Kia Forte teasers preview next generation Spectra

Kia Forte Teaser

We still see the Kia Spectra from one generation ago on our roads as an alternative priced close to Proton sedans, and have the 5-door latest generation Kia Spectra in locally assembled form, but Kia is gearing up for the launch of the latest generation Kia Spectra sedan with the release of these two teaser images of a car they call the Kia Forte.

From the looks of it it will be quite obvious that the new Spectra or Forte will be a four-door version of the hot-looking Kia KOUP Concept showcased not too long ago. The front design depicts Kia’s new corporate grille which made its world premiere in concept form on the KOUP, and in production form on the facelifted Optima.

Perhaps a coupe version that is similiar to the original KOUP Concept will come later? The new Spectra will likely share many components with its C-segment sibling, the Kia cee’d including a similiar dashboard design.

It looks quite sleek and sporty, perhaps Naza Kia should skip any plans it might have for a current generation Spectra sedan and wait for this one! View two more images showing the side profile and front grille after the jump.

Kia KOUP Concept
Facelifted 2009 Kia Optima

Kia Forte Teaser

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• adil2008 (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 1:49 am

good looking car, sporty look, well done, kia

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 2:17 am

Ever bought a Kia Spectra before? If u did, do or planning to do, u will be miserable for the rest of ur life.

• gajen (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 2:38 am

i wonder when will the koreans stop copying other car makers..the front seriously is a civic, the uk version…

• azrai (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 7:42 am

Definately a serious Civic contender. Still in Malaysia, Korean car is not a favourite.

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 7:44 am

SWEEEEETTTTTTTTTTT…..

• schdmitz (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 7:51 am

copy.copy,copy……..y don they take civic type R and rebadge……..no fun for korean make nowaday…..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 8:10 am

Nice looking.

Korean quality bashers…Wonder what you are benchmarking against?

Besides if you have bought a Naza Kia, you can throw quality out the door because they are built here. Somehow Malaysian CKD plants jsut don’t seem to be able to screw cars together well. Workers perhaps?

Even Honda is not immune.

And on top of that, the Kias we get here are all about 1-2 generations behind (save the Rio hatch). Kia and the World has moved on since then.

• ec (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 8:57 am

Front look alike new generation of Honda Stream.

My experience to share:
    1) I have one Kia Spectra bought in yr 2005, at 69K. Just yesterday went to used car dealer to ask for current market price, as I plan to change to a new car. Guess how much? …. it value at only 30K. I have lost about 39K in 3 yrs, and not to mention on the loan interest.
    2) My second alternative. I have Kelisa Auto bought in year 2002, at 38K. Guess how much I can sell? … it is 23K. ….. 6 yrs car and I lost only 15K.

Pls see the clear comparison on the second value to Kia car.

• tikus (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 9:19 am

Korean car used to high fuel consumption RIA,Citra,Matrix,Gets,Spectra

• abtm (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 9:52 am

Kia Honda Civic Forte is what it should be called, otherwise, it should give a jap car a run for its money

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 10:09 am

To the detractors: Stop spreading lies about Kia quality and fuel consumption! Go and check the Optima, Spectra5 and Sportage and compare with Toyota and Honda. Paul Tan has already driven the new Optima. He knows the quality for himself. The Optima gets better fuel consumption than the Civic!!

• Mystre (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 10:19 am

Whoa, cool design very sleek looking…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 10:24 am

relax……its a free world. buy if they want, don’t buy if they don’t.

Afterall, its their money….

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 12:14 pm

I like the bulging arches and shoulder line. Hey, if it’s sub 80k then why not. Build quality isn’t so bad considering all ckd is like that. Poor man’s civic (like civic is soo expensive lah)

tikus, where’d u get that info?

• peter32 (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 12:43 pm

Great looking side profile and piecing front.

I don’t care if its a korean or not. If it looked good, it deserve a praise.

If the interior comes with good amount of goodies, with good FC engine, I will think this as a good sensible buy. Having a bad 2nd hand price does not mean this is a bad car. It just mean the market has lesser demand. Thats all.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 12:55 pm

ec said,
    June 25, 2008 @ 8:57 am

Pls see the clear comparison on the second value to Kia car.

—-

Please be realistic and look at the big picture. Anything other than a Honda or Toyota will depreciate like a stone.

If you are going to use depreciation, please use some sense

Your SLK depreciates less but about the same percentage per year as your Spectra. The reason being, small “cc” cars tend to hold thier value well as the demand for 2nd hand cars are higher, as lower income bracket will be more attracted to these cars (low roadtax/low FC). Look at how well Kancils are holding its value. Resale Price follows Demand.

Look at percentage and not total value. Higher the price of the car, the more money you will loose even if your depreciation percentage is the same.

