New generation Toyota Alphard and Vellfire

New Toyota AlphardLook for Toyota Alphard for sale at oto.my

Toyota has launched the latest generation Toyota Alphard MPV, and this time around the Alphard also gets a twin with minor exterior differences portraying a more aggressive look called the Toyota Vellfire.

Toyota has been known to do this with its JDM cars – the Toyota Noah has an evil twin called the Toyota Voxy, and the Toyota Allion‘s twin is called the Toyota Premio.

New Toyota VellfireAs expected, the new Toyota Alphard is a slightly toned down production version of the Toyota FT-MV concept showed at last year’s 2007 Tokyo Motor Show. Toyota says the Alphard design represents “elegance and refinement”, while the Vellfire represents “power and innovation”.

The name Vellfire was derived by combining the words velvet and fire. The vehicles have slightly different front and rear looks, with the Vellfire having two-stepped headlamps at the front, and clear lense tail lamps at the rear. Both vehicles also feature rear wipers that fold away into the roof spoiler so that the rear looks cleaner when you do not need the rear wipers.

The Alphard (and Vellfire) is larger now, with a longer wheelbase of 2,950mm versus the previous generation’s 2,900mm wheelbase.

Each MPV has two engine choices – either a 2AZ-FE 2.4 litre DOHC VVT-i inline-4 engine mated to a Super CVT-i stepless gearbox with the option of 7 virtual gear ratios, or a 2GR-FE 3.5 litre V6 engine with a 6-speed Super ECT transmission.

The MPVs feature S-VCS (Steering-assisted Vehicle Stability Control) which can correct steering angles as well as adjust power and brake in efforts to stabilize the MPV.

More images of the two MPVs and a video of the Vellfire after the jump.

PHOTOS: New Toyota Alphard

Toyota Alphard

PHOTOS: New Toyota Vellfire

Toyota Vellfire

VIDEO: Toyota Vellfire TV Commercial

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• shamel (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 1:06 am

pricing in Japan:

Price: ¥ 3000000 (without consumption tax ¥ 2857143)
    ~ ¥ 4,689,000 (without consumption tax ¥ 4,465,714

In Japan, 2.4 CVT 7 speed merely +-RM89000 without consumption tax.

• shamel (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 1:09 am

・価格 : ¥3,000,000(消費税抜き ¥2,857,143)
    ~¥4,689,000(消費税抜き ¥4,465,714)*1

Same pricing for Vellfire. Even Livina 1.8 here more expensive. Japanese tourist must be laughing if he realize Malaysia’s car price+tax.

• Goddess (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 2:16 am

second one is better…..

• azrai (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 6:41 am

We got to see this quickly at Naza after this. The Velvet is the sporty version of Alphard isn’t it.

• normaluser (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 8:31 am

Vellfire’s two stepped headlamps; the design inspired from American big SUV/trucks?

Anyway, the overall body design still looks the same. These big MPVs should be introduced in the US, where people there like all things to be supersized.

• ChocolateWolf48 on Dec 14, 2010 at 8:29 pm

Heh-heh…true that. But hey, the joke would be on them. At fuel economy that rivals the Prius, it just might take a big chunky vehicle to get Americans to drive a better vehicle.

• David on Feb 25, 2012 at 8:46 am

better vehicle? you mean like the proton? Some of the cars here in Malaysia are the same as the US just with different names. You need to understand the traffic is different in the US with larger highways and streets. Traffic is faster, if you drove most of these little cars that you see in Malaysia (actually most of Asia) in the US you would at best cause major traffic, at worst get run off the road or cause an accident. Thank you for the suggestion to drive a better vehicle but I will stick with my 6.6 turbo diesel that can get out of its own way. Sad when I can buy a motorcycle in the US with an engine bigger than a lot of the cars here…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 8:50 am

nice…i like the new alphard..n vellfire too…so..cant wait to c it in bodykit ver.

• raptorclans (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 8:50 am

Love the wiper feature heehee… and the seats :D

• din’t ask. so wat if u luv the wiper feature. I love the whole car.

• nickcyk (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 9:36 am

The vellfire’s badge looks kinda similar to perodua’s…

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 10:45 am

how is the fuel consumption like, lugging around a big body like that?

• Azmi Khalid on Jul 10, 2011 at 6:34 pm

I've been driving few types of MPVs from Nissan Serena,Kia Carnival and now Estima. I fill Toyota MPVs is the best in terms of consumption.

