Fuel subsidies extended to vehicles up to 3,000cc in East Malaysia

Fuel-Wallet GaugeThe government will be extending the RM625 cash fuel subsidy to private vehicles with engine displacements up to 3,000cc in Sabah and Sarawak as four-wheel drive vehicles are more commonly used there. The PM said this was for vehicles registered to transport goods… I am not really sure what that means. More details will probably be released later, so stay tuned for more updates!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 10:46 am

Are they trying to get political millage there?

after they lost political foothold in Sabah…..Hmmm, fishy la…

• IsaacVky (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 10:46 am

He’s just scared of the Sabah & Sarawak people lately.

• amer (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 11:00 am

not just scared the sabah and sarawak only, malaysian too.. rm 625 is never enough compare to what petrol/diesel we use.

anyway… good effort lah.. atleast sabah and sarawak can have wat malaysian can have..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 11:01 am

it just proved 1 thing… this plan was never ‘well studied’ before taken place

• azrai (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 11:56 am

SAPP really make the impact. Go on.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 12:33 pm

why only Sabah n Sarawak leh….i am driving 3000 cc car also what….why pilih kasih….

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 12:54 pm

why only Sabah n Sarawak leh….i am driving 3000 cc car also what….why pilih kasih….
    ———————————————————–

u drving dmax ehhh…i feel sorry for u bro, but i think the G ll decrease the
    roadtax for diesel car in future budget…not fair because the roadtax is
    still expensive when the price of diesel almost equal to petrol..
    i get rm6625 hehhe because im drving 2500cc , better then nothing!

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 12:58 pm

dude.. sarawak have loads of pickups.. so its wise for the gov to do this. :) special.

• abtm (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 1:14 pm

“registered to transport goods”, can i register a Merc S280L to transport goods?

• Paul Tan on Jun 23, 2008 at 1:55 pm

I really don’t know what he means… can a private vehicle be registered for whatever transport purposes in the first place?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 4:21 pm

Probably for vehicles that are company registered for passengersa and lain-lain. Ie. those with weight and speed restrictions and yearly JPJ checks.

Private registered vehicles are not “allowed” to ferry items/stock legally. That includes company registered vehicles for private use.

We nearly ran afoul of this law when we had to transport some emergency production items with our company “private” registered pickup.

For for East malaysians, …does this include boats, generators…etc? It would still suck for them.

• aliBaPa (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 4:39 pm

NOT FAIR!!!

BUY VOTES ONLY!!!

• japankiller (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 4:55 pm

dude.. sarawak have loads of pickups.. so its wise for the gov to do this. special.
    ———————————————————
    we do have lot of pick up truck in west m’sia too

why we must have a double standard, another sign of half past six government.

• dr_carz (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 6:14 pm

ITS SPECIAL RIGHS MAN!!

LEARN TO ACCEPT IT !

SABAH IS A BUMIPUTERA LAND SO ITS THEIR RIGHT…….

BUMIPUTERA MEANS THEY ARE NEED OF ASSITANCE AND LITTLE MORE HELP THAN US WHO ARE DEPENDENT AND WELL OFF…

JUSTICE TO THEM WHO ARE POOR IN SABAH

• nyte_skater (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 6:59 pm

from what i experiencing as a sabahan, the road condition here is very rough and many pot holes (some holes are really big). Especially road from KK to TAWAU via Ranau, Kundahsang, Lahad datu etc.

Most of the roads are really steep which requires a lot of power ( Road to Kundahsang ). Many people travel through this road because going back to kampung, tourism purposes and business.

Just my humble opinions guy. :-)

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 8:01 pm

Pak Lah is scared losing majority on Sabah & Sarawak. He is trying to save his ars up. I’m sure this will cause many dissatisfaction from West Malaysia here.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 4:56 am

Hahaha! agree with Jolly.
    Do u think he really think this when increase to vehicle more than 3000cc?
    He is more concern about the seats!

• shenzutong (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 8:17 am

Paul, judging from the intricate political situation in Sabah and Sarawak now, I strongly believe that any vehicle above that cc over there (whether for private or public use) will be given cash rebate. So if you are one of them, you will know what to do. Ha, ha. Poor West Malaysians.

• keyboard.rosak (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 8:37 am

What a discriminating move form the G, aren’t citizen in West Malaysia are also MALAYSIAN??

Maybe there will be a new category in CITIZENSHIP after this, EAST MALAYSIAN & WEST MALAYSIAN

• dr_carz (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 10:46 am

JUSTICE IS FAIR TO ALL…

IT DOESNT MEAN A MAN WITH MERC WE HAVE TO GIVE HIM 625 TOO..
    MAYBE JUST 25

JUSTICE IS A BIT DIFFICULT IN ONE EYES…

YOU HAVE TO GO DEEPER

WE ARE MALAYSIAN BUT WE MUST KNOW THAT OTHERS NEED MORE PUSH FROM THE G

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 12:44 pm

Can consider the move as political. But before you can jump to the question of fairness, have you ever been to Sabah (I have no experience on Sarawak), I mean not just Kota Kinabalu? There is no highway here and some interior links are terrible and only accessible by using 4×4.

• kysham (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 6:26 pm

I agree (and I think even the G admitted it) that this rebate scheme was not perfect – more like an ad-hoc “fire fighting” scheme while other schemes are being planned out.

I’m from Sabah, and I can honestly relate that we had been treated fairly by increasing the class of vehicles in Sabah that qualifies for the rebate. Times are hard for everyone in Malaysia nowadays, but the facts remained that Sabah is still one of the poorest state in Malaysia, with poor basic infrastructures, which includes bad roads. To think that Sabah is one of the states with the richest natural resources but also one with the worst basic infrastructure provision really breaks my heart.

Before anyone think that Sabah is “enjoying” more than the G, please, do take into consideration that living expenses here in Sabah had traditionally been more expensive than west Malaysia. Period. We purchased most of our products from west Malaysia and shipped them over to Sabah. Who do you think absorbs all the transport costs? The consumers of course! How elese would a plate of nasi ayam in a normal coffee shop costs RM5.00 here in Kota Kinabalu! You tell me!

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 9:06 am

u re correct kysham….most of people just like to talk n talking shxx without knowing the real situation!