I’m not saying that you are wrong to say that resale value is not a cost for consideration, but its just only one variable to affect a buying position.

Continentals depreciates 30-40k PER YEAR.so if I were to solely follow your logic.. don’t buy a Benz or BMW?

Some people buy cars and drive till they rot. They would care less about 2nd hand resale prices.

You conplain that the resale price for Kias are bad, but you are here asking people not to buy one. I don’t see how that is actually helping your case. If anything, you should be encouraging other people to buy, no?

Cheers :p

• amer (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 1:39 pm

my comment :-

1) copy look like to honda civic(uk spec)
    2) kia – sparepart most expensive then honda (foreman said – i don’t)
    3) my LATE 1st model kia sportage – terbalik 4 times at rawang, my luck is im still typing this words
    4) never buy a kia accept free car.

and

5) i like the HID lamp. but not to JPJ and Police Roadblock. seyhhh

– anyway good looking fot this model . i like but not to buy..

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Once upon a time there was a nerd called : cooool!

Seriously cool…

• artnanz (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 2:00 pm

Before this Hyundai with Sonata (Accord) and now Kia with Spectra (Civic). Are we out of creative designers these days?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 4:01 pm

Looks like europe version civic up front. This gonna be interesting.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 4:04 pm

4G63T DSM you posted:

“Besides if you have bought a Naza Kia, you can throw quality out the door because they are built here. Somehow Malaysian CKD plants jsut don’t seem to be able to screw cars together well. Workers perhaps?”

That’s totally WRONG. Please have a CLOSE look at the new Optima, Spectra5 and Sportage. What do you mean by “QUALITY” anyway?

Go to ANY Kia showroom. Single out an Optima, Sportage or Spectra5. Maybe a Sorento even. Go through the list below:

– Check the door gaps. Even or not.
    – Front window ‘cowl top’ (black plastic underneath wiper arms) interface with glass. View from end to end. Any gap?
    – Paint quality. No ripples, runs, etc. Run fingers along edges, hidden areas. Check for drips.
    – Window rubber. All straight? Any ripples or misalignment?
    – Front hood. Alignment, gap left and right. Even or not?
    – Check bumper to body, bumper to headlight/taillight gaps all around
    – Open door, check inner panel. Look at it from top to bottom. Gap?
    – Lift floor carpet mats. Check floor carpet. Flat? No air pockets? Hills & valleys?
    – Close all doors, look at door alignment from rear to front. Raise eye level up and down. Check for misalignment. OK or not?
    – Check A/B/C pillars to headliner. Any gaps?
    – Check dashboard to base of A-pillars. Any gaps? Misalignment? Plastic popping out?

Do your own table. Compare lets say, Optima with Civic/Accord, Altis/Camry for quality. As for fuel consumption, wait for Paul Tan’s own test review. The Optima has a fuel computer so let’s see how it does.

Readers, see for yourself and draw your own conclusions but don’t just post baseless statements/speculations/slander online just because you can, please.

• ec (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 4:49 pm

To 4G63T DSM,
    I just mentioned on the second hand value to Kia cars, maybe we are now disccusing on thie new spectra.

I still love my Spectra, and if this new one is in good pricing, I would consider in getting one.

• B1u3Be@m (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 5:16 pm

I thought it look more like a Subaru Impreza hatch…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 5:17 pm

Maihatsu

I HAVE seen well built Hyundais, Kia and the like. Even a generation ago.

And I am well aware of their quality and value.

My post was directed at Korean bashers when they say quality is bad. Most Bashers were refering to the old Spectra, which in all honestly was quite badly put together.

As I have stated it must have been the fault of our CKD operations as they are churning out badly put together cars. Perhaps they have improved.

Besides if you actually did compare Kia/Hyundai’s North American models you will find much better quality there. Malaysia is still a step behind in terms of QC and assembly.

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 5:18 pm

What color is that.. izit gunmetal grey? How do you tell the shop you want gunmetal grey? I went to a few places, the guys have no idea what gunmetal grey is. Is there any other way to describe gunmetal grey to the shop? Sorry out of topic..

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 6:35 pm

If you once buy korean cars. You’ll be stick to it’s own market. No value la, owner loss alot la, bla bla bla. Unless you trade in a Korean Car and buy a new Korean car. Price can be higher abit.

Malaysia still Toyota & Honda ruling the market. If you buy car and plan to sell in short period. Korean made may not be an option. However, if u plan to use the car until it rots. Still Korean car may not be an option coz parts and reliability may be an issue. Maintaining a car with high parts price and rare in market can be a pain. Best way to buy cars is to look at chop shop. Watever car the chop shop has the parts supply. That’s the ideal car to buy.

