Audi A4 1.8T B8 launched in Malaysia!

Audi A4

The latest generation B8 Audi A4 was launched today at the Audi Hangar in Glenmarie. The new A4 debuts with a single model variant for now, but additional variants (2.0 TFSI and 3.2 FSI V6) will be added later. For now we will have to make do with the Audi A4 1.8T, priced at RM235,000 or RM260,000 if purchased with the S-Line pack.

More details on the new Audi A4 after the jump.

Audi A4

The base model for the A4 this time around is the 1.8 TFSI engine from the new EA888 family, replacing the normally aspirated 2.0 FSI and 1.8 Turbo models of the previous generation. It is installed longitudinally in the engine bay. The EA888 1.8 TFSI engine features FSI direct injection that injects fuel directly into the combustion chamber via six-hole injectors at a pressure of 150 bar. Fuel is injected twice with different quantities, once in the intake stroke and once during the compression stroke. It is designed on run on RON95 fuel or better. It now uses a timing chain that does not need to be replaced.

Torque CurveThe turbocharger is the Borg Warner K03 which is watercooled. This isn’t a fancy VGT or twin scroll turbo but it still manages to give the 1.8 TFSI engine an impressive power and torque curve. Peak power output of 160 horsepower is achieved between 5,000rpm and 6,200rpm.

Just above idle at 1,000rpm, the engine is already making 165Nm of torque, and this increases up to a peak of 250Nm (equivalent to a 2.5 litre normally aspirated engine) at 1,500rpm and remains constant up until 4,200rpm.

For this model, the engine drives the front wheels through an Audi Multitronic CVT gearbox. As you know a CVT gearbox has step-less continuously variable ratios between the lowest and highest gear but if that stepped shifting feel is desired, you can shift via the gear lever or paddle shifts between 8 “virtual” ratios, one up from the B7 which had 7.

Audi A4

On the interior you get a really beautiful meter cluster that lights up with brightness and clarity. I love how the needles start from the 6 o clock position, they make the car feel sportier. The center dash area features an Audi Multi Media Interface LCD panel from which you can view in-car entertainment system status. The in-car entertainment system is of the Audi symphony Radio variant. Higher end models that will come later will probably get a co-branded premium system. The boot capacity is 480 litres.

The A4 comes with quite a decent list of equipment such as rear air conditioning vents, traction control and antilock brakes, 6 airbags, bi-xenon headlamps with LED daytime running lights, foglamps, bluetooth handsfree, light sensor for the headlamps and rain sensor for the wipers, adjustable and heated wing mirrors with folding function, electric front seats, a tinted windscreen, and adaptive lights.

The base A4 rides on 17 inch 10-spoke wheels wrapped with 245/45R17 tyres. Adding the S-Line package (a premium of RM25,000 bringing the car price up from RM235,000 to RM260,000) moves you up an inch to 18 inch 5-spoke wheels wrapped with 245/45R18 tyres, sports combination leather/cloth seats, and an S-Line bodykit.

The A4 has a drag coefficient of cd=0.27. Audi claims a sportier drive and better steering feel thanks to an engine that is positioned behind the front axle and a lower steering system which will result in better steering feedback. Suspension behaviour can be changed via the Audi drive select system – more on how this works or how effective it is to come with an upcoming test drive review.

Audi A4

PHOTO GALLERY: Audi A4 1.8T B8
Click thumbnails to enlarge

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chris (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 12:45 am

Yummy!!!very nice spec n sporty :D

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 1:16 am

very sophisticated!

Hmmm, I wonder if my favourite Unker-Mechanic-under-Cherry-Tree can service this car or not….

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 4:05 am

Good car Audi has there. I like it. But the gear position a bit cacat la. How can it place so near to the buttons on the air con or radio unit of the front
    dashboard.
    Other than this, the car is great

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 4:31 am

my car finally arrived in m’sia….

• azrai (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 7:01 am

Nice LED headlamp. A wow factor in this AUDI. The launched done by Najib and guess what he said. The automobile sector should find a way to make fuel efficient cars. Does he mean the Audi? How much does it cost? No need to ‘ubah gaya hidup’? I think his ‘gaya hidup’ already ubah due to RPK.

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 8:34 am

yay! i’m driving a 1998 audi A4 1.8T and its awesome! i’ll get this one when i get back to m’sia.

