Nissan Sylphy 2.0 CVTC Launched in Malaysia!

Nissan Sylphy

The long-awaited (some say too long actually) Nissan Sylphy has been launched in Malaysia with a single engine option and two variants, as revealed earlier on this website.

The prices are similiar to the pre-launch indication, about RM200 cheaper across the range with the Sylphy 2.0 Comfort costing RM112,800 in West Malaysia, with the Luxury version having a RM4k premium at RM116,800.

Nissan Sylphy

The Nissan Sylphy 2.0 CVTC is probably one of the cheapest 2.0 litre C-segment sedans you can buy, but its engine also produces the least power at 133 PS at 5,200rpm and 191Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. But an X-TRONIC CVT transmission that provides a virtually infinite amount of gears between the first and final gear (2.349 to 0.394) should be able to keep it in a useful spot in the powerband. This engine has been tuned for smooth and powerful low to mid end torque delivery rather than high end power because 90% of the 191Nm is available from a low 2,000rpm.

Nissan claims the MR20DE engine in the Sylphy can travel up to 16km on 1 litre of fuel under Japan’s 10-15 test mode. Here’s a little primer to what the 10-15 test mode is. It measures two separate drive cycles called the 10 drive cycle and the 15 drive cycle.

The 10 drive cycle is a low-speed drive aimed to emulate an urban drive. It is carried out on a dyno machine rather than on actual roads. It is a series of acceleration and braking (including coming to a complete stop) with a top speed of 40km/h and an average speed of 17.7km/h, and lasts 135 seconds. The 15 drive cycle is longer at 231 seconds and consists of a series of acceleration and braking (without coming to a complete stop) with a top speed of 70km/h and an average speed of 33.88km/h.

The 10-15 test basically runs one 15 test first to warm the engine up, then the car is allowed to idle for a shot period. Then the 10 drive cycle is performed 3 times, followed by a single 15 cycle mode. Fuel consumption is then measured via emission samples from the car’s exhaust.

Japan 10-15 Test Mode
Source: Japan Automobile Standards Internationalization Centre

The complete test displaying vehicle speed versus time is shown above so you can see for yourself what kind of driving pattern the 10-15 test cycle measures. Japan is moving towards the JC08 test instead of the 10-15 test, with the JC08 expected to be fully implemented by 2011. Japan currently uses JC08 test results to count towards only a certain percentage of emissions and fuel consumption measured for regulatory purposes.

Edaran Tan Chong Motor assembles the Nissan Sylphy locally at its plant in Serendah, and it remains mostly unchanged from the Japanese version because of the limited volume target of only 350 units per month, so it does not make sense to localise the sourcing of parts. ETCM says it was able to get CKD parts from Japan at much cheaper rates due to the JMEPA (an FTA agreement between Malaysia and Japan). Is this the first Japanese car manufacturer/principal to admit to the existence of JMEPA?

Styling-wise, the Nissan Sylphy looks like a downsized version of the larger Nissan Teana, which isn’t a bad thing at all as it looks quite elegant and grown up. It’s quite interesting to see different offerings in the C-segment range using different approaches to styling to target different personalities.

Nissan Sylphy

The Nissan Sylphys 2,700mm wheelbase is the equal to the Civics, the longest in the C-segment currently, but Edaran Tan Chong Motor says that according to data on interior space published by its competitors, the Sylphy’s interior cabin space is the longest. Rear knee room provided is about 680mm. Despite that, it is still able to offer a large 504 litre boot, probably thanks to the space saving design of its rear torsion beam suspension.

The interior is mostly beige with a dark upper dashboard area. The steering looks like it was lifted from the Latio, and this becomes even more believable considering how the colour does not exactly match with the rest of the dashboard. Steering wheel audio control is also missing even with the Luxury version’s more upmarket audio system.

Nissan Sylphy

Some other facts worth nothing is that the car uses an electric power steering, has ventilated disc brakes on the front and drums at the rear, and has 15 inch alloys wrapped with Yokohama 195/65R15 tyres. The interior is done up in Masumi fabric, but the Luxury version gets leather, or you can add it to the comfort version for RM2,000. There are three 3-point seatbelts for the rear passenger bench.