Just my IMHO

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 8:43 pm

That’s the problem, we are still talking about ‘Korean’ 7 years ago. Honestly the 2001 CKD Spectra should be compared to the EK Civic and even then probably the EK would be better.

Nevertheless, the Optima, Spectra5, Sorento and Sportage which I mentioned are here, now in 2008 and are CKD from Gurun, Kedah which not too long ago was only known for PETAI and IKAN PERKASAM, maybe!

CKD or not it’s up to the mentality and attitude of the worker. Don’t make sweeping statements PLEASE until you have seen for yourself. Just cut and paste, print out my simple checklist above and compile your own findings. I’ve done it and I can say what I’ve been saying all this while. I also say CKD Malaysia is better than CKD Thailand in some areas (paint quality – where Thailand seems to have a much higher tolerance for orange peel, as far as Honda goes, apparently).

As for used car values it’s chicken and egg isn’t it? The used car guys know that the Korean makes have been playing the discount game for a long time. Toyota does it, but subtly. Honda doesn’t play it at all except for the behind-the-scenes trade-in car top-up (overtrade) or through ‘Ang Pow’ package and all that. Toyota put in TopMark to maintain some used car arena lead in dictating the used car values even at a loss and slowly but surely the used car market followed its lead. So, when you walk in and trade in your Korean used car, the used car dealer knows very well that he can dictate whatever he wants.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 9:31 pm

Ppl just batch mark the old generation of spectra and compare it with the new ones. So it would sound unfair as new car is always better because designers and engineers try hard to improved what the previous version lack. So let see how this one works and then we give our true comment.
    Front looks nice…

• claxxion (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 10:29 pm

why la want to bash? the koreans have moved up a notch lately. the optima looks good. and this one, look promising.

• torque (Member) on Jun 26, 2008 at 12:48 am

Hello everyone,

This is my first comment and register myself since I’ve follow Paul Tan.org since a year ago. I normally just browse through to read and see what’s new in the auto industries. First, towards Maibatsu_Thunder…I’m not try to pick a fight in here but answer this question HONESTLY ( don’t make me ask you to swear dude ). If you were to dine at this particular restaurant and the food is CRAP so is the services, would you still dine at the same place? Especially after you paid rather expensively? Would you?

You ni siapa? Pekerja KIA ke? Defend bagai nak rak. I, hereby swear on my God’s name that my statement is TRUE! B’coz it really tick me off the way you defend KIA like they are the best. In 2006, soon after I married my wife, we are in hunt for our first family car that we could called it OUR very own. Cut the story short, we purchased a KIA Spectre sedan Novus edition worth RM 70,000. We DIG our joint bank account with the sum of RM 30,000 for the down payment. Reason? So our monthly installment isn’t a burden to us. Guess what dude, the DAMN car have 5 defect on them since the first day the keys been handed to us. Want me to list down, sure! Here’s the defect:
    1.) The back door can’t be open either from inside and out
    2.) The indicator lights can’t stop blinking
    3.) The door handle’s cover keeps falling off
    4.) The auto lock doesn’t work
    5.) The best of all…the freaking brakes doesn’t work!! :(

You want to hear the best part of the story yet? I came to the dealer and address the car’s faulty and the stinking MANAGER of that KIA branch DARE to told THIS to my face (so as my late father and my brother)…”If I were you, I would NEVER buy Kia…I’ll just go for Toyota!” What kind of total crap is that? What kind of person who earn a salary from one company and then tell the customer to go to others company? Horse sh*t!

Maibatsu_Thunder, you don’t have any idea what KIA have put me and my wife through. You DON’T know the HARD times we went trough…so don’t tell me everything cool. Warranty? Hah! We went to KIA service center and they said it’s out of their hand…factory fault…yada yada yada! Another CRAP!

You still wanna hear the end of the saga? We eventually sold the car after 6 “marvelous” month of ownership. Oh! You miss out the best part…the used car dealer only willing to take the stinking car for RM 40,000 only! RM 30,000 worth of down payment and 6 month used…I get a stinking RM 40,000?! I still have a remaining loan with the bank totaled RM 41,000. So answer me this o’ great KIA defender…where’s my RM 30,000 goes? I’m not only lost 30 grand but also had to fork out another 40 grand to clear the loan so I could sold the damn car!! Me my friend are not a BASHER but I learn from a nasty experience so you better answer my earlier question first before you go out and act as vigilante…”Would you STILL eat at the same restaurant after all the CRAP being thrown at you?”

Remember! The KIA I’m refering to are NOT 7 years ago but only 2 years ago and my stand are KIA (in Malaysia)…is nothing more than a JUNK!! Nuff said.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 26, 2008 at 8:13 am

Torque. Sorry to hear your sad story. I’m not a great (blind) Kia defender but like I said, the build quality of the Optima, Spectra5 and Sportage is really good in my humble opinion and it’s giving out wrong information to bash them on quality as I’ve checked them out myself.