• Autocrust (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 11:44 am

The car is amazing. How do they make such big MPV’s? doesnt the performance decrease due to the heaviness and the tall stance of the body? plus body roll chances are also high!

• dzat46 (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 11:51 am

Will want one if it a diesel & RM89k real price….can imagine how terrible the FC is for the 2.4 liter petrol, not enough torque to move the heavy body…will need to rev it hard wt petrol engine hence high FC , it need at least a 2.5 TDI/crdi engine to have decent torque to move ths MPV…..without needing to rev beyond 3k rpm….yeap agreed, ths mpv should be made available in US & Europe (for europe mkt, diesel is a must or else cannot compete wt those Espace/Grand Voyager/C8/807/Sedona/Galaxy)

• gajen (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 12:44 pm

wow nice design from toyota…really aggressive…the interior is better than a 747 ahha…superb

• bmpower (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 1:23 pm

the both car is the same, except the front light. also the bumper change. side profile remain the same. Very very same.

Alphard is great car.. but toyolta is always overpriced here. Really money maker lah that company..

• dr_carz (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 2:22 pm

I LIKE THE DARK INTERIOR NICE ! SUPER COOL !

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 3:08 pm

amazing….. simply amazing, from the luxury looking exterior to fine interior, both are just excellent……

Vellfire….. hehez, I’ll remember this name…..

• nonengko (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 3:52 pm

Japs are superior carmakers………if only our local manufacturers know how to catch up…..at least one tenth la

• mazri (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 5:41 pm

New generation of Toyota’s big bus.

Wonder may one day i could drive this ‘bus’. So big ma. But Honda Elysion is the biggest among all the ‘buses’ (Nissan Elgrand & Toyota Alphard).

How can Honda/Nissan/Toyota always make a very similar cars?

• Auto_crat (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 7:21 pm

Seats better than some airlines. Dang… if only I can afford one of those.

• michishige (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 7:49 pm

DANG~! i would not think twice to move over if i see the vellfire in my rear view mirror.. it’s humongous cum scary !! the vellfire’s midrow seats look like it was taken from JAL airlines haha~!

but too bad this mpv is not for people looking for exclusivity,.. give around 6 months and this box will replace the overly clichee estima~ come one datuks and tan sri, please place your order and show the world you need to travel big~!

anyway i still like the current Elgrand, the proportion of the exterior is better composed (and looks soooo much bigger) than the elgrand and the scary stepsister vellfire ^_^

• uma (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 10:51 pm

when will it come to malaysia

• drM (Member) on May 14, 2008 at 11:36 pm

well, that is a Van, is it?

the same as Vanettes/ Econovans during their glory days, right?

of course its just as rubbish as those vans, but still those Alphards, Estimas, are VANs. dont ever hide under those MPV, SUV, labels. they are vans. with high techs and monitors and posh seats.

thats the end of it.

• of course its a big posh van. but if u a passenger for 2 hour drive, u want to sit in a cramped saloon or a big fat roomy posh van? i drove estima before, n its so relaxed. just need abit more power je. u want to go fast n hard, u drive honda civic.

• csv (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 12:27 am

hmm, not a fan of these boxy van/Mpv.

so big, hard to park, hard to navigate and very boxy.

i prefer more streamlined design. Honda airwave, Livina all fits the bill.

expensive also.

dunno why so many people import in alphard.

• simple dude. u buy this MPV for the people at the back. its not for the driver. look at those mid row seats? if im in this thing, i wud hire driver while i sleep at the back. shud have massage option. if i want drivers car i get smthing else.

• Auto_crat (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 8:24 am

Well drM it would be a blesphemy to call Alphard, Elgrand, Elysion and the like as a VAN. It’s almost an insult to compare Alphard to Hiace, or Elgrand to Urvan. That’s why we have the term MPV to differentiate it from a van. Van is like seat-on-top-of-engine type of vehicle. But in the States the call it mini van hmphhh…

• Auto_crat (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 8:28 am

By the way it’s quite funny to see them Japs pronounce Vellfire in the video clip. It’s like I’m watching Ultraman. He..he..he…Vellfaiya!

• arissa86 (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 10:15 am

velfire looks more nicer then alphad.the color tone is more sporty.well,cant wait to see IMPUL working out with the ELGRAND. :D

• king (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 11:00 am

aiyah…you can talk until the cows come oso no point lar…in the end these are nothing but VANS with “luxury interior” and with a couple of LCD screens thats all.

