Claim your RM625 fuel subsidy at the post office!

Fuel-Wallet GaugeAs previously revealed, Phase 1 of the RM625 fuel subsidy disbursement has been on-going since the 14th of June 2008. This is for people with cars with engine displacements up to 2000cc, trucks up to 2500cc and bikes up to 250cc whose road tax was renewed between the 1st of April 2008 and the 31st of May 2008. Has anyone eligible claimed their RM625 fuel subsidy yet? Please do share your experiences in the comments section of this post.

I have just renewed my road tax via MyEG and they told me I should expect it in my mail tomorrow. Interesting thing is I actually renewed it for half a year only, so I suppose my road tax will expire twice within the subsidy period! (UPDATE: For those who renew for half a year only, you will only be able to claim your subsidy when you renew your NEXT half year.) For those of you like me who qualify for the subsidy but have a road tax renewable from the 1st of this month until the 31st of March next year, you can collect it from the 1st of July 2008 onwards.

There’s no need to hurry as according to Pos Malaysia the deadline to collect it is the 31st of March 2009, but for those with road tax expiring the 31st of March 2009, you’ll have to rush to collect it on the day itself! I think it should be extended for those eligible folks whose road tax expires on the last day of the collection period.

For those collecting the subsidies, you can speed up the process a little by printing out the claim form and filling it at home before you head out to the post office. Just download the form via the link below and fill it up.

Fill in your name, address and phone number under the Penerima section. Now here’s where special instructions are needed.

• Under the Sender section, fill in your IC and under the Sender’s Address section, write your car registration number.
  • In the table on the right, write the amount of subsidy you are entitled to under the Jumlah section.
  • In the receipt section at the bottom of the form, cancel the Pengirim and write Penerima, and fill up your name.
  • The same goes for the word Pengirim under the MyKad number section.
  • Under MO Amount section, write your car registration number.
  • Then write the amount of subsidy you are entittled to receive under the Total Payment.

You can then queue up. The officer at the counter will ask you to put down your left hand thumbprint above the subsidy amount on the table on the right in the form. The whole process excluding filling up your form should only take about 3 minutes, according to Pos Malaysia. It’s the lining up that will take time.

DOWNLOAD: Subsidy Claim Form
DOWNLOAD: List of Post Offices in Malaysia

How and when can you claim your RM625 fuel subsidy?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chanlman (Member) on Jun 17, 2008 at 11:35 pm

You wanna foll proof the system. Try claimed the RM625 on July 1st not by yourself. But, ask someone claim on your behalf.

6 months later, you filled up the same money order form with

Another way to cheat the system, go buy another NUMBER PLATE, change to your car. Say from the current WQQ1234, 6 months later change to WWW1234. Submit the form again, it should let you thru because 1 owner can claim upto 5 cars. The only way Pos Malaysia can verify now is by NRIC and NO. KENDERAAN only. Don’t think they bother about Chasis Number :)

• csv (Member) on Jun 17, 2008 at 11:52 pm

wah, system just out, we already got loopholes liao.

power! come everybody, lets trade license plate!

increase our peanuty subsidy of RM625- RM1350 – RM1975!

• azrai (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 6:54 am

It will not work. It sorted by the RTD in their sytem to the post office. What is sad is, people are angry when queing, and when they came out all smile faces only. They even thank the UMNO for this RM625 because ‘they care’. Pity Malaysian. They took steak from us, and give us candy. Pity again for shortsighted people.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 8:43 am

“There’s no need to hurry as according to Pos Malaysia the deadline to collect it is the 31st of March 2009, but for those with road tax expiring the 31st of March 2009, you’ll have to rush to collect it on the day itself! I think it should be extended for those eligible folks whose road tax expires on the last day of the collection period.”

Paul,
    You can renew your road tax before your road tax expires and claim it.

So to the sorry knob that renews his road tax after it expires. Tough luck then.

• kienchan (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 10:54 am

Folks
    Don’t think about beating the system.
    Your mycard is verified with your thumbprint and surely the law will catch up with you in due course. Your tracks are everywhere.
    Mycard cannot be forged due to the enormous costs for microchip copying technology.
    We don’t need more processes to ensure the system is not beaten.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 1:13 pm

The whole post offices in Malaysia is filled with ppl. Paying bills and posting oso difficult. As usual, after the rebate announcement, malaysian are reacting to the “knee jerking” effect.

I hope the money obtained goes to their saving and not to some restaurant and makan besar, or having karaoke session, or use the money to modify cars.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 4:30 pm

Anyone here plan to ROB the POS office? They’re loaded with CASH! and a very minimum SECURITY. I’m sure it’ll be much safer than robbing the bank.

Btw, I took my 625 rebate. The first thing in my mind when I got the money is… ” Another joke from Goverment” – What a pity to us Malaysian being rule by monkeys.

• zidane (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 5:33 pm

i got my rebate.

40 mins line up and 2 mins process.

But how do they physically control the money?

very dangerous.

• chanlman (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 5:40 pm

MYKAD can be cheated also. Just make a report that your wallet was stolen. Replace with a new MYKAD for RM100, or maximum RM300 i heard. All the thumb print, photo and driving license information will be re-enter into the New MYKAD. So, thumb print images will be replaced.

From the POS Money Order form, there are some using the BLACK INK to print your thumb on paper, not using the Biometric scanner. So, there’s still possibilities to fault the system.

Well… we are putting our COMMENTS publicly on this Post. If got Gov ppl reading this, they should have taken action to avoid such fraudulence.

• twom (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 6:04 pm

My father’s personal assisstant waiting from 7.30 a.m. The post office in Chemor, Ipoh open around 8.00 and he managed to get extra waiting number so he called me to go there around 8 something. When I arrived, the computer system down so have to wait for 1 hour until the system recover back to normal.

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 7:42 pm

Patience is virtue. Why do we need to rush on the first day. I went on monday it was like nobody. Took me less than 5 minutes.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 10:50 pm

The whole ideal is just a temporary happy moments when received that money.
    I even saw few of them taking out the money just to get themselves a brand new hand phones. Pity them for not predicting the future.
    See far guys, this is only a one time deal offer. It is not helping much to control the fuel hike.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 18, 2008 at 11:16 pm

hahaha….after getting rebate, ppl went to buy handphone. later if petrol price increase, the same ppl will sell their handphone to pay for the petrol.

Really silly la….End of the day, the consumer la rugi.

• amer (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 11:48 am

i renew my roadtax and insurance with my ambank ansurance..

how could i collect the rebate?..

• matty_t (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 6:36 pm

My road tax is renewable on 20 june, but i paid it around around May. So i can get the rebate now or wait til 1st july?

• Rizal (Member) on Jul 01, 2008 at 5:01 pm

im renewing my road tax in may, but only for 6 month…
    go to the post office, they said i cant proceed until i got
    the second half in november…so i only can get the rebate
    in november…huhu…