Toyota Vios J with manual transmission spotted!

Toyota Vios J

Reader CT mailed in these photos of a Toyota Vios J that he managed to snap, which indicates that a barebones Toyota Vios with a manual transmission is due to be launched quite soon.

The Toyota Vios J-spec trim level features steel wheels (hubcaps are likely to be added on the final production model) and does not have foglamps on the front bumper. Taking a look in the interior (photo after the jump), you will find a dark interior colour scheme and a single DIN CD player rather than an integrated unit.

There doesn’t seem to be any SRS Airbag logo on the steering wheel shown in the photo of the interior, so we can assume for now that the J-spec model will not have airbags. Let’s hope ABS stays.

Look after the jump for another 3 photos.

Toyota Vios J

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 8:26 pm

haha, paul told me to post

anyways, back in late jan/february. my buddy was looking at the new rush, whilst i went to have a look at the new vios. the salesman gave a tentative date that the 1.5 litre manual version will be released. well hopes thats true, because it makes no sense to release a 1.3 litre vios, which eats into the myvi’s profitability and fighting directly with the new proton saga

• HMMaster (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 8:41 pm

I wonder what is the pricing…

• armandd (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 8:46 pm

i guess the price will be around RM70-75k.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 8:51 pm

i heard its the 70k+ range too, like what paul speculated last year

• aaron_38my (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 8:59 pm

well, i’ve seen a few previous generation Vios manual trans and according to one of my friend who rented one in Brunei, the manual trans version is a fun car to drive with all 5 speed fully utilizing the engine’s perky performance. So with the absence of hydro powered steering, i think this new Vios might be thrilling.

• mokkf82 (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 8:59 pm

70k++? Can’t wait to test this car out!

• White Jack (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 9:10 pm

Now economy not good, looks like many cars are going for “strip down” version to cut price :)

I think this VIOS J would be a good option. “J” stands for “Plain Jane” ??

• aicariefin (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 10:00 pm

The Vios J is called the Limo in Indonesia and is only solely used for the Taxi companies (Main company would be the Blue Bird group with about 2000 units ordered).

Toyota Astra Motor (TAM) only sells for the Vios E and G model. We do have a J version Yaris but it doesn’t compete much with the barebone Suzuki Swift ST

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 10:20 pm

Toyota is the only manufacturer in the market now other than Proton and Perodua, produces mass volume of cheap and cost-cutting vehicles. Making money is a priority to them.

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 11:00 pm

more choice for buyers, good lah….

some drivers really prefer manual transmission, like my dad….

• xenith (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 11:21 pm

aicariefin is right. If this car was blue it would look like blue bird taxi.

• erichigc (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 11:22 pm

70 K nett I will definitely order on the launch. :P

• csv (Member) on May 25, 2008 at 11:50 pm

79k possibly. with the available vios current pricing residing in the 80k plus department.

selling this from 75k-79k would seem plausible.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 12:06 am

yeah! stalling seems possible again! and all the push car jump start fun …..

• ah liew (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 12:12 am

I wonder who’s gonna buy it since most drivers prefers automatics nowadays. Except ethusiast who would prefer manual for some fun….

• noactiontalkonly (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 12:29 am

IsaacVky said,
    May 25, 2008 @ 10:20 pm

Toyota is the only manufacturer in the market now other than Proton and Perodua, produces mass volume of cheap and cost-cutting vehicles. Making money is a priority to them.
    —————————————————————-
    Yeah right… so other car makers are either selling cars for charity or doing it for fun. But then again, i agree that toyota people are just plain greedy. They always try to lure us with under-specced products, then suddenly increase the spec and call it improvement (vios 1.5E got an early facelift due to poor sales!).

• mct (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 12:41 am

reply ah liew : people who love vios but not enough $ to buy a e version of vios will buy it
    since it is still same just no airbags
    not sure with the abs ,ebd,and ba

• sutheshkumar87 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 12:47 am

hahahaha. now tht explains why Toyota has updated the E version with side mirror repeaters (powered) and a new DIN head.

and paul, the 2nd generation Vios are all badged E,G, and S. no 1.5 badge there.