Other features include auto-headlamps which turn on automatically in the dark, automatic climate control, and a single-CD audio player in the Comfort version. The Luxury version’s audio system is a 6-CD system with MP3 support, or you can add this to the Comfort version for RM1,000.

The Nissan Sylphy 2.0 CVTC is priced at RM112,800 for the Comfort version and Nissan 116,800 for the luxury version.

More about the car to be revealed with a test drive report soon.

Nissan Sylphy

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 7:05 pm

the dash is a bit bland

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 7:32 pm

Long awaited release, problem is it too long. Looks will not win you over

• Hikaru (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 8:31 pm

With so many ppl putting their money down for the Honda Accord, I wonder how will this Sylphy will do? A miser would probably go for the more fuel efficient Latio. This is in direct competition with Altis. Twin test anyone?

• hudjan (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 9:10 pm

Hi guys i’m new here.

ok basically i had test drive it a1 round before it was officially launch.
    Can said is very responsive when u push the acceleration padel. and the new gear, (pulley system more simplified words) makes the car really powerful.

Paul pls, go n test drive it and gave more comment as i still new….hehe…sorry.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 9:35 pm

The back look similar as the Old version Toyota Altis. I’m sorry the only thing attracts me is only the seats!

• sintiansai (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 10:31 pm

This Commercial Ad is a total failure… the only thing I feel after watching this is I’m going to punch the arrogant client in her face.

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 10:39 pm

I went for a quick test drive last evening. It was better than expected. The car just glides effortlessly and despite being a CVT, it didnt behave like a CVT at all. The SA told me that it’s the 3rd generation CVT box which is pretty much explains why it’s miles better the ones found in various cheap hondas.

The car rear is a bit bland and it’s very hard slide the rear (I guess they purposely engineer the car to have a subtle understeer in order not to intimidate female drivers). It’s a bit like driving the latio. Ride comfort is very good but as usual, handling is average (too much roll for my liking). Mind you, I think the new civic (normal, not the type r) handling is just a bit above average. But you dont buy cars like this for handling is it? I like the brakes too as it’s very progressive unlike the one found in toyotas (too mushy) and hondas (too sharp). Unless you strained the engine past 4000rpm it’s very…very…very quiet but you dont need to because it got loads of torque at bottom end. Road noise is minimal which is surprising because there’s not much sound deading. And they are not joking about the rear space; even with the seat slides all the way to the back, a 6ft guy can still move his knees around. The boot is so big that I can lie down in it comfortably and I’m not a thin guy. But this is because they use torsion beam rear suspension which I hate.

Over all, this is a good car for women drivers as the driving position a bit tall for a car it’s size and it’s a very forgiving and safe car. And i think women will like the car curves. The front end IMO is a bit too macho but thats a given since it was based on Nissan Fuga (imagine a wide S class front end being slapped on a narrow C class). Will I buy one? Despite the fact that I like the car and prices are very reasonable, it’s an ugly car. I’ll just leave it at that.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 10:40 pm

our local Slyphy is the same USA new Sentra?

• hyundai (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 10:40 pm

It is really a great car… I heard that now Sylphy got 700 bookings already…

• csv (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 11:49 pm

so basically, its a car with great character but mixed outlook?

i still think this is a WAY BETTER buy than the mega rip off altis.

i like the looks too. just the power area is insufficient, torque is good.

• manu99 (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 2:29 am

Guys, after many disappointments with the CEFIRO, NISSAN still dont get it!! No wonder they were overwhelmed by the likes of HONDA and TOYOTA….
    This SYLPHY doesn’t shine in its class, cabin space, interior and whatmore the LOOKS!! Good engine though….. Overall i would say:

SYLPHY= desperate launch to compete in the market!!

Anyway, I still think the 350Z and GTR were Nissan’s best after many yrs…hehe…. :D

• indigo (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 3:08 am

this bluebird has been on sale in Japan for quite long time replacing our current Sentra. Nothing special and astonishing. Looks so plain and expensive. I wish we could have the American Sentra here, it looks a lot better and sportier

• azrai (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 7:28 am

Expensive, since one of the Japanese said that there is almost no tax on their parts from Japan. Laud the Mitsubishi for drastic price reduced.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 7:59 am

mitlanevo said,
    June 27, 2008 @ 10:40 pm

our local Slyphy is the same USA new Sentra?

