Government extends Puspakom monopoly

The Puspakom vehicle inspection monopoly first signed in 1994 for 15 years has been renewed for another 15 years even before it expires next year. The renewal was made on February 14th 2007 despite 392 public complaints lodged against Puspakom from 2001 to 2007, of which the bulk comprise of allegations of corruption.

The Road Transport Department has also given Puspakom a show-cause letter to explain why some vehicles were checked manually despite computerised inspection facilities. If I am correct, computerised inspection print-outs are difficult, if not impossible to tamper with, while manual inspections are easier to “influence”. In the case that there the computerised inspection equipment was faulty, Puspakom was asked to explain why there were no reports filed on faulty equipment.

The show-cause letter also asked Puspakom to explain why certain officers took a long time to complete inspections. According to DAP MP Bukit Mertajam Chong Eng in the Dewan Rakyat, there were allegations that many consumers were forced to pay bribes in order to get their inspections approved faster (see source 3).

Source 1, Source 2, Source 3 (video), Source 4

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 2:26 am

Monopoly:Corruption potential

• azrai (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 6:57 am

This is norm in our ‘tak apa’ attitude country. They will say that Puspakom have already ‘invest a lot’ in setup their facilities. And now it is still not break even. I wonder who owns Puspakom actually. Can someone in the parliament ask this.

• shaif (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 8:22 am

Of course some datuk or tan sri will go bankcrupt if Gov end up the Puspakom contract. Again when politics meddle with business, it will bring the worst to the consumer.

• scirocco (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 8:50 am

surprise surprise… puspakom is owned by DRB. and who is DRB owned by? looks like these guys never learn. took away 2/3 majority from them still want to pull of stunts like these… will we have to remove simple majority to really send them a message???

• ob8 (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:02 am

another 15 years means that the twat-sri at least can double his billions. ka-ching!

• junky_man (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:07 am

haih, no suprise. what else can they feed themselves?

• KY (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:25 am

monopoly -_-

• LHQ (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:54 am

It’s hard to say monopoly since it is the G introduce these things, then of course they have to run their own business. It was well-planned though.

• LHQ (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:57 am

Don’t misunderstand, its well-planned for their pockets.Don’t think I’ll ever praise this kind of G.

• dzat46 (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 11:16 am

scirocco said,
    May 16, 2008 @ 8:50 am

surprise surprise… puspakom is owned by DRB. and who is DRB owned by? looks like these guys never learn. took away 2/3 majority from them still want to pull of stunts like these… will we have to remove simple majority to really send them a message???

—————————————————————-

Agreed….next GE, just simply remove their simple majority …ths ppl never learn/udstd that ppl hv the power to change them

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 11:17 am

PUSPA-CON?

• xsaraloeb (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 11:48 am

Dear Roti Naan,

you have mis-spelled….shd be :

PU$$-PA-COME la

• shamel (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 12:40 pm

Government merely serves as spokesperson to the companies. Remember Semi-Value when talking about toll concessionaire?

• mokkf82 (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 12:59 pm

This is the same old trick they using la. If they do not do this, their children, grand children, great grand children or great great grand children how to survive?
    So must earn much enough to spread the carpet long enough to let them walk smoothly.

• DAN L (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 7:02 pm

this is like buying a dog food but better for animal then to this type of people.
    this is how gov to help there own kind?…

• Auto_crat (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 9:55 pm

Well another effort to protect someones’ pockets.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 10:07 pm

If you want to sell your vehicle now it will be harder, need to go there and wait with other trucks and lorrys for their anti rust inspection. If use insider still got to wait like half a day. What gives. People tired of inefficient services.

• csv (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 11:28 pm

tsk tsk tsk.

another opportunity to deepen the pockets.

why why why….

• topgunthang (Member) on May 18, 2008 at 4:49 am

i wonder who said that they were going to fight corruption etc. this is just another petronas

• bmx (Member) on May 19, 2008 at 7:32 pm

Even after the 8 May election tsunami, looks like they still want to continue with their tradition.

Thick black smokes, overweight lorries, mechanical failures, sudden burst of tyres, etc are still a normal thing that we see everyday on the road.

• car_craze (Member) on May 20, 2008 at 9:07 am

Question – Why is it that when you pay a “runner” to send your car for inspection at PUSPAKOM it always gets a “Pass”, but when you do it on your own you might or might not get it?
    Answer- ;-)

• topgunthang (Member) on May 20, 2008 at 8:38 pm

i think after the may elections, the only changes are in affluent states where people are more ‘awake’. and since we do not have much other affluent states anymore, they can still be supremely confident in doing anything they like since the opposition is still very far far away from affecting any of thier decisions let alone compete in elections.