• 2fast (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 8:44 am

Additional information on the performance:

Performance: maximum speed (mph): 140, maximum speed (km/h): 225 and acceleration 0-62 mph (secs): 8.6

Fuel consumption:
    Fuel consumption: ECE 99/100 urban (l/100km): 9.9, country/highway (l/100km): 5.5

http://cars.rte.ie/newcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=Details&vehicle_id=15091820080123&strSpecs=SSCIRL2002

The pricing has made it a better package than the c class or the 3-series.

I wonder if it is a CBU…

• abtm (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 8:52 am

to me it looks like a facelift with new frond and rear end, looks goood though

• Hikaru (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 9:21 am

Indeed this puts the A4 in direct comparison with the Merc and BMW and offers a genuine alternative to both the competitors.

Funny that their product release timing comes some where in between when BM launch their new car and when there is gonna be a facelift or replacement. Perhaps its good marketing strategy to not release their product at the same to avoid direct conflict. But as I know it, Malaysian who love Audi are have a sense of loyalty to them. Just that there isn’t much hype about these cars here as there should be and there isn’t that many on the roads as well.

No doubt this is a very accomplished car. Can’t wait for the RS version.

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 9:30 am

I’m sure it’s a good car, but it’s just too bland for me. Rather have the C230.

• Nozzydive (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 9:31 am

Aiks Paul,

I was there but I do not know which one was u…..

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 9:32 am

Oh btw, am I alone in thinking the dials looks like it’s yanked from a honda civic… EG?!! Hello and welcome to yesterday Audi!

• Nozzydive (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 9:33 am

Hi Paul,

I was there yesterday morning but i dun see u…..

• longjaafar (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 9:37 am

Not impressed. 160 bhp at a very high 5000rpm, although quite decent torque of 250nm. Get a Merc C 200 kompressor. It gives 184bhp and the same amount of torque for almost the same price. You also get better network of dealer and better second hand value. Audi must try harder. Audis are very good cars, but in Malaysia, it suffers from our very punitive import duty.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 10:28 am

longjaafar…

i think 2nd hand value thingy is nt a big issue here…if u really like audi or other car like peugeot,alfa etc which gt a same prob…y u shud sacrifice ur need to buy the other car which hd a good 2nd value???

dis is a gd car and one of my fav..btw…i still nt boring looking at the previous a4..still look gd n fresh…

• alexbaby88 (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 10:54 am

Whats the advantage of having a longitudinally mounted engine driving the front wheels?

Paul Tan says: frankly i have no idea…

• Bob_B78 (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 11:24 am

As far as i know majority Audi car owners like their car very much. this explain for very little ppl sell off their audi’s compared to other german cars. Forget what reviews say that Audi’s handling not as good as other german cars. Handling will come into consideration when you treat the public road as race tracks. Even IRONMAN is driving an Audi. :P

• hamster (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 11:40 am

A typical case of:

Should I find a wife:
    1. Who is super hot and great in bed.

or

2. Who is not that hot but is great at cooking and taking care of the house.

However for some of you this is irrelevant as you have the option of ‘eating’ out. ;-)

• Bob_B78 (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 11:44 am

Surprisingly i would choose this Audi over 3 series or kompressor because ppl will LOOK because it is rare. Furthermore, Audi car owners rarely sell their cars

• rosdi (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 11:46 am

Where is DSG?!!! DSG!… DSG!… DSG!… DSG!…. (come on people, chant with me).. DSG!… DSG!… DSG!… DSG!!

• ys (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 12:01 pm

what a great car to own
    but this is not for ordinary malaysian like me..
    too bad.
    i wonder how much it is sold at outside malaysia..
    malaysia .. aiya….

• blaze (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 12:44 pm

“The in-car entertainment system is of the Audi symphony Radio variant. Higher end models that will come later will probably get a Bose system.”

Sorry sir, but i think for the B8, AUDI has raised the standard by collaborated this time with Bang & Olufsen for the high spec audio system.. and did they say that the 2.0 TFSI or the 3.2 will be coming? Quattro perhaps?

Paul Tan says: ah, thanks for the correction. yes they said the two models you mentioned will be coming. seems the 2.0 TFSI has only recently been added to the A4 range internationally… before this there was only the 1.8 and 3.2

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 2:22 pm

PRETTY

• Bob_B78 (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 2:40 pm

Will be waiting for the 2.0 Quattro A4. Conservative looks but still remarkable

• Apathy (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 2:53 pm

Hmmmm the butt looks a bit Bavarian. Oh wait…..this is a Bavarian child.