—-

North American Sentra is different. Its a tough sell for the Sentra there as well. The Versa (Latio here) is just too good and is about the same size but much cheaper.

It wouldn’t have been that bad if the Versa/Latio wasn’t larger than the average in its class.

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 8:54 am

1. i can’t imagine a malay family in this type of nissan car hehe. cause most of the time, i saw only chinese people driving around KL in one of those. is it just me?

2. when will proton come up with a higher-end cars (rm100,000-150,000)?

3. why do we still have the ~300% tax on the imported cars? its just insane, the price of a BMW here in USA is $35,000 = rm112,000 while it is almost rm300,000 in Malaysia.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 9:43 am

ideoteque_85,,

The high tax is required for the GOVT to splurge on their….”expedition” – Astronaut programme, mega projects white elephant developments, big-fat-cat cars, holidays, etc…..–Hint-hint–

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 10:12 am

this car is so ugly i wouldnt even consider a test drive. even if it handled better than a mondeo i wouldnt consider buying it.

kind of like a proton or impreza hatch. every morning u wake up to go to work and when u see the car it makes u vomit.

one of the worse advertisements ive seen. ever. like someone said…you just want to punch her in the face. ugly women deserve ugly cars. thats the message i got. oh…and ugly women prefer black cars.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 10:57 am

Yaawwwwwwnnnn …… give us something better than Civic and we’ll sit down to talk, or listen.

Oh ya, Anna the Slyphy suits you! Take all you want. After watching the ad, it really gives me an idea that if you’re old, single, menopaused; drive a Slyphy.

• sonyman (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 1:17 pm

helo
    first time posting

i have been waiting this for a long time now, but after the add, i dont dare to drive it out as the idea is for auntie only.. uncle not allowed.. also not for young ppl.. if u are 50 and above with menopause probably will look good on you, and must be lan si as well. then can drive this car..

but i check the singapore one, so different. in features.. sad sad,, well latio still a better choice for me. either the sports or 1.8 ti version…
    probably the wait was too long now sien already….

• abtm (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 2:34 pm

only works in black with bigger rims and with all the hype of the cvt it’s not sporty…

• proton12vauto (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 2:44 pm

more and more car using torsion beam rather than multi-link macpherson suspension for rear.. guess what.. back to saga

• B1u3Be@m (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 3:49 pm

I want to see the Nissan Teana launched soon!!It’s too long already!!!

• quest (Member) on Jun 28, 2008 at 10:58 pm

I checked this model out in the PJ Sec 13 Nissan Showroom. Something I don’t like about it, but let me first focus on the good side.

Good: 1- 2 litre at Altis price, (Altis is only a 1.8)
    2-Back leg room rather luxurios even when I pushed the front seat all the way to the back.
    3-Claims of good fuel efficiency.
    4……. errrrr, ran outta good things to say.

Now for some bad stuff, BAD
    1-It’s competing with Altis, Altis is a Toyota, HEAPS BETTER RESALE VALUE.
    2-While the leg room is admirable, the width is pathetic, I’m a big guy, but not Shaquille O’neal big, just kinda big for a M’sian, 2 of me in the front seat, and our shoulders ACTUALLY RUB. So, NO GOOD.
    3- They claim HUGE boot space, with technical jargon of how many hundred litres, heck, did anyone notice the access space to the boot is small. If you have a big luggage or KINDA BIG box, you aint getting it in the boot. Kinda like Proton Persona’s boot, big but useless. The opening is not big enough!!
    4-Interior color is pathetic. They have this huge (5.7litres space) space at the handbrake console to “put” handbag and stuff, I think it’s odd and a dust collector. The arm rest at the handbrake console WREAKS CHEAP AND FLIMSY, well still better than Proton. The dashboard design is cheap and ugly with a big center piece empty (where GPS unit usually located).
    5-Rear brakes are drums, I thought with over Rm110k, they can afford to provide disc brakes all round. Geez, even Persona high-line provides that.

All in all, I’d say if I wanna spring that kinda money, it has gotta be an Altis or a Civic, OR a Lancer.