Paul Tan says: Thanks for the heads up

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 7:12 am

70k + for a stripped down Vios? I’d pass.

Just shows how crazy prices can be in a “protected” market.

• azrai (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 7:20 am

It should be sub 70k price baraket. Maybe 68k, then that is good. Additional turbo?

• oscarsmh (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 7:51 am

Finally manual car coming back to m’sia,great news!dun be lazy,clutch driving more awake than auto

• abtm (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 8:08 am

I hope it does well. The vios will work much better with a manual, the driver will be able to use all the revs. should be fun

• oyl78 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 8:53 am

i saw plenty of vios “j” in Sg Rasa, Klang sales & service centre, according to the SA it should be price below RM70K, he has test drive it and claimed that it is very powerful… since is manual transmission…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 9:02 am

this is a very interesting strategy by toyota.. but autos still rule. practically all manufacturers today sell autos exclusively.

• Allan (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 9:09 am

What? Not even a single airbag? I dont mind bare bones specs, but c’mon how much would it really cost them to just include a single airbag for the driver? Shame on you toyota.

• alanchai (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 9:32 am

i heard the price is below 70K (69900) cheer …!

• KF (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 9:56 am

Wow….finally a UMWT brought in the Vios with a stick shift. Bear in mind the Vios stick shift version had been launched in Thailand many many years ago.

• indigo (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 10:07 am

Well, at least we see something different now. Finally with manual. I’ve been waiting for manual car since it is more fun to drive. Auto just spoils the thrill.

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 11:28 am

noactiontalkonly said,

May 26, 2008 @ 12:29 am

No Passion! Simply just want to make money. Avanza Rush Innova totally rubbish, Vios too (I wouldn’t say this if its priced lower. yeah yeah I know they aren’t protected but compare Hyundai prices with UMW, blood sucker.)

Kancil manual is fun to drive too duh ..
    Take this car and throw into corners and you would end up terbalik dalam longkang tepi jalan tu.

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 1:11 pm

This J m/t version is sold in Thailand for about RM50k

No airbag but ABS,EBD and Ba are standard.

• oscarsmh (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 1:21 pm

No matter how much they sell,it’s a good start since no more protection on proton.Hope the rest of the brand will come out their manual version here like Suzuki,Honda & Lancer GT(if no more waiting list for 8 mths ,LOL)

• gogo2 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 1:36 pm

i wonder how is the service later. u know la. UMW never service a manual car before. :P

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 2:15 pm

They have serviced manual car before– Avanza 1.3m/t

• cutester (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 2:20 pm

Innova and Rush also have manual transmission. Earlier Altis also got manual many years back.

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 2:25 pm

Toyota Unser also got manual transmission

• schdmitz (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 2:26 pm

it will be a fun fun car to drive….can rev till redline and down shift…..i think it will be very sporty car to drive…..although auto they were powerful…can’t imagine manual waja gen2 or …….cannot kejar….

• timber8115 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 3:15 pm

Nice.. I want I want (if pricing is good)

• JasonMaxx (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 5:57 pm

I think “J” stands for “junior”. and maybe there are no EBD and BA.

• oyl78 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 6:49 pm

confirmed by the SA J version doesnt come with airbag (not even for the driver), no ABS, EBD & BE…

• sdan2 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 7:10 pm

They should at least give it a normal speedo cluster :)

• s60t (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 8:47 pm

speaking of airbags,it is no replacement for good driving habits and a sturdy body. last week I had a patient whose nissan sentra was knocked by another car which had no airbags. the other guy had only some scratches and bruises but my patient suffered a fractured sternum from the deployed airbag and had to stay in the hospital for a few days.

• ncm6151 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 9:42 pm

if the price is around 70k,i think hyundai accent can send back to korea already.

• ncm6151 (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 9:47 pm

toyota has made a right way in making a manual car in malaysia. i think toyota takes away the airbag because they wanna let other car manufacturers a space for breathing. if not other manufacturers can close their factories already.

• cutester (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 10:04 pm

At least the J Vios comes with darker interior that makes it looks cool like the S spec. Just simply love the dark interior. Beige or lighter colour interior gets dirty easily.