• arissa86 (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 5:44 pm

love the front.. :) and the LED thingy.
    yummy~

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 6:03 pm

alexbaby88 said,

June 27, 2008 @ 10:54 am

Whats the advantage of having a longitudinally mounted engine driving the front wheels?

Paul Tan says: frankly i have no idea…
    _____________________________________________________________________________

There are no advantages, nor disadvantages. In USA and Europe, many A4s are bought for their Quattro systems. which requires the engine to be placed longitudinally. As for Frontraks (FWD Audi’s called), adapting that layout saves costs.

• Cire (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 6:51 pm

Guys,
    I guess most of us here have not driven an Audi or have seen one up close. Why not take test drive in one, and come back here and tell us your “feel” of the car.
    As for the happenings about Audi, do visit www.clubaudimalaysia.com.
    You will find the information you want there about its happenings etc.
    But then again, they are not the joness..

And yes, no much Audi owners sells their Audi especially from the B6 onwards. Simple reason, sell and buy which model that could come close to it in comparison with quality build and responds? None.
    Perhaps upgrading to the new A4, ha..yes. Likely.

Drop in resale value? Which conti car doesn’t , especially with our msian mentality.

As for engine bhp etc., wise, its a matter of how fast could you reach from A to B.
    Audi owners like to be at their destination on time. Not tomorrow or day after. They could do that flying.

well, to understand the car, test drive it. Especially this weekend. They are having a dynamic test drive session…
    cheers.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 7:35 pm

Very nice car.A5 looks sleeker but then has fewer doors. Now people with the cash have to choose between BMW or this.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 9:24 pm

Splendid..splendid..splendid.
    Yeah AUDI rules…love it.

• jonnyblaze (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 12:29 am

Beautiful car. But I would prefer the Avant version.

I think the advantages of having the engine mounted longitudinally are;

1. better weight distribution- part of the engine and whole gearbox will be behind the front axle

2. if the gearbox is mounted longitudinally behind the engine, then the driveshafts exiting from the box will be of equal length. This will help eliminates torque steer, especially in a force induced car.

• all8 (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 12:06 pm

paul, the centre console from your pics are different from the adverts or the website. There seems to be an extra knob as per the website and none in your pics. And besides the extra inch rim and body kit for the extra dough, any other diff?

• manu99 (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 11:59 pm

Absolute GERMAN beauty from Audi…. But still wondering why many malaysian’s dont favour Audi instead opting for Beemer’s and Merc.?? As i know the resale value of Audi’s are very poor ( in M’sia i would think )…maybe a major factor though…
    Totally agree this A4 will give the TOP 2 a fight…. Hehe.. the LED headlamp is just a brilliant idea and to bring car designs to the next level…

Kudos Audi!!

• freakazoid (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 1:00 am

Longitudinally mounted engines gives more space for a bigger gearbox. Imagine fitting a V6 FSI on it and having so little space to mount the gearbox, especially sophisticated ones.

Also, like ingolstadt said, Audi can easily adapt Quattro in it without any hassle :)

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 2:56 pm

Second hand price thou to a certain degree depend on brands, to a larger extent is by particular model as well.

A two year old second hand BMW 7 Series will have RM400,000 written off. Is that good or bad ??

A four year old Audi A4 B6 still fetches around RM130,000; for me that’s rather good value.

A 1988 Merc E Class still goes around RM30-RM40,000; very good as well.

A 4 year old Toyota Vios also sheds off around 50% of it’s initial value. Is that good value?

Do some check on individual car models, Jap cars no longer hold their value as good as the old times.

• alanwong (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 4:37 pm

Did a test drive yesterday with my wife and kids. I like this car because…

1. It uses a timing chain!!!

2. 8 speed gearbox with paddle shift, just like the F1, with Tiptronic too….

3. Saves fuel, highway at 5.5 litres/100km, City driving at 9.9 litres/100km. I was hitting 120km/h and the rpm at 8th gear was 1800 rpm. It could be true..

4. The Comfort, Auto and Dynamic mode is fantastic. Dynamic mode feels like a beast, the steering, throttle, and suspension hardens and responses better and the rpm is higher, like the sports mode. When I press Comfort, it feels like everything goes soft and relaxed (just like after making love) and AUTO is in between.

5. The multimedia computer is so interactive with sensors everywhere to tell you the distance between objects and the car. I really love the bluetooth built in phone in the car.

So, no choice but I booked 1 unit…

The Merc C class and BMW really lost out this time….