This MODEL WILL FAIL MISERABLY, then they’d give discounts by over pricing your trade-in’s, afterwhich, the Silphy will be as forgettable as the Latio. Only, when you try to sell it say 4-5 years later, it’ll probably only fetch you less than 50k.

• swong (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 12:53 am

IMPORTANT: it is so outdated that i sat in this model in Taiwan 4 years ago and it is a taxi ride. Furthermore, how can it compare to Altis and Civic with such a small dimension (width) which is equivalent to Wira width and Vios. Nothing special on its engine

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 11:33 am

Nothing to hoo haa. Anyway, doubt on its CVT reliability. heard city gb will giv prob when it reaches 150k mileage. change gb need rm20k+. sounds scaring.

• csv (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 1:25 pm

do you know how toyota measures width?

they measure it by calculating wing mirror to wing mirror. not seat to seat as opposed to other car makers. so make sure your eyes are peeled when looking at their brochure.

as for the gearbox, i think Honda’s gearbox and Nissan’s gearbox are different engineering one is pure japanese, the other has french blood/oil. i still think Nissan more reliable than Honda.

• ncm6151 (Member) on Jun 29, 2008 at 10:33 pm

i just went to see this bigger latio, sylphy this afternoon. it looks better compare with the photo. anyway this car has very good leg room space.i think rear seat can sit 4 people.boot space also very impresive.TCM claims that according the 10-15 test mode,the fuel consumption of sylphy is very low. but the test was carried out on a dyno machine rather than on actual roads.i doubt the accuracy of the test.because the actual road test has the air resistant that can affect the fuel consumption.besides, the car sport rim is very small n cheap.not match with the car.plus the design of dashboard and meter are so simple.just like a bigger version of latio. steering is another downside of this car.missing of the audio control at the steering make it looks cheaper.the engine is another disappointed thing.2.0cc produce only 133ps is very low.i think nissan’s technology to produce low fuel consumption car is just by reducing the house power.it is very different compare with toyota n honda where honda civic 1.8cc produce 140ps.anyway i think nissan’s car only target the old man buyers.

• SaneMind on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:25 am

133ps not enough, Civic 1.8 has 140.
      Do you need to utilise all the bhp wherever you drive?

• hvannees (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 2:34 am

suitable for old folks but nothing wrong if young person want to try it,check out this ‘aerokit’ version http://www.nissan.com.sg/images/NissanSylphyDS.jpg

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 4:58 am

The rear lamps look like the new corolla (US version). Somehow the whole car reminds me of an Infiniti G35, although this looks more bloated and less agressive. Mind you in the US Nissan is one of the japanese cars with the best value.

• ys (Member) on Jun 30, 2008 at 10:08 am

RM110k + with a drum brake at behind?
    u must be kidding me nissan.

• csv (Member) on Jul 01, 2008 at 12:30 am

well, if you’re gonna compare price, how do you explain…

Innova which also has drum brake rear. 100k plus.

Stream which also has drum brake rear. 150k plus

i think it’s strictly based on market requirements.

disc or drum, as long as it stops good and well, i don’t care.

heck, even if the brakes were made from foam and stops well, i won’t even care.

alas, the buyer mentality here is just too simple.

• thow (Member) on Oct 14, 2008 at 5:13 pm

yawn,after scrolling through the negative comment from those people up there. i think they just blindly bash or is it they can’t afford to buy this car so they just sits in front of computer to bash????
    Come on basher, don blindly bash, test drive the car and after that only make comment!!

• I fully ageed with you, Thow. All you bashers, please understand and know what you are talking about. You have to compare apple to apple and not give comments of things you don’t have knowledge about. If you want a power pack car, go buy a sports car then.

I owned a Sylphy and love every minute driving the car. For a salon price range, this is a value for money car. Smooth ride (Xtronic CVT) power when needed, handling and braking is good (ABS,BDS,BA)(Electric power steering)and no complains in regards to the performance of this car. (used to drive the 1st generation Camry)

The only setback is the petrol tank. Although the fuel consumption is low (11km to a liter, tested it myself)50 liter tank is abit too small for a 2000cc car.

The looks may not be that fantastic, but driving in it, is something else.

