Perodua Myvi Facelift coming soon?

Facelift Perodua Myvi SE White

These photos show what seems to be a white Perodua Myvi SE with an all-new bodykit. The new look seems more feminine rather than the current Myvi’s unisex look (like the Suzuki Swift’s sister?), but this could just be an effect of the angle of the photo.

Facelift Perodua Myvi New Colours

There also seems to be new colours for the Myvi, including yellow for the SE and two new colours for the standard Myvi – a lighter shade of orange and a new light blue shade. The new pastel-like colours look quite refreshing, and is a good addition to the range as I think we are all bored of the endless almost monotonous amounts of Myvis on our roads now, thanks to the car’s success.

Facelift Perodua Myvi New USB CD Player

On the interior, we can see that certain models have had their integrated stereo system replaced with a 2-DIN slot, filled with a 2-DIN player that is likely MP3 capable as a USB slot for thumbdrives or other USB-capable MP3 players can be seen.

Facelift Perodua Myvi Meter Panel

There is also a shot of a dashboard which shows a new design for the meter cluster.

It’s about time for a mid-life facelift of the Perodua Myvi anyway, since it has been 3 years since the B-segment Perodua was launched in 2005. This means that a facelift for the Indonesian Daihatsu Sirion is on the way as well, as the Indonesian car is built by Perodua, uses Myvi styling and is brought in from Malaysia.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 7:54 pm

Hue?so they are officially tageting females now?

• armandd (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 8:49 pm

still looks like giant frog to me..

• mokkf82 (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 8:55 pm

It’s about time they come out the new face lift edition. The stereo seems ugly though. Like something sink into the dash board. The current one is perfectly donewith it’s cute curve design.
    I guess it’s for easy change over to different head units. But i’m much interested in the engine itself. Should it be the current 1.5 Nautica/ Rush engine? I’ll bet this would be a fun car to drive with that capacity.
    The front end looks nice too.
    Hopefully the price would not be that high when launched.

• Paul Tan on May 25, 2008 at 8:57 pm

What would be very fun would be the higher horsepowered 1NZ-FE in the Vitz TRD Sport M in Japan. Instead of 109 PS, it makes 119 PS.

• aaron_38my (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 9:04 pm

hehehehheh…giant frog indeed.never realized it on a Myvi.All this while in my mind, the only giant frog car is the nissan march.
    well, this new Myvi look is not so refreshing cos the front bumper resembles a bit like the new Saga/BLM to me but i do like the rear bumper.personally,i think it looks better than the previous one, looked more like swiss cheese. Not bad tho…

• fastcx (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 9:42 pm

wtf?! front grill remind me of saga’s, front air damn remind me of s.neo’s! look at the link provided by paul, the head unit -.-” o perodua, u just make me feel even more sick!

• aicariefin (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 10:08 pm

Local Indonesian automotive tabloid has mentioned the facelift and I think we will be getting the face lifted one. They also mentioned a strip down version of the Sirion aka Myvi. Because they couldn’t compete the pricing with the CKD build Suzuki Swift.

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 10:18 pm

Skip this. NEXT

• hyundai (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 10:48 pm

What a bloddy thing izzit??? Perodua Swift???

• hazremi (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 11:04 pm

the new interior color especially the steering is inspired from proton gen2 cps

• xenith (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 11:28 pm

Saw this pic already, nicely done…
    aicariefin, which indonesian tabloid? otomotif?

• csv (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 11:45 pm

i like the interior. black and red leather…..nice.

but the audio unit looks sunken. so probably if people wanna buy it, they immediately would swap it with another Alpine, Pioneer unit.

price wise, 3k markup on existing model?

best would intro new engine, like what paul has said.

1.8 liter? hahahahaha. frog to hot hatch.

• MyviKiller (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 11:54 pm

Eww eww ewww ewwww eeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwww for the front. But the rear bumper looks nice though.

• ah liew (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 12:17 am

I think they’re trageting more ah bengs then female buyers…
    This is a revolution, ready made bodykit, buy it without the hassle of modyfing at those kaki lima accessories shops.

• sudha (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 2:45 am

Yikes!!!!…Kermit ate the Swift!!!