If got extra $$$, then can upgrade the single DIN player to a better unit or double DIN. The same goes to the steel rims and foglamps. Manual cars are great to drive!

• cutester (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 10:11 pm

The main reason why people prefers auto is because of traffic jam. I encountered several times getting stuck on Penang bridge during after working hours, my left foot is aching badly pressing and realease the clutch. At that time, my mind was thinking about auto transmission! :D Hehe.

But for normal driving without the jams, manual is the best! Hope J Vios is at +/- RM70K…..

• ahmadmckk (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 10:23 pm

Is Toyota set to fight Proton with this car? Not with the price tag, of course.

• Liam Lim (Member) on May 26, 2008 at 10:56 pm

Seen many vios j in s’pore.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 12:48 am

Actually besides the badge and the more powerful 1.5 engine.

What difference does a Vios has compared to a Saga? Interior they’re more or less the same, boot etc.

Material used, yeah slightly better.

SO? Buy Vios for the Jap look and brand, somewhat justifiable.

Then compare so called NEW Vios to the OLD Vios. Same engine, same gearbox, same interior.

Compare NEW Vios to OLD City, City still wins on specs, interior refinement and usability.

The OLD Vios sells because it’s better looking than City, and now that the NEW Vios is uglier than the OLD City, we should all buy City right? or a SAGA.

• shaif (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:24 am

Let see how Honda city counteract with this new offer from toyota. Manual City should be fun to drive but admittedly, people spend more money to be pampered and spoiled, so the manual just for few people only. I’m manual user but auto more relax to drive.

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 9:13 am

ncm6151 said,

May 26, 2008 @ 9:47 pm

Talk cock number one la you

• hamster (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 11:21 am

Good move. I’ll bet my nuts that their marketing strategy will mostly be based on fuel saving benefits.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 1:51 pm

gogo2 said,

May 26, 2008 @ 1:36 pm

i wonder how is the service later. u know la. UMW never service a manual car before. :P

–your statement is irrelevant again. u must be sleeping too long already. hahaha

• tec96248 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 1:57 pm

IsaacVky said,

May 26, 2008 @ 11:28 am

noactiontalkonly said,

May 26, 2008 @ 12:29 am

No Passion! Simply just want to make money. Avanza Rush Innova totally rubbish, Vios too (I wouldn’t say this if its priced lower. yeah yeah I know they aren’t protected but compare Hyundai prices with UMW, blood sucker.)

Kancil manual is fun to drive too duh ..
    Take this car and throw into corners and you would end up terbalik dalam longkang tepi jalan tu.

–comparing korean makes to japanese makes just like comparing british makes to german makes. what an idiotic compares……

–only idiots will the kancil to throw into corners. damn……

• tec96248 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 1:58 pm

–only idiots will take kancil to throw into corners. damn……

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 2:28 pm

s60t said,
    May 26, 2008 @ 8:47 pm

speaking of airbags,it is no replacement for good driving habits and a sturdy body. last week I had a patient whose nissan sentra was knocked by another car which had no airbags. the other guy had only some scratches and bruises but my patient suffered a fractured sternum from the deployed airbag and had to stay in the hospital for a few days.

-Yes, its true, airbags can kill a people especially children

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 2:33 pm

ncm6151 said,
    May 26, 2008 @ 9:42 pm

if the price is around 70k,i think hyundai accent can send back to korea already.

– Dont worry, still have people will buy Hyundai Accent for its’ hard bodies

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 2:53 pm

I had done a research and estimated the price

Grade Thailand Price Malaysia Price

1.5E RM58400 RM79200

1.5G RM65900 RM84800

1.5S RM69900 RM88100

1.5J RM49900 RM69200

• cutester (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 4:05 pm

I wonder if these items will be available in J spec:

-60:40 folding rear seat
    -front center armrest with console box
    -power windows for the rear windows
    -power adjustable wing mirrors (not the foldable control)
    -hood/dashboard silencer
    -4 speakers or 2 speakers

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 6:47 pm

tec96248 said,

May 27, 2008 @ 1:57 pm

Vios is just a cheap car that the japanese themselves don’t even wants it.
    Only you fool malaysian see it as a gold.