• pixie_wawan (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 1:35 pm

Toyota Vellfire badge look like our perodua car logo??

• arissa86 (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 2:52 pm

it does not look like a perodua logo.
    see it for millions of time and you’ll see the diff.

• bmpower (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 4:50 pm

perodua already toyota lah.

• L (Member) on May 15, 2008 at 7:58 pm

wow, some ppl here don’t like toyota here bcoz they simply.. Toyota. Boring and dull. Well, i say bring them to japan to see for themselve. Toyota supporter? Naah.. Just a car lover.

• hotwheelz (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 1:08 am

nice looking mpv but please remove the wood trim!!

• Auto_crat (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 10:14 pm

They’re boring and dull? Maybe here. Just look at those JDM ones. Also not a Toyota supporter. Remove the wood trim? Then it’s not a luxury model. Wood trim has long been used to signify luxury. The other option would be the CF trim. But that one is usually used for speed/GT/sport version or whatever term they used. Naah… these day you can get those trim printed to whatever design you wish or buy as low as a few ringgits.

• altimate (Member) on May 18, 2008 at 10:31 am

“Vellfire’s two stepped headlamps; the design inspired from American big SUV/trucks?” – normaluser

Inspired from Nissan Elgrand lah.. hahaha ;-)

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:30 pm

how much is the car

• lukito on Apr 02, 2009 at 7:46 pm

weleh-welehhh,
    heibaaat tenen yahhhh. yang warna unggu, sdh aada blom yg dipasarkan???
    aku pake land cruiser th 2008 jg range rover sport 2008. tlg jk bisa pesan alphard yang unggu new Vellvire untuk ver. indonesia.

thanks a lot.

• lukito on Apr 03, 2009 at 3:46 am

weleh-welehhh,

heibaaat tenen yahhhh. yang warna unggu, sdh aada blom yg dipasarkan???

aku pake land cruiser th 2008 jg range rover sport 2008. tlg jk bisa pesan alphard yang unggu new Vellvire untuk ver. indonesia.

thanks a lot.

• GOD JOHN Meiji cao on Apr 19, 2009 at 11:10 pm

king ??????????

• aku dah order satu..behs oo

• hamizu on Jul 21, 2009 at 8:49 pm

i love this car

• kamal hasan on Jul 24, 2009 at 8:12 pm

aku belum order lagi. aku orang miskin

• shiva on Aug 02, 2009 at 5:13 pm

Toyota Alpahard is the real MPV……really fantastic, will own one soon

• SuLing on Jul 26, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Once you tasted this Big Mama, u wont want to drive any other MPV!
      That is how superb this car is. Trust me!

• enrico on Aug 11, 2009 at 11:37 pm

gue punya tahun 2005 asg yang lama oeeeeeee………. pinginya alphard neo ,velvire purple dragon

• LuxFanatic on Sep 04, 2009 at 6:42 am

Got ownership of my Vellfire today. Lurve-it!

Yes, its exterior styling makes you want to floor it out of the corners. Don't be fooled by the amazingly bulky exterior. Its very grippy & a stunningly good drive. Not on par with a… Jag, but better than most 6-wheeler Scania's.

The interior is absolutely fabulous. The second-row headrests a bit odd, though.

I hate the wood. Sending it to a specialist to replace ALL the wood trim with brushed aluminum, leather, or plastic (in high use areas).

Definitely worth the almost RM400k pricetag. So worth it.

• What a wonderful car so when is the goverment is going to be free tax.

• hi LuxFanatic,

How you got for your Vellfire? I heard 3.5 selling at nearly 500K…

Any different compare to Alphard? i mean beside the exterior look.

• clark on Oct 09, 2009 at 6:01 am

must have a Alphard – this vehicle is %$^# nice

• tamkm54 on Oct 17, 2009 at 11:06 pm

Hi,

Want to learn more Alphard and Vellfire ?

join us at www.alphardasiaclub.com

Bro Tamkm54.

AOC Admin.

• mazni on Oct 21, 2009 at 7:46 pm

Hi All,

Anyone knows how and where to find Vellfire manual english version?

Please let me know ASAP.

Thank you.