Upon hearing your story I think the people who built your car (This is the CKD Spectra introduced in 2001 onwards, built in Pekan I believe, by DRB-Hicom but overseen by Naza Automotive Manufacturing) and the branch manager whom you dealt with should be FIRED. Brakes not working! That’s a big safety issue!

But I TOTALLY agree with you. If this were a restaurant, even if they changed the cooks and the menu I probably wouldn’t dine there again. On top of that I’d probably tell my friends and relatives not to bother anymore too. Really sorry if I offended you in viewing my opinion above. Peace!

• jasonlow (Member) on Jun 26, 2008 at 9:07 am

Well, Kia has just launched this car in Korea, which is the replacement model for their so call “Lotze”, which is the “Optima” class of cars, and not Spectra. It’s suprisingly good looking, hope paul will get a better scoup on this.
    Try go to the microsite if you are interested, but bewarned, Korean sites are well known for heavy flash, be patient!
    http://lotzeinnovation.kia.co.kr/banner_redirect.asp?wt_event=lotzeinnovation&wt_site=home&wt_location=main1

• peter32 (Member) on Jun 26, 2008 at 11:17 am

torque, cool it.

If you have been following the various other Malaysian auto forum, you will notice that even a great Sorento, held up highly by even a stringent west auto driver, has been given local owner a lot of hell.

All this is mainly due to one important factor – bad local assembler, who provide below par aftersales service.

• torque (Member) on Jun 26, 2008 at 11:24 am

My fellow Maibatsu_Thunder,

Thank you for understanding my frustration but I’m not saying you are totally wrong about the improvement build quality on KIA. No my friend, your are not! I do sometimes drop in a showroom to check what’s new on their line up.
    I did drop by once to NAZA WORLD TTDI to check up the new KIA Spectre5 as you mention above. And…YES! The build quality and ride does improve from previous models. Still, I stand on my decision that KIA (In Malaysia) has a lot to prove if they ever wanna gain my TRUST again which I’m doubt it’s not going to be easy!

One more thing, it doesn’t imply on just KIA…Toyota or Honda are not PERFECT either! After that nasty experience, I drive a Civic FD 2006 model and still get a defect product. My driver’s window had a faulty of closing it but THUMBS UP for Honda Service Centre in Glenmarie for fixing it. Many thanks! The point gentlemen, no car manufacture can run from a defect product but it still goes down to sales and customers services to ease the burden of their customers. A GREAT car manufacture will always win their customer TRUST and LOYALTY and not just aim for high sales volume and then let go any RESPONSIBILITY once the car were sold!

A great thanks for Paul Tan for letting me share my experience and my thoughts in this forum. Just remember, I know this by a fact that many of us here are cars lover and we can’t run from the fact that we are the END USER! Don’t EVER give face to those dealers or manufacture who take WE as granted!

• torque (Member) on Jun 26, 2008 at 11:27 am

Peter32,

What you said is DARN right!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 26, 2008 at 2:42 pm

There is a toll-free call centre now, 1-800-888-KIA (542). You can make your voices heard.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jun 26, 2008 at 3:08 pm

this is like a european honda civic

• torque (Member) on Jun 26, 2008 at 3:12 pm

Thanks for the info and your honest answer Maibatsu_thunder! Drive safe everyone.

• waimak (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 11:02 am

Thanks for sharing Torque. I have never owned a Kia but I read a lot about the brand. It’s a brand that is soon becoming a top marque in auto industry.

Koup is a great concept and should be a production model. That Optima is OK. Prefer Koup.

On the resemblance with Civic, well these day nothing is ‘original’ so to speak but engineers around the world do work with each other to get the best out of their work. Koreans are in fact, in certain areas, better off than the Japanese.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 10:07 am

On the new cars – Optima, Sorento, Sportage, Spectra5 … the fit & finish is way ahead of Japanese. I’ve done some comparisons. It’s good for the consumers anyway as this will force the others (Japanese & Europeans) to do better for Malaysians.

• ferarri (Member) on Sep 14, 2008 at 6:59 am

I am commenting on the Spectra5 Novus Ed 07. My bro had bought one during the launch in Sep 07 and had no complaints on it except the consumption which is about 12 litre per 100km. His car looks good, fully loaded with accessories. Well, one year later I could hardly see any on the road! Everyday I am out I see at least 2 latest gen8 honda accord but none of spectra5. Two reasons, either Kia hardly sold any since launch (less than 200 units in all) or they are so bland that you cant tell them from other hatchbacks.

I wonder what is the resale value of this spectra5?