You have to test drive the Sylphy to love it.

• peter on Mar 27, 2009 at 1:35 am

I thought it is suppose to be 16km per litre and now is said only 11km per litre,is it on city,highway or mix driving.Can u comment further

• SaneMind on Nov 24, 2010 at 1:22 am

I own a Sylphy.

This is very much depend how you drive.

I only fill up once a week with roughly about 450km which include 70/30 city/highway and a lot of times kept the engine running while getting take away food and my family waiting in the car.

I’m a heavy footed driver. I did over 180km/h (speedo only up to 180) on MEX to putrajaya on prolong period of 5 min over that stretch.

After all these, still cover 450km per week and 1 refill only.

• Steve on Apr 07, 2009 at 9:28 pm

Which one is better????

Altis 1.8, Civic 1.8 or Sylphy 2.0????

Very difficult to decide…..

• peter on Apr 10, 2009 at 12:20 am

If u ask my opinion, i will choose either civic 2.0 or nissan sylphy cos altis is having the same engine 9 yrs ago and only having a new face lift,not civic 1.8lt cos not powerful enough and only sohc engine,although i agree nissan sylphy design is not as beautiful as the other two model but tis is bcos their s design,anyway i buy car base on engine technology and fuel efficiency and not design but i leave it to u to make the final decision,i think u should test drive all the cars above and only make ur decision,moreover sylphy is a cvt system and the other two is conventional tranmission and sylphy rpm is only 2000 when is on 110km/h,tis shows very fuel efficiency.Anyway tis is only my opinion.

• dylcy on May 18, 2009 at 11:44 pm

Civic vs Sylphy….kakaka

guy…pls be mature a bit la….

civic is for all those young guy out there who like to show off their new car…

sylphy is for guy who have stable live..means here is there might have the same mind when their was young……

so realy can't compare both…

i've test drive both car…

conclusion after test drive is….

civic is more powerful than sylphy but if u drive civic on the highway at 180km/h, you found that the car is not grabbing the road….

else….slyphy is more comfort when u drive it at 180km/h on the highway…you won't feel that…..

and for all the youngster out there who ay that this car is for old people…or lady driver….remember this…..u will reach our age one day……when you have reach that age, then your mind will change…….enjoy the young life guys….but always remember…drive safely…….the faster u drive, the nearer you with dead….

• biskut on Jun 11, 2009 at 1:29 am

I am looking fwd for this car, seeing at some complaints … looks like most of you don't know much about it … you really do not get the idea why no more disk brake at the rear ….. hmmm … go look on some write ups and research ..

DISK BRAKE OFTEN FAILS in RAINS …..

I like Civic .. but not the latest big butt, big meter console, big radio buttons and where everything is big (like we are blind to see them all, OR like an old old person .. huh )

I think slyphy looks better than civic … altis better … but the new civic is hideous ….

• koksen on Jun 25, 2009 at 7:27 am

I personally owned the Sylphy for more than 6 months now. I still like it very much. Smooth acceleration with its X-Tronic CVT gear, hardly hear the engine sound even when u speed, good pick up definitely not a slow mover on road, easy handling over the steering wheel, fuel efficiency it's like u r driving a 1.5 or 1.6 liter car, refinement and quality. U have to drive and test it to know the good and bad about a car. Test it out yourself and feel it. U will like it.

• I'm really in love with this Sylphy after 2 test drive. The plus point on it :

-Luxury feel inside, feel great vs civic/altis on the material and fabric

-Spacious, damn roomy than altis, legroom superb

-Big boot space ! Thumbs up to put load of stuff

-XCVT, smooth and quiet drive and factor for fuel saving too guess

-Promo now ler with low int and free bodykit ( not Impul lar )

-Electric driven Power Steering ( Civic 1.8 still normal hydralic if not mistaken )

-Budget of 1.8L car can get 2.0L wor…

-Lower maintenance if to compare to Civic/Altis online service schedule and price list

-Can over trade my car a lot lot more than T or H wor..bring down the new car price even more…haha…

-Better build if compare with altis, more solid body. The SA even shown me the front protector full alluminium bar that was so thick ! Goshh..amazing