• kerapu on Nov 08, 2009 at 6:50 am

berapa harga vellfire 2.4 7seater

• I hope that alphard and vellfire will drop the price soon, till i could afford to buy it, in indonesia it was very expensive IDR 900000000, if they sell it at IDR 300000000 then i could afford to buy it, hahaha actually how much is it in JAPAN, is it cheaper than here, tell me, well all i know it's a luxurious van/ MPV

• enrico on Jan 08, 2010 at 12:22 am

hahahaha….

kaya punyaku yg wrn abu-abu!!!~

• enrico on Jan 08, 2010 at 12:27 am

akhirnya sudah beli yg vellfire G wrn putih~

• Tool Snake on Feb 07, 2010 at 1:12 pm

nice color,nice shape,i already buy one.

• kambeng on Feb 12, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Awsome

owner IGB hasone aready parked infront of south tower …looks ganas

• Bawathareni Chandira on Mar 02, 2010 at 5:09 am

it is a cute car.But the Starex tak boleh guna! Hihi hihi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• nurul on Mar 15, 2010 at 7:13 am

GREAT Cars!

but for my mom, dad and family, i think alphard is better.

GREAT present for my beloved family :)

• azleen on Mar 23, 2010 at 6:52 pm

hmm…i can only admire from far…both estima n alphard…vellfire…lagi la x mampu….yes,i do agree that body tu actually bentuk van…but dah direnovate…no hard feeling…hee…

• i am considering new estima..coz look less bulky and sporty..but Vellfire is superbly crafted!!

• which one is more important? handling or the look?

• debieh on May 19, 2010 at 2:37 pm

I’ve seen this vellfire (black) while queuing at traffic light near Kg. Melayu Subang. Superb… my next dream car beside alphard.

• botakai on May 31, 2010 at 2:13 am

paul !! long time no see… stumble upon this article googling wei.. cos gonna get vellfire soon hehe

• hanafi on Aug 01, 2010 at 3:01 pm

orang Malaysia banyak suka beli kereta…harga mahal macam mana pun ramai mampu beli…so pengimport kereta sudah naik minyak…sebab walau kereta mahal pun ianya laku macam pisang goreng oh…( beli 1 di malaysia dapat 6 buah di Jepun)…..nak harap kerajaan kurangkan cukai…tak tahu bila!!!!!

• duko nasih on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:29 am

Mahal sangat siapo nak beli…tax sampai 200%..Pakai proton saga lah seumur hidup..terima kasih 1 malaysia..really thanks..Proud to be MALAYSIANS!!!
    1 Malaysia-Anyway i LOVE MALAYSIA…make such a quality car for us..THANKS!!!

• duko nasih on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:35 am

Lets support proton..expensive car not suitable for our climate.it will damage the car electronic system…Proton car is the best solutions..WE LOVE OUR PROTON!!
    Thats why govt tax so high on foreign make vehicle..TO prevent out flow of malaysia RINGGIT to oversea..Buy proton saga or exora will do.. Lets say 1 Malaysia.
    Malaysia BOLEH…..2020!!!!

• Mr.Yai on Nov 06, 2010 at 1:47 pm

TOYOTA is the best designed and people loves toyota cars because toyota cars are attractive eyes and innovative spirit for people I love toyota (Lao person)

• hi there. just booking ’09 z type 8 seater light grey for RM251k. is’t ok for that price? looking for dark grey for z type 8 seater but non of them. looking around almost 2months. any suggestion for more info on vellfire. plz… tq

• newcar on Feb 29, 2012 at 4:42 pm

We got to see this quickly at Naza after this. The Velvet is the sporty version of Alphard isn’t it.

• kan cheong on Mar 29, 2012 at 10:06 am

hope next generation proton exora will offer something like this with affordable price.. i trust in proton..

• S H THU on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:07 pm

U know they are also known as CASKET Carrier!!

• Marco Maximo on May 08, 2013 at 11:56 pm

I want to know that if I buy a second hand Toyota Alphard, can I convert to Vellfire and the verllfire’s dashboard too?

I need to know urgently !!!

Thanks…

• My family owns a velfire 2.4. Its underpowered if going up to genting. Plus on windy genting road a lot of body roll and road vibration inside cabin esp thesecond row of seats. Always give me headache when my stupid father in law drive like an idiot like as if it is a sports car. He cant feel it bcoz he is holding on to the steeri g wheel. mind u it has big 18inch wheels. Now i know why luxurycar manufacurers like merc, porsche etc have air/adaptive suspension technology. It makes the ride comfy for passengers.

• Vincent on Oct 21, 2014 at 5:35 pm

I am looking to buy Vellfire. Is the model for Year 2012 & 2013 difference? Anyone can tell me the difference between Edition ZG and Z?

Thanks brothers.

Regards
    Vincent