• s60t (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 6:54 pm

Bravo to you.buy the car that you want rather than what everyone else is buying based on resale alone. The merc and BMW are so common nowadays it doesn’t stand out especially if it is a c class or 3 series.but when you finally sell, be prepared for a headache finding a buyer and a heartache seeing the price offered.but in between,enjoy your beautiful car and all the satres you will be getting

• Kevin D (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 7:46 pm

wow….drastic change compared 2 the previous A4 in both interior and 2 the bodyworks…great job audi…!

• jagwho (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 10:45 pm

Yep! Amazing car. Went for the test drive over the weekend. Didn;t regret the decision i make when I placed the booking last month after the launch in Singapore. Now I am very anxious to get the car.

After seeing some of the sample car color, I decided to change the color from Dakar Beige to White. It look so awesome with White color. Unfortunately, as a consequences, I will only get the car sometime in Sep/Oct. Sigh :)

Anyone with experience with White color car? Is it hard to maintain in terms of cleanliness?

Jag

• Ey_3AT (Member) on Feb 07, 2009 at 2:46 am

Wow! Nice.. Is it more powerfull than the same Japanese model?? Like the altis or civic (1.8) or latio (1.8)..

• peter on Apr 06, 2009 at 10:31 pm

beautiful mobile…any car of today there is less concentrate on resale value as the supply n demand are fluctuating in global economy.if u appreciate the built n designed, i will definite go for it – never think of the resale value… because u enjoy the engineered works of the excellent maker…

• Shiang on Apr 16, 2009 at 1:57 am

I'm seriously interested in this Audi but still…

taking after sales service and depreciation into account.

• Shiang on Apr 16, 2009 at 2:00 am

[quote comment="168521"]Did a test drive yesterday with my wife and kids. I like this car because…

1. It uses a timing chain!!!

2. 8 speed gearbox with paddle shift, just like the F1, with Tiptronic too….

3. Saves fuel, highway at 5.5 litres/100km, City driving at 9.9 litres/100km. I was hitting 120km/h and the rpm at 8th gear was 1800 rpm. It could be true..

4. The Comfort, Auto and Dynamic mode is fantastic. Dynamic mode feels like a beast, the steering, throttle, and suspension hardens and responses better and the rpm is higher, like the sports mode. When I press Comfort, it feels like everything goes soft and relaxed (just like after making love) and AUTO is in between.

5. The multimedia computer is so interactive with sensors everywhere to tell you the distance between objects and the car. I really love the bluetooth built in phone in the car.

So, no choice but I booked 1 unit…

The Merc C class and BMW really lost out this time….[/quote]

You bought the S-line?

• X-Bromy on Apr 18, 2009 at 5:26 am

Test drove the beauty & the beast few days ago with the missus:

1) Styling interior and exterior is superb. Luxurious, elegant yet sporty. The curve LED lights definitely a head turner.

2) The 3 driving options – comfort, dynamic & auto – are quite good especially if you want the car to adept to city or long distance driving. Pushing the dynamic button gives you the sporty feeling – you can feel the difference in its power. This 1.8 cc can easily beat some of Japanese 2.5 cc.

3) Eventhough it is a driver's car, the rear seats area is a tad bigger than BMW 3 series. Even for a 6 footer – no problemo. 2 adults and a kid at the back is ok. To put more adult, you need to buy a bus!!!

If you want style, comfort yet sporty and an exciting driving experience without the 'posh' stigma usually associated with Beemer and Merc, then this would be the right car. (And it is less than RM 250K)

BTW, I'm booking a black one in a couple of days. Yee Har !!! Vosprung Durch Tecknik (Is the spelling right?)

• Shiang on Apr 19, 2009 at 7:33 am

[quote comment="231205"]Test drove the beauty & the beast few days ago with the missus:

1) Styling interior and exterior is superb. Luxurious, elegant yet sporty. The curve LED lights definitely a head turner.

2) The 3 driving options – comfort, dynamic & auto – are quite good especially if you want the car to adept to city or long distance driving. Pushing the dynamic button gives you the sporty feeling – you can feel the difference in its power. This 1.8 cc can easily beat some of Japanese 2.5 cc.

3) Eventhough it is a driver's car, the rear seats area is a tad bigger than BMW 3 series. Even for a 6 footer – no problemo. 2 adults and a kid at the back is ok. To put more adult, you need to buy a bus!!!