And i mean throw this cheap suspension setup Vios into corner.

• ncm6151 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:58 pm

tec96248 said,

May 27, 2008 @ 1:57 pm

And i mean throw this cheap suspension setup Vios into corner.

ya i agree with u.but what to do?this is our malaysia policy.we have to accept it.it is better u buy vios than u buy a proton waja.may b vios using cheaper material.but it still consider a reliable car.i mean u dont compare with other sport cars.that is totally different.

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 11:01 pm

Have a look at this ( Thailand Vios Specifications )

http://www.toyota.co.th/en/models/vios/vios2007_features.asp?series_id=6

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 11:06 pm

oyl78 said,
    May 26, 2008 @ 6:49 pm

confirmed by the SA J version doesnt come with airbag (not even for the driver), no ABS, EBD & BE…

– Huh, BE ? Is it BA ?

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 11:14 pm

cutester said,
    May 27, 2008 @ 4:05 pm

I wonder if these items will be available in J spec:

-60:40 folding rear seat
    -front center armrest with console box
    -power windows for the rear windows
    -power adjustable wing mirrors (not the foldable control)
    -hood/dashboard silencer
    -4 speakers or 2 speakers

-The most important :GOA Body will be included

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 12:44 am

ncm6151 said,

May 27, 2008 @ 8:58 pm

I totally disagree buying Vios is better than a Waja.
    The new Waja CPS outperform Vios in every aspect except for the fuel consumption which I don’t mind paying because you get more comfortable, stable, spacious car.
    Vios is good at FC because of its small tire and lighter than a Proton 1.6 by 200kg.

• Allan (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 9:38 am

“speaking of airbags,it is no replacement for good driving habits and a sturdy body. last week I had a patient whose nissan sentra was knocked by another car which had no airbags. the other guy had only some scratches and bruises but my patient suffered a fractured sternum from the deployed airbag and had to stay in the hospital for a few days”.

Its true that good driving habits are priceless, but you cannot dumb down the importance of airbags just by that one senario you mentioned. There would have been various other factors contributing to the outcome of that particular crash. Firstly the sentra is known to have an average strenght body only, and at a high enough impact speed anything can happen. But im sure you will have to agree that your patient would have been in much worse shape if not for his airbags…yes?

Coming back to the Vios, I would have thought that the cars frontal crash performance was designed to work in tandem with frontal airbags, therefore by removing them it may affect the way this car absorbs and dissipates impact energy to its occupants. Paul mentioned that an airbag normally costs around USD$150 which would roughly equate to RM500….so i dont think its a big ask for toyota to include at least one airbag into a RM70K vehicle.

• Allan (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 9:52 am

…or his fractured sternum could have been caused by the seatbelt anyways…and had nothing to do with the airbag…LoL.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 12:02 pm

IsaacVky said,

May 27, 2008 @ 6:47 pm

–pls read more, this car is selling around the world even in japan. vios/belta/yaris. only fools will buy a car that having high maintenance cost. toyota is never a gold but a reliable car. at least they don’t end up like british makes selling out all to others, like malaysia, india, us, japanese, germans. what so great about hv better cornering cars? only fools go for car last for 5 years instead of 10 years. european makes are better but usually start high maintenance cost at 5 years old. japanese 10 years old. there’s reason toyota sell better. malaysian are smarter than u fools thought.

• king (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 1:34 pm

if you take out the badge from this car it won’t even sell 50 units a month in malaysia.

this vios is not even comparable to the koreans which have a more solid body car nowadays.

just feel how light is the boot of the vios…even thinner and lighter than a kancil’s boot.( especially the old model)

I seriously don’t see any difference between the new saga and this in terms of spec, space and usability.

Its got 10% better quality interior but at 100% the extra price.