• 90125 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 4:36 am

MisterBenjo said,
    Hue?so they are officially tageting females now?
    =============================================
    hehe,I think from the start they’re targeting female buyers but some males too look sexy in this car…hehehe…to me,this is one of the most ugliest car I’ve ever seen…

• whodz (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 6:20 am

Since when perodua is now step brother to Proton? Everyone is bashing perodua, myvi specificly, and praising proton. Poor myvi. alas.

• azrai (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 7:16 am

First it got Jazz look. Now it’s time for Swift look. To feminine site. If we look closely, doesn’t it copy the new Gen-2 design cues in certain angle? The seat with red stiches? Anyone notice this. An oh no. another ‘cap ayam’ CD player. Well, not an integrated one. The timing is right for the facelift.

• jasonlow (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 7:45 am

no matter how u guys wanna bash it, i still think it’s gonna sell well, with a right price tag n right targeted audience. I actually kinda like the front swift styling though. and watsup with the gauge for thermostate? u surely dont need such a big needle to show the temperature right?

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 9:22 am

ugly frog turns uglier after plastic surgery. seems like they did a liposuction on the butt.

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 9:28 am

what a bad cut & paste job, i think theo’s photoshop job is better then this

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 11:19 am

hazremi said,

May 25, 2008 @ 11:04 pm

Oh yes they tried to copy Gen 2 CPS but how fast can a DVVT 1.3 go. What a rubbish.

• albagmane (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 11:28 am

watever the new design is… its still a practical and popular car… btw, i do love the silver LED rear lights… totally change the outlook…

• theanswer (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 12:36 pm

IsaacVky, dvvt was made not for pure performance. and dont blame p2..bcause the engine is straight from toyota…so blame toyota. still if u want pure perfromance why dont u go for vtec instead of cps. oh btw, gen2 cps is 1.6..while myci is 1.3 dvvt, ..read the number ok.

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 12:57 pm

Malaysia simply excels in face-lifting cars….

no other nation in the world could top that feat.

• gogo2 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 1:42 pm

last time no face lifting saga. complain. now got face lifting. complain also. Actually Toyota Altis only facelift. So why no one complain? Engine same only from previous Altis. Poor Toyota/Daihatsu/Perodua buyer. Toyota/Daihatsu/Perodua are really bad to their supporter :(

• topgunthang (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 3:08 pm

i think most girls have the same taste as ah bengs anyway. at least in malaysia. so one rock hit two birds.

• abtm (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 3:12 pm

ALL SHOW NO GO? give us a 1.5 Myvi please

• tec96248 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 3:19 pm

gogo2 said,

May 26, 2008 @ 1:42 pm

your comments is irrelevant, mate. every cars engine is the same. since is a simple piston engine with 16 valve dohc. the setting, the control, the arrangement, etc that make it different. even mercedes, bmw having same engine in car but can perform differently. if u don’t know, pls don’t comment or insulted others or urself. thank u. hahahaha.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 3:25 pm

Someone, said this myvi is one of the ugliest cars, but some teenagers or kids it still look better than the new saga. maybe it second to saga or gen2/persona. car looks are subjective to individual taste. i prefer myvi at least need not to change timing belt. hahaha

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 4:33 pm

theanswer said,

May 26, 2008 @ 12:36 pm

Ah you know they got a lousy engine too.
    Main point is the red stripe which we got earlier on GEN 2 CPS.
    They’re trying to convince people that this car can really go and we will have more of these lala ah bengs thought their super little myvi able to fly.

I skipped both, I got Double Vanos.

Yeah that’s why please keep Myvi as a city driving car. Don’t brand it like a sports car.

• osh_kosh (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 5:56 pm

somehow the pics make it look like a toy car..

• JasonMaxx (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 6:04 pm

The front looks like swift. the audio is ugly, looks like some Myvi owner change them to aftermarket 1.

• sdan2 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 7:09 pm

i hear from the grapevine that it is definitely a 1.5 and will be positioned as a sporty version of the current myvi. Not really sure how the latter would really change much as it is still a city run about with a high stance. Both those combinations dont really equate to a sporty drive but i suppose the look is sufficient. Anyways change is always good if you ask me.

