BMW Malaysia launches the M3 Sedan

E90 BMW M3 Sedan

BMW Malaysia launched the E92 M3 Coupe in December last year with a manual transmission, but for those who prefer a junior M5 with 4 doors and clutch-less shifting, they have just introduced the E90 BMW M3 Sedan here in Malaysia.

From the front, the BMW M3 Sedan looks nothing like its non-M siblings. From A-pillar forward onwards it uses the E92 M3 Coupes nose, which features a more aggressive kidney grille and headlamps. It rides on large M light alloy Double-spoke 260 M style alloy wheels wrapped with 245/40 R18 tyres at the front and 265/40 R18 rear tyres.

Under the car’s hood is the new 4.0 litre V8 engine in the M3 Coupe which produces 414 horsepower at 8,300rpm and 400Nm of torque from a relatively low 3,900rpm considering the car’s very wide rev range. 340Nm is constantly available across the whole rev range up to 6,500rpm. The M3 Sedan also gets what is probably BMW’s most widely implemented EfficientDynamics feature, Brake Energy Regeneration.

Clutchless shifting is via BMW’s new M Double-Clutch Transmission, or M DCT. This is BMW’s first twin-clutch transmission in a production vehicle, featuring 7 gear ratios that is computer-shifted according to 6 Drivelogic programs.

The programs vary from setting 1 which provides maximum shifting comfort up to setting 6 for maximum performance. Drivelogic programs vary the speed at which one clutch engages and the other disengages.

The interior features electrically adjustable M seats, a multifunction M leather steering wheel with the M Drive button and Carbon Stucture Leather interior trims, and “Novillo” leather seats in special colours. Also standard is BMW Individual headliner in Antracite. The Carbon Structure Leather trim is quite a nice touch as instead of brushed aluminium or wood trim, you get leather trim. You can see this in the photo available after the jump.

The E90 BMW M3 Sedan with the 7-speed M DCT carries a premium price of RM713,800, compared to the E92 M3 Coupe with 6-speed manual’s price tag of RM668,800. The best part is… its 4.0 litre road tax is now RM200 cheaper! :P

E93 BMW M3 Coupe launched in Malaysia
Production 2009 BMW M3 Coupe Details
New E92 BMW M3 Videos
The New BMW M3 V8 Engine Specifications
BMW M3 New Promotional Video
BMW M DCT – BMW’s new twin clutch gearbox
BMW unveils new BMW M3 Sedan
UK allocation for BMW M3 snapped up
E92 BMW M3 V8: first drive impressions
The History of the BMW M3 Part 1 – E30 M3
The History of the BMW M3 Part 2 – E36 M3
The History of the BMW M3 Part 3 – E46 M3

E90 BMW M3 Sedan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 1:45 am

Oh my god .. Give me one please

• idknl (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 1:47 am

Morning,

A moving bungalow with the price…. nowadays, priority has shifted to stay survived. Fuel hike yesterday for sure will lead to other “hikes”…. but for those who can afford this car definately, the hikes are not a FACTOR…. may be….

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 2:06 am

Need a lot of money to buy and run this car…nice car.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 5:12 am

is that the clutch-less shifting means double clutch…
    i cannot see any pedal shift behind the steering

• droll (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 6:55 am

wow, at that price, you are absolutely right – it’s a moving bungalow. is DBKL or MBPJ going to tax me for this? :) can i renovate the toilet and kitchen, and extend the last room to sleep at the back?

on a more serious note, gosh – this is one amazing piece of engineering!

• azrai (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 7:14 am

The riches are getting richer, vice versa to the ordinary man.

• mattyboy (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 8:13 am

Paul – the coupe sells for Rm728,800 looking at BMW website

does anyone else think this looks a bit weak sat on 18″ wheels? compare it to the coupe which rides on 19″, i hope they are an option (not that I will be buying one in this lifetime!)

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 10:13 am

I used to like this M3 alot. But can they fixed the toilet and kitchen inside this car so i can live in it! I’m sorry but with the current petrol price hike like this….i only see $$$ need to be spend alot to maintain this machine….
    I know this sound silly, but Paul! did you got any news that BMW is making any small capacity & less fuel consumption car?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 12:03 pm

price tag of the car is RM718,300 and the road tax now is RM200.00 cheaper.
    What’s the difference of RM200 compared to RM718,300?

Yeah,…..that is such a “generous” offer given…and I get so emotionally tempted to buy the BMW.

I—Must—buy—BMW—

• halfclutch (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 12:28 pm

In the US this car goes for RM175,607.70. Market priced oil. Market priced car?

• halfclutch (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 12:31 pm

I pity us..number for number..a fella buying a waja in bolehland could easily bought an M3 sedan in the states..whoa! Before flaming me, i said Number for Number, NOT Value for Value. Kasihani Rakyatmu Wahai Pak Lah.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 5:50 pm

Dear mokkf82

Yes there is a more frugal BMW which is called the Mini One. You might try the Mini Diesel. I said ‘might’.

• trustgtr (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 7:26 pm

M3’s tend to be overrated..i’ve driven the e36 evo and e46..not very impressive, used to bully them on the road and track with my ancient gtr33..700k no thanks..it would be the latest godjira for me..BM’s tend to look really dated once a new model introduced and value would drop like a bomb..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 8:06 pm

Another man’s meat is another man poison. Some prefer conti, some prefer japs. but the ridiculous car prices in Malangsia with those silly bolehland tax remain barrier for the rakyat to enjoy driving these cars.

I’m very sure we’ll still drive proton-milo tin can in many years to come

• halfclutch (Member) on Jun 06, 2008 at 9:29 pm

Want to enjoy nice car…not millionaire..cannot do that here lah.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 07, 2008 at 12:31 am

@#$^& 4000CC = 4Litre engine? Bayar road tax first la. Then this car don’t have rebate coz it’s >2000CC. Hahaha. Onli deduct RM200 in roadtax

• hamster (Member) on Jun 07, 2008 at 1:21 am

i was lucky enough to hitch a ride in this little monster. the ride was great, awesome grunt and superb handling. only grouch is interior . the ikea boys wouldve done a better job.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 07, 2008 at 10:20 am

“”the ikea boys wouldve done a better job””

How so?

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jun 07, 2008 at 10:27 am

I just had to do this; Isn’t this 911 money? If it was, 911 has the better pedigree. If you are in the market for this kind of stuff, you’re not interested in talking about performance are you? Yeah don’t injure yourself by trying to imgine. Come on, which CEO can handle 400 horses? That’s why BMW came out with this 4 seater small sedan. It’s as pointless as the SUV Coupe. Its for the pointless Americans.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 08, 2008 at 5:18 pm

with dat kind of price..better buy the recond m5…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jun 08, 2008 at 11:11 pm

the 2-dr looks better….

but anyway, this is surely a cool ride…

• cyruslow (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 10:49 pm

RM718,000 for BMW M3, so what would the latest Mercedes W204 AMG selling price ? could be almost the same ~

• farouq on Apr 12, 2009 at 6:53 am

u wana knw how much here in dubai cost? u can get 1st hand for only RM340k for a bmw m3 coup, how cheap is dat??? useless tax, bolehland!!