• corollaaltis (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 2:26 pm

king said,
    May 28, 2008 @ 1:34 pm

if you take out the badge from this car it won’t even sell 50 units a month in malaysia.

this vios is not even comparable to the koreans which have a more solid body car nowadays.

just feel how light is the boot of the vios…even thinner and lighter than a kancil’s boot.( especially the old model)

I seriously don’t see any difference between the new saga and this in terms of spec, space and usability.

Its got 10% better quality interior but at 100% the extra price.

————————————————————-

1. They dont want logo but they want Toyota powerfull engine

2. I agree that but I heard that Korean car and drink as much petrol as people drink water.

3. No…no… if u compare with Corolla/ Civic I will agree

4. But the engine

5.100% more power than Kancil
    100% less that you use the money on maintainance

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 4:40 pm

tec96248 said,

May 28, 2008 @ 12:02 pm

It’s not receiving good responses, but only here in Malaysia, just celebrated 100,000th of Vios delivered haha!
    Proton also export to australia south africa uk, can I say they’re bloody good too?
    They’re also rubbish to the locals there. Same like Vios.

i have the money to enjoy better cars. Who cares if they got higher maintenance cost. Stick with your boring plain Toyota then

• ncm6151 (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 9:53 pm

tec96248 said,

May 28, 2008 @ 12:02 pm

aiya no need to argue anymore.proton no technology.thats y volkswagen dont want proton.after so many years cheated by proton,who is going to believe her again.ya i agree proton’s car offer better features and accesories in their cars.but all r not reliable.the offer so much features because they want to make up their out dated enginee technology.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:49 pm

IsaacVky said,

May 28, 2008 @ 4:40 pm

dude, not just u had BMW. Many also had BMW or Mercs and toyota or honda together, that’s include me. can compared. thats why i asked u to read more! hahaha.

• juanbeibei (Member) on Jun 07, 2008 at 3:38 pm

hi, i saw this model used as taxi in jakarta nowdays.. imeediately being used as public cab replacing their old generation of vios taxis.. a lot of them.. manual.. exactly like this especially the interior.. but they never stated its a J model or not.. they juz say ‘limo’ at da back of every taxi-ed vios.. no airbag, got hole in the radio place.. looks so basic.. some of them even hav no reverse sensors.. all came with wheel caps (is it da correct name to address da wheel’s cover..?).. =)

• corollaaltis (Member) on Jul 01, 2008 at 6:07 pm

Vios 1.5J launched

Comes with Auto & Manual

ABS,EBD are standard

• _xXx_ (Member) on Jul 01, 2008 at 9:49 pm

life of manual lovers cheap or wat? maximise profit? I was looking for Latio manual with airbags – dun have. Manual Avanza with airbags, also dun have. F u lah UMW/TC.

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 02, 2008 at 3:00 pm

without our crazy taxes, this car would easily go for 40k or less..thats why indon can use it as taxis..70k way too expensive..!!..at this level of motoring, its about point A to point B..reliable,economical and reasonable safety..i’ll go for saga or myvi and still have 20-30k in my hand..these days its all about having enough cash for rainy days..its pouring..

• volue for mony. this is my tape. macihg level for me. high tape many lon. los mony if tink performance widout tink salary…:-)

• DinKnight on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:54 am

[quote comment="168615"]life of manual lovers cheap or wat? maximise profit? I was looking for Latio manual with airbags – dun have. Manual Avanza with airbags, also dun have. F u lah UMW/TC.[/quote]

excuse me, have you bothered to do a search? Latio 1.6 manual DOES does come with airbags; driver and front passenger!

• Tom_said on Sep 13, 2009 at 5:15 pm

vios j

no fog lamp

no airbags

mist only

manual side mirror – better than no side mirror

fix seat – without it nvm

1 din radio – can be replace by allpine 2 din

wheel cap – can be replace by sport rim

can save rm11500 to G spec…

the most important is , its still a VIOS , dark grey interior is nicer than E or G

• Roy Ooi on Sep 30, 2009 at 9:53 pm

its all depend on how much money u got .

if u can affort, get a E class is better ….coz there is airbag and some acc inside..

if u cant …..

then get a j class….those spot rims , auto side mirror,fog lamp,water wapper control and etc.

all of these u can get it when u got the money..

right …