I do remember a PT post of a sirion 1.5 last year?

• michishige (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 8:08 pm

oh. let me say some about the exterior first->

– it looks so much NICER that the current myvi SE.
    – i love the now rounded front and rear bumper.
    – rims not nice with the new look
    – gawrsh the awning-lookalike spoiler’s still there

interior…->

– funny + cheap-looking + awkwardly positioned (too deep) head unit.
    – ahhh… i wanted to back myvi about the swift bumper there (because i like the design) but the rpm meter is also the same like the one in swift.. woot~!

• mystvearn (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 9:18 pm

Hmm, swift like car. Paint light green=kermit the frog. LOL. What are those rear holes for at left and right side at the rear bumper?

• sQew (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 10:37 am

Nice facelift, the price will be 10-15k from current MyVI SE.

• 90125 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 3:21 pm

#
    tec96248 said,

May 26, 2008 @ 3:25 pm

Someone, said this myvi is one of the ugliest cars, but some teenagers or kids it still look better than the new saga. maybe it second to saga or gen2/persona. car looks are subjective to individual taste. i prefer myvi at least need not to change timing belt. hahaha
    ===============================================
    u’re rite…it’s one of the ugliest car,same as Saga,City.Viva,Savvy bla,bla…and some say vios too….!!

• king (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 1:17 pm

what an ugly piece of crap!

• leonard (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 3:20 pm

Those of u only know to blame our national car maker… even im not agree that is nice or sucess but at least appreciate the designer, engineer, production team at the back scene!!

• kedaikopi (Member) on Jun 03, 2008 at 12:23 am

sorry paul, my english is not very good..

“..model myvi facelift 2008, bila akan dikeluarkan..?”

• corollaaltis (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 2:49 pm

I prefer old model

• hafizzul (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 2:27 pm

Perodua patut fikir apa kemahuan pemilik kereta?Patut Keluaran MYVI ni buat serupa TOYOTA PASSO. Barulah ramai yang beli. Ini tidak duk keluar yang macam tu je.

• 939chris (Member) on Aug 06, 2008 at 12:22 pm

(KedaiKopi) The Perodua salesman told me the new myvi will be launch in middle of Aug’08.

facelift only for SE? what about the standard model?
    What is the new myvi price range?

• KenYoung (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 5:24 pm

ok, my salesman just told me the new facelifted myvi is coming on the 23rd this month. Paul, u think u can get some photos for us, or the price and spec of the new myvi?

• feizaiII (Member) on Aug 13, 2008 at 5:51 pm

Paul, do you have any news on new facelift?
    heard that some showroom had the display unit edi..

do u have any news on it?

• lee1 (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 8:36 pm

where is the light purple or dark green in this world.

• lee1 (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 8:40 pm

Is this colour reused by proton….since like proton cant sell good for yellow and orange…….i think perodua brought second had paint from them….

• aenz81 (Member) on Oct 09, 2008 at 12:09 am

theanswer said,
    May 26, 2008 @ 12:36 pm

IsaacVky, dvvt was made not for pure performance. and dont blame p2..bcause the engine is straight from toyota…so blame toyota. still if u want pure perfromance why dont u go for vtec instead of cps. oh btw, gen2 cps is 1.6..while myci is 1.3 dvvt, ..read the number ok.
    —————————————————————-

But the new Saga Campro 1.3 IAFM is faster than Myvi 1.3 DVVT even both is 1.3cc… we do count it’s “HP”, not “cc” dude….

kedaikopi said,
    June 3, 2008 @ 12:23 am

sorry paul, my english is not very good..

“..model myvi facelift 2008, bila akan dikeluarkan..?”
    —————————————————————-

If i’m not mistaken, it will be roll out on 10/10/08……

• raiden on Sep 07, 2009 at 11:51 pm

aenz81,if u calculate power to weight ratio between saga BLM and Myvi,Myvi win.Last week i meet saga driver,provoking my standard myvi.I tailgating him on LPT highway,just to see how fast that car can run from me.Only fast on straight road!after overtake him at highway karak,i can't see him anymore.WTF!The lesson is,its not about how much power your car have,it,s about u have a BALL or not.