-High torque. Power = Torque*RPM*Constant. With higher torque, rpm will be lower to produce the same drive power in range….that's why the RPM low cruising at high speed quah…

Dislike :

-15" Rim ( but think of it, cheaper tyre to change next time lor haha….suit my tigh pocket lor, or can get 15" ultra performance tyre instead of 16" normal tyre )

-Drum Brake ( surpricingly, done emergency brake at 100km/h and the car can stop very well wor…impress me…don konw shud happy or not haha using this drum brake )

-The front outlook a bit..hmmm…ah pek lar…haha The rest is just good and beautiful to me…..i think i've poisoned by nissan liao….might give it a try man…. : )

• I really like the design or everything there and not to mention of Nissan's credibility of engines longevity as I used drive Nissan and I can tell you the best engine so far- it was built to last!

BUT… for Sylphy case..I like everything, but I very dissappointed in one thing the HP on this car is "too low"! My first impression was the HP on the car must be least above 180, but 133 is kind of a bit lame..The speedo meter only reaches till 180kmh, but why it must be on the 2.0 then? Perdana goes till 260 kmh speedometer, but yet 180 kmh? What a joke?

Of course you can never argue about the price of the car (I would definitely sign to buy the car immediately though), but having to know the horsepower is low- WHAT A UNDERPOWER ENGINE! If you were to install a turbo house in it plus install UNICHIP and dyno tuning it..how much will you get? Now even pass above 190 I guess?

Now, I heard about the Nissans' Impuls thing, but if only for exterior, then I'm more dissappointed unless someone can tell me that you can turn Sylphy into a "really mean machine"!

Anyway its my opinion though..but the for the rest of it..I'm impress!

• i just bout sylphy impul luxury for d price of rm129++..sporty n confortable but d exzos if u put a load on it like 2 passenger at d back,dfinitely will touch d bumper even u go for really slow.only dat d weaknesses.overall,its value 4 money whn i compare 2 lancer.

• The dashboard of the nissan sylphy is deteriotating and having plenty of bubbles. Almost all this type of car, in Mauritius (Imported from Japan)

• TBURN on Jul 01, 2010 at 9:46 pm

hi,i own a sylphy impul version,now who says it not better lookin than a civic..hahaha,drivin in a highway it grips the road,the car is so low..u can feel every inch of the road,i’ve used it against impreza,lancer and civic’s..din fair that bad…and the heads just turn when ever ure driving along the road..altis is not even in the picture…hahaha

• Silver on Jul 21, 2010 at 3:19 pm

Heard that Syhply has some problems on the rear panel compartment over-heated and the a/c vent noise when drive on the uneven or bad road.

Any comment on this?

• BlackSyl on Nov 11, 2010 at 11:43 am

Hi All…
    Just my 2 cents on sylphy..

I had been driving sylphy for almost 2 months.. mileage is now 6K++…
    for me… it is value for money.. the car is not designed not for trill seeker, but it is dedicated for people who enjoys the pleasure of smooth driving.. gearbox is great!

Yes.. the speed is up to 190kmh only… but i still feel safe at that speed..
    Mine is a black standard sylphy with impul body-kit….i put wider tire with 17″ rim.. looks better than stock. It will looks better if I can lower it down by another 1 inch… haha
    FC…. after a lot of highway & town driving done within this short period… very impressive.
    Buy the car because I like it (not at the first look..but after going showroom & test drive…change my mind)& i can afford it… I don’t care what other said..i.e. why you don’t buy civic…etc…

overall- a good car…

• Hi Paul,

Is there a test drive report on Sylphy as stated in this article ? I could not find it.

Thank you.

Rgds,

• I’ve been driving Sylphy for 2 years now. Dunno much about the technicalities but I can tell you a few things about it. It’s smooth, the response is good, comfortable, and equipped with enuf gadgets (a huge screen for gps, reverse camera and it plays movies too). I’ve test driven VW Passat and CC and Mazda6 (both 2.0 and 2.5 skyactive models), in terms of responses, in my opinion Sylphy is a lot better. Audi 1.8 is the only car I find that can be better than Sylphy even without the turbo on. Having said that, I’ve not tried BMW, Mercedez, Subaru and Citroen though.