TECHNOLOGY IS NOT THE MATTER, WE ALL KNOW HOW’S OUR CAR’S LOOK ALIKE, AND WE LIKE IT. THE ANSWER IS – PROTON DON’T KNOW HOW TO WIN THE HEART OF THE BUYERS. JUST SELL IT AT A REASONABLE PRICE, THEN PEOPLE WILL LIKE IT. IT’S SIMPLE.

• Shufiyan Shukur on Oct 25, 2011 at 1:18 am

I haven’t a single Nautica in the showrooms I’ve been to. Are they still selling this model?

• Marian on Nov 17, 2011 at 11:50 am

Wow I love this Perodua Nautica 4WD for my preaching work ,just hope someone will share his blessing w/me to have this . Love it ! I do not know how to drive but with this I know it is easy to handle ,automatic …….

• boo hoo on Apr 11, 2016 at 3:02 pm

wow… batch snobbery is strong in Malaysia, sad but true…

people here talking about 2WD Toyota Rush (with longer wheelbase) rather than a 4WD Fully Imported Perodua Nautica…

My first point, check out the price of the Jimny and now you know the value of our ringgit
    Second point, have u guys ever driven a Toyota Rush, i have and it stucked in my head as one of the worst new car you can buy
    Thirdly, Toyota rules our market specifically because of this badge snobbery thingy, they have been producing crappy cars since the first Vios. if it were my money, i will take higher spec cars since i dont give a damn what people think about the brand of car that i choose.
    Lastly, if rm90k is too much for a brand new, newly developed, fully imported 4wd from Japan then perhaps you should look to our local classifieds for a Toyota, any Toyota

Once i was walking inside a shopping mall where theres a roadshow and suddenly me and my wife burst into laughter when the sales man approached us to trade in our 15 years old Conti for a Toyota… thanks Toyota, but no thanks you still have strong following for people who thinks Toyota badge is the best in the whole wide world HA HA HA

• Hamidah hussin on Nov 18, 2017 at 7:29 pm

My produa nautica is facing big problem. Handbreak cable broke could not get spare part even i search it all around produa service outlet at kota bharu kelantan. In kuala lumpur also out of stock. Please give some information concerning this problem.

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 27, 2017 at 3:47 pm

Try to search from Toyota SC. Rush and Nautica mostly share same parts.

• Berminat utk memilikki Perodua Nautica