If you want style, comfort yet sporty and an exciting driving experience without the 'posh' stigma usually associated with Beemer and Merc, then this would be the right car. (And it is less than RM 250K)

BTW, I'm booking a black one in a couple of days. Yee Har !!! Vosprung Durch Tecknik (Is the spelling right?)[/quote]

Getting one with the Bang&Olufsen sound system?

• patrick ward on Jun 16, 2009 at 7:53 pm

this Is one of the greatest cars i have ever seen i love it

• paxter on Jul 01, 2009 at 6:33 pm

Javanese said,

June 27, 2008 @ 9:32 am

Oh btw, am I alone in thinking the dials looks like it’s yanked from a honda civic… EG?!! Hello and welcome to yesterday Audi!

I went to help my dad pick up his yesterday… and since i use the current 2.0 civic i can safely say, if you have sat in the new A4 you would know the tech in this car is lightyears away from anything honda has atm. for starters it has a sensor that dims the rear mirror when jackasses highbeam their hid lights in your face… you wont get a glare… the car auto syncs to your mobile phone, the cars wipers can start wiping as soon as rain hits your wind shields, it does not carry a key (nothing new there), its customization of settings you can set to your car is just insane… right up to acoustics and lamp light brightness settings…

To be honest its biggest weak point to me is the amount of sensors and gadgets… in our tropical weather i have this feeling that car will be in the workshop every 6 months….

• Shiang on Jul 03, 2009 at 7:27 am

Sorry Dud,

How can you compare a Honda Civic to an Audi A4? Their price range is so far apart…

• paxter,

well i would say the main difference is people who buys honda cant afford an audi

• firefox on Oct 12, 2009 at 3:59 am

did anyone bought this car already? please let me know the the conditions, maintenance, i am plan to change my car to this, please advice.

• Shiang on Oct 12, 2009 at 4:18 am

No problem at all.

Green Light!

• firefox on Oct 12, 2009 at 7:42 am

hi Shiang,

did you have any dealer where can offer a good price, like current 3 series, 320I can get at 190K (of course it is a pre-sales car about 1500KM done, 1 month car) plus free 3 years maintenances.

• Shiang on Oct 13, 2009 at 5:01 am

I don't think so because the A4 has a 6 months waiting list ;)

• firefox on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:39 pm

what, 6 month waiting list…oh my goodness, so hot, btw today i will visit Glenmarie showroom and test the car, try to find out the 'LUBANG' haha

• Shiang on Oct 16, 2009 at 1:26 am

Hopefully, someone cancel his/her order so that you may get one.

All the best Yo!

• firefox on Nov 01, 2009 at 2:31 am

i hope so, if buy the 2.0T A4 will be faster, Jan can get, but the price too expensive..it come will AWD and S-Line, over 300k, but i just book S-line 1.8T, 260k

• TurBo on Nov 20, 2009 at 12:10 am

Was struggling btw the 3s and A4, test drove twice, handling is almost the same with 3 better grip (i think is mainly due to the supportive seats in the 3). booked the normal A4 though, will get it prob by next march/ april i think. Iblis rules.

• madulazat on Dec 07, 2009 at 8:38 pm

aargghh…NO GPS navigator….

• @madulazat: i thought u need to add rm13k for the havigator and mmi?

• Sergei on Jun 17, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Any sellers here of A4 B8 variant in the near future ?

Contacts are welcome. Thanks.

• Jamie on Jul 20, 2010 at 9:52 pm

What a remarkable design, it captures every attention and every moment a car lover could have…
    I’ve laid my eyes on one…How i wish it could be owning one yesterday…

Paul,
    What about the manufacturer’s guarantee? What else does it cover other than the usual ones…? Thanks.

Oooo. Baby!

• Shinji on Oct 24, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Dear Mr.Paul Tan,

I planned to get this car next year around FEB 2011. Any advice on this matter? Like do’s and don’ts & how to maintain such a car? Appreciate it thanks.

• fall in love with this beautiful machine!!

• lyrad on Oct 31, 2010 at 2:55 am

Planning to get the S-line version of the 1.8T.

Any comments on the goodies that comes with the S-line package?
    Was told by the Glenmarie Sales Advisor that it even comes with sunroof.

Thought of adding another 6K to get the Bang&Olufsen sound system. Any idea if its worth the 6K?

Only downside is I need to wait for at least 5-6 months :(

Thanks!

• mardhiyy on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:39 am

nobody mention how much is the insurance 4 A4 1.8 per year… anyone??

• ponvili on Sep 21, 2017 at 8:48 am

i love audi car